223325 User submitted reviews online!!
Serendipity Bay RV Resort & Marina was rated 5 out of 10 based on 55 user reviews. Phone: (361) 972-5454
CGID7047

Serendipity Bay RV Resort & Marina

Camp Information
Sites
162
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   10   8   9   9   10   7   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$28
This park is still run-down looking. We have been coming here for years and it hasn't changed at all. Promises are made to grade the streets and to add more concrete pads but nothing has been done. Nice quiet little park and the staff is helpful but it's time that someone takes some pride in this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Park is getting a run down look. Dust from the unpaved roads, boat repair noise and paint in the air is a real problem. Wi-Fi is very slow, I imagine this is because it is not secured and most of the businesses around use it, also. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Bathrooms are exceptionally clean and fresh. Overall, good park, just run down, heard many complaints about run down marina. At times it looked like the boats were dumping their black tanks in the water and it backs up in the inner corners of the marina. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
It was hot, but then again it is Texas and summer time. We had a great time. Staff was wonderful and park is very clean. We have stayed here many times and will continue to come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Very nice setting with the marina view site. Shipyard facility offers some ambient sandblasting noise, not a problem for us. Getting some age on the facilities, but they were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Easy in and out. Nice helpful management. Well maintained park. Beautiful views. Wonderful walking 2-3 mile paved path along the ocean bay. Wide sites. Decent WiFi. Limited restaurants in the area. There is some noisy boat repair next door but all is quiet after 5pm. I would recommend staying in the higher numbered premium sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$27
Really a very nice place. There are well laid out wide spaces. Quiet. Good laundry but the dryers are too high off the floor. They have programs to keep you busy and a very friendly staff. They also pickup your trash at the curb. The lead you to your site and help you as needed. Didn't use the pool, but it was clean. Great views and the Marina is very picturesque. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
This is an old park, but has been taken care of with new concrete pull-troughs with nice patios. It is on the bay and has beautiful views of the water. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$28
The sites in this park have two categories -- paved and dirt. The section with pull-throughs has some back-ins that face the marina. It has a paved road and paved sites. The rest of the park is raw and with gravel roads and dirt sites. These are close together and in the winter are mostly filled with winter residents. When it rains they are a mess. The pool is small. The baths are spacious, clean, but old. There is a large laundry area. The rally room and rec room are only open in the winter. There are playgrounds for kids nearby as well as a large free fishing pier. While there, the main larger boat marina was quiet. We had some of the most spectacular sunsets we have ever seen. Palacious is a small town with a small grocery, Dairy Queen, Sonic, a grill and seafood and several Mexican restaurants. For our purposes of having a quiet couple of days it was fine. We will probably go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2011
$26
Not anything like it's advertised. Shrimp boats and 18wheelers running their engines all night. If the wind comes from the southwest you smell diesel and paint from the shipyards. During the day the sound of sandblasting is deafening. They have a nice pool but not heated. Activities are very limited. We found a nice place on Lavaca Bay and at least the managers were nice when you had a complaint, which were few. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
This "resort" looks good from the entrance, but once inside you must ride over potholes to get to the slab sites. Two piles of dirt cluttered the area used to park extra vehicles. We did a walk through. It had a small but nice pool which if heated would have been useful. The rally hall was nice. The Marina was an eye sore, the rusted docks and dockboxes made me wonder why anyone would moor a boat there. We decided to move on to something nicer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
Someone dropped the ball on this park. The pictures on their website are quite deceiving. Not much to do unless you fish. A boat yard next door will coat your RV with soot if the wind is blowing right and big trucks lend to the noise all night. The pool was nice and refreshing and cable TV was available (for an extra charge). The internet was slow, I suspect a hog on the Wi-Fi. We kind of laughed about the dock sinking, but a regular here said it was common. We will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
We had planned on staying in this Park, but upon arrival and inspection, we drove on. It was like a desert. No shade anywhere, small lots, small pool, showers, restrooms were adequate. Marina was not attractive. I would not recommend this to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
