223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Boyd's Key West Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 65 user reviews. Phone: (305) 294-1465
CGID704

Boyd's Key West Campground

Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$105



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   9   7   8   8   2   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$105
Great place to stay. Easy check-in with a friendly, helpful staff. The roads are paved, wide, and easy to navigate. The sites are level and the hookups are within easy reach. Each site has a concrete pad and picnic table. After parking, I had a branch touching the top of the coach. I saw a staff members going pass the coach and within 10 minutes, the branch had been cut and removed. This is the only place I stay when visiting Key West. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$105
Narrow roads and sites, and airport noise. This park was developed years ago for smaller RV's, so getting into a site with a 30' plus unit is a nightmare. There is virtually no room between sites once you get in. In airport flight path. Depending on wind direction there is annoying jet noise during the day. Paved roads and concrete sites surrounded by grass. Clean, heated pool. Friendly, helpful staff. Two maintenance staff arrived quickly in response to my question about cable TV inadequacy. They not only showed me the cable box was working, but offered check my side of the system. Finally diagnosing a loose TV connection to display great cable reception. An unknown WiFi problem, noted by an office door sign, caused poor internet reception that was not resolved during our week long stay. Dog walking is on minimal grass at edge of roads or outside park. Very expensive, but there is not much choice if you want to be close to Key West. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$90
This a really the best place to stay when visiting Key West. Yes, the sites are tight but the staff at Boyd's do an excellent job of getting you in and out without incident. We had full hookups and everything that we needed at the park. Across the street is a bus stop and for fifty cents (for seniors) you can catch the bus into town which is better than driving because parking in Key West is expensive and scarce. There are a couple of restaurants close by if you don't want to venture into town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$90
An almost perfect RV park. Free Wi-Fi (weak signal, slow, as the office will confirm), pool, showers, toilets, on-site well stocked store, nearby bus service/stops, friendly and attentive staff, shaded level sites, etc. Boyd's also has a boat launch with docks and fish cleaning table. Some sites have the Gulf water as their 'back yard.' Tent sites are also on the water front. Night security. Wanted to give it full marks, but there are some minor issues. Sites are close together and expensive, but considering the location, this might be reasonable. Even though close together, each site has a picnic table. Pool is much too small for the full occupancy. A pool three times the current size would be right. Almost all sites are back-in and without sewer. One thing they definitely have right: showers and toilet facilities, and garbage dumpsters are located around the park. No matter where your site is, you aren't far from one. (So much breeze that you only smell the ocean, most of the time.) Laundry is at the pool/office area. Some sites have a pad, some have a very old and corroded small BBQ. Planes, jets and helicopters are heard frequently. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$105
Too expensive, but this is Key West. Sites are tight but have seen worse. A previous reviewer fussed about the internet because he was running a business and his usage caused a slowdown. If you are running a business from your RV you should have your own hotspot and not infringe on the entire park. I don't like Tengo either but we didn't have a problem. Staff was nice. Jet noise in AM was LOUD. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$90
Boyds is a nice campground. It is tight. Very tight like everything else in Key West. It is located on Stock Island about 5 miles from downtown. Pretty bad neighborhood but security was excellent. Staff is UNBELIEVABLE and is the main reason we would come back. There are a lot of campers who have been coming here for decades. That's a good sign. We were along the road and frankly you should avoid those spots if possible. Very Noisy. Facilities are in great shape. Restrooms are clean. Showers are excellent. About the only really negative thing I can say about Boyds is they have Tengo Internet. Lousy, lousy Internet service. It is metered by Tengo though no one tells you. As the day goes on (after 7 AM)you'll get bumped off or service will go to a crawl once you have hit your limit for the day or park usage hits its peak. Having owned a campground and dealt with Tengo before I speak from experience. We had to use our hotspot which after the week or so got real expensive. Our business is mobile and if your is too I would plan a different Internet experience but wouldn't let that stop you from coming to Boyds. We plan on coming back next year. The place grows on you and the friendships we have made are priceless. By the way. Key West is in the US but might as well be in Europe. If English is a second language for you no worries. You're French, Russian, German or Spanish will get you by just fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$100
