223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Kemp's Kamp was rated 7 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (605) 666-4654
CGID7048

Kemp's Kamp

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   8   7   8   8   10   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
Kemp's Kamp is a wonderful campground. It is very close to Mount Rushmore and the Crazy Horse Monument and all the area attractions around Keystone and the surrounding towns. The campground hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. We had a full hookup, pull-through site, that was just a little tight, but we were able to maneuver it okay. The restrooms and the whole campground were very neat and clean. We would definitely stay at Kemp's Kamp again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Great place to call home for the Black Hills area. Campground is spread along a road, but not noisy. The train ride comes by the camp about 4 times a day. The staff were friendly and helpful, even gave me a jump when my toad battery was dead. Restrooms were a little rustic for my wife, but were clean. Lots of trees and shade in the back in area of the camp. We will stay here again in the future. Don't recall the nightly rate, they do give Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
We found this park to be very pleasant. Although some sites are close to the road, the road is not busy. Many sites are only one lane so you have no one on the opposite side. This side faces the small creek and treed hills. The tents sites are great (we did not use) they have a covered pavilion on each site. The wildlife (deer) wonder nearby and make for a very pleasant view. The town of Keystone is a VERY short ride offering many restaurants, gift shops and fun tourist things to do. It's location is great for visiting Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse, the best we thought. A great mix of being close to everything, yet feeling you are in a remote area. I would recommend to anyone visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
This place is very convenient to see Mt Rushmore & for riding in the mountains of the area. The camp host was pleasant & helpful. The water/sewer/electric/cable hookups were good but we could not get the Wifi to work at all. The sites were very close together and close to the road, but traffic was not heavy. Keystone, the town nearby, offered a nice mountain train ride and other touristy things to do. It was a tad expensive for the type of campground, but we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
Nice setting among trees and hills. Bathrooms old and need updating and tended to be dirty. Management polite and helpful. Wi-Fi did not work during the evenings, due to system overload. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Nice, shady campground with character. Set along a scenic, winding road just outside of Keystone and 5 minutes to Mt Rushmore - very convenient for going to the evening lighting of the monument. The tourist train does pass by closely during the day, but is not very loud. Has a pool that kids were enjoying. Water/electric sites had adequate spacing between them. Only downside was the close proximity to the winding road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
I didn't pay much attention to the "Big Rig Friendly" checkbox on other reviews because we travel with a 36' 5er. Well, it was tight! We made it, good thing my husband is an excellent driver. The sights are not long enough to keep the truck hooked up. If you're not confident in your driving/towing skills, this is not the place to stay. It is VERY convenient to Mount Rushmore. Well maintained and the staff is friendly/helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
We were way ahead of the tourists so had the camp to ourselves. It was exceptionally clean and well laid out. The owners were wonderfully friendly and helpful. It is very close to Mt. Rushmore and all of the other great Custer State Park areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
This park is nice, although strangely laid out. The sites were long, but narrow. We were at #69. The campground was right adjacent to Old Hill City Road. During the day quite noisy with traffic and the tourist train that runs by every couple hours. At night things quieted down. They charge $5 extra for a site with sewer hook up. Since only here 2 days we passed. Our site had electric, water and cable. The showers and restrooms were clean and worked. Its located 10 minutes from Mt. Rushmore. The Borglum Museum is in Keystone and worth a stop. We would stay here again if visiting Mt. Rushmore. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
This was a good place to camp as far as access to Mt. Rushmore and Hill City, although we wished we had actually stayed in Hill City. Keystone is almost hilariously touristy. We kind of liked the train going by, and we don't mind bikers. We stayed here at the end of the Sturgis craziness, and everyone was in a good mood and having fun. Be sure to ask for a shaded site--it was hot when we were there and we missed having shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
Excellent campground. We travel full time and I would recommend this campground to anyone. It was clean and pretty. It was close to all attractions. All our questions were answered in a helpful manner and we were given lots of printed material to help us find things. I made our reservations with the owner on line and everything at the park was just as he said and better. The couple who cleaned was friendly and went over and above to keep the grounds and restrooms immaculate. Go there and you won't be sorry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Well...Hmm. The sites are small, water pressure low, right next to a highway, and the owner was belittling. We would never, EVER go back here again. There are better places to stay in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
Stayed here in a tent for 3 nights during the Independence day weekend. Oh my. Don't believe it when they say this campground is a quiet one. First: it's squeezed between the mountain and the road, so no way to escape the sound of all those Harley Davidson's whizzing by at 6 am. That especially applies if you are in a tent 4 feet away from the road. Then, there is the functioning Black Hills Railroad, which runs just on the other side of the highway, parallel to it. These noisy old trains run on coal, emitting clouds of black smoke as they regularly transport passengers and tourists going to/from Keystone. Finally there are, of course, the Mount Rushmore helicopter tours. On a good summer day, you are guaranteed to see and hear those choppers about every 10-15 minutes. When the sound of their propellers adds to the noise of the road and the "chug-chug" of the railroad, you will seriously consider relocating to another campground. However, there's that lovely no refunds policy that other reviewers have noted. I'm not even going to describe the unpleasant toilets and showers that are cleaned at best once a day. 30 campsites with two toilet stalls and two showers for women and same for men? They've got to be kidding: they are not. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$41
This is a Good Sam campground and we loved it. It was right next to the train that goes to Hill City, so we got to see that every evening. The restroom facilities were excellent. The workers were all very friendly and helpful. They even helped us back into our site. Laundry facilities were very limited, but the dryer worked super fast and did a great job! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We were very disappointed. Spaces were extremely cramped. Water pressure was low. Toilets in ladies bathroom stopped up on two consecutive nights. Prices high and attitude of owner very condescending, unbending to extenuating circumstances. 1st rule, no refunds under any circumstances. Our site was so small that our front end was about six feet from highway, and rear just about stuck out in driveway. With our slide out, we were 1 foot from the hired help's pickup which was parked next to our site. Campground was narrow and stretched out, so no easy access to pool or laundry. No camp store. Only positives of stay here was easy access to Mt. Rushmore and friendliness of fellow campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
We spent one night in the section down by the small stream before moving up the road a few miles. The stream is dry by the way. This RV park is old. The section we stayed in was very cramped and trying to use a satellite dish under all the trees was next to impossible. On the plus side, this park is very close to Mount Rushmore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$26
The camp is located just two miles outside of keystone, South Dakota and about four miles from Mount Rushmore and within easy access to all the Black Hills area sites. There are four sections to this campground. Two are pull through sites, one is tent camping and finally there is a section for smaller travel trailers and pop-ups which was very quiet and relaxing. The first pull through sites are located below where we stayed and near the office. This is where most of the fifth wheels and large travel trailers were camped. We did not like that section as it was tightly packed with hardly room to raise their awnings. The second pull through section is located on the other side of the park near a stream and this is where mostly Class A's were located. This section was nicer than the other pull through section with what appeared to be more room. The final section was the tent section and that was really quite nice. The section we stayed in (small travel trailer & pop-ups) had small pavilions with picnic tables for each site. We didn't have room to open our awning, but the pavilion was sufficient enough for us. Sites available in our section had electric and electric/water. The Old Hill City Highway runs the length of the campground, but it was not too busy and we hardly noticed the traffic. The real charm of the camp is the 1880 Hill City to Keystone Steam locomotive that passed by on regular schedules during the day. My only complaint was while we stayed, there was a problem with the water pressure. I am certain they will get it fixed, but it sure caused us headaches whenever we tried to shower or use the water. Near the office, there are also small cabins that can be rented and there is a nice heated pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com