219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Homosassa River RV Resort (Turtle Creek) was rated 6 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (352) 628-2928
CGID689

Homosassa River RV Resort (Turtle Creek)

Camp Information
Sites
225
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   8   6   2   5   7   2   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$39
The park was OK but not a destination. We felt there were too many fulltimers there. There are some quiet spots away from the clubhouse and pool that seem to be the center of the park but then you are getting a little close to the main road. It is rural and quiet for the most part. It is close to the Homossassa River. Clubhouse has a restaurant. We were told there were nearby hiking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
Rate is Passport America. Very disappointed here. We arrived and were taken to site L08. Barely fit there. "Caution" tape across the back and side, they were trenching for new utilities. Had to park in alley next to site. Clearly the worst site they had, I guess because we were PA. Many 'nice' empty sites. While most sites were narrow, ours was ridiculous. Our slide was 2" from the power box, and the next site Water and sewer was a foot under our awning. I guess that would have been nice for a neighbor if it was raining when they arrived. I don't think we will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
New office staff since my last stay. Everyone very nice. The park has had many of the older units removed. Many empty lots and newer campers on others. No Wi-Fi system. Pool sparkling clean. We enjoy it here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Entrance looks great. Some RV's here are unsightly and not maintained giving CG a bad look. Staff is friendly. Lots of birds and turtles in river. WiFi is Tengo and very expensive ($5.95/day). Staff does NOT control barking dogs during day, and this is a real turnoff. Park has 30 amp. It is located close to state park, grocery stores and other services. Very quiet and restful at night. Some activities most days for guests. I would come again but only if WiFi is improved or included in price. We used Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2013
$22
This park claiming waterfront on a lake would be a major stretch: dirty pond yes. There are many derelict units throughout the park along with many permanents. The stafff claimed the pool was 85 degrees, and that too, was a stretch. We forgot to remove our water splitter and filter when we left. When we called, they said they would check, but called back to tell us they were not there! That was about four hours after we left. The park was convenient to visit Homosassa State Park and a few other places, but I would not come here again unless they made drastic improvements, especially to the derelict units. If you are going to have permanent (campers) in a park, keep the transients separate, or improve the look of the permanent spaces. Hoarders are not a good view for transient RV'ers! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2013
$20
This is an old park that is mostly filled with permanent residents. The streets are paved and most of the sites are grass, dirt or gravel. On the positive side, the staff and residents are very friendly, there are lots of facilities and lots of activities. On the negative side, the sites are very tight and many of the permanent sites are looking rather junky. The leaves had not been raked and as a result it was hard not to track dirt into the RV. Each site has a small picnic table, hardly big enough for two and most of them are so old, they look dangerous. Wi-Fi is an expensive extra, but if you ask the office staff, they will give you a coupon for one session. We came here to meet some friends and so we stayed for a couple of days. I can’t imagine ever coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$21
Rate reflects AAA discount. Pulled in just after 5 on a Friday. Lady at the desk made sure to let us know she was supposed to be closed. Set us up in a very narrow site next to a neighbor who blasted their outdoor TV until 11. Generator started up within earshot at dawn. 4 hours of free internet. Quite a walk to the dumpsters. Paved roads, dog friendly. Very close to Homosassa Springs State Park, which made it worth the stay. The State Park was great. I highly recommend it, but the RV park was a bit tight and full and made us feel claustrophobic. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This campsite was a disappointment! The lots are small and close together. Their Wi-Fi is NOT free, you have to pay $6 a day (although they claim the first 4 hours are free). It seemed more like a mediocre trailer park than resort. On a the positive, the front desk girl was nice and moved us to a different lot that was more accessible for our 38ft motor coach, and it is 1-1/2 miles from the Wildlife Refuge. An easy bike ride if you don't have a car. The only reason we stayed here was because we got a one night free coupon from LazyDays. We actually debated on staying at another campsite, but decided to leave a day early instead. Will NOT be staying here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
It seems we have a different view of this location than others. We only stay 3 days at a time. We visit there during the summer months and don't have a full campground to deal with. Usually no neighbor on either side. The pool is near and large enough. The laundry is huge. So we really like it there. There are many local restuarants close by and thats a big draw for us. Small cable lineup and pay wifi is something they should change. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2012
$21