We liked this campground. We stayed here in a RV over Christmas. My only complaint about Boyd's is the cost $100 a night, but you are in Key West. We have 2 scooters that we drove everywhere with no problems. The park is clean. I will go back again after I save up more money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2012
$100
To say it in advance: the campground is too expensive, overpriced. He has next to nothing. Except: Location, location, location. This is the only campground in Key West. The downtown, the ride is still a good 15 minutes by car. There are no alternatives and that the owner knows exactly. Depending on wind direction, the planes fly over the campground, park is under the flight path. The sites are small and cramped. The discharge from the neighbors is on the pitch of the nearest neighbor. The internet did not work. The description says: High speed internet. The wooden tables and wooden benches are old and partially decayed. Whether there is 50AMP pitches, we do not know. We booked in April, and there were only 30AMP available. We did not have a parking space on the waterfront. Nevertheless, even at night we heard the noise of Highway A1A. There is also no entertainment. As I said, the board offers nothing. Only a heated pool and that is OK. New campers are allowed at 7 clock in the morning on the tight space maneuvering, without regard to those who may want to sleep yet. We had planned to stay 21 days, but after 6 days we fled. We can not recommend this campground. Never go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$100
We stayed for 4 nights and had a great stay. Our site had a nice water view, was plenty large and close to the other facilities of the campground. Some of the cleanest showers and friendliest staff we have ever encountered. A strong TengoInternet Wi-Fi signal at our site but we used our AT&T cell phone hot spot for Wi-Fi. Land is so expensive in Key West, along with everything else, that a campground couldn't be in the more affluent parts of town. Boyd's prices are less than half of what we have paid at B & B's in Key West in the past. Our last Key West visit last spring, we stayed at Sugarloaf Key but much prefer Boyds Campground. Boyds is located in a working class neighborhood, where many of the KW service workers live as it is the only place they can afford. We were very comfortable with the setting location of Boyd's. KW is a very multicultural town and I suspect this alone makes some visitors a bit uncomfortable. It has become our favorite place to stay in the KW area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2012
$100
This is a very convenient park to central Key West, however it is in a sketchy park of town. We were told by the staff not to walk outside the gates alone at night. Some sites are a comfortable size, unfortunately ours was not. The street and sites are some of the narrowest we've ever been in. Our site, #150, was next to the activities pavilion which didn't lend to much peace and quiet. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$150
Excellent! Very nice, clean and well kept. Staff is very friendly and helpful. This was the 4th time we stayed there, and will be going back. We went for lobster season opening and weren't disappointed! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$110
This the second time in three years we have stayed here.For what you pay per night you would be better off in a hotel. Stock Island where Boyd's actually is, is more of a getto neighborhood. Crimes reported daily in paper suggest stabbings, drugs, and fights are a daily occurance. Did not feel safe to go to local store for ice. This place is overpriced for where you are. Have made our last stop in this Hood, will not be return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$110
I'm probably just being picky just giving it a 9. It is a very beautiful place. Our site was right on the water with a wonderful view of the Atlantic Ocean. Very peaceful. The staff was always very helpful. They would call you a cab, find you activities and just help you in any way that they could. It did feel as if the sites were a little small, but what do you expect for the location? It was only a short bike, scooter or taxi ride to just about anything. Had a wonderful time and would definitely return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$170
Note: I put the price we paid for an oceanfront site with 4 adults and 2 children (16 and 7). What can you possibly say that is bad about a place right on the ocean with clean restrooms, a nice pool and very well stocked store! Though it is expensive it was worth ever penny! The place is actually located on Stock Island just over the Bridge from Key West. We rode bikes all over Key West. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$110
Nearly the only game in town. Small sand sites, beautiful views. About 15 minutes from Duval. Has a well supplied store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$125
