206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Itasca State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (218) 699-7251
CGID7095

Itasca State Park

Camp Information
Sites
285
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   8   7   7   10   10   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
Twenty eight per night was for a 50 amp electric only in the Pine Ridge campground. In addition, there is daily parking permit of $5 or you can purchase an annual MN state parking pass for $25, which is good for 12 consecutive months from the date of purchase. Many recreational opportunities are available in the park and surrounding areas including biking/hiking/cross country skiing trails. The headwater for the Mississippi River is located within the park. This first state park in MN has over 100 lakes within this 32,000 acres border. The campgrounds are located at least a five miles drive on windy but scenic paved roads into the park from any of the three entrances. The surrounding area is sparsely populated with the nearest “big store” shopping over 20 miles away. Spacing between sites is generous and most sites are level or need only modest leveling. Pine Ridge campground is heavily treed. We received two bars of 3G on our AT&T phone. There is free Wi-Fi at both campgrounds and a couple of other locations in the park, which worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Beautiful park. Too much to see and do even in 3 full days we were there. Very clean. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. A true gem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
Nice State Park. It is a very busy park. There is a lot to do here. You can go up and walk through the Headwaters of the Mississippi River on the north side of the park. I would suggest reservations well in advance here. This park has very good signage marking where things are and how to get to them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Pricey, but very nice. So nice that we are scheming about how to get back here (we are from California and don't tend to get this far north very often) for a longer stay. This state park felt like a national park with so much to do: bike rentals, all kinds of boats for rent, a really nice 4+ mile walk to/from the headwaters from the campground, nice sites. (Yes, a bit unlevel, but there are precious few state parks that aren't.) Well-maintained: I suppose that explains the $$ Dogs are allowed on all trails, which was nice, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Nice park with lots of bike paths and hiking trails. Sites are not real level and can pose a problem for a 40' motorhome to get into. Trees could use some trimming to avoid possible scrapes down RV's. Ranger presence was noticeable in the park. Several fellow campers felt the need to go way to fast in the camping area where a 10mph speed limit was posted. Restrooms and showers were very clean and well kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
The park is great, with plenty to do for all people. Lots of sites, with a lot of challenging ones for leveling the rig. I think larger rigs would fit, but in some cases would be a tight fit. Quiet. Rangers were visible, and made regular rounds. Now that we've been to this park, we probably wouldn't come back for a while--too many other places to see! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
This superb park is one of the nicest I have visited in 3 years of full-time RVing! It has two campgrounds. I stayed in Bear Paw which is on the shores of Lake Itasca. Pine Ridge is located away from the water in a wooded area, and also appears to be quite nice. Sites are well spaced, with about half of them having power. Water is located at several central locations only, so bring a full tank. I found a weak Verizon signal in the Bear Paw CG and no broadband connectivity. There are lots of outdoor activities in this large park. The cost stated includes a $5 per day vehicle fee for a motorhome. A free pass is provided for a towed vehicle, but it is not usable for access to other state parks. Annual passes are available for $25 ($18 for a 2nd vehicle). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
Favorite camping experience of the summer. Beautiful park with lots to do. Biking paths, hiking trails, lakes, boat rentals and Mississippi headwaters. Checked in for 1 night and stayed 4. Loved it. This park has moved into my top 5 nation wide. We are full timers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
Large shady sites but not very level. Dirt only sites. Many mosquitoes. Entry roads were narrow and difficult to navigate with 35 foot motorhome. On the plus side: the park is lovely, has many trails, rental boats, bikes. Outstanding visitor centers and gift shops. Standing on the rocks where you can walk across the Mississippi was fun. Many historic buildings. Overall very good state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
This was a beautiful park with a lot of outdoor activities. You can backpack, hike, bike, canoe, walk or just sit around and enjoy the view of the lake or the river. We had a great campsite near the bike/walking trail with a view of the lake. We enjoyed this park very much. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
The sites are spacious with nice shaded areas. We were in site #199 and leveled easily but we saw many that were not. We could not get satellite TV and only got 3 channels on local TV. We had 2 bars on our Verizon cell and broadband card for the computer. This is a very quiet park with lots of hiking/biking trails. This is where the Mississippi River begins and you can cross it on foot at the headwaters at Lake Itasca not too far from the campground. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. There is a fire observation tower with 154 steps to the top that had an awesome view of the park! Now on the down side... and why we gave it only a 7 was the showers/toilets were old but clean. And there are very few water spigots in the park and the ones that are there don't have a hose bib connection on them. There is only one dump station for all of the 285 sites and that could be a problem in busier times of the year or weekends. We DID enjoy our 3 days here and would recommend this place to everyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
There is plenty to do -- hiking, boating, bicycling, tour boats -- at Itasca State Park. There is wireless access at the lodge and visitors center. While we were there, there wasn't a mosquito problem we were warned about. Some of the sites are small and would have like more privacy but the trails and bike paths are very well maintained. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
This state park encompasses Lake Itasca, the beginning of the Mississippi River. The campsite (68) was nice though small. Entry was a little difficult for a 35' motorhome due to proximity and location of trees complicating back-in. We stayed at Bear Paw campground which is the smaller of the two campgrounds and doesn't have wireless access. The larger Pineridge campground does have newly installed wireless access at some sites. Other hotspots are available at the visitor's center and other major areas of the park. Much maintenance is needed both at the campground and throughout the park. The trees need trimmed to allow motorhome access along the drives and campsites. There is also a lot of growth and downed trees along the trails which makes passage more difficult, especially if your health is less than perfect. The growth also aggravates the already horrendous mosquito problem - bring Deek! Minnesota also charges a additional $5 per day access fee for your vehicle though an annual pass is more economical if you will be there at least six days a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Great campground...lots to do! Bear Paw campground is a little more open, but less campsites...Pine Ridge has more trees, but seemed smoky and crowded when we biked through. This is now one of our favorite parks and looking forward to returning next year. Make sure to bring your bikes! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
We love this campground. There are 17 miles of paved biking paths, swimming beach, boat and bike rentals, 2 restaurants, Mississippi River headwaters and hiking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com