223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Big Sky Camp and RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (406) 234-1511
CGID7069

Big Sky Camp and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   5   7   8   9   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
A great place for a short stay. Easy access on and off Interstate, not far from the busy highway yet the campground was reasonably quiet. Hosts were very friendly and accommodating and proud of their campground. Great private bathrooms and showers which were clean. Didn't use the pool, not sure if it's heated, also a small playground with slide etc. for kids Only about 3 miles drive east of Miles City. The campground did fill up so would recommend reservations during the busy season. Would certainly stay again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
Good small campground for overnight or short stays, no frills, but not bad. There is no shade at the campsites and that can be a plus or minus, depending on how you look at it. I asked at registration about shaded sites and was told that they didn't have shaded sites because trees interferred with so many RV'ers with satellite receivers that they didn't put in trees. Well, apparently we have two conflicting desires: I don't have a satellite dish and would like some shade (it's hot here in summer) but big-rig RV'ers want clear access to the sky. Go figure. Pros: - Very clean showers and restrooms. - Nice shaded grassy picnic/play area next to the campground. - Nice playground equipment for kids right next to campground. - Very clean laundry room, though small with two washers and two dryers. Con's: - Most sites are very close together so must watch when putting out awnings. - Gravel sites, so gets dusty if windy. We stayed here two days. Not a bad campground, especially for the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
This is a small campground with large campsites. There is really no privacy between sites, but as we were only here for a night, it was not a problem. The staff is friendly and the shower area is extremely clean. Actually, the shower I used appeared to be brand new. The only problem I had was with regulating the water temperature. Whenever someone flushed a toilet or one of the washers came on or someone else was running water somewhere, the shower would be either very cold or hot. The laundry room, while extremely clean, is a little on the small size with only 2 washers and 2 dryers. The cost is only $1.00 a load to wash and to dry. However, drying takes an hour which caused a backup in service. Due to recent flooding in the area, the grounds were somewhat muddy. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
I have mixed feelings about this campground. It is close to the freeway though not really noisy but is basically a parking lot with some trees around the edges. If you aren't into trees and separation between sites then this might be great for you. The best part, however, are the owners. They are friendly and accommodating and do everything to be helpful. What lovely people. If you need a spot for the night and aren't looking for the classic state park camping kind of experience, this place might be just fine for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
This is a great park for a stop over with a great price reflecting a stop over type park. It has a very easy on/off access from I-94. It has a good WiFi connection, but AT & T phone connection is spotty. The sewer connection is about 8" off the ground, so that may be an issue depending on your set up. The other connections were fine. The cable connection was good. You actually pull onto a concrete slab with your wheels so leveling is not an issue; however, the slab is just wide enough for your tires so be careful not to have one tire overhanging the slab. They only take cash or check no credit cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
Small park, but was a pleasant surprise. Nicely kept and easy access from US 94. The hosts were very helpful. Nice showers (4) and restrooms (2). Cash only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Great overnight stop - but we stayed for 2 days because we wanted to explore a bit - in good part due to the owner. He was a delight and gave us great information about Miles City. Even called around to be sure he could steer us to a place serving walleye. And then he came around to be sure we had a good time. This is an excellent RV short term stop - good utilities, showers, laundry and good involved ownership. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
A pleasant surprise. Nice quiet older RV park, with a very friendly staff. Sites are a little close, but no problem. Everything worked well. Definitely would stay there again. Cash or checks only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Easy access from freeway, but not too noisy. Older park, but clean and tidy. Some permanent residents, but RV sites somewhat separated from them. Pull-thru's are by-pass, RVs front to back, but have a fair amount of room between. Water has some smell, pressure is good, and Wi-Fi and cable work well. Lots of grass and trees around the perimeter, but lacking in the individual sites. Our overnight was hot and interrupted by a 2 hr thunderstorm at midnight!! But that isn't the campgrounds fault. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Great campground. Easy on and off from I-94. Very friendly staff. Large pull through sites, so I didn't have to unhook the car. Stayed here last year also, and the electrical buzzing noise from a power plant across the street was quiet now. The laundry facilities are very clean with nice machines and only $1.00 each. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Nice, clean park, run by a friendly gentleman. The grounds are immaculate. Easy on and off but a little noisy with the close proximity to I-94. No trees at sights; good for satellite reception but no shade. Great for overnight and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Very good for the price. Check in was easy, and owners friendly and helpful. Sites were narrow, but long enough for the biggest rigs. The bathrooms, showers, and laundry were very clean. The park was pretty basic but did have a nice swimming pool. It was far enough from the freeway so traffic noise was not an issue. Cash or check only, no credit cards are accepted. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
The old sign for this campground is the only thing that needs changing. Beyond the sign, the owner is really nice and even made several calls trying to find a dog groomer for us. The TV and WiFi were excellent. The sites are divided by grass and each has a picnic table. It is just off the Interstate, but it is very quiet. We really liked this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
