223350 User submitted reviews online!!
Darlington Provincial Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (905) 436-2036
CGID7008

Darlington Provincial Park

Camp Information
Sites
315
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   5   7   7   7   5   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
Very nice provincial park. The staff is very helpful. The Hilltop area is extremely rural. The Lakeside area is along the lake, but there's no access from the camping area to the lake. The showers were clean, but had no adjustment for temperature. There was a wide variety of birds, some that are not seen often. Large pull through sites for most. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
Nice, clean campground with spacious lots and good, paved access roads. Price is high ($48 includes an $11 per reservation fee divided by two days) considering the park has no 50 amp service, no sewer hookups and no water hookups. There is a fresh water station and dump near the entrance to the camping area, but with only two lanes past a single station to be shared by over 200 campsites, lineups can be expected. Nice walking trails, a beach and ranger programs help offset the lack of amenities. We used the restrooms and showers to avoid lining up for the dump station when we left. The staff did an admirable job of keeping things clean, considering the rains they had on the day of our arrival. No problems maneuvering around with our 39' fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
This is a nice, clean campground with spacious lots and good, paved access roads. We found that people drive very fast around the park. We were someone disappointed with the price and thought it was high for what you get. There was no 50 amp service, no sewer hookups and no water hookups. There is a fresh water station and dump near the entrance to the camping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel and found it very easy to get around. If your looking for a simple GTA area camp ground for a quick weekend stay. This will definitely work. I would not recommend staying near the entrance of the park as you can clearly hear the 401 all night. Stay further back near the water & rest rooms. Not much grass and mostly pine needles everywhere: very dense pine trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$46
This park is not far from the highway or the train tracks, but the noise is muted quite well by the trees and the fact that the camping area is lower than the highway. We camped in Lakeside which has some campsites in an open area and others in the trees on the other side of the loop road. The grass is nicely cut. Most of the sites in this area are curved pull-thrus - many of them will be too short or tight for long vehicles so be careful. All in all, quite a pleasant park for being so close to Toronto. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Was a great stay, lots of walking trails for us and our two dogs, lots of nature and birds along our wonderful walks. The staff there was very accommodating to anything we needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$39
We went to Darlington PP to "break in" our new trailer. We've been going to this park for around 10 years and it has greatly improved in the last couple of years. We discovered that the majority of Lakeside campground were pull-through sites, which was great for our first time out with the trailer. There's a train track just north of the Park that is quite busy but after a while it just becomes "white noise". It's part of the park's "charm". We were just a couple of sites away from the lake which was great. We'll keep on going back to Darlington for a long time as it's only 20 minutes away, but once there, you feel as though you're miles away from home! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
I feel I should write three narratives here, but that’s against the rules. Therefore, I’ll split my assessment into three: the good, the bad and the ugly, in reverse order. Our first three nights here were during a holiday weekend. The campground was absolutely full and the staff, unfortunately, was nowhere nearly up to the cleaning and policing challenge. The restrooms were horrible: toilet paper all over the muddy floor, urine (I guess) on the toilet seats, a broken beer bottle in one of the ladies’ toilets (which was too smelly for my wife to use) and candy wrappers in one of the urinals. The showers were filthy, didn’t have any trays for soap or shampoo and worked on a press button: their choice of temperature and duration. Outside was similarly disgusting: five lines of people waiting and lots of garbage, including a disposable diaper on the sidewalk. What is it about Provincial Parks that attracts the morons? Despite the “no dogs in the swimming areas” and the “no dogs without leashes” rules, some unleashed dogs did enjoy the beach without impediment. The next three nights were much better. Once the crowd was down to normal levels the staff could keep up with the restrooms/showers and we could enjoy the natural beauty of the park. Still, though, we endured dozens of people traipsing through our site and yelling at their friends on the other side of the fence while I barbequed dinner. What is it about Provincial Parks that attracts the morons? The park is on Lake Ontario’s North shore (downstream from Darlington’s nuclear power site, but I didn’t see any three-eyed fish) and is absolutely gorgeous. The sites are large, shady and scenic. Ours was on a cliff overlooking the pebbled beach. Lots of interpretive programmes available and the location, close to Oshawa/Whitby can’t be beaten for shopping. All in all, if you’re self-contained, it’s a great spot. If not, then I’d suggest you go there mid-week, off-season. We’ll be back, within those parameters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
The park itself was nice ... good facilities, lots of shade and privacy (at least on this weekend). But the constant noise from the nearby highway and train tracks were unbearable. Trains were running approx every 20 minutes 24/7 with the whistles blowing and all. If you don't plan on resting/relaxing, this place is ideal ... otherwise go somewhere else. If you do go, try to get a site at the very south end of the campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$31
Park has radio free zones, which means total peace and quiet if you camp in those areas. Rangers regularly patrol. All bathrooms/showers were closed due to pump problems during our stay, which meant pit toilets in a far away location were all that was available. This has happened more than once at this park, so one would think that emergency service would be rendered to fix the problem. If that's a regular occurrence I doubt that I would return no matter how beautiful the park. We used this as a base to tour Toronto, and the train station is a few miles away. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com