214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Holiday Shore Campground and Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (608) 254-2717
CGID7013

Holiday Shore Campground and Resort

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   5   9   8   6   10   9   8   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$46
The formal name of this RV park, "Holiday Shores Campground and Resort" would be more accurate if they dropped the "and Resort" part of the name. Those of you who have visited many RV parks will know what that means: this is a campground. The pros: the pull-thru, big rig sites were asphalt paved (but narrow), the water pressure and quality was very good, the swimming pool was nice and well maintained, and office staff, for the most part, were very friendly. The cons: there was very low voltage when the pull-thru, big rig sites section of the park filled up (the last three days of our visit. Our power management system kept shutting us down because the voltage regularly dropped below 104V. We couldn't even run one air conditioner). There are way too many golf carts and people speeding around, a significant number of rural, uneducated, and narrow-minded folks seem to be drawn to this park, there were many trees near roadways making it very challenging for big rigs, and grounds maintenance (mowing) is sub-par. There effectively is no WiFi (they advertise WiFi availability in the office but it doesn't work), and there is no recycling on site (for a park this large, that generates huge amounts of trash, this is unacceptable). There are no recycling centers in Wisconsin Dells, either. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
We camped here for one week. When we called to book we asked for two sites, one for our 29 foot travel trailer and one for a tent. We were offered two overflow sites which turned out to be great as they were close to the office, bathrooms, and the water, and we had tons of privacy! The rest of the campsite was very busy, and the campground is hilly. The cafe at the office offers wi-fi and fresh donuts every morning. It's close to everything, and the free passes to Los Rios were a bonus. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
This is a huge campground with mostly full-timers and regulars/seasonals. Upon booking, the host took our credit card, but could not send an email confirmation. For a campground this big, I was shocked that they had no interent or email for staff use. The firepit was much too close to the electrical hook-up (we ended up moving the pit). Not a particularly friendly campground. We were asked by the people across from us what time we were leaving the next day because they had a friend who wanted to come in and set up their tent early (8am). The kids enjoyed the pool and the lake activities and made friends with the locals. Overall, very loud and active. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
Went to Holiday Shores campground for 3 days (July 20, 21, &22), and the weather was beautiful. We wanted a full hook-up site, but had to settle for a water and electric site instead. The campground provides a daily honey wagon which comes around to empty your grey and black tanks for free (tips accepted). As a result, we had to use their shower facility. The good news is their shower facility was clean. The site that we had was large enough to put a 32 footer trailer and 3 large tents. The people and the atmosphere was pleasant and friendly. They also provide activities for the kids. We will definitely return to Holiday shores campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$47
This is a decent park that caters to boaters. We had a pull through which is in a new section at the back of the campground. We had to weave (literally) through the very tight campground to get to our site. Doable for me, but maybe not for some. It would be better if they gave you the number for the seasonal gate for large rig entry. (We are 55 feet from front bumper to trailer bumper!) Hookups were nice and pull throughs were level and long. Beware that the full hookup sites have no shade at all. We were here over the 4th and there was a heat wave. The whole time it was 100 degrees almost every day! Our A/C struggled during the day to get the trailer down to 85 degrees. They have a small arcade with a couple of games. Small pool for the size campground. They need to add another pool for the size of this place. They do give anyone staying 3 days or more free passes to Chula Vista Hotel and indoor/outdoor water park just down the road. I would stay again and probably also rent a boat for the day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$46
Pros: well managed campground, friendly and helpful people, good facilities, once a day garbage collection; black-top site with park bench on site; good size sites; game room and playground near the back of park too; lots of kids for our son to play with; great onsite store. Cons: too far from downtown dells, a lot of driving and gas in our pick up truck--hence the lower score; the map is a somewhat confusing, took us almost half an hour to find our site--should be escorted to site in such a big place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
