218867 User submitted reviews online!!
Wakeda Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (603) 772-5274
CGID6886

Wakeda Campground

Camp Information
Sites
400
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   8   10   9   7   9   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$44
This is a large campground, bigger than we thought it was. For its size, we were amazed at how quiet it was. Night and day there was no noise at all. The weekend was cloudy but no rain so maybe some of the seasonals did not come up. Everyone was very friendly and we have now been to a campground that does not charge for day visitors. No pool or pond here so luckily it was not hot, we are not the type to pack up the car and drive to cool off. Our site was easy to back into, long and quite large. Friendly campers around us, good site hook ups. Limited channels and no cable or Wi-Fi. I know we are camping but sometimes I like the news. Plenty to do in the campground for the kids. Large store but limit supplies. Not too far from the beach and shopping. Nice apple orchard down the street. Will stay on our list, as it is a short ride, but the pool issue could keep us away but the place was pretty full so not an issue for most. Plenty of site types to pick from, tent, cabins, w/e and full hook up. Nice campground for walking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$44
If you like breathing smoke from multiple campfires you will love Wakeda. We could not open our windows due to smell and when we turned the A/C on the smoke came in, too. It is a big beautiful campground with lots to do for kids. We don't have kids, just wanted a quiet place to spend the night. Because of the poor air quality we would never stay here again. Our site was so tight/small the friendly guy across from us had to move his car for us to be able to back in. It was level, but quite a hike to the showers so we didn't use them. If you take a walk - leave breadcrumbs to find your way back. Streets are marked only on the way in so it's hard to know where you are facing the other way. Our site was 1 mile from check-in and there were so many streets you could get lost for over an hour. Four hundred sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
Price reflects $3 surcharge for 50-amps. All sites FHU, no cable, no WiFi. Verizon 4G works well. Park grounds are nice - large trees, but no problem maneuvering big rigs. Although they state there are 400 sites, at least half are seasonals, so there are less sites, and not a lot for big rigs. Nice staff in office. Large fully-fenced dog park with fresh water. One complaint - we have no issue with seasonals, however the management allows some of the sites to look pretty junky, which takes away from what could be a truly beautiful campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
We have stayed at many parks and I can honestly say that this is the nicest park we have seen. The staff was very friendly and the park is really lovely. Lots of trees, good sized lots, clean and neat. We would highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$44
Convenient stop off I-95. No WiFi and no cable. This is a beautiful park in the middle of a HUGE, HUGE old growth pine forest with lots of open fields for activities. Most sites seemed to be occupied by friendly seasonal people. All sites are large and we had full hook ups, a picnic table and fire pit. There's no pool and we couldn't use our rooftop satellite because of the trees, but that's not the fault of the campground. I used the antenna and got several channels. Hampton Beach is close by as are several supermarkets and a state liquor store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$42
Very pleasant staff. Stayed in a 35 foot fifth wheel. Park is far off any roads and very dark and quiet. Site was grassy, level, shaded. Trees are well trimmed. Paved interior roads. Restroom was clean. Shower rooms were clean but had daddy longlegs in them. Laundry room was adequate, a bit webby. There was no WiFi at site, but there was a central hot spot- a bit inconvenient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
We camped here for one week. The site we were given was nice, in the middle of pine trees. The pad was crushed gravel and sand for the camper, the rest of the site was pine needles. The staff was very friendly and most helpful. All utilities were easy to access and hook up to the camper. It was easy access to all the area amenities such as the beaches or Exeter if you like to head into a small town. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$23
We enjoyed Wakeda Campground very much. The grounds are very well kept and are quite expansive. Upon pulling into the driveway, we were greeted by a lovely office building with a large parking area. The campground itself begins about a mile from the front office; driving down the wide, meadow and tree-lined lane was easy and we found our site without a problem. Trees get a little bit narrow in a few sections of road, but not on the main roads -- we had no problem in our 40' rig. Our site was really nice... spacious enough and set off the road by a large swath of grass. The site and adjacent car parking path was level and fully rock graveled, which we definitely appreciated since it rained for almost the entire duration of our stay. The park power was great and water pressure was fine. We had a picnic table and fireplace on site, as did most, if not all sites we saw. The entire park is nicely shaded, with some options for more open sites... with their over 400 sites there is really a diverse selection of "types" of sites, from primitive to very wooded to long and open gravel paved pull throughs. Would have loved if they had a swimming pool and hot tub, but other than that, this campground does not lack much. It's very nice to see that the management is very devoted to keeping this park well maintained. Office staff was great -- very helpful and knowledgeable. The front office building was stocked with very basic necessities including ice and firewood, but the campground has a fully stocked trading post which I assume is open everyday during the peak season -- but only during weekends starting in September. We peeked in and it looked lovely. The planned activities were also scaled back starting in September, but it would be fun to visit again while everything is in full swing. We also noted an on site coffee shop, game room, laundry room, and many restroom buildings and bath houses. We really had a lovely time and would definitely come back to Wakeda again and recommend it to all fellow RVers. One note -- if you GPS the address, be careful to watch for the campground entrance. Our GPS had the entrance about 1/2 a mile further than it was and we did end up passing it...and there was not anywhere to turn our rig and car in tow around for about 5 miles. PROS: Sprawling, beautiful grounds that are well cared for, fantastic management, nice staff, great sites. CONS: Only one for us...no pool and/or hot tub. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Very friendly, family run campground. Courteous staff and friendly neighbors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
