224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Alamo River RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (210) 622-5022
CGID6973

Alamo River RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   10   10   1   4   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$39
Grading this campground is hard. It has so many nice things but the bad overrides a lot of it. Pro: nice large sites, lots of wildlife on the hiking trails through the woods, Close to lots of activities, a office staff that it tops and very polite, and a security gate for after hours. Cons: No pool, many full time residence some of which even installed swing sets on there lot for the kids, train every night blowing its horns, due to drought the river is almost non existent, many residence work so lots of noise and traffic in morning as everyone leaves for work. Hard for me to say if I will stay here again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$39
We stayed here for a week to attend our son's graduation from boot camp at nearby Lackland AFB. The park is about the closest you can get to the base and very convenient. The grounds are well kept. There are a lot of longer-term guests, but they keep their sites looking very neat. There are lots of areas to explore and the gated entry was an additional plus. The owner stopped by and chatted for a bit, letting us know that they'd be glad to pick up, fill and return an LP tank if we needed it. If we're in the San Antonio area again, we'll definitely stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$39
We lucked out with this one. The amenities are clean and in good working order. The area at the front is nothing special but once you get to the back of the park, down by the river, it is just great. Very clean grounds, lots of birds and even a few deer. Staff were all very friendly, we even got a guided tour. We will stay again next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
Me and my husband have stayed in two other RV Parks in the San Antonio area, and this one feels the most like home! It's absolutely gorgeous, And everything is new and kept up!! We also feel secure being that it is a gated community. There's never any random people driving thru, and all of our neighbors are friendly, respectful and quite. We pay $385 a month plus electricity. Oh, and the internet is included, fast and without a glitch! There is tons of wildlife out here, which we love! And when you go down below (the resort is on 100 acres), you submerge into a natural park which competes with any State park in Texas! Big giant trees, grass meadows and the Medina River?! You'd never think you were only 15 minutes from downtown San Antonio!! The staff is exceptionally kind, caring and professional. We love the fact that this is a family owned and operated resort, and highly recommend Alamo River to anyone!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
This is hands down, the best RV Park we've stayed at in San Antonio! Great natural landscaping with big trees, and the Medina River runs thru the property. They have a brand new bath/shower house and laundry facility. Everyone is extremely friendly, and it is so quiet!! Big lots, reasonably priced. They also have a great dog park, and this Resort is very pet friendly. We've tried a number of different RV parks in San Antonio, and this is our favorite place!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2012
$35
We stayed at this park a few years ago and left a favorable review. Unfortunately there are new managers now and things have gone south in a hurry. I sure wish things would go back to the way they were. The skinny female manager that works the office was consistently rude to my wife and me. She acts like she doesn't have time to mess with anyone and is better than everyone else. The restrooms, while new and nice enough, are dirty. Heck! Everything in this park is dirty now. The site we stayed in is unlevel, and our dog was constantly trying to eat the horse feces that are strewn around the park now that this is more of a horse riding park than an RV park. Other favorable reviews are obviously being made by employees of the park. We would like to love this park, as we used to, but unless the current managerial situation and cleanliness issues are rectified, we will definitely NOT be returning. There are much nicer parks in the area at better prices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2012
$35
This park does not live up to the park's advertisement . It is not a resort, just a big field. The monthly rate is about two hundred a month too high. I would not recommend this park for anyone unless you have no other place to stay due to the cost. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
My husband and I stayed here in October and we loved it! The staff and our neighbors were warm and welcoming. They had a bath house which I used numerous times and it was always clean and well stocked. My husband really enjoyed that he could go fishing down below, as the Medina River runs right through the property. I loved that the park was gated for added security. They also had a laundry facility onsite with new washers and dryers, which was a huge convenience. We love San Antonio, which is just straight shot up the highway. We will be staying here again when we make our way down to Texas! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$11
My wife and I have been retired for 3 years now and have come to the conclusion that this is our winter retreat. What a place! Located just 20 minutes from downtown San Antonio, this is exactly what we are looking for. A mix of country living with quick access to the city. Plus this place has great amenities. The bathrooms are new and they're always clean. The beautiful Medina river runs through the property and offers us ample time to relax and live the good life! Everybody is so kind, from the other folks staying out here to the staff who runs the operations. They also have a new cabin that they rent out, which was perfect for when our Granddaughter graduated from the Airforce boot camp at Lackland AF base. Our kids stayed out here for four days, and it was great having 'em close! We highly recommend Alamo River RV Resort!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