We have been to Boyd's in the past and we love Key West. This is a very friendly campground and the staff is always helpful. They are the closest campground to Key West, and you can ride your bike to anywhere on the island with no problem. Boyd's is expensive, easily 2-3 times any other campground cost I have been to. I understand that they are in the Keys which draws a heavy dollar. This being said I think Boyd's needs to invest some money back into their bathrooms/showers and laundry facilities. They are getting old and pretty worn out. For the price they are charging I would expect them to be nicer. I will say I watched them clean them regularly but they are well worn. If you have a big rig like I do, you also have to be very careful with parking because the sites are all very tight, the trees are really close and will run down the side of your unit. Unfortunately Boyd's is the only game in town that close to Key West. So if you want to camp and love the Keys like we do, you'll have to pay the price or move a few miles up the road to another campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$120
We read the reviews here and were a little nervous about this park, but am happy to say we had a wonderful time at Boyds, and stayed four nights with our two teenagers. The park is expensive, but so is everything in Key West, and for what you get, the cost is very reasonable. Friends of ours stayed at a hotel for nearly $400 a night a week before we arrived, and they didn't have an ocean view. The park has narrow spaces and is crowded, but so is everything in Key West. We had no problems getting into our site, and neither did the Class A next door. We loved our site (#123), and enjoyed gorgeous sunrises over the bay every day. Our neighbors were wonderful and the staff was pleasant. Our son enjoyed fishing from the docks in the morning and evening. Our daughter thought the pool was great. We even attended the wedding of two neighbors who got married on their site. We don't carry a toad, and the bus service didn't meet our needs--it does come every 90 minutes, and can take 45 minutes to take you the 5 miles into town--so we rented a car from Enterprise, who picked us up at Boyds. The cost was about $200 for three days, and gave us plenty of flexibility to explore Key West (and enjoy the spectacular sunsets!) You can also rent electric carts, delivered to the campground. We found this option to be more expensive. We will definitely come back to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2011
$99
It's very expensive for what you get. The cost was $120 a night for a so-called "waterfront" location that turned out to be a small marina hardly viewable through trees. They don't tell you that a 12.5 percent tax is added to your bill. That equaled to an extra $30 for two nights! The sites are very narrow and noisy. We were shoehorned between tent campers who on both nights partied into the wee hours of the morning. The RV park is located in a seedy area of town with plenty of homeless people and other undesirables. There is a $2 per person (50 cents for seniors) charge for the local bus to downtown. It takes about 45 minutes. The route winds through much of the city, including low income areas and shopping malls. I would not recommend this park to anyone. It would be less expensive to stay out of town and rent a car to drive into Key West. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2010
$2
The park is very crowded, campsites are on top of one another. The owners of the campground are in it for as much money as they can possibly make. We were unhappy with the assigned campsite which was right beside the bathrooms, they, through much aggravation, reluctantly "allowed" us to move. The campground just was not for us, the beach is ridiculous and the area is far from paradise as it states. Very expensive and a bad attitude in the front. Not family oriented just pure greed, it's disgusting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$99
The nightly rate does not allow for 3 figures. It was $120. It was very crowded, and the view was OK. There is a bus that goes by every 90 minutes (not 30) and is not dependable. We got a ride to town and took a cab home. Cabs are about $30, but we took an all day trolley to the furthest point (closest to the park) and paid $10. Some of the people who worked there were nice, but there was a young girl who insisted that Florida lobsters were as big as the ones from Maine (I grew up in Maine) and the only difference was that Florida lobsters come from salt water. I kid you not. Most of the other parks farther away from town charged about the same so I can't complain too much about the price, but at least give me a little more space for the money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$99
What can I say, but Boyds is great. If you're lucky which I was, your site is on the ocean. You are less than 5 miles from Duval street and the weather is perfect almost all of the time. Boyd's is not cheap, but it is well worth it. Staff was nice, everything was clean, sites were easy to get in an out of. Boyd's is a must if your camping in Key West area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2010
$99
