223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Cutty's Hayden Creek Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (719) 942-4222
CGID7044

Cutty's Hayden Creek Resort

Camp Information
Sites
168
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   2   8   6   3   3   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$44
Like other campers, we found the place to be pretty run down. That said, there are plenty of sites that are very secluded and in the trees, definitely not your parking lot type RV park. Also, if you have kids it is a great place to go--indoor and outdoor pools, putt putt, horseshoes, shuffle board, tennis, etc. Run down, yes, but we had a pretty good time nonetheless. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Very nice park with game areas, pool, and walking trails. Treed area with spacious fairly level campsites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
After looking this site up both via their web site and Google earth (a great way to tell if they are nothing but a gravel parking lot or not) we thought it would be a great place to spend a couple of weeks. Sadly this park is so very ran down, natural habitat is about the only way to describe it. The restrooms/ showers near D loop were mold infest, spiders and their "lunch" resided in every corner, 3 different colors of paint were on the walls where there was paint, the toilet stalls had "finger paintings" for lack of a better description. The main restrooms near the outdoor swimming pool were "cleaner", not by much. This honestly seemed to be the "theme" through out the park. Lack of or no maintenance at all. Sites are spacious although bare dirt. Fire pits are concrete and re-bar hazards. Mini golf was covered in pine needles and unplayable. Wi-Fi was at the office and only one person / device could get on at a time and very slow. No cell phone service, the closest service is 3 miles away on the highway. If they offer it, it is probably in very bad shape, broke, ran down, etc. Never saw or met staff, actually at one point had to visit the office and was asked if we were checking in. We had been there 10 days at this point and had visited the "office area" daily to check email. Awesome "weekend warrior camper" area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
Have stayed here a number of times, it is always a good experience. We stayed in T5 this time, first time we have stayed in a full hook up site. It was a great site, but many of the sites will not allow you to put out your awning. Make sure and mention if you have slide outs, when yo make reservations. This is as close as you can get to remote camping in a campground. If you want a super fancy campground, this is not the place to go. But if you want a great campground the whole family will love, this is your place. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$10
Very nice park but it needs work before it is big rig friendly. Most roads need trees trimmed in order for large 5th wheels and Class A motor homes to get in and out. We had to do some very tight and complicated maneuvers in order to get out without tearing up our rigs. The staff is very friendly and helpful except when it came to trimming. We requested a couple days before to get the trees trimmed so we could get out but they would not do it and we had to do the afore mentioned maneuvers in order to get out. It is a great place for smaller rigs 36' or shorter. If they would trim the trees and make the roads clearance better I would readily recommend this park but, until they do, big rigs be very careful!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$10
This campground is OK if you have a small rig. We had a 38' fifth wheel and damaged the roof getting out of the site. I had to use 30' of sewer hose to reach to inlet and 30' of water hose to hook up. I placed the rig as close to the utilities as possible without being in the road. The site was designated as a handicapped but we had 1.5 feet of room from the bottom step to the edge of a drop off. I was also as close as I could get and still be able to open my slides. The WiFi worked for 27 minutes of the 5 days we were here. There is NO cell phone service. I had to use 4" of leveling on the downhill side of the site to get level. If you have a small rig or a tent and want to get away from it all this park would be OK. If you have a big rig and want some creature comforts, find another park! We used RPI but the site called us ahead of time and asked for a credit card to confirm. Guess they were afraid that we would leave when we saw the condition of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
This facility was aware of the length of my trailer (35 ft.) and still put me in a pull through that afforded me a very narrow turn at the bottom of a two track road. This turn was bordered by trees, and a drop-off on the right preventing a wide left turn, as a result tree limbs tore the roof of my trailer. Twice during a 7 day stay water pressure was not available for several hours due to leaks elsewhere in the park. The maintenance personnel were helpful, in that they did loan me drill to make a repair on my trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Stayed here on a very busy weekend (4th of July) and had a great time. Activities were fun and the people running the park were very accommodating and friendly. One even brought my wife a sewing kit from home to help mend a shirt. Only negatives are that the showers are small and need updating and they also had a dinner that was overpriced for what we got. Sites are small and many have only 20 amp hookups. This was OK for our needs, but should be updated for newer, larger rigs. Earlier comments about uneven sites were also accurate. If you want to get away from cell phones, internet, cable, etc. its a great place to stay, but if you need these things to enjoy your camping trip, you may want to find another park close to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Nice place for a get-away with family. It's about 3 miles from the highway noise, which is important to me. Lots for kids and adults to do on site, from swimming to miniature golf. Sites are not especially level, though, so make sure you have your "leveling tools," especially in some of the sloped sites that are more vulnerable to stormy weather. Our pop-up is 24 feet long, and it was a little bit tight for us with our SUV. Unless you are fortunate to get one of the larger sites, you may have difficulty getting larger RVs into a number of their sites. Restrooms and showers were not the cleanest I've seen, but they were good enough. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
