214486 User submitted reviews online!!
Margaret MacNider Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (641) 421-3679
CGID6918

Margaret MacNider Park

Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   9   10   9   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
What a lovely campground! We are in a full hookup, gravel site in the middle of a lovely little town. Some of the sites are a bit close, but I would rate it as good or better than most KOAs for half the price. Next door is a very nice aquatic center and park with walking/bike trails. The managers at the park have been exemplary and helped us with travel directions. Call the campground for directions, the GPS does not bring you in the best way. We are 38ft. and had no issues getting in the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
We visited family in Mason City and we wanted to be as close as possible. We found this gem on line and it looked good. It's a beautiful park with magnificent oak trees and nice level gravel spots right in the middle of town. Very quiet with a EF-5 rated storm shelter, clean showers and clean laundry facilities. The host was very helpful and accommodating. The only drawback is that some sites are close together but it was still very quiet and relaxing. It's also next door to the city aquatic center which is very nice. We highly recommend this campground to anyone visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Nice city owned and run campground. The campground hosts are very nice and very friendly. We came down here Labor Day weekend for 2 reasons. First because I did not have reservations for anywhere else on the busy weekend and they do not take reservation, it is all first come first serve. Second because of the Waterpark next door. The Water Park, known as the Aquatic Center, was closed for the weekend, and we found that out after we arrived, because it is mainly staffed (lifeguards) by college students and they had all went back to school and did not have enough help to open it and run it. Bummer! Other than that the park was very nice with some sites shaded and others not. You pick your own site when you get there and set up. No sites are assigned. A short walk or drive away is a deer farm, a rustic playground, and geese that sit by the river that runs through the area. It was fairly quiet for the most part. You could here traffic going by on the city street but nothing too bad, and you could hear a train go through town about 4 or 5 times a day. The train was a couple of miles away and was just a distant sound. We will definitely be back, only we will do it in the middle of the summer so we are sure that the Aquatic Center will be open. They have Tent sites $12, Water & Electric $16, and Full Hook Up for $25. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
What a find! Not being familiar with this area we chose this park based on previous reviews, especially the one who stated a big rig would have no problems and that is true. The hosts were the most pleasant and helpful hosts, we have ever encountered. The utilities are to the back of the site in some sites so extra hose or cord might be needed. VERY WELL maintained and just a nice pleasant peaceful setting. We happened to choose a site that had a big tree blocking our satellite from working but we chose to not move and just enjoy the peace and quiet. I would have liked to stay here longer just to regroup but all good things have to come to an end. The only negative was train noise, especially in the mornings, so if you are a light sleeper this might be a concern. There is a wonderful water park next door if you so desire. We will definitely be back at this park when we pass through IA again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$16
Our rate was for a site without sewer. We loved this campground. Paved roads with gravel sites. Nice spacing between sites with beautiful grassy areas and nice well trimmed trees throughout. Restrooms & showers were modern and clean. No cable, but local stations came in fine. Our Verizon 3G worked well. Camp hostess was personable and so helpful! We loved it here and wished we could have stayed longer. Best deal in many overnight stays for us. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$16
Most helpful campground hosts we ever met. Park was neat and well maintained. Very very nice place and the site we had was a back in with electric and water. The nights stay was $16 and we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This is a great campground! We will be back if we are anywhere close. The campground host was friendly and helpful. Nice first impression. The campground is well cared for and maintained. The sites are level, the grass is mowed and each site has a fire ring. Campsites have plenty of room: we are 40 feet. The laundry is $1.25 wash and $1.25. Very reasonable. The showers, laundry and safe room (for tornados) is the best we have seen. The city pool is 150 yards away and a great deal at $2 for campers. Glad we found this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$16
New managers did an excellent job last year of cleaning up this park and have returned this year with continued efforts. Restrooms, showers, and laundry room, which also serves as a storm shelter, are very spacious and clean. Re-cycle bins are now available. Back-in and pull thru sites are large, mostly shaded but not obstructed. Tree trimming is ongoing in problem spots. Enforcement of the rules seems a priority which makes the park pleasant for everyone. The managers are friendly and helpful and have gone above and beyond most managers to make this park a nice place to stay. A definite improvement from our visit two years ago. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