This place is so over priced it's ridiculous! Granted it is close and convenient to Key West, but this is the only positive thing I can say. The sites are so close, we had to walk sideways between our parked car and our rig. The adjoining campers had to move 3 cars so we'd have enough room to maneuver into the site. It took 3 people to watch for all the impediments, while my husband parked. He's no rooky: he's been RV'ing since he was a child. The roads are very narrow. As posted earlier, it's noisy with jets from the nearby commercial airport and AFB planes flying overhead. The snowbirds are friendly. Lots of activities for the older crowd. The Wi-Fi works but drops service frequently. There are no trails or hiking areas close by. The neighborhood is warehouse chic. The only reason we stayed on was because we dreaded the extraction process of pulling out! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$99
We were fortunate to be able to drive (rather than back) into our site so that we could view the water. Our neighbors were fun and went to bed on time. We enjoyed the fun that was a part of Key West. You would hardly go here to relax! The staff was helpful and we appreciated the security at the gate when we returned late at night. The restrooms were clean. There were great restaurants nearby. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2010
$99
No one ever talks about how loud this campground is. There were kids running around the park until all hours, not supervised by parents. The sites are very tight, and it was hard to get around. The only plus is that it's close to Key West. Very over priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$90
This place is beautiful! I was initially struck by all of the trees, shrubs, flowers & neatness of Boyd's. The first impression was good and so was the stay, once I found it. Signage leading in is very poor. The sites are very close together, making parking a challenge. There are shrubs between sites to give some privacy & sense of space. Having my own motor scooter made getting around fun & practical both in the park & in town. The bath house I frequented was always very clean and had plenty of hot water. If I go to Key West again I would most likely stay at Boyd's again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$99
This was our second stay at Boyds and we were very happy with site 30. Yes: the turns are very tight and it took several tries to get our 40' rig in but everyone was accommodating and helpful. They charged additionally for pets and the two guests we brought. At night it was quiet. We love the location. Within a 20 minute cab ride we were in Mallory Square enjoying a Mojito and a beautiful sunset. For dinner try Santiago's. We love Boyd's and hope they never change, just get better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2009
$99
Worst campground I ever stayed in and I have stayed in over 150 of them. $100 a night and you are packed in like sardines. Every sq ft is utilized. You are tripping over people and dogs no room to park a tow vehicle. It took me 30 min to get my rig parked, when I left I scaped the side of the coach on a trailer tongue that protruding onto the narrow road way and the management denied and responsibly and quickly moved the trailer before I could get photos. Major RIP OFF. The Wi-Fi did not work and the cable was so fuzzy you can't watch the TV. And the staff could give a crap. It was dangerous walking around because of the heavy traffic in the park. I will NEVER stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$99
Despite Hurricane Ida's winds, we had a good (short) stay at Boyd's. We arrived and were greeted nicely, all the staff was super friendly. We found our site with no problem and had plenty of room. The bathrooms and showers were clean. The closeness to Key West downtown was worth the price for the night. We are glad we stayed that far south! Unfortunately, we had to cut our 3-day weekend short because of the winds from Ida off the coast. It wasn't fun trying to sleep, but that was at no fault to Boyd's. They happily refunded our extra night without any questions asked. We told them we'd absolutely come back and try again later this year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$85
This is a very nice campground. Nice size sites and the landscaping is well done. The Wi-Fi and cable worked great. The location is great if your visiting Key West. The public bus stop is right outside the park entrance. The only bad thing is the price, but it's all about supply and demand. We highly recommend this campground. When visiting Key West we will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$99
We had a horrible visit. Paid $110/night and could not stand to be outside of our camper because of the stench of rotting seaweed that was at the water's edge. The showers were dirty, and the campground was not busy at all; no hot water in the showers, and no one enforced the kids to be accompanied by adults at the pool. Two kids had problems in the pool swimming in the 6ft. end. I told the desk clerk about the smell and she said, "Well that's Key West". We were given a note for $100 off our next visit in 2009. What an insult. I would never recommend this after this experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$90
