218901 User submitted reviews online!!
Sugar Pines RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (575) 682-3375
CGID7089

Sugar Pines RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
16
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   1   2   6   3   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$13
Rate reflects monthly rate divided by 30. We also paid 16 cents/kW hour for electricity. This RV park hardly looks like an RV park from the street. The sites are terraced because the park is situated on an incline; however the sites (gravel) are fairly level. We have a 37' fifth wheel and had difficulty maneuvering in to the site due to the combination of incline and gravel, but we managed. Despite some difficulties and the less than clean bathroom and showers, we would stay here again because: 1) LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! On a regular basis, we saw elk crossing the small street to the forested mountainside, an occasional wolf, beautiful blue jays and red-breasted robins; 2) Quiet! Other than the sounds of wildlife, and the sound of our furnace, we heard nothing at night; 3) Friendly and accommodating (if often absent) staff. Cloudcroft is a quaint mountain town with a small population. Groceries are half an hour down the mountain in Alamogordo. My husband and I are hikers and we never ran out of places to hike. We were there in March and day time temperatures ranged from 30 to 60, night temperatures from 10 to 35. It's a little piece of paradise in the lush mountains of southern New Mexico. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
We were fortunate to be there off season. We were able to get a pull-thru site. The other sites available at the time would have required us to back up a steep hill into the sites. Could be done, but not easy. It's located about a mile from the center of town. Could use a little TLC. Owner was friendly but I felt a little overpriced for what we got. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
We stayed here while passing through overnight. We had space 5 on the lower edge of the park which was the only pull-through, across the street from the hillbilly's with two poor dogs tied up with rope. One got loose and got around my kids but luckily was friendly. The 'neighbors' were up early banging on metal and working on equipment. -Sites are very steep to get to and I would not want to attempt backing up into most sites. It is in a residential area but not enclosed so we didn't feel safe going into town and leaving our trailer for long. It was an oasis for a long trip but not someplace we will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40
Unattended, so no way to know if the bathrooms are clean, since we don't have a key. Cable TV is fuzzy. Water spigot leaks, Not enough gravel on the site. Trashy neighborhood. Not really in the village. One upside: we got a pull-through site which means we can leave early. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
We camped here for one night so we could get away to the cool mountain temperatures for a while. Overall it was a nice place to stay. Most of the sites are pretty narrow and close together, nestled on a hillside. However, most site are at different heights from the ones next to it so that adds a little privacy. Cable was good and WiFi was excellent. Lots of shade trees made it pretty. This is in the middle of a residential neighborhood which is quiet and pleasant. The house across the street does have a cluttered area outside, though. I agree with the previous reviewer that this campground is not within walking distance of shopping as the web site says. It's about a mile. Overall this campground is about trade offs. There are prettier and more spacious sites in the national forest campgrounds around town, but none of them have hookups. This place is a little more cramped but has good hookups, cable, and WiFi, and is just a short driving distance to the main shopping area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Chose this campground because of what they offered even though their rates were considerably higher than other campgrounds in the area. Big mistake. The house next door and one a couple of houses down were occupied by people who were in some type of construction work. Junk vehicles, road equipment, lifts, etc. along with junk piled everywhere. Not scenic at all. Cable was fuzzy and no sound. Claimed they were within walking distance of shopping area. They were several miles from shopping. Only thing close was a restaurant and offices such as real estate, insurance, etc. No shops. Website very misleading. Would not go again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
This is a small "mom and pop"-type park which we have been coming to for years. It's on the side of a hill and a few spaces may be difficult to back a heavy trailer into if you don't have four-wheel-drive; however, we've never seen anyone not be able to get into one. Some spaces are short and some are long, so its best to coordinate with the owners before you get there. We've never found anyone in the office, but check-in procedures are clear. They don't take credit cards but will accept checks. This is the only park in the town - we've stayed in some of the other parks nearby, but we think this one is the best. This is not a major park with lots of amenities, but if you like cool (9000 feet elevation), quiet surroundings in a simple but beautiful setting, this is it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com