224206 User submitted reviews online!!
West Thompson Lake COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (860) 923-3121
CGID7024

West Thompson Lake COE

Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   8   8   8   8   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$16
This is the only COE campground in southern New England located on a 200 acre lake (no swimming). You can bring your boat here. There are 11 sites with water and electric and 11 sites without. Three lean-to sites. Host families do a great job and since the campground is small all in a loop it is a great place to camp. Sites are shaded by trees, they sell firewood here, and there is a nice clean restroom with showers and laundry. Basketball courts and horseshoes near the entrance. A walk or drive down to the lake and there is an 18 hole disc golf course there no charge. Hiking trails from the campground lead around the lake and to the lake where one might find a sitting area for rest and enjoyment. The two host families did a great job checking us in and giving material and ideas for traveling around the area. One person always watches the gate and only lets those staying there drive around the loop. Visitor parking is outside the gate. The gate closes around 9 and does not open until 9 the next morning but you can park in the visitor parking and walk in - not a long walk. We have never camped here before but we will be back. The RV next to ours the couple was from the Midwest and they said it was their favorite campground of their trip - quiet, private, shaded etc. Using the Golden Age pass with electricity it cost $16. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$15
Quiet campground, large wooded campsites with water and 50/30 amp electric. Accommodates 40' Class A motorhomes at RV sites. Tent sites are large also, but no hookups. Hosts very informative about area, and clean the restrooms frequently, no less than once per day...they were always spotless, and newly remodeled, very nice! Note that the entry gate is locked at 10 PM so if you arrive later you have to park outside the CG and walk in, a bit of a disadvantage, however you can leave any time. The gate reopens at 9 AM. Wish they would add a keypad system for registered campers to allow 24 hr access. Dump station is different than any other I've seen, with a sideways entry, and no threads to contain dumped "matter", so some leakage occurs, which can easily be rinsed down, but it would be better I think to have a vertical dump and no leakage at all. We will definitely return. Would rate it a 10 if they had sewer at sites. This is a wonderful peaceful campground with beautiful surroundings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
This has become our favorite getaway in CT. Super large sites with lots of wooded space between your neighbors, something you just don’t see in CT to often. Campground is heavily wooded and slightly hilly. Our hookups were in good working order. Friendly and helpful camp Hosts. The lake which is an easy walk from the campground is perfect for fishing or kayaking. Miles of scenic hiking trails that are easy on the feet. Our Verizon cell phone worked well. Dump station was in good working order. This is a quiet campground that caters to campers that are looking to enjoy nature and as always found everyone very respectful. Would certainly return again or recommend this place to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
Our second stay at this nice quiet park. We were in early with the volunteers who clean the campground before the official opening. There have been some improvements since our last stay. The only real downfall here are the bath house which could use an upgrade. But being full time we use our own. TV via batwing is fair, Verizon cell and broadband very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
We again enjoyed our stay here at the campground. Our site was large, level with plenty of extra space. No problems with our hookups. Our Verizon signal worked well. Lots of wooded space between sites which gave us privacy. Very quiet at night. The lake at the campground offers kayaking, fishing, and hiking trails that connect to the campground; just a great place to enjoy nature at it’s best. One of our favorite campgrounds in CT. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
The site we were assigned (site 4) was spacious and level. We got a downpour in the early evening and the site drained completely. No standing water in the morning. Restroom and shower was adequate. Never did try TV, internet or phone, so I don't know if any are available. Would stay here again and recommend it to anyone that likes wooded areas. Nice small park with friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
I am basically just echoing the other positive reviews. Really nice, quiet campground. Site was clean and essentially level, while being properly angled for drainage. Wooded, large sites that provide a surprising amount of privacy. Camp hosts were very nice and helpful. Rangers put on a movie Saturday night, and had a campfire with s'mores supplies if you wanted one. Trails are easy hiking around the lake. We found the entrance signs to be slightly confusing -- you want the "camp office" NOT the "park office". Drive past the park office, the camp office is further on. Also, pay attention when leaving... again, they just need some more obvious signs. We do look forward to camping here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Heavily wooded campground. Large sites, mostly level, with lots of wooded space between sites. Hookups were in good working order. Entrance road to campsites moderately hilly but very manageable. Wonderful camp hosts. Cell phone worked great. Found everyone very respectful, no alcohol policy which ensures no late night parties. We enjoyed this campground and would certainly return or recommend this place to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
We like this park. Sites are large. Camp hosts great people. Having sewer would make it perfect. If you have satellite TV, ask for site 2. Has the most open area to get a signal. Nice walking trails and lovely lake, but no swimming permitted. Rate quoted is the Federal Golden Age Pass rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Rates are $30 for sites 1 - 11 with 30 amp and water, $20 for the two shelters and $15 for sites 12 - 22, no hookups but shared water, half price with Golden Age pass. Sites 1 - 11 are mostly level but with some minor grade, sites 8 & 9 drop off in front and I would avoid these two with a MH over 32' as your front axle would probably be on the grade. As mentioned, this is a very quiet area and there is plenty of space between sites. The lake is beautiful and the hiking trails around it are nice. TV via batwing is fair, we usually have NBC, Fox and Ion, but they come and go at times. Verizon cell and broadband are very strong here. Nice little playground for kids, a basketball court, horse shoes at the CG and an 18 hole disc golf course and boat launch are nearby. The Thompson Speedway is also close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
This ACOE campground is very clean and very quiet. It is a small campground with 11 W/E sites, 11 sites with no hook-ups and 2 lean-to sites. Sites are mostly dirt with lots of small rocks and acorns. Sites are spacious and private. Nice hiking trails connected to the campground. Small playground has modern equipment. Bathrooms were always clean and showers were free. Staff/hosts were very friendly and helpful. Campground is patrolled often throughout the day and night. We will definitely be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
This is a well run COE campground. There are 11 basic sites, 11 premium sites with electric (30 amp)and water, and 2 lean-to shelters. There is a dump station. The sites are private and surrounded by trees, but backing a big rig into some sites can be difficult due to trees and large rocks. We stayed in #9 with a 42' MH. If you like quiet, this is the place. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com