I agree with the previous review. But, now they do rent horses. We did an hour ride today with a guide and saw some beautiful landscapes on two of the most gentle horses I have ever seen. The owners have over 100 acres of woods along the river and the ride was mostly in wooded areas. The restrooms and laundry were clean and modern. I baked brownies in the clubhouse and had a great time talking to fellow anglers. Friendly, helpful staff and a great laundry made this stay worth the stop. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
We found this campground on the internet while passing through and we are sure glad we did. This campground is not just what you see when you first arrive. While the sites are new as is the bathroom / laundry building. The real gem is what they have on the back part of the ranch down by the river! We had no idea what was there until we were given a very informative tour by two of the staff. The river area must be seen to be believed. There is wildlife everywhere and it is very quiet. The area is shaded and it is a very big place. There is a herd of deer that live on the property. We understand that horse riding is very popular on the ranch but they do not rent horses. (We spent 2 evenings just sitting by the river listening to the birds and the running river -- very peaceful and simply beautiful. The sites below are for tent camping and day use although they do have water at each site and a pop-up or an RV would certainly fit but you would be boon docking. The sites above are where we stayed and are new -- graveled and level. Everything worked fine including the new Wi-Fi System that was just completed. It was the first park in a long time we stayed at that Netflix worked like a charm. There is a store / clubhouse that is very nice. They have grocery items and they are also an RV parts dealer. They have a very large movie library that you can borrow from -- and I mean large! One of the things we were very impressed with was the staff. I am not sure we have been more welcomed at an RV Park. It was funny when we pulled in one of the staff members came out to our motor home and said "We have been waiting on you -- we just made some fresh coffee -- come on in!" Just like coming home! There is a lot of history to this Ranch and the stories that were shared with us were very interesting. We met the owners and they were a joy to be around! We found it very interesting to be so close to San Antonio but still out in the country. They have a winning combination here and we will most certainly be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$35
The rate reflects the Good Sam discount and the rates recently increased slightly. The setting, scenery and trails at this park are very nice. The tent sites are away from the RV sites in a more remote, but in a nice setting and appeared well maintained. The staff and owners of this park were friendly and helpful. Construction mentioned in previous reviews seems to be complete. Most sites with new modern water and electric posts. No trash or construction debris in sight. Internal road and sites hard packed and level gravel with concrete patios of various sizes. It rained most of our arrival date and the next day, but grassy areas were not muddy. The restrooms and showers are nice and large. Although did not use the laundry room, noted it to be of good size with 4 washers and dryers with iron and ironing board provided. Clubhouse/office/store is equipped with pool table, kitchen area with complimentary hot beverages and a TV area. They offer books and movies that guests can borrow. They did not have the horses available, like the web site advertised, but it is still early in the year. Some train noise during the night. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$39
We stayed at this park very recently and were surprised at what we found based on the reviews here. All of the new sites are in and landscaped. There is a new store / clubhouse that we were told used to be located at the back of the property. It is very nice on the inside with big screen TV, pool table, weight room, full kitchen, and a well stocked store that appears they are still adding to. We found the staff very knowledgeable and friendly. They helped us out more than once with directions and we felt went the extra mile. The park is very clean and well landscaped. They just completed putting in some really nice lights - the old fashioned globe style that really sets off the front of the park. The park is actually two distinctly different parts. The upper part (new) is for RVs with about 40 new full hooks ups (50 amp) and the lower part is on the river with 8 full hookup sites and about 60 water only sites mostly for pop-ups and tents although an RV would fit on some of them. This lower area was our favorite with lots of trails and wildlife. We saw a group of 13 deer one evening grazing along the river and they didn't seem to mind us being there. We found the park to be very quiet and as far as we were concerned our dog was well received as well as the other dogs we saw in the park. They do ask that they are leashed and we didn't find that a problem at all. We will certainly return should the chance present itself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2011
$12