At $25 for full hookup (if you can get one) it's still a bargain. You get great cable, Wi-Fi, and a swimming pool. There is also a children's playground if you have children. Reservations suggested for summer weekends if you want full hookups. If you can get by with water/electric, you can probably get in on summer weekends without a reservation. There were some "perms" in the park. Previous reviewer was right about the "mile long" sites. There is a reason for this. The hookups are "side by side" (two RV's share a pole with one RV pointed one way, and one RV pointed the other way). Thus, the sites are rather "cozy." The "mile long" sites are an attempt (but not a good one) to avert the "coziness." If you put your RV all the way to the front, and your neighbor puts their RV all the way to the front, then your bumpers are diagonal. However, depending on the configuration of you RV, this may not be possible. For me, I would have needed longer hoses than I had with me to sit all the way to the front. The laundry is cheap! $1 to wash, $1 to dry. At these prices, I would throw clothes on the ground for an excuse to do laundry! However, there are only two washers and two dryers, but this is a small park. The laundry, showers, and bathrooms were all in "portable" buildings, but they were sparkling clean! Verizon cell phone and Verizon Home Phone Connect worked here. Cash or check only, no credit cards or Good Sam. This park is one exit past the city exit. If you don't tow a car, there is nothing to walk to. This is just a basic park, but quite a bargain for a night or two stopover. I stayed two nights just for the great cable as I don't have satellite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
If you are driving through and you want to catch up on email, or watch any cable channel you want and you don't need 50 amps or a sewer hookup, this is the place. Pull into one of their 1 mile long spots, and go to sleep. No frills, but not at all as bad as it looks when you drive up. Give it a try! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
This is an adequate overnight spot with water and electricity. Sewer hookups were available. We chose to stay here because of 2 spots we wanted to visit, The Range Rider's Museum and the historic Montana Bar, both nearby. Otherwise the welcome was warm, the showers were clean and no atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
Nice place, very nice owner. Great WI-FI, level long pull throughs. We were not offered a site with sewer, those were all taken. But they have a dump near the entrance. Except for lack of shade, it was great for a one night stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
The owners/managers were pleasant. The park doesn't seem like much, but is great for an overnight stay, especially for $20. We didn't need the sewer for $5 more. The pool looked clean, showers/bathrooms were clean, the sites were fairly level with gravel. Most of the sites were side by side. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
This is a great spot. The sites are narrow gravel between small strips of grass but overall this was a very nice place. The hosts are wonderful people and very pet friendly. The entire place was clean and tidy. The Wi-Fi is excellent and super fast. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
Great for a one night stopover. Lighting fast Wi-Fi. Pool in season. Very long pull throughs. Rate is without sewer. Friendly hosts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
This is a basic park with extremely long pull through sites although a little narrow. Utilities worked as they should and Wi-Fi was very good. Park was neat, clean and safe with a very friendly owner. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Very friendly and helpful owners. Small, but clean sites. Pool was small, but did the trick. Laundry room was very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Older campground which is well kept and the staff was friendly. Sites are close together with 30amp and water. OK for a night or 2 and it also had a pool. Price was right also. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
Very nice on-site management. Clean and well kept grounds, laundry room and bath house. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
Price reflects weekly rate. This a very clean park. Restrooms, showers and laundry was spotless. Sites are sloped but we were able to level OK. Wi-Fi was fast and strong and cable TV was good. Our Verizon phones worked well. Small town but has all the restaurants and stores you could want. Don't miss the Range Riders Museum. It is very much worth the admission. Highly recommend this one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
Clean, especially the showers, restrooms and laundry. Sites were plenty large. Owners friendly. I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
We would definitely stay here again. Long pull- through sites, quite level so we didn't have to unhitch; $18 for water and electricity, $23 for full hookups; nice swimming pool; friendly and helpful fellow at the desk; a lot of travel literature available; free cable and Internet; low water pressure so we just used our water pump. nice grassy areas with picnic tables with shade trees available for use by us campers or for tents. If using Garmin, call for directions as it does not have the exact location. The campground is just off Interstate, the first Miles City exit at the bottom of the hill on the left. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
Reasonable rates. Soft water showers. That's the best I can say about this place. In kind of a scary area, next to what looked like a concrete dump. Sites were long, narrow, and un-level. Right out our door was a 5th wheel that looked like it was abandoned there. Old, and falling apart. Showers are in a long closet like room, and its just a shower. If you want to shave or use the toilet, you have to go to another little room. I WOULD NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
Full hookup sites occupied by long term campers. Sites were long and narrow and not very level. We had trouble leveling a 40' motorhome. Water pressure was very low and at times we had to run our water pump while hooked up to get a good flow. Wi-Fi was available, and we got a usable signal from the farthest site. Good connection and fast. Not a resort, but good value for the $$. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