We camped here in April and again in May. The park is very clean and the staff friendly. We liked being right on the water. It was very windy both times we were there. They have nice concrete pads with plenty of room to maneuver. The park is on the marina. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
I rated this park an 8 because it wasn't the best one we have stayed in, nor was it the worst. The restrooms and showers were super clean and the staff very friendly. Choice of beach or pool was awesome. The only downside we encountered was the WiFi wasn't working and the park was full of burrs which we were constantly picking from our dog. We will probably return here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$22
This park would rate a 10 if they had an all weather hot tub and the standard sites had more room. The sewer connections are too close to your neighbor’s door. The standard sites may also be a little muddy in wet weather. I also discount if a park has a menu of charges. We paid $22 for a Standard $22 site after a $2 Good Sam discount but a $2 charge for cable TV. We did not get a reduction for not using the pool, for not having a pet, and for not using the club house. The Wi-Fi was fine and the front office was not hesitant to reset it if it went down, unlike many parks that claim the problem is YOUR computer. The strong side to this park is the excellent bathrooms and showers. This park’s showers should be a model for others to copy. They had entry doors and a shower curtain that kept water in the shower. There was a mat on the dressing area floor and ample hooks for clothes. Picnic tables were available and there are ample recreation opportunities. The local 9 hole golf course is OK while Bay City’s Rio Colorado Golf Course is a good bargain and a fine course. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Very nice owners. They only have 15 pull-throughs but I had a pull in that faced the marina so I was very pleased. The roads are gravel but the sites are concrete with little side patios and picnic tables. Campers are not allowed to walk on the marina docks. There are two meeting rooms, a pool (unheated) and they were painting the bocce ball court. There is also a playground. If you rent a $22 site you will need to pay extra for cable. The Wi-Fi was satisfactory and I was able to Skype. From what I could see this is the nicest RV park in town. I plan to make a return visit. It might cost a little more but was worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
This is a real Diamond of a park. Beautiful spot right on the bay with an on-site marina! Very clean and beautifully kept grounds and amenities. The sites are grassy and are all flat and look pretty level. The pool, bathrooms and showers are all very clean. Great deal for the price! They charged us $2 for cable TV (which was not mentioned on their website), but is still a great deal for the location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
My husband and I stayed here for the month of July. It is a very nice park. The employee's were friendly and they have new management who were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
We stayed here in the month of June, and had a wonderful time. New management had just taken over. The bathrooms were very clean. WiIl stay here again. The managers made you feel welcome. We spent a lot of time in the pool and they keep it very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2010
$22
I've been traveling the country in my conversion van and this is by far the worst place I've seen. They stuck me on a grass pad with a sewer drain next to me. Actually the only thing that worked was the power, the cable was terrible (snowy). Others in the campground said theirs was the same a lot of the time. Several people tried to help, including the managers husband and he was very rude. The internet was worst, I was unable to send or receive emails and it was off most of the night. The ladies room had some fresh paint but the cleaning sure was bad. It looked like the mop had been swished once to make it look like something was attempted. Looking out the side of my van was a large dirt pile that campers said was for fill if you needed it. The view of the bay was great if you went down to the bay house. It's a shame this place is like it is, when it could be really nice. Some of the campers said there was a nice place down the road about a mile but they were booked. Guess I'll try there on the way back. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2010
$26
I have to agree with one of the other reviewers, who said he should have come to this site before going to Serendipity. I did drive over to Bayside to check them out and was amazed at the difference in attitudes. The management and staff at Bayside RV Park were very pleasant and acted like they appreciated your potential business. Here, if you asked questions they act like your prying and are rude with their answers. I was leaving the office when I overheard some one ask when the internet would be fixed and the manager rudely answered, "It is fixed and there is nothing wrong with it." I went back to my RV and logged on and it was off line. Since then it hasn't worked about 75% of the time. I do have to agree with the other reviewers that the place is very rundown and has very poor management. Who in the world would close the restrooms for painting on the spring break weekends? I'll be staying at Bayside from now on when I come here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2010