The setting, scenery and trails at this park are beautiful. The staff and owners of this park are unprofessional. The park claims to be dog-friendly, it is NOT dog-friendly. We came to this park on November 1st, paid our rent of $375 plus $50 electric deposit with a debit card. We in no way gave the indication that we were a charity case. After a couple of days, the owner spoke to my husband and discovered that we haul gravel for a living with our big rigs and gravel trailers. He immediately began asking us to haul some gravel for him, in exchange for future payments on rent. At first my husband thought it would be OK, but then the owner told my husband we would have to buy the gravel AND haul it in for him. We did not feel comfortable with this at all. The owner also asked me to clean the bathrooms in exchange for future rent. Since the park has a minimum of 3 full-time staff, that seemed extremely unreasonable to me, as a park guest, to have to clean the restrooms. I also work full-time. We were not able to even consider doing this work, with our schedules. We came home this Friday, November 23rd to see piles of gravel all through the park, so the owner had managed to get the gravel himself, as he should. However, today, November 25th, the owner handed me a piece of paper telling us that our dogs had generated numerous "noise complaints" and we would be asked to leave if there was one more complaint. Since our dogs go to work with us every single day, and are rarely left at home alone except when we run short errands, this issue is fabricated. We do not allow our dogs to bark. We have kept them on a leash at all times, and have only let them out on a leash by back door when we are home. Of course they do bark when strangers walk by, but not incessantly. They are not out of control by anyone's standard. Our neighbor here is also a co-worker, and he has seen the dogs with us every day. We believe this complaint was fabricated because we did not do what the owner asked us to do. I believe his behavior is unprofessional at best. This park is NOT dog-friendly, unless you do not let your dog to be seen or heard at anytime. I do not recommend this park to animal owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
Construction mentioned in previous review is about 80% complete with most new sites available with new modern water and electric posts. No trash or construction debris in sight. Internal road and sites hard packed and level gravel. Some grass as dry weather conditions have allowed. New restrooms and showers complete and operational. Old clubhouse/office/store just moved up to front entrance. We'd stayed here a few years ago and expected to have one of the perfectly acceptable 'original' sites (shown to the right in the satellite view) but were pleasantly surprised with the new sites and facilities. Nightly rate was reduced to $31.50 to reflect Good Sam, even though I don't find them listed as a GS park. Would stay again, and might consider a longer term. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$14
The rate of $14 reflects a monthly rate. We stayed here a month to see San Antonio and take care of some business. We really, really wanted to like this park. We had read about the other parks in the San Antonio area and did not like the sound of those. We also looked at some and they are very, very packed parks, so this out of the way, but close park sounded wonderful and exactly what we were looking for. The bottom line: it worked for us and was OK, but not nearly as wonderful as their website makes it sound. Everyone at the park was very nice and helpful, but the park is very much under construction. There are several sites set back among the trees and more along the river that have long-term inhabitants. The available sites are more out in the open. They have grand plans to establish a number of new sites but only five of them are currently available. The grounds are pretty trashed because of the ongoing construction, which is going very slowly. So, currently there are no restrooms in the new part of the park. You have to travel quite a distance to the clubhouse if you want to use the park restrooms and showers. (This was not a problem for us, since we use the facilities in our RV.) The sites are packed gravel with small tile patios. Otherwise it is dirt. The horses are nice to see, but a very big disappointment for us was the noise. One of the reasons we were attracted to this park was since it was out of the way, we thought it would be quiet. It is not. Even though it is some distance from the interstate, through some interesting acoustic phenomena, it gets a lot of noise from the interstate. Often it is quite a roar, particularly at night. Not to mention the close-by rodeo that happened one night. We had also hoped for dark, but they have a number of lights around. The park was safe, and there were no problems, but it's in a pretty poor area. There is lots of trash around the entrance roads. It is close to San Antonio and it is very easy to get into town. However, there is no close-by shopping. It is a ways to a food store or Wal-Mart. It is hard to say if we would stay here again. We might if we had business in the area again, since the other parks are so close packed, but it would certainly not be a chosen destination park for us. Perhaps if they get all of the construction done, it will be better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Found this park after leaving the one we were suppose to stay at approximately 20 minutes after pulling in. The park host is the nicest we have run into so far and one of the nicest guys I have met lately, period. This park is located on a private ranch with horses and is on the Medina River. The river not good for swimming but you can fish. I am writing this review from the park and we are very comfortable here. The park has a golf driving range, and a club house with pool table. They offer books and movies which guests can borrow. The park is just about as close to San Antonio as you can get without being in San Antonio. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com