This is my new favorite campground. The staff was great. It is very clean. There is a ton of stuff to do. The value is great, you get access to a water park everyday of your stay. We stayed in a pull-through site on the back side with full hookups and we had friends that stayed in down by the pool with no sewer but had a "honey wagon" come by for $6.00 a day. I would stay in either site. The beach was a lot of fun. We rented a Pontoon and had a blast. It does get tight if you do not have access to the rear entrance, but not impossible to get through at all. There are not more extra charges here than other places. If anyone has a problem at this campground, its them not the staff IMO. The store has a bit of everything including very good ice cream and homemade donuts for a very reasonable price. I will be back again, this summer hopefully. Also the campground was full and still all the bathrooms and other facilities where very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
We spent an excellent week here. This campground has everything: a great beach with floatable play things, several playgrounds, a great pool area, game room, boat rentals. You name it, it's here. We will definitely go back again soon. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
This is a very nice park with many activities for kids and adults alike. We stayed in one of the pull through sites which are located essentially on top of a hill. No view of the river, but it was a very nice site nevertheless. If you have a long rig (our TT is 33') inquire about their rear entrance as this will save you some stress. Staff was very friendly. Sites were very clean and very roomy. We will absolutely stay here again. Campground is just minutes from all of the other Dell's activities if those are of interest to you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
The past reviews for the management staff is spot on. To start, I called the resort for reservations in February to ensure I got a site with sewer for the 4th of July holiday weekend. I was given site 33. Never having been at this resort before I just assumed I was getting what I requested. Well, turned out it was just a water/electric site. I immediately called the office and basically was told that it doesn't say on the reciept that that is what we reserved so we were stuck. Well, it didn't say we reserved what we got stuck with either. Ok fine, they have a honey wagon, 6 bucks a day. I'll let that slide. We scheduled the honey wagon on Thursday and Saturday. Thursday was uneventful tanks were empty no problem. On Saturday we went into town for breakfast and when we came back I checked the tanks to find my grey empty but my black 2/3 full I told the desk and they said they would let the guy know and have him pump it out again. We again left the campsite only to return later to find our black tank still full. We called the office again and was basically told too bad. She then proceeded to threaten to call the sheriff and hung up on my husband while he was in mid sentence. Later that afternoon the honey wagon guy shows up at our campsite and in addition to seeming to appear to be half in the bag, he commences to insist he pumped us out and it was empty and that our level gage was stuck. They just don't care about customer satisfaction just about that all mighty dollar. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
1st time campers here June '09. Had a great time. Staff were very friendly and personable. Tons of things to do and only 10 minutes from downtown Dells area. Considering a seasonal site for next year if available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Big campground, kid friendly, semi close to town, lots of activities. We stayed in a newer part of the campground (site 114) and there was very little shade, very small trees. Sites were good size and pull thru. We had many family members there from all over U.S. and needed camp sites, cabins, and hotel rooms. This was one of the very few in the Dells that offered all this. Great playground and swimming pool. Good game room. Interesting walk up outdoor theater. Fishing pond needs some attention as it was more of a breading ground for mosquitoes than a fishing pond, needs attention. Trash cans at each site. This campground gave me the feeling of a retirement village with many campers being year round with porches, etc. If you are looking for a quiet campground, this is not the place for you. Lots of golf carts running around. I think if you want a waterfront river site, it may be next to impossible. I would have rated the campground higher, but I prefer my campgrounds a little less crowded. At full capacity, we were told they can jam in 5000 campers. Find that a little hard to believe, but it is a big campground, a little to big for me. They sell show tickets at the front desk for a slight discount, but bring cash as they do not accept credit cards for show tickets. Hmmm...what is up with that? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
We like this campground and have stayed here several times. Level wooded sites with paved roads. The sites along the river have a good view. Able to rent boats right at the campground. The showers and restrooms are kept clean. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$43
We camped here while vacationing in the Dells. We stayed Saturday through Tuesday and it really cleared out after Monday. Over the weekend, the park is full. The pool area is very nice. We had a site that backed up to the river and it was very nice. The fire pit is separate from the campsite, it is closer to the Wisconsin River, behind your campsite. I liked this layout very much. We stayed on site #4 and found it to be a site that we would request again. This campground also has boat rentals and a marina on site. The bathrooms were nice. I noticed them being cleaned often. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com