$26
This is the third time I have been here, as a result of working at the STP. The only reason we're here is the other parks were booked. This "resort" turned into a rundown fish camp was a nice place at one time. It has a great view of the bay, except you have to look through the rundown marina and overflowing trash containers to see it. Seems nothing gets repaired here. The last time I was here the cable box was lying on the ground and it still is. The floor in the men's room still needs painting. They do have a dirt pile for you to fill in the potholes at your site, if YOU want to do it. The "free internet" service is worthless, and they now shut it off at night. When it is on it's so slow it times out before you can write an e-mail. Evidently the provider doesn't know what he's doing, but they always say he's going to fix it. This place is an example of gross mismanagement; in fact the managers are rarely around, and the staff doesn't seem to be able to do anything but take check-ins. We WON'T be here again, unless they make some drastic changes. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
We liked this campground. Our site backed up to the marina with a nice view of the boats. On the other side was the commercial fishing harbor with its boats. Site was level, gravel, concrete pad, table, no fire-ring. Nice ambiance, but the sites were a little too close together for our liking. If you golf, there is a good 9 hole course nearby. Great value! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2010
$28
I'll have to agree with a previous reviewer, calling this a resort is an abomination. Why would anyone leave their nice home to vacation at a rundown place like this? From the time you turn off the road, onto the pothole filled park, it is evident that management and staff don't care whether anyone stays or goes. After you leave the office you're greeted by a pile of dirt that you can use to fill in the potholes at your site: hope you brought a shovel and a cart. The beauty of the bay is destroyed by a rusted, falling down marina. The lack of upkeep is evident when you look at the shuffleboard and horseshoe area. Claiming to have: "Free Wireless Internet for our RV and Marina Guests" is basically false advertisement. The camp joke was: "What is the only thing the USPS is faster than?" Answer: "E-mail at Serendipity." This year they are promoting internet service from the cable company @ $30 hook up and about $37 a month. We will never stay here again and will actively inform our friends and contacts to do likewise. P.S. The restrooms are atrocious. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2010
$22
This could be a nice park if the management cared. The management is rude to the guest like they were the only game in town. The nightly rates are between $22 to $30 a night, $225 to $360 a month depending on the site. When checking in, the management pushes the most expensive sites first and will actually try to talk you out of staying in the lower cost sites. Any guest from outside the park that may want to come to your site must first pay $2 each, even to check if you are there. The washing machines and driers are like going to a casino. You take your chances if they work or not. Usually it's in the managements favor. When you bring it up to them they ignore you. Their wifi has a strong signal everywhere in the park but it locks up and is very slow. The roads are dirt/gravel with pot holes and the sites are like staying in a swamp for days at a time when it rains. The new city ordinances has mandated that all the roads in all the RV parks have to be paved and the sites built up to keep them dry by Jan 31, 2010. When asked about the progress they say lawyers are cheaper than doing the work. They do have a nice marina with floating docks and some of the best slip rates on the Texas coast though. We had stayed here 3 months last year and returned this year only to be with some friends going through medical treatment. We stayed here 2 months this year but will never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
Let me say that calling this place "serendipity" is an abuse of the English language. True the view is potentially beautiful, however you must look past the rundown park and marina. We stayed here for 2 months because we could not get a refund of our reservation. It rained almost every other day and the place was a slimy mud hole. The management is satisfied with sitting back and letting others do the work. They are rude and unsociable people. The other parks in the area should thank them for being their best advertisement. We wondered why there were so few winter Texans like ourselves here. Some said they had moved over to the Bayside RV Park because of the attitude of the management here and the cliques. This park is divided into groups and if you belong to one the other doesn't talk to you and rumors are rampant. While it's common in a lot of parks this is one of the worst. Some long timers think they run the place. If you want to see vintage washers and dryers, this is the place. Most don't work and they remind me of how old I am. The good part about the laundry room is the hook-up to the internet. While it's dial up, at least it works to get our e-mail. If you like sitting outside for happy hour and shouting over the sand-blasting and 18-wheeler noise from the shipyards and shrimp houses: this is the place for you. Be prepared to have your RV sand blasted if the wind is blowing wrong. Never, and I repeat NEVER again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
