206925 User submitted reviews online!!
Country Hills Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (607) 849-3300
CGID7016

Country Hills Campground

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   4   9   7   8   8   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
We camped here for one night on our way down to D.C. Quiet place with mostly seasonal campers, friendly people. There is a small pond but you can't swim in it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
The owners went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. More then half of the sites are seasonal campers. The campground was very quiet even though it was 4th of July weekend. The roads are dirt/gravel but are kept pretty smooth. We stayed here in a coach with a towed. Our site was pretty level side to side and front to back. We hitched the towed after pulling out of the site due to the steepness of the drive coming out of the site back onto the camp road. the back bumper of the bus was about 6' above the ground while making this manuver from the site we were in. the water quality was good but the pressure was a bit low. We boosted it with filling our tank and keeping our water pump on. The bathrooms were sufficient and showers were coin operated. I did not use them, but did look in there just to check it out. The smell of the farm up the hill did not bother me. I love farm animals. The smell of a farm on a dewey morning is expected at 'Country Hills CG'. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
80-85% of the park is occupied by semi-permanent/seasonal residents with built up decks around the RV/Trailer, storage building units. However, the area was fairly clean around these areas. The interior park roads are basically packed dirt which would probably be fine after an extended period of dry weather. Unfortunately, the night we stayed had been proceeded by several days of rain and as a result the park roads were barely passable. The pull through sites underlying gravel/dirt were grossly inadequate to provide a stable base for a class A motorhome. We had a great deal of difficulty leveling even after placing large sections of 2x12 under the jacks. The site was so unstable we had serious doubts about being able to pull out of the site in the morning. We did manage to get out, but our previously clean MH looked like we had used it as an off-road ATV. We would certainly have appreciated a phone call from the Owners in advance of our arrival advising of the conditions. We were advised a few days later that the park was only recently purchased by the current owners who were very nice. We would like to believe that they may not have fully appreciated the problems with the pull through sites particularly during the wet part of the New York spring. It's difficult to present the above review given the very nice owners, but the purpose of these reviews is to convey the facts to prospective campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
This was a fine campground. We stayed over a weekend (Fri & Sat evening), arriving around 5 pm. Check-in was quick and the owner escorted us to a nice level site overlooking the lake. Owners were friendly and courteous, making us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. Showers and bathrooms were very clean. The showers are coin-operated, so bring quarters on your first trip down there. :-) You'll probably need a $1.00's worth. The roads leading to the campground are NY county roads, running through some hilly country, so expect them to be twisty and low speed. When we stayed, the campground was full with big RVs. It seems to also be a popular place for seasonal rentals. Since we had a popup, we got a pick of sites in an area seeming set aside for smaller campers and RVs. We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$26
The country road leading to the campground is a very rough. After checking in, you are escorted to your site. If using one of the pull-thru sites, you have to circumvent the lake on a very narrow dirt road with some pot holes. The site was wide, long, & level and had no obstruction to satellite reception. The lake is encircled by seasonal trailers, some of which have seen better days. The owners are very friendly. Weekly rate was $180 plus electricity. Nice campground for viewing the Fall foliage as they stay open late into the season. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
About 4 miles off I-81 with some county roads that need a little work. Owners live on site, very helpful and escort you to site. Grass sites, good lengths and easy in and out. Stayed overnight while traveling. Quiet. Will top again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
We stayed here only one night, in the rain, on the way to our destination. The owner was very friendly and helpful, escorting us to our site. Because of the weather we couldn't make much judgement on this campground but it appeared to be mostly seasonal campers and well-kept grounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
If I had to pick a seasonal park in New York, this would be it (of course, I haven't seen them all yet). Acres and acres of well mowed grass. Seasonal sites are all nice and neat. Peaceful and quiet, country setting. Closest Walmart is in Cortland, about 15-20 minutes from here. The town of Marathon is a bit torn up right now as they're replacing the main street so we didn't go in there to see what shopping was available. As previous poster said, pull through sites could do with a bit more gravel as they are a bit "squishy" but then again, there's been excessive rain in the region this summer. Easy pull-throughs for short-term stays. The sites on the lake do not have sewer, but they are mostly seasonal sites. Not much for kids to do but a good safe place for them to roam, fish, catch frogs, and just explore. The only reason I only gave it an 8 is because there is no laundromat. We would highly recommend this lovely campground to others, and we certainly will be back if we're in NY again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
We picked this campground as an over night stop. We were pleasantly surprised at the layout of the campground. There is a small pond and situated around the pond are parallel sites, and slanted back in sites. A little maneuvering will be necessary for the parallel sites. It appears that those sites are fairly well occupied by seasonal campers. Many of those sites are filled but there is an absence of people at this time. There are also some terraced sites but most of those are occupied also. It is an assumption that the one night stays are in the pull through area which are quite long but lacking in good solid surfacing. More crushed rock would be nice. There is lots of grass and the roads are all gravel rock (pea rock). We are very happy with our selection for the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$24
What a beautiful and well-kept campground! There is a lot of grass, which is kept well mowed and there are shaded sites as well. There is a lake with fishing permitted, and a small beach with a roped-off swimming area for children. If you are looking for a nice campground and a quiet place to relax, this would be a good choice. The owners are as pleasant and helpful as one could want. One caution. Be sure that you follow the directions to the campground, as given in the camping directory, as there are several turns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
We stayed here as a stop off on our way to Niagara Falls. It is a beautiful campground. Many sites are right on the lake, although it looks like many of them are seasonal. Many other sites have lake views. There is not much shade near the lake, but shade sites are available further back. There are two small, very old playgrounds. No other activities for the kids, but we saw some paddle boats that may be rentals. Swimming is permitted in the lake. There is a very small camp store, mostly snacks and a few camping accessories. We'd stay here again, but only as a stop going to somewhere else We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com