206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Bay View State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (360) 757-0227
CGID7058

Bay View State Park

Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   9   8   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$28
Update to my last review from May 2011 - They now have a functioning dump site! Also, they are now a year-round reservation site, so no more first-come, first-served sites during the 'off season'. Everything else remains the same as previously noted. If you are looking to become a camp host, this is a great park to try your hand at it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
A well-kept park with friendly staff. Our visit to the area was for only two nights. The park is a short drive to the Anacortes Ferry Terminal (20 minutes) for experiencing the San Juan Islands. Despite the busy weekend and the park being full, we were pleased that people were respectful of the quiet hours, and we enjoyed the privacy vegetation between the sites. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the bathrooms/showers (coins are needed). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
Great park. Front area has hook up site. In the back are a lot of primitave sites. Most of the sites have trees/brush to screen your from neighbors. Staff is very firendly and accomidating. Will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
Another update to my prior two reviews. First note, is even though the park shows as 'Burlington', it resides in the city of Bay View, which is 1/2 way between Burlington and Anacortes (5.4 & 6.1 miles from each per my GPS). As mentioned before, the dump site is still out of commission, but a quick drive east on 'Josh Wilson Road' delivers you almost to Camping Worlds doorstep (thanks to a pair of recently completed round-a-bouts off I-5 and Old Highway 99). Our 35 foot rig was towing our Jeep Liberty and maneuvering was easy - at the posted 15 MPH... Now, back to the park. That stimulus money came in handy. The Rangers at BVSP have added 50-amp service to space 10 (and maybe others) and they have cleared out the undergrowth that was encroaching on many of the sites. All the sites have been re-graveled and are wider and more level than before. This is a big benefit, since my wife was able to maneuver our rig into position by herself (something she was concerned about doing). Unfortunately, recent budget issues will require all WA State Parks to be 'self-sufficient' in 2012, so rates will probably climb. There is also a plan to begin charging a $10 per day, or $30 per year park pass. This should not affect registered campers, but it may affect guests. Regarding the big rigs, the best sites for longer rigs (35-39') are 3-10, but now 26-29 can handle rigs up to 36' (and maybe longer) thanks to the recent improvements, but you may need to park your towed in the overflow. Bathrooms were clean and in good repair with plenty of hot water. Also, Sprint cell customers will find 5 bars, but 4G on Clear is just out of reach, being available in both Burlington and Anacortes. Verizon & T-Mo were the same as before. I do not have a Dish, but often see both fixed & portable dishes up, pointing to the south like hungry chicks waiting for breakfast... Again, make sure you have a reservation before coming here. During 1st come, 1st serve you will often find many small campers or Vanagons parked in the sites for 32ft+ rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$29
Update from my review of last year. Thanks to some Stimulus money, the Lower Loop (by the entrance) now has 50 amp at all 9 sites. I'm not sure if they will add it to the rest of the utility sites, which already have 30 amp, but it would be a big plus since those sites were built with three sites on one of the parks power circuits (so if your neighbors are running two ACs, two TVs, and the hair dryer, you could end up with an under-voltage issue). There are still no dump sites at the park (and only the host has a sewer hookup) due to the failed septic system. You can go to dumps nearby (Camping World is only 10 miles away & it's free there), but if you take your showers in the baths instead of your coach, you can stretch your dumps out instead of daily. If you have a 40 ft plus rig, there really are only three sites that would handle your bus... but if you can afford something that big, you probably have a membership somewhere, so just make sure you have a reservation before coming here. During 1st come, 1st serve you will often find small campers or Vanagons parked in the sites for 32ft+ rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
A great WA State Park! This is our nearest park, so we have stayed here a dozen times since March 2009. The state website has correct data on the sites dimensions, and the brush between most sites gives plenty of privacy without being overgrown. Our 35' Class A navigates the park with ease, but our automatic awning hits branches in a few spaces. Technology: The parks utility sites are in two sections (1-9 & 10-30) while the rest are dry sites. 1-9 have water all year but the rest are shut off November thru late March. TV reception (all Digital) is best in spaces 1-9, but they degrade in the upper loop and breakup everytime a plane flies overhead. There is plenty of space to put the dish up. Verizon Wireless & TMobile have 5 bars and I'd expect Sprint & AT&T are similar. Staff & Site Notes: Garbage & recycles are in the upper loop and two dumpsters by the entrance. My wife & daughter prefer the camp showers instead of our RV's. They are always clean and had plenty of hot water, just stand back when they restart because the are cold for the first few seconds. Must See: I've never needed bug repellent here, despite the huge mud flats in Padilla Bay. It is really fascinating to watch the tide go out and then see miles of bay bottom. It is also a good place to fly a kite. Kids bring their bikes, despite the lack of trails on property, but there are trails nearby to ride (I'll try them soon). The playfield in the center of the upper loop is always an very active place, as long as there hasn't been a lot of recent rain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Overall this is a great park. Everything is very clean and well maintained. A majority of the sites are very private, with thick brush between eash site. There are new and older bathrooms, but even the older ones are clean and in good shape. First state part in WA we've attended that the hotwater meter actually seems to work. The beach offers great exploring, especially when the low tide empties the entire bay. Read the map very carefully before making a reservation. The site depths vary and some are very hard to access. The loop for sites 10-30 is one lane with an open grass field in the middle. The loop for sites 39-76 is very narrow and snakes through the park. I wouldn't recommend it with anything larger than a small trailer. Negatives for the park are very few and minor. It would be nice to have a play ground for the kids and sewer hook-ups. Many sites could use some grading as well, but none are very bad. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
This is a really pretty state park. It's right along side Padilla Bay. There are some larger spots near the front of the park with water views, but we chose spot number 23 across from a large field (great place for the kids to play). The spots were a little narrow and our trailer and truck just fit the length of the site. Our site was very private and had water and 30 amp service. The reservation service shows photos of most of the campsites, so you can get a good idea of what you are reserving. When we were there, all of the serviced campsites were full, so reservations are probably wise in the summer. There's not too much to do in the park, but with the water nearby, it provides a fun place for the family for a weekend away and it isn't too far from shopping and highways, making it a convenient stop, too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com