After reading mixed reviews I was not sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised by this resort and we stayed an extra day. After spending time in town during the day or out deep sea fishing and snorkeling, it was always great to come back to the resort to relax. The pool area is wonderful with a chiller on the pool, tropical music playing and a big screen in the tiki hut. Two laundry rooms each with 4 commercial washers and dryers came in very handy. Well stocked gift shop with friendly staff. We were never concerned about leaving our grill, chairs, bikes, etc outside while we were out for the day. 24 hour security. We stayed waterfront for a few days, but had challenges with the amperage so we moved to an inland site. There was plenty of room on both sites for 43 ft motorhome with slides. Good restaurants within walking distance. Really enjoyed this resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$65
Very nice campground. The only one with a pool we could find. They had a cooler for the pool water and it was very nice. We asked to watch the game on the big screen in the tiki hut by the pool, and they were more than gracious. They have 24 hour security and I had no problem leaving my grill and cooler outside all week. The ladies in the office were very helpful and accommodating with us. I realize the higher price is due to the land here being very expensive, also the proximity to Key West and the fact they have a POOL. Stay where you want, but from my experience, I know where to stay when I come to Key West. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$90
We checked into Boyds campground over the deemed "low" season and were surprised to be charged 'high" season rates. It cost $90 for a site with just water and electric! We were given a tiny site. We only have a 22 ft motor home and it did not fit into the site, the hood was in the road! The site we were allocated had to share the power and water with the site behind and as we were the second to arrive we had to plug our RV into one of the outdoor plugs made for plugging outdoor lights or alike in. Consequently our power kept shorting and turning off. The water pressure was terrible as it was a shared connection: you don't get much for $90! The pool was heated to 104 degrees. At the end of spring when the temperature outside was the same, it was not cool and refreshing, rather hot and germy! Don't use the bathrooms: they are dirty and unkempt. The Internet only works on certain site. The draw card for coming to Boyds was that they advertise a shuttle bus: nope. They tell you to get on the local bus, which is late and doesn't run in the evening! And costs extra on top of the $90 you have already paid. Total waste of money. Stay in a motel for the same in the center of town. We moved after 1 night and stayed at Seashells Motel for the same price. It was lovely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$99
Boyd's Campground, Key West is definitely not the place to go to for fun and relaxation in Key West. I decided to end my 5-year relationship with Boyd's Campground after a progressive decline in customer service, rise in prices and outright threats by the Manager. (Please note upon departure I requested the managers name, was given one and told that that was all I would be getting from them), to pay more money after my entire balance was cleared upon check in. The Management team and front desk support show a complete and absolute disregard for any type of customer care or customer retention. I went back to Boyd’s Campground each year hoping that this lack of customer care was a rare occurrence, but after repeated struggles with the lady at the front desk to book a site without an attitude or sarcastic tone, I have decided it is not worth my time or money to stay here. Next time you're in Key West, steer clear of the strongarm tactics of the swindlers at Boyd's Campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$75
This is our 2nd trip to Boyd’s. We spent Christmas at the campground as well with our 2 daughters (20 and 23yrs). Nice family campground with a mix of RV's and 5th wheels. Beautiful small tent sites on the peninsula. A few perms but overall daily’s or weekly’s. The staff is very friendly and keep the park maintained. The pool has shade and a tiki hut for those not inclined to sun. The campground is at the beginning (mm7)of Key West but there is a bus downtown. The only reason I did not rate higher is age and location. If you are going to the keys and want REAL luxury for a big rig, stay at Bluewater Key at MM14. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$80
Key West is expensive and the park was built in 1963 so the spaces are very small and short. However, once you are in (somewhat of a challenge although the staff is very helpful at directing) it is a very pleasant park and only 5 miles from downtown Key West. It is very close to a bike path that goes around the island. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$10
We loved this campground. We were right on the water and watched the sunrise every morning. The sites are a little small, but our 31' RV and motorcycle had lots of room. It cost $109 a night during the spring break, but this is Key West, so a lot of things cost more. The front desk is very helpful and would call us a cab to go to town. Cab costs $5 per person, buses are random so unless you have time to waste go for the cab. We plan to return next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$99
Pretty, tight spots, but close to Key West. Easy access to Key West from here. We did not want to bike outside the campground though; it is in a depressed area outside Key West. But, we had no problem there. Lots of staff available and working keeping things looking nice. There are not a lot of RV choices this close to Key West, so you may have to pay the money. Our rate was actually $120/night, with extra person. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$99