This is not a resort but offers great value for the money. The water pressure was low at times but the park was quiet and I felt safe here. The laundry and showers are some of the cleanest I've seen. Long pull thru sites with picnic tables. The owners were always helpful and just as nice as they could be. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
Try not to be mislead by previous reviews or the RV Park's website. This is not a gem and it is not a very good RV Park for Montana. At best this is an average Interstate RV Park. Good for an overnight stay and nothing more. Yes, there are extremely long somewhat level pull-through sites. They are very narrow and ours was 20-foot wide. There are many discrepancies involving the sites and the facilities. There are 24 sites and most are occupied by seasonal long term guest. Water, electric and sewer are shared with a neighbor. Each utility is immediately adjacent to cause some potential electrical hazards and sanitary problems. Your neighbor here could easily cut-off your 30 Amp power. Water pressure is very low. There must be some sort of safety problems here at night. Because there are at least two extremely bright stadium style lights here. They really light up the entire place at night. The light is strong enough to shine through double layer curtains. The Wi-Fi is terrible. I resorted to using PDA.net. There are other problems to encounter and to many to list. I'd recommend trying another RV Park or continue onward to another town. We stayed here one night. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
We were camping without children or pets. We feel this was a very good value as the price was extremely reasonable with all the services we wanted for an over night stay. The restrooms and showers were clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the pull through site was easy in and easy out. We had plenty of space between sites and did not feel crowded. We did have trouble with having enough power to run our air conditioner while we were running the radio and microwave. We had to trip the switch outside a few times but then had no trouble after that. There were no shady spots but we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
$23 was all inclusive for a 30amp full hookup site with Wi-Fi and Catv. Verizon broadband was mostly good, Wi-Fi varied. Owners working on cleaning this place up. Laundry very small, but had 4 brand new machines, 2 of each. Showers, did not use but looked in while waiting on laundry, very, very clean. New gravel on sites. Overall a very nice park for Montana. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
This was a clean, well maintained park. It's easy to find right off the highway, but I didn't notice a lot of traffic noise. The pull-throughs are narrow, but very long. They accommodated a crew-cab dually, a 39 ft 5th wheel, and a car pulling a motorcycle trailer. This is not a resort, but a great over night stop. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Just what you would want for a small park. Has clean, level gravel sites. Great owners that like the fact that you stopped in and show it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
I'm going to give this park a little higher rating than previous posters because it was just exactly what we expected it to be, an overnight stop off the interstate. The restrooms and showers were immaculate, and all the services worked perfectly. We were right behind the office and had plenty of room for our 36' + toad. Otherwise not much there but a great place to stop for the night. Friendly staff, and the laundry room, while small, was very clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$16
Just a place to stop and rest overnight. Folks nice. Lots of permanent mobiles and trailers. Nice price of $16.00 for W&E includes cable and WiFi. We had low water pressure (25 lbs.) and low voltage at 106. 30 amp only. Will say shower, bathroom and laundry were small, but nice and modern. We parked closest to WiFi antenna but still weak and slow. We were able to stay hooked up and have plenty of room. Like I said "overnight stop only". SC WalMart and other stores close by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
Good water, sewer and electric. Nice pool. Basic cg near interstate OK for a travel night or 2. All gravel or dirt. Very nice owners. Nice library. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
Looks better after you get past the entry. Folks are very friendly, and very helpful. Nice lawn area for tents; play area for children. Fills up nearly every night, but spaces are pretty close together. We have a slide-out, as does our neighbor, and there is only about 4 ft between us. On the other side, we don't have a slide, but the rig parked there is also only about 4-5 ft away. If we had our awning out, we would have had to lower it. Sites are gravel and nearly level. Gets pretty windy here at night, so you don't see a lot of awnings out anyway. Small laundry (2 washers, 2 dryers) is immaculate, as are the women's bathrooms. Price is obviously the main attraction. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$15
A bargain at $15 with wifi, clean tho few restrooms, and a mostly quiet area. But it's still Miles City- super hot and buggy. Sites long, not quite level, no shade. Cable tv available for $20 rate. Nice owners. Fine for overnight and avoiding the KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
This is a simple campground that satisfied our needs for an overnight stop -- easy on/off I-94 at US 12, clean, level pull-thus, water/electric, clear view of the sky for our Internet Satellite dish and the price is certainly appealing. They also had a pool that looked inviting. We are full-timers and would stop here again, even stay a couple of days just to rest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
The curb appeal is a little lacking. The office is open from noon to dusk and it smells of cigarette smoke. The campground itself is not that bad. The sites are almost level, the bathrooms, laundry and showers are spotless. The laundry has 2 washers and 2 dryers that look brand new and are $1.00 each (30 minutes to wash and 1 hour to dry). We had water and electric only (30 amps) but they do have full-hookups which were full. There is a play ground for the children. It's close to the freeway but there is no noise, easy on/easy off. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2005
$15
This was a grassy, open park that served very nicely for an overnight stop. For $15, it's a very good value. We had an excellent Verizon data signal there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com