What a beautiful view of the bay. The winter Texans like ourselves were clanish but very nice. Unfortunately it rained and was unusually cold. The mud was horrific. Many said they would not be back next year because it seems to go downhill each year, and more and more of their friends move elsewhere. I would have rated it higher if it hadn't been for the overall looks of the park and the noise and dust from the ship yard next door. Thank God we had our own internet service because a staffer said they had been having trouble with it for a long time. Some of the campers suggested we meet them at another park next year when we come down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2010
$36
Besides the fact this place is falling apart and the management and owners don't care. The attitude is, if you don't like it go somewhere else. When I asked about the internet service and when it would be fixed, the manager rudely told me " It's not broken and if you don't like it the cable company will hook you up for $35 a month + installation". Every time you click on a page you get "The page cannot be displayed" or some stupid page that says "server not found". It took 17 minutes for me to get to the yahoo mail page and then I couldn't sign in cause the page timed out. If that's what they call internet service they should just shut it down and not have it. Then again I agree with the other reviewers that the biggest replacement should be the management. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2010
$36
Here I am at the library getting my mail and contacting the folks back home. The "wireless" is "useless" and that's an understatement. The office lady said the put a spam and virus filter on the system and it slows it down. Previous reviews called this a "fish camp", that term overrates it. People at fish camps are mostly nice and appreciate your business, these people run more people out than attract. The place is a deteriorated mud hole. When the water runs off the craters appear (POTHOLES). A rundown marina ruins the pretty view of the bay. Even the concrete sites are muddy. The ladies room needs painting and the showers are barely running. Someone said one has been out since last year. Suggestions for a better park would be 1. new management, 2. Fertilizer to grow grass 3. PAINT,PAINT,PAINT. 4. The owners should spend more time seeing what goes on here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
We should have read the reviews before we came here. While the place is not a dump, as called for in a previous review, it is in a sadly rundown condition. The management doesn't seem to care and evidently the owners are unaware of the aptitude they have. From the potholes to the rusty docks, the place is not what is represented on their website. They boast a beautiful view and it would be if not for the rundown marina. The Picnic tables are nothing but splinter city, and most are ready to collapse. My husband asked the attendant how to get on the internet and was told they were fixing it and laughed about the fact they had been doing that for years. He said most go to the library to use it. My husband said the restroom were in bad shape and needed painting, so was the ladies room. I would be ashamed to say I owned this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2010
$36
Don't let the website pictures deceive you, as soon as you pull in the roads turn to muddy potholes. We stayed here between Thanksgiving and the Christmas holidays and except for the nice guests, the place is a site for sore eyes. Muddy sites,dirty restrooms an uncaring management, and staff. Evidently the owners prefer to let this place just continue to deteriorate to the point of being a fish camp. During our stay they changed the code on the "free internet service" because they claimed hackers from outside had gotten in, it just got worse and they blocked most access to the web. I wish I had read the reviews here, we surely would have passed this hole in the wall by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2009
$36
This place is a joke, they need to rename it to (serendumpity bay) not a resort. Pothole city and muddy sites, decorated by a pile of dirt to use as fill. The restrooms are run down and it looks like they haven't seen a coat of paint in years. The showers are slippery from algae and low pressure makes you stand for what seems like a life time rinsing off. The wireless internet is almost non-existent and when it's on it knocks you off or blocks you access to emails. My husband voiced his complaints and was turned a cold shoulder. Never again will we stop in Palacios. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2009
$36
We have stayed in this park many times and have commented that it needs care. Nothing has changed. The same potholes, water standing and no improvements to what could be a premier park in the area. Not a bad park, just needs some TLC and some money spent on it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