We made a 1 night reservation for our 35 foot motorhome with 2 slides, 1 dog, and 4 adults on an ocean front lot. The 1 night price was $140.00 plus tax. The ocean front lot was actually an inverted pie shape backing onto the boat launch with any water view blocked by shrubs. Take it or leave it. They were fully booked. Our neighbors were tenters on one side and a pop up trailer on the other side with about 5 feet separating us. We were able to open our slides by maneuvering our motorhome, however, we would not have had room to park a towed. Our adult sons used the washrooms and showers, but were not impressed with them. They were just OK. The staff was friendly, but not apologetic about their facilities. We were a short $20. taxi ride to Duval Street where we were able to purchase 4 big cookies and an ice cream cone for $26.00. Key West is a great destination, but be prepared to pay. We will return, but not to Boyd's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2009
$99
Actually, the rate was over $100/night but the input field truncates to two digits. This is without a doubt the most over-priced campground we've ever stayed in and we've been full-timing for almost 5 years. Gives new meaning to the word 'rip-off'. The first site we were assigned was too narrow to get our slide out. They re-assigned us to another site but they had to trim the tree branches there for us to fit. It is extremely noisy and very crowded. The word "gridlock" comes to mind when we look down our row. Very disappointing and we would NOT stay here again. We're sorry we committed for a week or we would leave. It is so unpleasant here, we might just leave anyway before the week is up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$99
Very friendly staff, well kept, and location!!! Located just a mere 30 minute to andhour (depending on how fast you pedal) bike ride from Mallory Square and 20 minutes from Smathers beach, this an absolutely fantasitic site. Transportation is a breeze as the Key West bus system picks up right next to the park. If you are thinking about bringing your coach to Key West, definiatly give Boyds a try, you wont be sorry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$99
It was our first time backing into a site and because the sites are a bit to close it was a bit challenging but fellow RVers came out to help. We arrived at night so we really couldn't appreciate what morning brought us (besides the jets taking off as early as 715AM and rattling our trailer) waking up to the bay was breathtaking!!! We looked forward to sunrise the seven days we stayed here. We had no complaints. There was a "welcome campers" meal which made it easy to meet fellow rvers and movie night was a nice touch. The staff was helpful. The campgrounds are clean. Sites 121, 122, 123, 124 are all on the water, near the dumpster and the restroom/showers. Best deal is by months!!! PS: For 23.00 one way you can take a cab to Duval and not worry about driving and drinking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2008
$99
Wow! This is the most over-priced campground we have stayed in in our 5 months on the road and we've stayed on truly waterfront sites. I guess as they're the only game in town they feel they can gouge people. The check-in ladies were not very friendly - what does it take to get a smile? Spend $200 night?? The women's shower had hair all over it, and the faucets are rusty. I used the laundry room and that was fine. We wanted to get a sunday paper, but the machine was broken and they didn't seem to care at the office. Also, this is surrounded by a very sketchy neighborhood, you would not want to walk around at all at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$65
Fantastic site, first class service, site has all you need for a short or long stay. :-) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$99
Location, location, location.. This park is located right next to Key West. The staff were friendly, but the neighborhood is a little rough. They have night time security. Scooter rental is right on site and that is the best way to visit Key West. They can accommodate motor homes to tents. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$99
Very nice park, but the sites are VERY close together. The price per night was also very expensive ($125/night), but you have to expect that. The office staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There are many "seasonal" sites, but all are beautifully landscaped. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$99
Best time I have ever had at a campground (with my clothes on!) Fantasy Fest 2007! The staff was great and really got into the festivities. The sites were tight, but once we got in, we didn't have to move the MH again. The park was very clean and well maintained and there was a bus to the beach, downtown and all the places we wanted to go. We left the kids at home, but will definitely be coming back during the school holidays. Expensive but worth every penny. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$95
