214479 User submitted reviews online!!
The Playful Goose Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (866) 485-4744
CGID6982

The Playful Goose Campground

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   8   6   7   8   8   4   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
This is a very nice, peaceful campground. We decided to check it out for 3 weekends in a row, leaving the travel trailer on the site for the 2 weeks in between. We arrived and stopped at the office. We hadn't really decided on a site, so we went on a brief tour of the grounds. The sites are mostly on the large side. We settled on one near a creek bed and began to settle in. I noticed that the site had about the lowest voltage I'd ever seen on my monitoring device. After dark, a few more folks showed up and the voltage dropped under 100. Next morning we talked to the owner and he seemed to be disappointed that there was a problem. Didn't try to get me to tough it out like I was expecting. We found another site which tested out great except for a problem with the outlet wiring. Once that was corrected, we were looking good. Yes, there is a junkyard visible on the way in as others have said. But like many things that are ugly on the outside, this place is beautiful on the inside. It's also got a large (25 x 50) indoor pool, which is great for keeping the kids happy. Unfortunately that's all there really is for kids at this campground. I will return when it's time for a peaceful getaway without the kids. And I'm checking the circuits before I drop the tongue. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This place is nothing more than a weed invested RV park in the middle of a junk yard. We planned to stay here 3 weeks but got a refund and left after 2 days. They don't do any weed eating the power on our space was screwed up. We will never be back. It is a shame because with just a little effort this could be a good park. They charge extra for everything. The only pluses were the abundance of wildlife and the meat store down the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$23
The other reviews have described the front of the facility, which is one mans collection of used RV's and cars and whatever else attracted him. Thus it truly looks like a junkyard. However, this may be my favorite campground ever. The sites are quite large and heavily wooded. One brother took us a tour of each site that might suit us for a more extended stay. The trees are old and huge, with spreading branches and weeping willows. Some border the Horicon Marsh. Many sites do not have sewer but it appears the use of a honey wagon is common in this state. Their PA reduction is on the base price, with w/e/s added onto that price. Their monthly and seasonal rate compares favorably with the two other campgrounds in the neighboring city. Do yourself a favor, ignore the front and enjoy the beautiful grounds. PS: there is also a parts shop, my husband required a wrench to use on the macerator, and the other brother has the special tool for $5. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Although I like this campground they tend to nickel and dime you. For example, the rate with 30AMP is the same as 50AMP but 50AMP is really only available for their "seasonal campers", as are most sites that accommodate big rigs. If you want to run your air, they charge you $1.50 per their website, but charged my friends $7.00 for one night to use their air. Sewer is also extra by the day. Their large heated indoor pool, was by no means heated, well I guess it was warmer than it comes out of the faucet, I couldn't go in it was so cold, and the room reeked of chlorine. They have nice grounds, its large and with small children hard to get around unless you want to drive. Seasonal are allowed golf carts (they whiz by at all hours) but not "campers", they should update their rules so you know them ahead of time rather than hearing "only for seasonals" to most questions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Don't let the steep drive or the unattractive junkyard-looking entrance discourage you--the campground is actually quite pleasant! Sure there are a lot of seasonal units with permanent decks and patios and golf carts; but the park is very large and the sites are very widely spaced. We stayed in site #350 which was fairly level and in a shady location. The campground is convenient to town and Horicon Marsh. We were too busy exploring the marsh and environs to use the indoor pool...but it looked big. Everyone (staff and seasonal campers) were very friendly. LeRoy Meats is UNBELIEVABLE! The porterhouse steaks were sooooo good, we actually had them freeze 4 or 5 so we could enjoy them during remainder of our trip and at home. Also, the fresh corn is unbelievably good! And it is available many places from "serve yourself honor" farm stands! The Horicon Marsh tour was worthwhile. If you go on one, keep in mind that they go out as 2 pontoon boats lashed together...so don't get stuck in the middle 2 rows! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$19
This is a very large campground, which allows sites to be spread out so you're not right on top of one another. Roads are gravel, sites are gravel/grass/dirt (could use more gravel). Two older, but nice playgrounds. Office staff were very friendly. My rate was using PA. Pricing is a base rate ($29) but then they add on for electric ($3.50-5.50) and sewer ($3.50). We stayed here one night, but would stay again and for longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
This is a nice campground with some very nice wooded sites and sites along the river so you can sit and watch herons, egrets and geese. The campground is located near the famous Horicon Marsh, and you can rent a canoe to paddle along the river and see the nesting sites of the herons and egrets. There is a mini golf course and playground for the kids, and the large indoor pool has been a savior on a rainy day! The real gems in this campground are the tenting sites. The are all secluded and cut in around large shade trees. You can camp there and not be aware that there are even other campers in the park. The owners have an odd rate system per camping unit instead of per site, so if you are in a camper and plan to pitch a tent for the kids expect to pay extra. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$36
Older campground. Old campers in an area that looks like a junkyard when you first enter. The registration area isn't pretty but staff was helpful and helped us find a site to suit us. Loved our site. Many seasonal people there. Would go to again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
Rural area of a small town. An unattractive entrance - junk cars. Check out time is determined by arrival time as fee covers 24 hours. They give you a coupon good for one pound of brats at nearby butcher shop - take advantage as the meat is excellent. Has long term sites as well as a small store. Use as an overnight stopping place, not a long term destination type place. Has indoor swimming pool, though. Cash or checks - no credit cards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com