We are in a 46' 13' 4" tall coach. We are always concerned if we can fit in a campground or make it in without hitting trees on the top or make the turns. None of that was an issue here. We have a beautiful spot next to the F5 capable storm shelter with amazingly clean interior (showers, bathrooms and laundry). The campground hosts are the best we have ever run across and helped us into our spot and made sure we were ok. It is rainy here lately and in front of our door was a puddle when we left to go see friends. when we got back, they had brought gravel over and filled in the puddle so we wouldn't have to wade through it. Very thoughtful. This park is stunningly pretty. Mature trees, amazing grass and full hookups for a big rig. We have a back in spot, but it was easy to get in and the host helped guide me in. There is a nice city pool right next door and you can get tickets to go for two dollars from the hosts. I walked down to the river and watched the ducks this morning, about 200 yards from our rig. The city park is huge and this is part of it. If you have kids with you it is a great place to go spend time. This is not a resort full of amenities, but definitely a resort feel for beauty and peacefulness. We can't say enough nice things about this place. We have stayed at high end resorts and lowly campgrounds and for our two cents worth, this is one of the nicest. It is not the fanciest, not the most amenities, but tons of peaceful easy feelings as the Eagles used to say. The hosts make sure the guests follow the rules (meaning not allowing things that make it no fun for the rest of us). They show tons of pride in their love of the campground. I would definitely recommend this place. This is my first review on here because it is the first time i have felt I should take the time to do so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
First time stayed in city park. Although the park has self-registration, we were met by the campground host who assisted us in selecting a site. MacNider is an older well-maintained municipal campground with blacktopped interior roads and gravel pads. Most sites can accommodate any size rig. The full hookup sites are closest to the entrance with those next to the road offering the most space. The building that houses the restrooms and laundry is also a FEMA approved emergency shelter. The restrooms were very clean. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Our extended stay at this park was very relaxing with a site in the shade and satellite reception. The current park hosts are excellent and greet campers as they enter the park. They also monitor campers and make sure the rules are followed without being overbearing. The sites are roomy and our Wi-Fi card worked just fine. The building that houses rest rooms, showers, washers and dryers is also a tornado shelter. Mostly paved roads are great for biking and walking. The nearby East Park is excellent for walking and biking. The city pool next door is huge with discounted admission for campers. The entire area of Mason City has lots of attractions, shopping and restaurants. We will come back next summer and bring friends! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
My husband and I have stayed at this campground many times for several years. It is very nice. This year is a big improvement with the new managers here. They have cleaned it up and overall it much more enjoyable. We truly appreciate their improvements. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
We've stayed at MacNider on several occasions. I previously reviewed this campground and rated it a seven, but I feel that the recent administrative changes justify giving it an eight rating. Although the park has self-registration, we were met by the new campground host who assisted us in selecting a site. We also noticed that the campground rules and regulations were being enforced. Most of what was discussed in the previous post remains the same. MacNider is an older well-maintained municipal campground with blacktopped interior roads and gravel pads. Most sites can accommodate any size rig. The full hookup sites are closest to the entrance with those next to the road offering the most space. The building that houses the restrooms and laundry is also a FEMA approved emergency shelter. The restrooms were very clean. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
This is a great city campground with access to the city park across the river and the city pool close by. But, there is a host that is supposed to be on duty and was very rarely around. There were strange things going on all night long with traffic coming and going and I and others nearby think there were drug deals going on. There were campers in the back side of the grounds that were up all night and were available to walk out and talk with the drive through customers. If this kind of action continues it is going to ruin a very nice park so either the city of Mason City needs to get on the ball or at least the host stay on duty and report what's going on around there. There should be no reason for people driving through a family oriented campground like they did. Even through out the day there were people driving through. It should be only for registered campers past the gate. I had friends kids that camped there after us and the night got actually scary with the activities. Great campground, just be safe! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
MacNider is an older, well maintained municipal campground located on a small bluff above the Winnebago River. A majority of the sites are shaded with large oak trees. The full hookup section has paved roads and gravel pads that vary in size from small to big rig friendly. The park has undergone major renovations including a new shower house, upgraded utilities, dump station, etc. Discounts are given to campers for the use of the city pool and city golf course. The staff is friendly. MacNider has a relaxed atmosphere. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$12
A good place to park for the night. If you can get to East State Street, take a walk along it. There are some nice old homes along it with a paver in the side walk describing them and the date built. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com