This is a very nice campground. However, when making reservation make sure to let them know if you need 30amp or 50amp. On the map in their website, it did say not to use your air conditioner. We called ahead to tell them that we might need to use the AC because we have a baby and may need to keep the TT in a comfortable temperature. The guy who answered the phone told us that the warnings on the map was old. We were told that we could go ahead and turn on our AC while we're there. We were given site # F11. It is a pull through, by the river, full hook up, however the electricity is not even close to 30amp. With a newborn baby, we needed to use all the appliances in our TT. However, since it was probably drawing less than 30amp, we were not able to do so. The office staff were very nice though. They immediately gave us other options that offer the 'full' 30amp. The resort is fully self contained. It was very secluded but it offers so much that we didn't even have to go out of the park to entertain the kids. There were miniature golf, game arcade, basketball court, tennis court, tether ball, playground, tiny town, horse shoe, swimming pool outdoor and indoor which was kept at 82F while we were there. Did I mentioned that all of this are included in the fee of $38 per night? There was also a small stream that runs through the campground. Overall, this is one of the best in Colorado. The view is excellent and there were so much trees you feel like you are in the woods by yourself. The bathrooms and showers are kept clean and the small convenience store carry enough stuff that you probably will need. It is 25 miles from Salida if you forget to get something from the big grocery store. There are no T-Mobile or AT&T phone service. Wi-Fi signals very weak and you could only use it if you are close enough to the office. We will definitely try to come back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
What a nice find. Like some past reviewers, you will need blocks to level your RV. There is one site that was big enough for our rig and very shady. I liked this place but gave it my rating due to the fact it is tough to get in to and a bit long in the tooth. There are a ton of things to do including an indoor pool. It is nestled against the San gre de Cristo mountains (picture the Tetons if in Colorado) and in the wilderness. It is beautiful and relaxing. I would recommend to anyone with less than a 40' RV. Any bigger and you need to request site T-1 or T-2. We had a great time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
I thought this campground was great. The worst part of our weekend was that it rained the whole time and that has nothing to do with the guys at Cutty's. The site took some leveling but I don't have a problem with that since I had a nice large site with plenty of trees for shade and room for my 2 year old to run. It is far enough from the highway to be quiet, except for the creek noises, and everyone there was friendly and helpful. I look forward to returning for the 4th of July weekend and seeing how the shade affects the heat in my camper. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Wow, beautiful views, great staff, nice sites. Very tight for our 35' fiver and MDT, but worth the view. Water is from stream, so must be boiled or treated. However, they warn you when making reservations to bring your tanks full. Staff went out of their way to help us into the site we wanted. Lots and Lots of family activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
We enjoyed this campground. It was our 1st campout of the season. The owner's have a lot of activities planned during the weekend. If you want to go someplace to stay in the campground, but still be entertained Cutty's can do that. It is a true family campground, similar to the Jellystone brand campgrounds. The playground area was fabulous, even for my 9 and 10 year olds! I would have given Cutty's an 8 if not for 2 things. 1. The main women's bathroom (near the outdoor pool) was really dirty, the toilets were leaking. One stall was out of order and as the weekend progressed the other 2 were having problems too. Gross. I must say they had a lot of use, it was a really busy Memorial Day weekend. My husband said the men's room wasn't that bad. 2. The sites really aren't that level. We had to really jack up our front end to level it. **Things to know if visiting Cutty's** 1. Be prepared to have to use blocks or other devices to level your rig. 2. Their website states that they can accommodate rigs 36' and under. 3. They have an indoor and outdoor pool! 4. Bring cash for the extra activities and optional meals. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$33
We loved it here! There is so much to do: shuffleboard, horseshoes, basketball, putt putt golf, tennis, indoor pool, outdoor pool, hot tub, playground. The view of the Sangre De Cristo Mountains is stunning. The creek running through camp is lovely. When you first see the sites you think there's no way we'll get level but they have concrete strips poured for your tires to sit on and we were perfectly level. There's wildlife all around camp. We saw several types of squirrels, chipmunks, humming birds (bring your feeder!) and mule deer. The staff and new owner are constantly making improvements around camp. The old owner had really let the place run down but they've already made so many improvements that it's a really nice place to relax and enjoy being outdoors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$13
This is a very friendly family park that is quite remote by our standards. It is about 25 miles to the nearest grocery store of any consequence. The management is very friendly and anxious to make your stay enjoyable. The overall park is quite rustic with lots of trees for shade. Good facilities which included indoor and outdoor pool, hot tub, rec hall, store, bathrooms, etc, etc. WiFi is available locally at the lodge. We enjoyed the laid back atmosphere, the friendly staff and guests. Please note that we had no cell signal, nor broadcast TV signal due to our remoteness. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
This is a great family resort. Indoor and Outdoor pool. Free miniature golf, shuffle board, tether ball, basketball court and more. They have steak nights, bingo, and a band. Look at web site for calendar of events. They have a lot of shaded areas. Big place with cabins too. It is within 25 minutes of the Royal Gorge. A lot of places to go white water rafting too. We plan on going there again soon. It has been under new ownership in the past 2 years and they are trying to spiffy up the place constantly. One of the dump stations was on the fritz when we were there but it did not cause any problems for us. The site we were at was by a running creek and the white noise made it really nice to sleep to. I think this place will only get better as time passes due to the new ownership. They are very much into trying to improve the campsite. Members get to camp there for $3.00 a night plus get free ice. The scenery is awesome! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com