After staying at a Carefree Park in Carrabelle, this was a total letdown. I've waited till the end of our stay in hopes of being as objective as possible, but things just are as they are. If you are looking for a place to park for months at a time, with the snowbirds, do check it out. At least 50% of the campers are permanent to the point of having decks and roofs on them, several have HVAC/heat pumps! The short term sites (which we were after) are interspersed in the midst of the settlement (rather than placed close to the front or at least more accessible) down very narrow, winding, sharp turn roads. Once in your grass/mud/sand pad between the trees, you can hope your slides don't hit the neighbors. I cannot get my awning fully extended on one side and the rankness of my chain smoking neighbors camper gags us out every time they open the door up to change out their oxygen tanks (no I'm not making that up, standing by for the midnight explosion). My slide is 3 feet from their awning, its way too close. I would check out the other RV parks in the area before I would stay here, there are other parks, just not reviewed on this site. The wildlife park is great, but no need to stay this close to it. They really need to create some short term pull through sites. Only shining moment is the PPA rate we were given. We won't be back, and I really will question the Carefree brand in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$21
This is a Carefree Park with mostly seasonal/long term residents. Entry road is narrow. Staff were friendly. Bathrooms were old but clean. Our site (A3) was 2 feet from the neighbors shed and we could watch & listen to their TV. Residents used the site next to us to drive their cars and carts through and walk/relieve their dogs. This park is acceptable for overnight and for Visiting Ellie Schiller Homosassa Springs Wildlife State Park which is less than 1 mile away. Proximity to the park is the only reason we would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2011
$38
Many extended stay sites. Road and sites are not paved. It rained, so we had mud around RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
This is now a Carefree Park. This was the second time we stayed at this park. It was better the last time. They do not keep up the grounds. The staff is friendly, but overworked. There are fewer than last time. The look and feel is definitely tropical - especially with all the no seeums. The laundry is open to the public, so it's busier than most campgrounds. However, it is cleaned every morning and the gal that does it is wonderful. There are grocery stores and drug stores close by, but everything else is quite a drive. If you want to kick back, get one of their "special" rates. If you want other things to do, look outside Homosassa. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$15
This is a nice park, clean with friendly people. The no-seeums were horrible for me and I am still scratching 3 days later. I spent very little time outside. The road into the park ( from either way ) is a 10 ton limit road. I commented to the maintenance man and he said, " We were here first. " At 13 tons, I feel like I could have been ticketed and I do try to avoid that situation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
Older park that is now under new management. Many permanent residents who live in trailers of various conditions. Streets narrow. People very friendly and many things to do in area. Not a lot of activities in the park. We stayed for a long period so rate relative to that. Kind of a unique park so enjoyed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$16
Many local color restuarants close by. New Cajun place very close and OK. The pool here is very nice. New ownership and it seems to be working. Passport America is a big plus. The staff was very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
The roads are paved, the area is shaded, the pool is clean. The restrooms and showers are clean but old and need attention. I have mixed feelings about this place-mostly I felt like I was camping in a trailer park. I don't think I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
This is a quaint old Florida place with a nice pool and on the banks of a river. There was a very helpful staff. They were giving out free bread, and they helped us get a TV cable the day we were there. It is just a mile down the road from a nature park that is worth the visit. It is a bit off the beaten track, but worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$15
Not a bad place to stay. We were there under Passport America. Close to the wildlife preserve which is what we wanted. Sites were rather small but were OK. A few days into our stay we found Crystal River which was a Encore park that was about the same price. I would probably stay there next time. Don't get me wrong, Turtle Creek was not bad at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$19
Site on the Creek very narrow and shallow [maybe 40']. Limited cable. Pool crystal clear and a real pleasure. Staff very very nice. Dial up in office- huge laundry -quiet. Dogs are $1.00 each per day extra. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$28
Pool was shut down for servicing for weeks, we cancelled one reservation, and a week later when we returned the pool was still not up and working. Very helpful reception and service staff. Small sites. Friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$14
Very nice. Decent cable, clean pool. Some permanents but nice units. Paved - quiet - shade. Very, very nice staff. All this at passport America prices. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
I spent the winter here. Yes some of the electric hookups are old but they are slowly working on them. The "no seeums" do bite, welcome to FL! Very frendly people and if you have never played "Street Golf" you are missing something. My wife and I love this part of FL and we would return here. Our MH is 38'. Don't miss the resident Osprey, river otters and many birds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$25
The people were very nice at the desk and we stayed here for a couple of nights. It looks like there are a lot of people that stay here for extended time. The negatives were the dirt and mud outside our RV door and the bugs. We were there in Feb. and the little biting bugs would drive us inside at times. Our electrical box was without a cover that fit and had old style fixtures. I don't believe we will be staying here again, as in our opinion, there are nicer parks very close nearby. This could be a great place, but needs updating and modernizing. The owners could put a little money in the place and have a much better resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com