206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Idyllwild County Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (800) 234-7275
CGID7102

Idyllwild County Park

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   10   9   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
My rate was $20 plus a $7 reservation fee. This was a nice cool place to camp out of the heat of the valley below. I wish I could spend more time up here. Do not expect level sites like you would find in an RV park. Many of these sites are designed for tents, but you can get an RV in there. There are two buildings with showers, one at the very front of the campground (near the day use parking lot), and one near the middle of the campground. My campsite was at the very back of the campground, and at my site Verizon service was poor, so your mileage may vary. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$10
Rate reflects Passport America. Most of campground was closed when I was there. I was in a paved level site near the entrance of the campground. I walked campground and some sites towards the end turnaround loop also looked suitable for smaller RVs (I have 25' C). Good Verizon signal. Walking distance to town and restaurants. Mixed forest with pine trees in campground, very pretty. Friendly helpful campground host. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
My family and our three dogs stayed here over Labor Day weekend. It was our first trip to Idyllwild. The people who work in the park are exceptional. They are always friendly and willing to give you free maps and information for your stay. The showers were $0.50 for three minutes, not a bad deal, just remember to bring quarters because I don't believe there is a change machine onsite. You may be able to get change at the check-in kiosk, but I'm not sure. This campground is a short walk from the markets, restaurants, and shops of the town of Idyllwild. Sites were spacious and guests were quiet. We stayed in Site 6, a pull-through near the front of the park. We heard coyotes howling two nights of our trip, it was VERY COOL. The nature center, a short hike or drive away, allows you free entrance if you are staying in the park. Our family and our dogs loved it. We can't wait to go back when the snow comes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
Stayed here July 4th weekend. It was a great time. What a relief from the summer heat. There are only dozen or so spots where RVs can park. The road within park is very narrow that is why I adjusted to No for "Big Rig (40' type) access." I do not think tall RVs (tall fivers and Class As) should think about camping here. Low lying branches over hang the drive and a very narrow bridge. We had a spot at the furthest point of the facility very uneven but made do with 2x6s. That's part and parcel to the RVing experience. It's a county campground not a RV resort. Overall it was a ten. County folks were pleasant, it was close enough to the village of Idyllwild to hike there and inexpensive vacation retreat. Note: NO hook-ups but plenty of access to water and no dump station. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Nice park. No frills and it's County-run. If staying in the area for a while, you might want to check out Hurkey Creek or Lake Hemet; both near-by. Idyllwild is a classic mountain community with some great shopping and food. Not a whole lot to do over a few days except nature. Nature walks and some limited mountain climbing are wonderful here. As I said, shopping and eating is good, but you'll be done in one day, two at the most. All shops and food within walking distance, but not from park(s). Take the toad, leave the trailer/motorhome at the site, and venture into town. Park and walk around the shops. Overall fun for family and snow a few times in the winter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$15
We have stayed at this campground now probably 4 to 5 times in the last year and absolutely love it. It's quiet, beautiful with the tall trees and is small enough of a campground to feel like you're secluded and have your privacy. It's not one of those types of campgrounds where you are parked right next to someone else like a parking lot. Spaces are spread out to accommodate different kinds of camping whether tent camping or larger trailer parking. We did two of the hikes offered both in summer, fall and winter in the snow. They put up new trail posts over the last few months and this has really helped to hike up to the nature center where they offer a fireplace and interesting things to see like a museum format. If you can't hike to it, there's a road you can drive a short distance to get to this nature center. All campsites have a table and a fire ring and dirt bottoms for tents, not all level though. Pleasant rangers and they are around so if you have questions they are there for you. We will continue to visit this park. Oh, and in the winter you should go and play in the snow there. There's a very large open area and not ever crowded. Can't say enough about this county park! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$17
Very nice park. I will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$17
A nice campground operated by Riverside County. Easy walk into the town of Idyllwild to restaurants or shopping. Not to be confused with Idyllwild State Park, which is nearby. The elevation is about 5200 feet, so only about five sites open in the winter months. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com