We stay here every time we visit the Keys. It's an easy motorcycle or taxi ride into downtown Key West. Most of the sites seem to have shady palm trees and the pool is really nice and clean. The front desk staff is helpful too. My only complaint is the chickens next door, they're a great alarm clock. Chickens seem to roam free all over Key West and Stock Island, so I'm not sure there is much the management can do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$95
This park is a good place to stay to explore Key West. The neighborhood is not wonderful, but the park is very safe. The sites are tight, as you would expect. Some sites are easier to get into than others, but the staff is helpful and our 40' pusher fit nicely with room for our awnings to be out, parking for our Subaru wagon and two scooters. It's expensive, but it's Key West! We were there over the New Year's holiday and had a wonderful time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$95
Actually, we were not looking forward to staying here given the previous reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. Yes it's old, yes the sites are sandy, yes some of them are small, but we saw no instance where anyone was unable to put out their slides, that's an untruth. One must keep in mind where you are: Key West, the whole place is SMALL. While we don't rate it the same as Bluewater Keys, where we stayed for the last Fantasy Fest, but it's not that bad. Staff was excellent, Wi-Fi was excellent, night time security was in place. Went to the office to report a broken cable connection at our site and before we returned to the MH, a staff member was already working on it. You don't get that at many places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$99
Very nice campground and only a couple of miles from Key West. A lot quieter than Sugarloaf Key and just as nice. Only drawback is the tight spaces, not much room to spread out. Fishing and boat docks are great as is the view. Like most of the lower Keys, campgrounds are pricey, over $100 a night. I will go back when visiting Key West. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$90
We like to camp at state parks and at up-scale RV resorts. Long story short is Boyd’s offers the up-scale cost without the up-scale amenities. What it does have going for it is location; only 4.5 miles from the main area of Key West. The staff is friendly and very helpful, and while it is not a new park, it does offer waterfront boat parking, a small pool, camp store, and laundry facilities. As to the area of town… it is located on the island where most of the locals live who can not afford to live in the main island of Key West. The sites are small but we had no problem parking our 30' Class A. Sure it would be nice to have large shaded RV site, with country club amenities, but we will sacrifice that for the location, when we stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$99
I camped there in March 2007. I was concerned with the negative reviews and when I arrived I was pleasantly surprised! It is not overgrown; it is well maintained. It is in the Keys so the roads are sandy and there are many, many palm trees for a very tropical feel. The pool was heated and nice and warm. It is a small campground so make your reservations early! Sites are small but that goes with the area where land is a premium. We live in a beach community in NJ so we are used to it. The area around it is not that bad. Some older trailers, but remember the land is a premium so even small houses are big $$$. So how bad an area could it be? We had no problems, nice, don't think twice. The pop up sites are small. We had a waterfront site! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$90
Outstanding campground that definably fits the bill of a Tropical Paradise. It a small campground but they don't jam you in like other small places do. The facilities are immaculate, the staff goes out of their way to make your stay special. All that coupled with the close proximity to Key West make this place a must stay even if it is a bit over priced in season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2007
$99
This park was terrible, I have never seen such tight spots, it was like herding cows backwards into a narrow hallway. Some campers could not even open their slides, just wall to wall campers, and very expensive. I hope that there is never a fire because people would never get out. I think it may be a fire hazard the way campers are packed in like sardines. Next time I will stay at Bahia Hondo State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2006
$90
The only thing Boyd's Campground has going for them is that they are the closest campground to Key West. Boyd's is located in a VERY undesirable neighborhood. The grass was over grown and the place looked very unkept. The cable TV wire was split from the campsite next to us and run over the ground. The campground was very muddy (lot's of rain) and the interior campground roads were unfinished gravel pits. Yes, the staff was nice and courteous, but that's not enough to keep us coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$90