Loved this campground! Stayed 1 night on way to Nova Scotia and promptly booked the following weekend for the trip home. Quiet, CLEAN, well manicured and very friendly staff. The pull thru site was very spacious and tarred. What a lovely respite from the hustle, bustle of nearby Hampton Beach (8 miles). We were pulling a 16' motorcycle trailer and could have fit a truck in our site as well without unhooking...Great campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$46
Enjoyed our stay. Our site was a long pull-through, easy in and out for a big rig. The park is very well maintained and has nice facilities. It is mostly seasonals but everything is nice and neat. There is no gate for security but it's in a nice area so we felt safe staying there. Satellite is difficult to get because of the trees and they do not have cable TV. The road leading to the park is narrow and winding with a few low hanging trees. We prefer not to stay at parks without easy access to the highway, but this would not keep us from staying there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
Only had one night off and wanted to get away. Called at the last minute and they had one site left if I wanted it. Was very pleased with the spot "DC" on the map and at the very end of a road near the pavilion. We had a 50A service water and sewer a good level spot, fire ring and picnic table. The only downside was due to trees we could not get a satellite signal and the over the air reception was only three stations two of which were PBS. Mostly seasonal sites I'd say 70% or more but all nicely kept. I will be back since it is a good one night stand near home and did I mention checkout time is 5 PM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
We stayed for 4th of July weekend. The campground had plenty of activities going, and every site was filled. The downside to it being so busy, was the constant traffic passing through the campground. It wouldn't have been so bad if the campsites were "wooded" as promised. There was no privacy from the street or our ignorant neighbors. We would have been better off camping in an open field, it would be easier to back the trailer in. Watching people come and go, they all had issues backing their RV's or trailers into the sites. We had neighbors walking through our site as a short cut to the bathroom, neighbors setting off fireworks, and fires left unattended. Some also had fires at least 5 ft high. The bathrooms were always filthy and had no soap. The campground also ran out of ice. Didn't seem like many took the rules very seriously. Needless to say, we were extremely disappointed in our stay and won't be staying here again, nor will we recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
While we were here the bathrooms were dirty. The cleaning lady checked the toilet paper, but never sweep the floors or cleaned any of the spider webs. There is no soap also. The 50 amp service was good. The site was roomy, but they could have spent more time getting it level, the front to back level was 8 to 12" off. Nice park other then these issues. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Very nice campground! Roads are paved throughout the campground. Some sites are larger than others. This was definitely a slow weekend with not much happening at the campground. This campground is only 8 miles away from Hampton Beach. There are several activities nearby, but not much to do at the campground! (Perhaps it's too early in the season.) I cannot believe that with 400+ sites there is no pool/ swimming at the campground. I would have rated this campground at an 8 if you were able to jump in a pool to refresh yourself and cool down! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$44
While a bit pricey considering we were there in the middle of September and most amenities were closed, this campground was very nice. The pull through sites were much longer than usual and paved. The camping area was a mile into the woods from the entrance, very quiet. Many of the sites were seasonal but extremely well laid out and well kept. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
This is the second time we camped here. A very good campground. The staff is very friendly and helpful, lots of great sites and things to do. The only thing this campground lacks is a swimming pool. If they had a pool I would definitely give it a 10 on score. We just left, and the temperature was so hot a pool would have been awesome. Whenever we return to the Hampton Falls area, we will always come here because it is a gem. You won't be sorry! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$37
This is as close to a 10 as you can get. If this place had a pool or pond it would get the extra point. Beautifully laid out campground. Nice mix of seasonals and transients. Extremely friendly, helpful staff. Excellent playground and mini golf (best mini golf we have found in a campground). Beautiful store (post and beam)with all the necessities. Very pet friendly. Extremely clean bathrooms and showers. Only 12 minutes to Hampton Beach and the Casino Ballroom. We will definitely go back. This is the first place we have ever seen that we would even consider as a seasonal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
Although this campground was very clean, and the staff was nice I felt like we were ripped off as we payed peak season prices for a campground that was understaffed and had no recreational facilities or activities at all. The rec hall, known as "The Lodge" never opened the entire week. Nor did the game room or the mini golf. They told us they wouldn't open until July. But they still charged us the full rate for what was a essentially parking spot. The showers near us were always cold, when we complained they gave us money back for the cold showers and told us they would be fixed. The next day they were still cold. They were never fixed so we had to use the showers across the campground. We will not return, we had to find entertainment away from the campground as we were traveling with a teenage son and we needed to keep him active. Very disappointing because their webpage made this campground sound great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$42
Very nice campground. Quiet, paved sites and roads. We had 50 amps in space PT-4. We had good cell phone service, internet and satellite TV. Site was good size with table and fire pit. The landscape was well manicured. Quiet. Many permanents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$42
A very quiet family campground . The campground is off a beautiful country road and the camp sites are one mile into the woods from the office ! The owners and staff are very pleasant and helpful . The owners are pet owners and we found the campground pet friendly. We stayed in the pull through section.The park offers plenty of manuevering room There was sufficent space between sites . The park is mostly seasonals and they are kept up . Our site (PT5) didnt allow a satellite lock on and cable or WiFi wasnt currently available. Oh well, we survived . The park is near Hampton Beach and other attractions .The campground also has a very old sawmill across from the office . There is some late 1700s technology still in operation from time to time . I found it very interesting and would like to see it in action This was our first visit and we will return . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com