215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Whispering Spruce Campground was rated 3 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (403) 226-0097
CGID6971

Whispering Spruce Campground

Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   1   5   1   1   8   3   2   2   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
We stayed two nights at this campground and while a great location for seeing Calgary, the campground needs a lot of maintenance. The sites are grassy, but not level. The recent rains left the ground soft and the ruts were large enough to stymie even my Hummer. The Wi-Fi does not reach the sites. It stops at the manager's house. The roads are rutted badly and the long term campers have collected enough junk to make this truly look like an old trailer park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
We arrived Thursday evening, at about 7.00 p.m. towards end of October and only stayed because we had to be at the dealership next door the next morning. Nobody at the office but phone # provided, so I called. Choose something in the 70's or 90's was the answer and the water is shut off, see you in the morning. The sites are sloping so you have to bring up the front of your RV quite a bit. Left right is o.k. Most sites are on dirt with some grass between sites. Hookups are dated. I only used power. Washrooms are there but you don't want to go there! Wi-Fi only worked around office and in laundry with password provided over the phone. At daytime this place really scares you and everything your mother warned you about is here. At night time, you only see half of it. I have been to all RV sites in and around Calgary, but this one is the worst. I will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Ok place to sleep, but not a place to spend a relaxing day with the kids. There are a few "permanent residents" who live in run down RVs that don't make you feel super comfortable. There are however many nice rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
In our ten years of traveling, this is the absolute worst park we have ever stayed in. It is a dump! There is junk piled everywhere, and the roads are full of holes making it very difficult to move the motorhome about. We actually did not feel safe here, and some of the residents seemed to us to be from a drug culture. We didn't actually see any drugs, but believed that they were present. Would not walk this park after dark ! The lady at the counter was very nice, and very helpful, but we absolutely would not stay here again. Wi-Fi only in the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
This place is the absolute pits. We needed to stop because of mileage and the fact that there are no other CG in the vicinity. They gave me a dangerous site that was between two of their permanent residents. Do not stay here if you value your safety. The sites are all mud and far from level. The staff was indifferent to the state of their park. Avoid at all cost. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Overall experience was great. Very convenient location close to everything. Yes it does need some TLC, but the friendly and very helpful staff made up for it. Stayed for the weekend, for an older campground it was clean and everything was functioning. If travelling through I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
The roads were gravel with very large pot holes and difficult to drive around. The sites were tight and difficult to get into. The rest rooms were not that clean and always out of paper towels. The laundry could have been cleaner. The hook-ups were OK, but the water pressure would come and go, so make sure you have a pressure regulator. I do not think we would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
We opted for an electric & water site and were assigned a barely level dirt site with 30-amps of power. Whoever installed the plug did so upside down so we struggled to get it plugged in (always carry a supply of bungee cords). Once connected the voltage was 109 with no load. When we mentioned it to the attendant he shrugged his shoulders and smiled. The roads were a quagmire with mud everywhere (there wasn't that much rain). Vehicles were double parked everywhere which made it an obstacle course to move through the park. Not someplace we'll put on our "visit again" list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
One dollar for a shower, ten dollars to use the Wi-Fi. Sites not level, just rutted dirt. Next to a busy highway with lots of road noise, under the flight path for Calgary International Airport. Staff indifferent but not rude. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
The staff was friendly. The location provides easy access to Drumheller, AB and the Royal Tyrrell Museum - the reason for our stay. The park is located between a busy highway, train tracks and an airport. Very noisy day and night. Also, it rained and there were large puddles of water and mud everywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Whispering SPRUCE??? No spruce trees there. The owner/operators seem to be as adept at taking reservations as they are at tree identification. Called a few days prior to reserve a site as we would be at the half point of a 12 hr journey home. Called, talked to some guy, he took my name and said no problem, will have a spot for you when you get here Thursday night. Showed up late Thursday afternoon and we has no reservation. So there we are, screaming 1 year old in the truck and no place to set up for the night. Stayed in the Bass Pro Shop parking lot. Actually seemed much cleaner than Whispering Spruce anyways. This review probably won't sway many people from staying here since they are the only campground close to CrossIron Mall, but beware!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
