215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Discovery Yukon Lodgings was rated 9 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (867) 862-7408
CGID7001

Discovery Yukon Lodgings

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   8   10   10   10   10   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
Very nice friendly park with many tree shaded sites and good well water. Staff and owner very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable of the area and local history. Many historical artifacts throughout the park related to the construction of the ALCAN in the 1940s. Evening campfire was a great place to meet and socialize with fellow travelers. Fishing in the Koidern River and Edith Creek was pretty good for Grayling. Didn't use laundry but restrooms and showers very clean. This park will be a destination the next time we are through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
Great park, with a large area for our dogs to run and play. The owner and staff were very nice and accommodating. They had a campground campfire that everyone could enjoy, which was a first for us and very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This was, by far, the best campground we have stayed at in Canada. The staff were just awesome and friendly. They wold have gotten a 10 except for a problem with over-voltage in the middle of the night. Their power is supplied by a generator and there was a brief issue. Wi-Fi is only available in the office. We will stay with them again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
This was a nice place with good sites, lots of trees, and friendly people. Hookups were good, site was level, Wi-Fi worked decently. The water was particularly tasty. The office has a number of wildlife mounts, skins, and other museum-like stuff, along with the old vehicles, antlers, and other interesting things in the yard mentioned previously. We would likely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Very nice park with some interesting historical military vehicles. Friendly owners. We stayed here twice - once on our way to Alaska and once on the way back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Our favorite place to stay on the Alcan - this was our 4th stop there going to and from Alaska. The owners are the two nicest folks you'll meet. They work incessantly to ensure your stay is pleasurable and memorable. As previously mentioned, the gentleman owner likes to take groups out on his World War II truck to see the White River and other natural attractions. They often have a large group campfire and invite guests to sit and chat. The electrical situation is manageable. The sites are level with a number of long pull-throughs. Water pressure is good, and they have sewage hook-ups at many sites. There is a beautiful 2000' grass airstrip and they don't mind if you allow your dogs to run free - within reason, of course. There are numerous collectible areas, including the old military vehicles, a group of very old outboard motors, a group of old washing machines (including several old wringer/washers), and a collection of old chain saws. There is no shortage of moose antlers around the campground. This is a place you should plan for and stay a couple of days at least. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
We were headed to Beaver Creek but saw this campground and pulled in. We were very pleased with our decision. The owners were very friendly, and the hookups worked well. The WIFI worked well for us, but we were near the office, and the park was not crowded at all. This place is very remote, and it is amazing that they have WIFI at all. As others have stated, power is provided by two generators, and they have to switch them over each day, resulting in a short interrupt in power. I would recommend that you find out the time that they will be making the switch and have your sensitive electrical equipment (microwave, etc) unplugged at that time (or get a good surge protector). The background noise of the generators was not a problem for us. All in all this was a great place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
We drove by several campgrounds along this stretch of the Alaska Highway and chose to stay here because it looked like a campground instead of a gravel pit. It actually had some shady sites and grass. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. After leaving the campground, some 40 miles down the road: our motorhome broke down and they organized a tow truck and mechanic to come out to rescue us. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
You're in the Yukon, don't expect the fancy parks of Disney World. The owner is very knowledgable of the Yukon and lives here year round. He often takes guests on a his WW II truck into the forest across the highway. On our journey we saw 4 grizzlies. We also learned a lot from him. He pointed out the route of the original 4" pipeline between Whitehorse and Fairbanks. We walked on what is left of an original Alaskan Highway wooden bridge, and saw a log building used by the postal delivery teams when they used dog sleds. The park, like many in the Yukon, depends on its our generators. It runs from 4pm to check out time, which is typical. It supplies up to 30A of service. We stayed in a 45-foot MH with no problems. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This is a nice park in a scenic location. The biggest negative about this park though is the generator that has to run all day and night to supply power to all of the facilities. Then in the morning they will switch from a smaller generator to a larger one, which will cause your power to drop out and restart everything in your rig. The owners are friendly and accommodating. There is a nightly communal fire pit and Bob the owner has a never ending string of stories and information about the area. The helicopter that works out of the park was not a distraction, but an interesting side show. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$29
This camp had clean restrooms and grounds, friendly host, and great mountain views. If you miss this park you missed a great place to stay in the Yukon. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
This eclectic little park was one of our favorites on The Alaska Highway. Beautifully situated in a valley nestled upon against some mountains with friendly, colorful hosts. Pay showers were small, but very clean as were restrooms. There is no a single "Do Not" sign on this property and, yet, everything seemed to function fine. Evening campfire and possibility of searching for wildlife in their huge military jeep. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Price ($33 Canadian) reflects Good Sam Discount. A nice little campground just south of Beaver Creek, Yukon, on the Alaska Highway. The 20 amp service in our site was a bit weak, as we tripped the breaker a few times. The owners escorted us to our pull-through site. Level site, nice setting, and very quiet. Wi-Fi hook-up is available in the office. Super clean restrooms and pay showers, but 2 shower tokens provided. Extra tokens (Loonies) will lengthen shower time. Quite a bit of history in the campground relating to the building of the Alaska-Canadian Highway. The owner gives nightly Jeep rides in the area (weather permitting). Road construction crews had trailers here during our stay. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
The owners/hosts of White River are wonderful people. We were there one night on the way to Alaska, and like it so well, we stayed 4 nights on the return trip. The sites are wide and long, and the water quality is excellent. This is a great place to enjoy the Yukon wilderness. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Great support staff. Very pleasant visit. We had a good nights stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$26
This campground is nothing particularly special but interesting and very serviceable and after 80 tough miles from Destruction Bay we were very glad to get off the road. We had a long pull-thru site that allowed us to leave our toad hitched up. We had helicopter arrive come and go a couple of times, it looked like it was dropping off hikers. The gentleman who helped us on check-in was friendly and helpful. I am estimating the size of the park since we don't have any literature on it with details. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com