I have read the other reviews. This is by no means a 10 park. It is also not nearly as bad as some of the reviews state. We have stayed here quite often and have enjoyed ourselves. We find most of the employee's to be very nice. The rally and recreation halls are very nice and the bathrooms are clean. They need to do some maintenance on the roads and some of the sites, however. All and all, we find this park enjoyable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
This place must have been nice a long time ago, but it's just a rundown trailer park with potholes, unclean restrooms and rusted docks that ruin a beautiful view of the bay. The absentee management should be retired permanently and the owners should be ashamed. Some good advice, just drive on by. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
This is the second time I've been here. We are here on a work-over on the nuclear plant. It has degraded to the point of being a little more than a fish camp. The manager thinks a day's work is riding around in a golf cart looking important. The "maintenance" people take after him very well. Don't leave anything outside or it will disappear quick. The restrooms are filthy and are out of supplies on a regular basis. They advertise free wi-fi and to get it you have to go to the library because theirs is out most of the time. We moved to Bayside and will not be back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Super nice people. Clean bathrooms always rate high with me. Nice Pool and view of the bay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This park lists as being on the water but over half the lots are on gravel next to a shrimp packing plant. Semis and large trucks coming and going at all hours. Very noisy and dusty and not the waterfront paradise this place advertises as. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
WOW, they call this a resort, The view of the bay is great and that's the good part. This can only be described as a rundown trailer park. The showers are slimy and the restrooms are a mess. My husband said a gallon of paint would do wonders to at least making it look better. Looking out over the Marina you can see rusted docks, I wouldn't put my boat here, and they advertise FREE Internet service. The Wi-Fi they have is slower than dial-up and the attendant said they had a high speed line for it. I couldn't hardly get my email. Seems with all the business they do here they could spend some money fixing up the place, it's a dust bowl. We will bypass this "RESORT" in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We stayed here on the 4th of July weekend. This is not a resort, it is a campground. the "REC HALL" was not open and neither was the other "RALLY HALL". If you wanted to play shuffle board or horseshoes you had to supply your own equiptment and clean the courts yourself. The Ladies restroom was dirty and out of toilet paper and paper towels. Worst of all was the torn flags that graced the enterance to the park. They were an eye sore and the owners should be ashamed of themselves. We won't be coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We stayed here on the 4th of July weekend. This is not a resort, it is a campground. the "REC HALL" was not open and neither was the other "RALLY HALL". If you wanted to play shuffle board or horseshoes you had to supply your own equiptment and clean the courts yourself. The Ladies restroom was dirty and out of toilet paper and paper towels. Worst of all was the torn flags that graced the enterance to the park. They were an eye sore and the owners should be ashamed of themselves. We won't be coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
My husband and I have stayed at the Serendipity Bay Resort twice this summer and are planning a return trip in July! We loved this area the best in Palacios, Texas. We were able to take a walk to the Pavilion and just relax. Everyone we spoke to were very nice. The managers make it their business to make you comfortable. If anything is wrong, they fix it right away! This is the Best Resort in Palacios for us to stay and relax! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
This is a nice clean park in a small quiet bayside town. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. We have decided to come back in the fall and stay for the winter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
It's amazing that they call this a resort. Unclean restrooms in need of painting, slimy showers with overflowing trash baskets. The place they call a resort has some concrete sites, but the rest of the resort is pothole city. If your site has a pothole, they'll suggest you purchase fill-dirt in town. The halls are for use if you pay for them and the shuffleboard court is a mess. It's hard to play horseshoes and fight ants at the same time. Forget the marina unless you like looking at trash floating in the water and rusted pontoons holding up deteriorating docks. The owners should be ashamed of this place but they must have gotten the managers at minimum wage. Their rude and they don't do anything. We're campers not trailer park trash. BYE BYE: NEVER AGAIN. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
This was a nice park in a great location. Lots of boats to look at, and a great seawall walking path through a scenic little town. The park was spacious, clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The pads were all concrete in the pull-though section where we stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
