220505 User submitted reviews online!!
Pioneer Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (570) 946-9971
CGID6885

Pioneer Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   8   9   10   10   8   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
There is a gravel road to the park off of US220 and it is narrow for 2/3 and then single lane for the last 1/3. You have to drive all the way through the park to get to the office to check-in. We took a 30 amp site that was right by the office, laundry, and restrooms since there are no sewer hookups. The setting for the park is nice with all the wooded sites but we were just here for the night so didn't care about that. They have speed bumps along the road when you get close to the park which are insanely rough. I can't imagine anyone driving fast on the gravel road anyway. The dog run is nice. Cable worked real good and they have about 50 channels so we didn't even set up the satellite. Water pressure and voltage is good. Sites are not very level. We would not stay here again as you are also far away from any shopping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$48
This was our first trip to Pioneer, unseen. The owners are absolutely wonderful and helpful. The entrance to the campground was a little questionable as it was not well signed along the way. It is very narrow too. Just follow the main road which will lead you right into the campground. You go through a portion of the campground in order to get to the office. Everyone is very friendly and the seasonals sites are all clean and well kept. The campground is close to World's End and Rickets Glen State Parks. Eagle's Mere is not far but there are not many shops as they claim. We would definitely return in the future! Very relaxing trip! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$41
Very relaxing campground with friendly staff! Rural location with not much close by. Buy your groceries before you get here. Dirt & gravel roads raise dust. Sites are wide & well separated & well laid out. Many sites are big rig capable. Some sites have 50A but most are 30A. Owners are expanding 50A access. No sewer hookups but they do have a dump by the camp store. Only bathroom and showers are at camp store. Outlying areas have porta-potties. Cable TV worked well. Camp wi-fi was spotty. Verizon data barely got 1 bar & ATT data was Edge network with minimal coverage. Had pool, dog run, hiking trail, & playgrounds for kids. Rate shown is before discount--Good Sam, Passport America, AAA, and others accepted. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
The owners were very warm and friendly people. They could not have been more helpful. The campground was clean. The pool was was heated and maintained very well. We had a problem with our windsheild popping out and they were very helpful in finding us a glass repair service that came to the campground. This required an extra night's stay, which we enjoyed spending here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
Stayed here for an August weekend. Very nice CG. Lots are level, shaded and well graded with gravel. Very well kept. Despite poor weather still tons to do on site as well as at the area state parks. Best part of the weekend was a blind golf cart obstacle course - very funny and fun. Just a great place at a great price. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
Love, Love this campground! The owners are fantastic, very helpful, friendly and accommodating. The sites are wooded, level and spacious. The bathrooms and showers are always clean. A lot of great activities for adults and kids. One of the activities was painting shirts and hats (additional small cost). We couldn't make it that afternoon and they kept all the paints and supplies out so we could do it the next morning with our daughter. The pool is salt water and very clean, plenty of chairs and tables with umbrellas if needed. They also have cabins that are beautiful if you want to go with out your RV. There are two state parks and one state forest close by for activities outside the campground. Can't wait to come back next year!!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
I gave this place an 8 but for kids it is a 10. Always something going on for them. Everyone was very nice here. Sites have plenty of room and are well shaded. The pool was very nice as well. My daughter did not want to leave. Also, the owners are the best we have encountered and we have been to a lot of campgrounds. They do a great job. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Campground has best activity schedule of any place we've gone and includes quality activities for adults, kids, and sometimes even pets! Camp owners/staff are friendly and visible throughout the campground and during activities. Salt water pool is a nice addition. Wi-Fi signal was strong. Campground promotes recycling by making it easy for campers to do so. Lack of sewer connections, dusty entrance road and poor traffic pattern due to closed lower gate are only things that keep this from being a 10 for us. Rate reflects AAA discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
This is the finest campground I've stayed in so far. The owners go out of their way to make everyone's stay enjoyable. Very professional and very friendly. The swimming pool looked very nice (didn't have time to use it). There is a nice fenced in area for dogs to play, and a nice nature trail. I think this part of the country is one of the best kept secrets! I will definitely return for a much longer stay next time. It's peaceful for seniors, yet plenty of fun stuff for families with kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We also camped here at Lot 21. Staff went out of their way to help us. Got in late and went to sign in and was told that the family was getting ready to have dinner and come back later that evening or check with us on the way out in the morning. Wish I had more time to spend in this area as it was really beautiful and one of the best campgrounds that I have stayed it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
The owners are very friendly, both at the office checking us in, as well as stopping by our site to say hi. They are very knowledgeable of the area. They are continuing to upgrade the campground with pull-through sites with sewer hook-ups coming in the near future. The pool was immaculate, and was recently changed to eco-friendly salt filtration system and is heated to 82 degrees. The sites are elevated stone (for good drainage) and very level. Our site (21) was extremely wide: could have put the motorhome in sideways. Had very clean picnic table and large fire rings and the trees on both sides of the site provided privacy. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This was one of our best campground experiences because the owners and staff know they're in the service business. While the sites are high and dry because of recent grading and rock fill; and the water and electric hook-ups appear to be new, it's the eagerness of the owner and her staff to anticipate and accommodate that makes Pioneer Campground impressive. When we checked in (for one night without reservations), she insisted on showing us available campsites in her golf cart before we settled on one. She then offered us a $25 special rate because because we arrived in the late afternoon and planned to depart in the early morning. Later, we walked to the office to have a propane tank filled and the young lady attendant offered to deliver the filled tank to our trailer. After that, when we purchased firewood at the office, the same attendant delivered the wood to our site in her golf cart. At most other campgrounds the office staff acts as though we're intruding on their personal time. The experience here was wonderful. We felt welcome, and were overwhelmed with gratitude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This is my favorite campground! The sites are large, very level, covered with stones and wooded. Check out their website which shows pictures of the campsites. (I hate campground websites which show you everything but the actual campsites!) There is a very clean heated in ground pool. Every year there are new improvements made to make the campground nicer. The owners are the nicest people and really care about the campground and their guests. There are a lot of seasonals here, but plenty of space for overnighters too. Only drawback I can see is lack of sewer hookups and only one restroom with 2 showers each for the whole campground, but as this is not a huge campground it hasn't been a problem. World's End State Park and Ricketts Glen State Park are both beautiful state parks nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$31
Excellent park in a very scenic area in the mountains of north-central Pennsylvania. Nearby parks and trails and waterfalls and lakes. There are many things to see and do nearby. This park has great sites. They are large and level and easy to get into. Very quiet and dark at night, great sleeping. All sites are well shaded with large trees and the sites are far enough apart to have privacy. The owner-operators could not do enough to make our stay delightful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com