214559 User submitted reviews online!!
Kennebec KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (605) 869-2300
CGID6915

Kennebec KOA

Camp Information
Sites
63
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   8   9   10   9   3   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
This was our first stay at this campground, and we would recommend it highly for anyone. Sites were level and owners were highly interested in your satisfaction. Rather remote but close to highway, although no noise. Easy on and off. Very clean pool which is unusual. Just a good place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
This is a basic overnight stop. They have a pool & hot tub we did not use. It rained the night we were there and our electric tower was in a puddle of water. We had a nice long pull-through and did not have to unhook. We used the laundry which was small & hot, but functional. We had cable and the Wi-Fi was great. Nothing is paved and repeated rains have left the roads and sites very pitted and mushy. The staff was super pleasant & they offer a chuck wagon for breakfast & dinner with a limited menu. Overpriced for an overnight stop (we got the KOA card 10% discount). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Nice over nite stay not a destination park about a mile off interstate with wide pull through sites. we had lousy neighbors with dogs not on leash but not campground fault. Plenty of room for our Trailer and slides We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
This is a very convenient, family-owned campground with wide level sites separated by trees. When we arrive the power was out so we waited and chatted with the lovely owners. We're glad we did, as the power came back on, the Wi-Fi was strong and cable worked well. Despite flooding earlier in the year, the owners have made great strides in rehabilitating their RV park. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
A very friendly staff, gravel roads, nice size level campsites, not a lot of shade, and a good place to stop over night. The town is very small, less then a 1000 population, so no services really. There is a clean pool available for use and clean restrooms/showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
Kennebec is in the middle of nowhere so it was nice to find a comfortable place to overnight. Nice owners. Site was level, gravel with sufficient space in between. Some of the sites for smaller rigs really had nice side yards. Table and grill provided. Wi-Fi excellent and came right up. Didn't leave the campground so don't know what's around but this is definitely a nice stop over. No interstate noise. We are in a 45' and had ample room to maneuver. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$44
There are very nice, friendly helpful employees. The Park was spacious, clean, with level sites and is quiet. The new owners have done an excellent job of recovery from spring storms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
The sites are gravel with considerable weeds present. The management is pleasant but when they went to cooking the very expensive hambergers at the small outdoor diner, their expertise vanished. The burgers were terrible with meager condiments and my beans were poured right out of the cold can. The swimming pool was very nice and was enjoyed by us and our grand children. The park would have been much nicer if they hadn't received a huge amount of rain the night before. Many sites were closed because of the considerable water present. The electric was spot on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We did not have any trouble with this campground. Our site was long enough that we did not unhook. Staff was friendly and helpful. They had a staff member cooking breakfast, dinner and served ice cream. Pool was nice for the family. Play area was a little old with wooden playsets. Mini golf area was not worth our time. Campground was quiet until our neighbors pulled in really late and set up tents. Easy in and out. I dumped at the dump station and just planned ahead to turn left instead of right out of the area to make it easier on me clearance wise. I would return to this campground if needed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
This KOA is very tired and needs some help. The restrooms supposedly have been recently renovated and the billboards say they are the cleanest in South Dakota, I beg to differ. The sites are very small for big rigs, we hung out into the road with our 30' fifth-wheel. It rained over night and the roads were very mushy and we dug into them to get pulled out of the campground. Beware of the drive way after you dump your tanks at the dump station, it is a very tight squeeze to get around the North side of the building again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
This park offered us a respite from travel. We stayed two days as everyone else was staying just one night. Definitely a "stop over" park but we found it nice and relaxing. The pool and hot tub were especially clean and relaxing. Host couple was very helpful, polite and respectful. I tried to eat the breakfast which was not very well prepared and passed on the dinner (burgers and dogs). I would stay here again if the opportunity presented itself. I do feel the rates for the KOA's are excessive... We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
This campgrounds sole existence is for overnight stays to or from the Mount Rushmore region. This means it requires 3 things to be acceptable, 1 be near the interstate, 2 be well maintained & 3 be accommodating. This CG is near the interstate and they were accommodating to a late night arrival. Maintenance on the other hand was terrible. We got in at 1:30 am after driving 880 miles that day. Their sign said something like "not for nervous drivers, mud and potholes everywhere". We pulled into the site and my wife started to argue that we were parked in the street. I could see how she thought that but according to the map we were in our site. Trust me, after 880 miles I needed that like I needed a hole in my head. I could not get the WI-FI to work so I walked into the laundry room the next morning and stood under the antenna. I was able to send a text email but uploading a single picture was too much for it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$54
We wouldn't recommend this campground even for just an overnight stay. Our site was not level; there was a tree next to our site that prevented ease of slide out use; the grass needed mowing; and the mosquitoes were so bad, we couldn't even be outside for more than a minute without being eaten alive. Next time we will stay elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$31
If you are looking for an overnight stop as you travel across South Dakota, this campground does just fine. I'd say a bit pricey, but as a KOA franchise this is to be expected. Everything worked just fine, the folks were nice, and we managed to get to the one store and one gas station while they were open! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$46
I have no idea if this campground is clean, family oriented or anything. The reason for the review is that almost (43 hours) before my scheduled check in time I tried to move the reservation to another KOA because I was ahead of my travel schedule. The lady who answered the phone was very rude and down right mean. Just because of this I would not recommend the place. Again, I never stayed there before but due to the clerks behavior on the phone I would not want to. I was told I had to be 48 hours prior to my reservation to cancel or move it which I understand. It was the way she presented herself that bothers me. I did not receive any type of refund or credit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Typical KOA w/easy access to I-90. Great supper/breakfasts available to all including locals, as long as everyone pays. We've stayed here before during trips both east and west. Diesel fuel and gas available at station at I-90 exit and CG is only 1/2 mile from interstate. Westerly winds and limited traffic going thru SD keep road noise to a minimum. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$26
Good park for an overnight stop. When we arrived it was the day after torrential rain and flash flood warning. The management offered us a refund if we wanted to leave as most of the sites were soggy. Decided to stay and all was OK. Amenities are good. We parked near the office and WiFi was good on site. Great pool with separate hot tub. Definitely recommend for a stop and we'd stay here again. Staff and owners very pleasant and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com