219080 User submitted reviews online!!
Down By The River Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (828) 733-5057
CGID6932

Down By The River Campground

Camp Information
Sites
118
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   5   5   10   10   8   6   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$42
Mostly permanent sites. Wi-Fi weak and antenna TV in and out. No cable. Well maintained and nice campground. Staff helpful and friendly along with the few people that were there. Campground had just opened for the summer so not many people around. I would stay there again. Biggest complaint is way overpriced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Wi-Fi is extremely weak. No joy. We tried our Verizon Air-card, with very limited success. The spots are level, as is the entire campground. Easy to maneuver, 95% paved roads (the loop at he end is gravel-ish). Lots of full time residents. We went for the motorcycle riding on the Blue Ridge Parkway. No disappointment there. The bathhouses, including showers, were clean, but old. Curtains for doors on the privy and showers. I prefer a door I can lock when I'm in the shower. One bathhouse was a little newer than the other, but they're both a little run down. I'd stay there again if all I wanted to do is ride my motorcycle, but everything else is so-so. Grass surrounds the concrete site pads, which I like. Disappointed in the Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
This campground has some good points, and some bad stuff. First the good ones: concrete roads, concrete pads and patios, very well kept grounds. Decent Wi-Fi (albeit kinda slow), easy access to Blue Ridge Parkway. Then the not so good. With the pull-throughs you have to cross grass to get to the pad (we came in after a rain, and it was mushy mud). Roadways are very narrow and we had to go all around the campground to pull into a site right across from the office. No credit cards - cash or check only. Sites are wide enough, but overlap from the sites behind made the rear of our coach 6 feet from the rear of our neighbor's coach. Most sites are seasonal or permanent. Staff was not really rude, just a "don't care" attitude. Don't let the "Down by the River" name fool you. There is a river, but the only sites by the river are a few tent sites. Not even a path to walk by the river. Check-in was OK, but certainly not friendly. Then, when we found a problem with our sewer connection, the woman looked at us and said "what am I supposed to do?" Only after some prodding did she get her husband (the "maintenance man") to come and fix it. Only took him 5 minutes, but he wouldn't even speak to us! So, all in all, it's not a terrible place, but not a great place either. With a little work and a big attitude adjustment, it could be a great place! Next time we'll look for another campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$52
Yes, you read the price right - $52!! Is it worth it - no. No cable. It had recently rained when we visited and part of the site was flooded. More of a permanent trailer park. Pull-through was very tight. I would drive past next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
Well kept grounds! Not much to do for kids, so mostly retired people. Very quiet which we loved! Excellent Wi-Fi/internet connection. Only local TV via antenna. (Which is fine for us!) Lovely pavilion by the river with a fireplace, plus everyone has their own firepit (cage). We'll be back again and again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
What can we say other than what a super place. Debbie is the most friendly and helpful campground manager that we have ever met. Talk about immaculate grounds, it's here. The River is beautiful and Saddie (our golden) had a pleasant dip. This is the cleanest, most friendly, beautiful campground that we have ever had the pleasure of staying at. The nice bonus was the fall colors on the surrounding hills. The campground is just a few miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, Grandfather Mountain, Linville Falls and the Linville Cavern. You cannot ask for more. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$47
As the other reviews have already stated, this is a very well kept campground. Except, I wouldn't call it a campground. It is a trailer park with some sites for RV'ers. Stream access is nice. The residents were nice, though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
This is a tidy and well laid out campground, with very level sites, most with pads for both the unit and as a porch. All utilities worked fine. The sites are side by side, but staggered so there is always space out side your front door. Nicely landscaped, and the permanents are maintained with high standards. The river is a nice feature, and is shallow enough for wading and playing, as well as for fishing. The elevation is about 4000', so it is a lot cooler here, which was quite a relief. The camp roads are paved, so it is very easy to bike ride. There are no real activities or playgrounds for the kids, but the riding and splashing in the river kept most entertained, and there is a huge expanse of grass field for any kind of sports you'd care to play. This is predominantly older folks with permanent sites, many from Florida. I was accosted by a little old lady who upbraided me for not cleaning up after my pet (although he did nothing but pee). Bad eyes or just a sour puss? On separate occasions the owners told my kids to clean up after the dogs. This was very insulting as we are religious about it, and spotted several treats left by the permanent's toy dogs all over the place. If you are after mountain views, forget it. You are in a small valley and can't see the mountains, but you are definitely at a good location for touring the surrounding area. NC 181 from Morganton is very steep, winding, and long in places, so be sure your rig or TV is up to it. A nice campground, but our family was turned off by the somewhat hostile attitude about our pets, who were very well behaved and cleaned up after. Our family will not return because of this. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
This is a very nice campground. The folks in the office were extremely friendly and helpful. The sites are plenty big and the bathhouse was clean. WiFi worked very well. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
First let me say that this is a beautiful campground. It is like being in your own little world. It is very quiet and peaceful. Most of the campground is made up of seasonal campers.Do not let that scare you away The ones we met were very nice,welcoming, and they take great pride in their site. It is like they compete for site of the week or something. They are a family though as most have come there for years. The short term campers have large sites and most have cement pads. They do have tent sites that are mostly shaded and right on the Linville river. other than the really short term sites, the layout took some getting used to but once you figured it out the sites are very large. The things that lowered the score are it says family campground; and yes children are welcome,but they have nothing visible for children to do. It is like family means the seasonal one. Even a small playground, basketball court, or something of that nature would be nice. The streets are all one way and could use better markings especially to exit. They are pet friendly as most folks had doggies, but they want you to take your pet; a good ways for most, to do their business. Like you can tell your pet to wait until we can get over behind that building. All in all a nice place to camp and we will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This is a very nice, extremely well-maintained, campground. Probably 70% of the spots are occupied by seasonal campers. It is an excellent location to use as a base for seeing the numerous local mountain attractions. It is probably the closest campground to Grandfather Mountain. Most sites now have concrete pads. Entire campground is flat which makes walking and biking very popular. The Linville River runs along one side. No need for A/C here, even during the hottest part of the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This is a very nice campground, with about 85% of the campers being permanent. It is beautifully kept, and that was the only problem I encountered - the first day, the dumpster was emptied with a great deal of clanging and banging at 6 a.m. The next three days, the weed eater, lawnmower or edger started promptly at 7 a.m. I like to relax and sleep in when I am on vacation, so that did not suit me. Other than that, the campground is wonderful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
It was beautiful. There was a large grassy area in front of our campsite. Very quiet and peaceful campground. We camped with a 3 year old, 2 year old and 2 golden retrievers. Child and pet friendly. Cannot use rv washer and drier due to septic system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
This campground primarily serves seasonal campers but all campers are welcome. Unlike many campgrounds with a large seasonal population, the sites in this campground are attactive and well-maintained. The campground is neat and well-maintained with a nice carpet of mowed grass throughout the campground. No potholes on the road and no bare spots in the grass It is located along the bank of the Linville River with many sites located along the river but most, if not all, are occupied by seasonal campers. The interior roads are paved (concrete) and sites are gravel with concrete patio. Sites are wide with plenty of space for parking. All sites are level. Blue Ridge Parkway is 1.5 miles away. No RV washers and dryers allowed. No dogs over 20 lbs. Entrance to campground is 0.25 miles south of intersection of highway 221 and 181 then go 1 mile to campground. The daily rate is pretty high for a park with few amenities but the monthly and seasonal rates are more affordable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com