This park surrounds a marina filled mostly with sailboats on Tres Palacios Bay. The park is very nice and the staff is friendly. Our camping club regularly comes here for rallies. There is a very nice and large rally room. They have upgraded the sites on one end of the park with concrete pads and patios. We love staying in the sites that overlook the water even though they cost more. If you like to go fishing, the water around the park is a good place to wet your line. Lots of fish. The shrimp fleet is a block away and you can purchase shrimp that has just come off the boats! They also have a pool that is very cool and refreshing in the summer. Definitely one of our favorite parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
We are here for a week and are enjoying it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
I must say that our family (2 adults and 2 labradors) love this park. Roads are bumpy and there was a WiFi hog there this year but we will still return again and again. Only caveat I might add is if you like to form cliques and try to overthrow the management like was happening last year this might not be the place for you. Management handled that situation discreetly and apparently correctly and the social aspect of the park was much calmer this year. My wife loves the activities and it allows me the freedom to do what the dogs and I do. Great place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
I found that there was a great need for repairs that were not made. We had camped here 2 years ago and the same potholes are still there. The dust from the road was terrible and we had to keep the windows closed. The wi fi was terrible and when I complained I was told to go to the clubhouse to get it there. The staff was not very helpfull either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
We have been coming here for years. The winter Texans, like ourselves, are a great group, but less are coming all the time because the park is in lack of upkeep. The view is beautiful, and we love watching the dolphins play in the bay. The park however has deteriorated over the last 3 or 4 years. Nothing seems to ever get fixed, and the restrooms are in great need of a fresh coat of paint. The dust from the roads and next door ship yard is terrible. The marina is an eye sore with broken boards and junk all around. Seems they can't even afford to fix the flag pole. Unfortunately this will be our last time here, unless they replace the management and upgrade the potholes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
It was winter when we were there, so no boat traffic or beautiful sunsets, but enjoyed the stay. We had a concrete pad, & was plenty room for our 42 ft motorhome. The WiFi was terrible, or I would have given it a higher rating. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Sorry to say we will not come back here, the view is beautiful, except you don't get the good view unless you work there or stay for at least 3 months.The pool was nice but the restrooms are, to say the least, terrible. Maintenance seems to be non-existent. Don't bring your boat because the docks haven't been maintained and are full of nails and broken boards. Roads are bad with pot holes in 75% of the park. The managers seem to be content with doing nothing while some rude people run the daily chores. Don't wash your trailer, car or have any visitors, cause they will charge you for each. I will pass it by the next time around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
The roads are rough, but the views are beautiful for $30/night. We had a concrete site with a patio where we could look out the back window of our 5th wheel at the sailboats in the marina and to the bay. We saw dolphins swim into the marina around the boats. The sunsets were gorgeous. The pool was nice and refreshing. My husband caught fish from the pier and there is a nice place to clean them. Overall, the park is very nice and the people friendly. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$28
Nicely kept with clean restrooms and friendly office personnel, internal roads are mostly gravel and full of potholes (rough). 16 sites are paved pull through for larger rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
This facility has the potential of being a great RV Resort and Marina on Matagorda Bay. There is a marina inside the park and the largest shrimp fleet on the gulf coast is moored next door. Fresh seafood is available 'off the boat'. Fishing from the shore, a pier or from a boat is wonderful most of the year. The problem is, this is not a resort, it is an RV park. The present management favors the long term camper. Unless you are staying more than 3 months, you can't reserve a site, only a spot. That means you will probably end up in the back row, in the dirt and mud, if you are a weekend camper or a family on a week's vacation. All the good spots, with a view, that are paved and level are taken by long term campers who are most likely working during the day while their RV enjoys the view of the bay. About 3/4 of the sites are dirt and very, very close together. The roads are dirt and full of potholes. The facilities are quaint to say the least. A large corporation took over this park about 3 years ago and did upgrade about 30 sites. The improvements seem to have stopped. Now the park doesn't know if it is a RV park, a Marina or a fish camp. What it isn't yet is an RV RESORT! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com