206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Sturgis RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (605) 720-1501
CGID6927

Sturgis RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
164
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   10   8   10   10   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
This park is a bit shocking when you first pull up because it is so bare and a huge gravel open area. Nothing fancy. However, we got 2 nights at PA rate of $12.50 and one night at $25 (reg price). Can't hardly beat that! Everything worked, free WIFI, good size sites, and level. Nice at the office. It worked well for us. Word of caution: Hard to get to with GPS. Just go down a few blocks and come around. Nice walking trail nearby. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$13
Level, gravel sites. Easy access. No shade trees. Restrooms, showers, laundry (front loader washers-yippee!!) very clean. Rate is PA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$110
I stayed here during the 2013 rally. Great place, all the workers were very friendly. Very good security. I was on the second level, with a great view of the city. Very clean park. They have a shuttle bus that will take you downtown from 6 PM until 2 AM. It is a short walk to Main St. I will stay here again. I had a great time I will be back for the next rally. The best deal in Sturgis! The rate reflects the rate during the rally. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
We stayed here one week and left the MH here one week while we flew home. Did not worry a bit about the MH being there as we felt very confident in the staff and the area. Staff told us they would keep an eye on our rig while we were gone. Super staff, great facility, great view from the top deck overlooking downtown Sturgis. Super bike/walk path runs right in front of CG will take you into town or out to Fort Mead in the other direction. Walk to grocery store, restaurants and all other downtown spots. Rate is reflected as a weekly. We will not stay anywhere else when in Sturgis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
Clean and quiet. The deer were around each evening. Friendly folks. The dryers needed to be cleaned better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
The Best Park in our opinion. The rate is a weekly rate, we stayed 1 week and enjoyed it so much we stayed a second. Up on the terrace the view of Sturgis at night is beautiful. Great managers and hosts answered questions and helped with directions. We stall tell all our friends about it and recommend to everyone. We must say the best weather to be in this time of the year. Close to all the area's sights and easy to get to shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Beautiful view from our spot. Friendly, helpful staff. Plenty to do. Clean and spacious campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Great Park . Owners very helpful . We lost part of our awning on the way to site. Park owners helped remove what was left of the awning . When we were getting ready to leave , one stabilizer would not retract. They came to our aid again . Will stay there next time we are through South Dakota We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
This is the best view, above Sturgis, surrounded by mountains. Campsites are gravel and dirt/clay mixture, quite messy, otherwise I would have given them a 10. Sites are large, plenty of room for toad. Sturgis is a quiet little town when not hosting the big rally. Very convenient to I-90 even for an overnight. Campground is now named Sturgis Campground and they do honor Passport for 2 nights, with some restrictions. Would definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
We stayed here for 3 nights under Passport America and then extended to one week for $100. Great place. Modern laundry, level sites, very good WiFi, nice managers, wonderful places to visit like Rushmore, Crazy Horse and much more. Great little local restaurants. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
Nice roomy park on a big gravel area. Price reflects weekly rate. 3 sewer connections in each site to accommodate any RV location. Laundry rooms in each of the restrooms. Park is on woodland not 2nd. Look at the hill north side of town and you will see it. Went to Deadwood and Lead while here. Also take the Spearfish canyon drive. Fall colors were coming on and waterfalls to see. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$13
Rate is Passport America. Large gravel lot with level sites. Good Wi-Fi, close to town. Not far from the interstate. Good place to stay. I'd do it again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$14
This campground is 2 blocks from downtown Sturgis, close to grocery, entertainment, post office, Pamida, etc. We stayed 9 nights 1 week after the rally. Essentially just large gravel parking lot but nice level spaces, ease of in-out and hook-ups. Price for 1 week is $100.00 and we used Passport America for remaining 2 days as it was great point to sight see all through the Black Hills. Restroom and laundry were like new, very clean; and the customer service was outstanding. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
Price reflects weekly rate. Yes, this is basically a gravel parking lot to look at but staff is great and facilities more than adequate. Wi-Fi works well. Walking path across the street goes into a well maintained park. A good grocery store in within walking distance. Not a lot of lighting which would interrupt sleep. We were here over the Fourth of July and thoroughly enjoyed the firework display as viewed from their upper level. Only drawback at the moment is the landslide that covered roadway to upper levels. This was cleared up and being worked on during our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
This was a clean, well maintained park. It has a wonderful view of downtown Sturgis from the upper levels, which we had no problem navigating with our big rig. You can walk out of the park onto a city maintained path of over 10 miles, through parks and along the river. But, the best feature at the park are the managers. It doesn't matter how wonderful a park is, if you are not treated well, it loses it's luster. The managers make you feel as if you are at a 5 star hotel. They cater to all needs, and go above beyond in all instances. Would recommend this park as a base camp for anyone going to the Black Hills. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
The nightly rate reflects the weekly rate divided by 5 nights. Mt. Rodney advertises itself as a luxury coach resort. Hmmm, me thinks something is amiss here. We did stay for 5 nights because this was our base camp for Spearfish, Deadwood, and of course, Sturgis. They must have very good legal representation because there are open digging sites with huge holes, open man-hole covers (none of this marked), and electrical cords strung across sites without any obvious work being performed. Be careful if you walk the park at night! Good features: this park is located across from a nice field of trees and green lawn bordering a river, and a nice river walk leading to a city park. The hosts are kind but didn't know the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Relatively new RV park with full hook-up big rig sites. No worries about length of your rig; picnic tables at all sites. Beautiful view from upper levels of park. Clean & well kept restroom/shower/laundry area. Friendly, helpful staff, great rates, central area for many attractions. Will definitely return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
One of the all around nicest parks we've stayed in throughout our many years of traveling. Air conditioned restrooms, shower and laundry area are exceptionally clean which is definitely a great big PLUS with us. Picnic tables at each site along with 20/30/50 amp service. The upper 2 levels afford a fantastic view of Sturgis and the Black Hills as well as wildlife very close to our rig. Has very courteous and helpful staff. We will definitely stay at Mt. Rodney RV Park when we're in the area again! A delightful experience and also close to many of the areas attractions. If you're here on the 4th of July, be sure to watch the fireworks from the upper level: awesome!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$32
This RV park is located at the foot of a hill, overlooking downtown Sturgis. The sites are level gravel pull-thrus with full hook-ups (50 amp too)at each site. Each site has a picnic table and a grassy area. On the evening of our arrival there were very few campers and deer were grazing on the grounds. It is a short 1/2 mile walk to the restaurants, etc. The CG is very quiet and immaculate. The showers were locked as was the laundry room, so I was not able to view them. The dry gulch in front of the CG can be a rattlesnake hide away, so do not go walking in it. (I was warned by a local of this). During the motorcycle rally week in early August, the weekly rate is $850 and up. However, if you are travelling and want a nice spot to stay for a day or more at any other time, this is a great CG. It is brand new, so I hear. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
We stayed two weeks. Would stay again. Located about 15 miles from Deadwood/Lead and from Spearfish. Very open no shade. New. Part of the park is on a hillside and would give a lovely view. They had had a lot of rain the week before so no one was on the hill. Park was empty. The most vehicles at one time was less than ten. Showers and Restrooms were clean but the women's shower water was not hot. Sites were gravel with grass patios. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$12
New park (2006) with gravel roads & sites and grassy around sites. This park has a friendly staff and wide open view of Sturgis which is just a 5 minute walk. Rates are higher for motorcycle rally. The main level is flat with a few wild deer visits in the late afternoon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com