206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Heron Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (505) 588-7470
CGID7126

Heron Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
304
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$4



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   5   10   5   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$4
We stayed in the Blanco campground which was great! Lots of privacy, gravel pads and roads which was handy with all the rain the fell during the weekend. There is a table and fire rings, and water and electric in all the campsites. Some camp sites had shelters over the tables, and others did not. The bathrooms had 2 showers in them and were clean; but could use some little maintenance done to them. The park itself was clean and quiet. The camp hosts were nice and friendly, and on Saturdays at the visitors’ center, they have free coffee and muffins. Would definitely stay here again. The nightly rate reflects the price of the NM State Park camping pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
This a very nice state park. The sites are gravel, wide and level, and have a table and fire ring. Some sites have a shelter over the table. Water and electric are good. Sites have good separation and are very private. However, the restrooms were dirty although useable. While there was no view of the lake from our site, it was only a short walk on a well maintained path to an overlook of the lake. A very peaceful place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$14
We were in the Blanco campground for 4 nights. We loved it. If you are looking for quiet and peaceful this is it. We were not interested in fishing or boating, so we can't really evaluate those things. The lake was a short walk and beautiful. The hosts were friendly ad helpful. We stayed 1 night in site 35 and 3 nights in site 44, both, back in sites. 44 was a little tight for our 33 foot 5th wheel but ok. Both were private feeling. We did not have neighbors at all some nights in mid-week, but even when we did, the layout of those 2 sites provided privacy. Everything worked fine. Our Verizon 3G worked well enough to get the internet, and our Direct TV portable dish on 35 feet of cable had a good signal at both sites even with the trees. The only reason we are giving it an 8 is because the bathrooms and showers were dirty and they smelled. We didn't use them but we did check them out. we will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$14
I concur with the 2010 reviews and would like to add that Heron Lake is comprised of ten separate campgrounds. Hook-ups are at Blanco and Willow Creek. We stayed at Blanco where all sites were electric/water and a 1/4 mile walk to the lake that you could barely see from upper sites; we were in #27. There is a dump station. To fish the lake, you really need a boat. El Vado is for motors, Heron has noise limits and was very quiet and peaceful. The volunteer rangers were helpful and kind, but the camp host at Blanco was unfriendly. We moved to Salmon Run to stay one more night without hook-ups; the pit toilets were unusable, but the campground was quiet with several sites are right on the lake. There are 24' limits in several of the campgrounds. Nearest grocery/restaurant is in Chama: 18 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
What a wonderful campground after camping in RV parks where the sites were waaaaaaay too close together. This campground was the most quiet and peaceful campground we have ever camped in. I highly recommend it. We had partial hookups. We have an 8 and 9 year old and we took the short walk to the lake and they swam. They were the only people in the lake as far as the eye could see. We camped in the Blanco section. The campground is great if you don't need a lot of amenities (laundry, store, WiFi) but I would give those up for this gem! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
Heron Lake has two campgrounds with water and electric, Blanco is the newer of the two campgrounds. Willow campground is smaller and has lots of trees. Blanco is more open and the sites are wider. The electricity at Blanco was on the low side of normal. With no appliances on (except for the phantom load), the electricity registered about 112 watts. The bathrooms and showers were ‘useable’. I think the camp host just hoses down the bathrooms and call it clean. Sites 52 through 60 are non-reservable. Note that these sites are not shown on the map on their web site. The camp hosts made you feel that you were bothering them and were not very friendly. They have a nice trail from Blanco that goes to Bushy Point (about 3 miles round trip). Note that the trail head starts between sites 44 and 43 (there are no signs). The roads and sites within this campground are packed dirt. Verizon air card works (between 2 and 3 bars) and Verizon phone was on extended network (no problems making or receiving calls). Note that US 95 connects with US 112 only by a primitive dirt road. We would probably stop by again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$14
Heron Lake is a beautiful state park with many ways to camp. We stayed in the Blanco Loop where electric (30/20 Amp)and water were located on your site. Most of the sites appeared to have sufficient space, although a few sites were small for larger coaches. All in all a great way to spend a few days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$4
I agree with the previous posting. We were at a lovely, large, back-in, private site in the Blanco Loop. This is my favorite NM State Park campground because of the beauty and peacefulness of the area, so this is why I rated it a 9 (using the standards of comparison of NM state parks and not RV parks). We have camped at Heron Lake many times. The Blanco Loop was about 50-60%% occupied on the Fourth of July. The lake was 12 feet higher and looked a lot better than in previous years. We like coming here because you get a quiet, more family oriented crowd with Heron being a no-wake lake. The other lakes that allow speed boats and jet skis tend to have a rowdy, partying crowd that do not know the meaning of quiet hours and leave their sites littered. The park also has a nice visitor center. I did not use the bathrooms but did check them out and they were nice and clean. We did get cell phone service with Verizon with a couple of bars of signal. The state is in the process of creating a nice trail system and has events scheduled throughout all of its state parks. The Rio Chama trail is in the area and is also a pretty, moderately easy hike along the Chama River. Its length is about 12 miles but you can walk as far as you want and then turn around. We were sorry to leave as we could have stayed for an entire month! I wanted to mention that there are some full service sites available in the Willow Creek campground that can be reserved. I believe that these sites may have 50 amp service but I would check if that is important to you. There are several other developed campgrounds that are dry camping and a lot nearer to the water and there is primitive camping just steps from the water. We have an annual camping pass, so our rate was only $4 for the electric hook-up. Otherwise, it is $14, quite a bargain as compared to what some other states charge for camping at their state parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$4
Heron Lake State Park is located at 7,200 ft. off of highway 64 on highway 95, approx. 10 miles in. We stayed in Blanco CG which is one of two loops that have electric and water hookups(54 sites). There were quite a number of first come sites available when we arrived. Most of the sites were back ins but some were pull throughs. Our site was level and very roomy and private, we had plenty of room for our slide outs and awning. Water pressure was very good and we didn’t encounter any problems with the electrical. The roads are dirt/gravel but the sites are more gravel then dirt. We had no cell phone service but was able to get air card service for our computer with our booster antenna. Some of the sites had an overhead shelter, all of the sites had tables and a fire ring/grate. There’s a dump station located before you enter the campground loop on the left. We enjoyed the park and wish we had stayed longer. It was very quiet there and people were respectful of other peoples space. We have an annual camping pass, otherwise we would have had to pay $14.00. We will more then likely return if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com