Whispering Spruce Campground, Balzac, AB is absolutely the worst RV park we have ever stayed in and we have 'camped' extensively throughout Western Canada and US. We had to wait over an hour for someone to open the Office so we could get our reserved sites. The bathrooms were filthy and had not seen a scrub mop or disinfectant in a long time. I told the office person that the ladies bathroom was not very clean and was quite smelly. It still had a rank smell when we left on Friday. The Office was in need of a good cleaning but was cleaner on Friday evening. By Friday evening, someone had made a half-hearten attempt at cleaning the Men's Washroom and had put in toilet paper after being 3 days without any. We choose this campground from the AB Campground Book as it was convenient to where we were visiting in Calgary. This campground has great potential but the current owners appear to be more interested in the Dollars they are getting from the unsuspecting public. The lots were poorly maintained and the grass around the sites was in need of a whipper-sniper. The north side of the campground had sewer remains sitting in the grass on the east side of the road. This park needs an inspector for the health and safety of their patrons. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
Stayed here in a 45' MH with tow vehicle. Only stopped in because we couldn't make it to the one we booked in time and these guys stayed open for us. That was about the only positive note. In fairness to the CG, had it not be raining it may not have been that bad. It was raining though; which makes this place a mess of mud. Actually got stuck trying to pull out in the morning! A fair number of long term folks here ranging from a tent in the back of pickup truck, to actual RV's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Keep driving till you get to another campground. Stayed here for a month in a 29 ft motorhome, this place is BAD! They let a guy in a pick up truck park beside me, the guy slept in the back, not even a self contained unit. He would start that wreck up at 6:30 every morning making noise and stinking up the campground with burning oil. The owners have rules on keeping dogs on leash, but let their 2 big dogs run loose all the time. Water leaks from the taps, and leaks on the electrical outlets. Since I`ve been full-timing I`ve stayed at hundreds of campgrounds and this place is the worst by far. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
The location of the campground is good as it is close to Calgary and that's where the positive points stop. The residence managers were very unfriendly. I personally phoned the owner to complain and his comment to me was "it's hard to find good help". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
They may advertise to be kid-friendly and pet-friendly, but don't believe it. The playground is a danger zone. And, although they will take your money to stay there, they clearly don't like dogs. The owner told us, after we paid for our stay, that "We're thinking of going pet-free." In fact, I'm not certain "friendly" describes this place -- or the owners -- at all. We much preferred Symons Valley in Calgary or Mountainview near Chestermere -- or George Lane Campground in High River -- over this place and would never return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Excellent campground. Friendly people running the office/store, lots to choose from. Was pet friendly and kid friendly. New managers, which are working hard at maintaining and doing lots of work to the place to make it a wonderful campground. Will do it again next year and the years to come. Had a wonderful stay!!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
Phone line in office area for modem access. Trains, planes and automobiles all contribute to the noise level. Not much in the store. I'd try another campground or boondock at the one Walmart in Calgary that allows that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
A real dump! Just an open field with rutted dirt roads to the sites. When we arrived at 2:30pm, our sewer hook-up was overflowing - along with three neighbours. The owners promised to have it fixed right away but it wasn't until 11:30am the next morning, and several complaints, that he finally got around to fixing it. The other problems with this RV Park are too numerous to mention - just avoid it if possible! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
What a dump! If I could give it a -10 I would. The only good thing is easy access to Highway 2 but then you get the road noise. We reserved a full hookup site but what was left the previous motorhome's jack sunk in the ground so we took an electric/water site with plans to use dump site the following A.M. The front and back roads were both rutted and filled with water. Areas where roads were dry dust blew off them. Several sites setup as fulltime and not the best. The following A.M. we pulled out to dump and it was filled to the brim with human waste on the ground!Reported it to the office and had to dump at an open site. This is also a Good Sam place. Think they need to check these places more before a logo is handed out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com