Boyd's is one of those campgrounds that seems to rely more heavily on it's location than it's amenities in order to attract campers. Although it advertises itself as "Boyd's Key West Campground", it is located NOT in Key West but on Stock Island (north of Key West). The $90 per night "ocean-front" (actually inlet) sites were small and crowded. The water faucet at the pedestal was a mere FOUR INCHES away from the electric plug-in (I measured it), there is no Wi-Fi, the sewer pipe feed is not threaded, they charge extra for everything imaginable, and they have a large number of tent campers sprinkled about the campground. While the office staff was very nice and helpful, their courtesy did little to ease the pain of being stung for $100 per night in a cramped site next to tent campers. We will not return to this park and STRONGLY suggest that anyone who is considering staying here look to other parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$90
Another great visit to Key West and an enjoyable stay at Boyd's. Clean campground, was crowded but not noisy, great pool and location. Nice mix of older folks and young folks on spring break. Families with little ones also. Had a campground participation food and music event that was well attended. Was pricey but that was expected and the location in general is pricey. Worth the expense and will come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2006
$95
I question if the good ratings on this web site are written by campers at Boyd's. We found the camp sites to be narrow and filthy, the RV's packed in like sardines, with no limit on vehicles at each small site. I noticed one RV'er actually painting his RV with a spray can. The camp site access roads are narrow and poorly layed out, full of obstacles and hazards. I watched a 5th wheel destroy the front of his RV cap on a roof overhang on the shower building. The shoreline on the rocky beach was littered with every kind of trash one can imagine. The campground is located in a questional part of town with inadequate security. My $300 mountain bike was stolen from our camp site. The responding sheriff indicated that this wasn't the first. The manager said he was sorry followed by an argument defending his camp security. What an experience for $95 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2005
$95
A tight squeeze with a 40' pusher, but a very nice property. Book early, this place is in high demand. Neighborhood surrounding camp is poor but camp is surrounded by high fence. Security is excellent. All cars checked coming and going by full-time guard. Desk help very friendly. Washers, dryers, pool all clean. Water front sites are wonderful, if you can get one. Seemed a bit pricey- 128.23 per night with 4 adults, but there is no other option this close to Key West. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
Had a back in site right on the bay. Looking out the back window you might think you were on a boat. Very pleasant and accommodating staff. Hint: ask about the bone island shuttle rather than call a taxi. With steaks and Florida lobster on the grill; a line in the water. Jimmy Buffet on the cd player as I watched one of the most beautifull sunsets ever. Not to mention a margarita in hand and a cigar to go with it. I can't imagine anyone would not like this place. I will say that it could use some updating it is an older place and if you want a resort go to Sunshine key. Even the facilities at Sunshine key could use updating. If you want to be close to Key West this is the place. If there is anything you don't like here make a margarita and wait for sunset you will forget about everything else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$50
99% of the cost of this campground is because you're on Key West. Location, location, location! When I was there, and it was some time ago, it was pretty grungy and the cost seemed to be way over what I thought it was worth. Lots of trees, gazebos, and mangrove views are nice. You're definitely close to the action. I would recommend a trailer that you can un-hitch, because running around on Key West in a big Class A is going to be cumbersome. All in all, not a bad price for the experience. You're not going to find any other accommodations for any less than a pad here. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$90
Would recommend and will stay here again! Clean, friendly halpful staff, close enough to everything in Key West but still far enough away, nice pool and laundry. The great wireless comes free! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$65
We just loved this place. Although it is undergoing major upgrades (that is why I could not score it any higher) my kids had a wonderful time fishing and cast netting. The person behind the desk was very nice and helpful. You are less than 10 minutes from dowtown Key West. The spaces are tight. But, this is Key West, everything is tight. One warning would be to check out what is going on in Key West before you visit. If it lobster season or if there is any festival going on this park could be very crowded and noisy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$79
Oh Boyd!! After driving 38 hrs finally arrived. Turns out that they don't guarantee full hook up. I have 4 small children. Ended up in the Marina next to a dumpster, wow whats that smell, sea gulls, boat fuel, fish guts, 85 degrees ouch!! Complained to mgmt, they found us another spot ($30 bucks more a night). We were packed in like sardines. No space to open awning. But at last sewer, Yes!!! Thank God for the pool. Changed into swim suits, never came out of pool.(heated). Best bet, pay for ocean front, a little more room, guaranteed spot. Good Luck!!!! March 2002 visitor We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com