221767 User submitted reviews online!!
Governors' RV Park and Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (701) 347-4524
CGID7139

Governors' RV Park and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   5   5   1   5   7   3   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
This was a great park to overnight in with easy access off the highway. There is a bit of road and train noise, but not overbearing. W/S/E hookups were all set up great, and the entire park is satellite friendly and Wi-Fi was fast. Very long, level pull-through sites. The campground is in a gravel lot behind the Days Inn hotel, which is where you check in. The staff was wonderful and you are able to use the amenities in the hotel - nice workout room, bar, and restaurant. The weather wasn't great when we were here, but the park met all of our needs. About a 20 minute drive back to Fargo, which was perfect for us. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$31
I would recommend this CG as an over night stop. The Wi-Fi, water and electric all worked well. The sites and roads are all gravel, level with a mix of pull-through and back-in sites. We've been on the road for almost 3 months. The sites here are good size and the loop road is plenty wide enough to maneuver any size RV. The bathrooms/laundry were clean and convenient to the CG. The washers seemed a little expensive at $3 per load. Easy on and off the highway. All things considered, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
I'd rate this as the minimally acceptable RV park. For what you pay, you should get more but there's no competition in nearby Fargo. You get a gravel spot with suitable hookups plus wifi. There is some grass for dog walking. There's also gas & diesel across the street. Everything else is 20 miles away in Fargo. I saw the hole in the road created by the reviewer's bus last month. They laid a telephone pole across the hole to keep others out but never fixed the hole. I get the impression that Day's Inn could care less what goes on out here in the RV parking lot. For a night or two, this will suffice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
If anyone wants to invest in an RV park, the Fargo area might be the place to do it. Fargo and environs is in the middle of a growth spurt and the available RV facilities are minimal. Anyway, this "park" is as described previously. It's a gravel parking lot with a little grass between sites. There are bathrooms in the adjacent Laundromat, but you need to go into the hotel for a shower. My wife tells me there is no temperature control on the shower in the family bathroom she used, and she came out par boiled. When she mentioned it to the desk, she was told that only the maintenance guy could adjust the temp. The park is adequate for a night or two. Wifi is very good, no cable but decent over the air TV reception. W/S/E hookups seem to be fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
We arrived and were checked in at the motel desk by a pleasant lady who assigned our site and gave us a map to follow. We drove into the rv area, and our motorhome promptly buried up to the axle in a soft spot in the road where they apparently had been doing construction work and just filled in the hole with soft, uncompacted dirt. The rig leaned so far to the right that the electric steps wouldn't open. I had to crawl out, disconnect the toad, and fortunately was able to back out of the hole. We managed to get to our pull through, only to find out that one of the permanent residents had hooked his rig up to our electric pedestal. We were able to maneuver and hook up to another pedestal for the night. Needless to say, we won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
This is basically a parking lot after a Days Inn right on the service road for Interstate 94. There are clean toilet facilities, but they are in the public laundry at the front of the area. There are good, clean, hot showers but they are in the hotel. I crossed the RV lot, the regular back parking lot, went into the hotel, crossed the lobby, passed the indoor swimming pool (use costs extra), and found the ladies locker room. We stayed just one night and were glad that it was so close to the Interstate as we were headed for Canada. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
I went into this expecting the worst from the 3 star rating. We stayed here in late October after every other campground had closed for the winter. It was 25 degrees. We pulled into the state park hoping for at least electric. It was gated off. This place was a warm winter haven for us oonce you get past the fact that you are in North Dakota. Check in 24 hours at the hotel. They are flexible on checkout time (and about everything else). This place is not scenic. It is by a field, a railroad, and a highway. Other than that I was pleased. They quote you $35 but give you $31.50 on Good Sams. The sites are large and gravel. The dust and mowing were a non-issue in the winter. No trees or any other obstacles. For $8 per person you can use all motel amenities like the gym and water park. The Wi-Fi was fabulous. It was fast and never went out. The playground was in disrepair. The laundry mat was big, but two washing machines were out of service. The bathrooms were in the laundry mat and the showers were in the motel, so they were heated and cleaner/nicer than most campgrounds. It is a good 30 min drive into Fargo. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Dusty gravel lot next to a motel. RVs are crammed in like sardines. If it's busy, your slides are right next to your neighbor, if you can get them out at all. Hookups worked OK. Alright for 1 night while traveling, but you wouldn't want to stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Considering the name 'Governor's RV park and Campground', I was thinking it would be a nice park since they claim the city of Casselton has reared 4 or 5 Governors for North Dakota. This is a dusty, unkempt RV park. I have to say the connections of 50 amp seem good, nice water pressure and an easy connection to the sewer. That's where the amenities stop. This park was apparently an extra field next to the Days Inn Motel where they graded the land, threw down some gravel, put in electric, and called it a RV park and campground. It's a gravel lot with weeds in between the units where some of the weeds are 4 feet tall. It looks like they started to build a fence to shield the park from the I-94 noise, but all that was completed are the 5 ft. poles every 6 ft. with no fence. What a disappointment for a price where you would at least expect a club house with showers and bathrooms. If there is anything you need, you have to go to the Days Inn next door for services where the RV office/motel office are one in the same. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel that served good food. I would certainly try to find a nicer park next time we come through this area. Our pull-through site has no room to really park your tow car. Only the motorhome fits on the site so we parked our tow vehicle in our patio area. It's not a place that you would want to hang out because of all the weeds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
We stayed here in a 40' 4 slide motorhome with tow vehicle. The middle sites are set up as a Y. There is grass between, but they needed mowing. We have full hookups with 50 amp, satellite, and Verizon phone. WI-FI was great. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
Like the other reviewers said: It's a big lot with hookups. But there are a few redeeming qualities. It's quick and easy, everything works, especially the Wi-Fi which was blistering fast. Fast enough to stream xfinity shows easily, so we didn't miss the fact that there is no cable. For one night, not a bad deal. Give it a shot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
This is a dirt parking lot next to the Days Inn. Sites are short and narrow. Nothing else around so OK for overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
It is a parking lot at the Days Inn. No grass, no trees, but easy to get in and out if all you need to do is sleep. There is a pool at the motel but we did not use it, nor did we need to use the restrooms, so the price seemed a little high to me. Staff in motel at check in were nice. Highway view. The trains and traffic are faint when inside MH, and didn't bother us. Only things for kids is the pool inside. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$10
The name sounds great...the reality, it is a motel with an open area with marked spots. However, tonight the campground was not open yet. They were very friendly...offered to let us park in their parking lot next to a 110V outlet. Good for what we needed for the night...stop, sleep and go in the morning. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
This is just a gravel extension of the hotel parking lot where you check in. No shade, no grass just flat open field subject to the howling wind. Noisy agricultural processing plants adjacent. Showers are just the hotel swimming pool showers - no privacy and wet floors. On the plus side, it's large and open for easy access, full hookups available, staff is friendly, the hotel swimming pool is available with kids play things and a small playground, a few TV channels on antenna and it just happened to be the right location for a stop over on our trip so it works for that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
This RV park is basically a gravel field with hookups. Our site was level and we had plenty of room to remain hooked up to the truck. This appears to mostly be a permanent resident park for workers in the area. The nearby Country Kitchen restaurant was handy and there's a truck stop about a block away. The location of the park is right off I-94 so there's quite a bit of road noise, but it's a handy location for just an overnight stop. The check in at the Day's Inn hotel was friendly and quick. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
OK for one night. Needs some work on new gravel, but its do able. No problem for a 45 ft MH and toad. Had a back in, but worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
Connected to the Days Inn so check-in at the hotel which was a little weird, but they were super nice. It had rained, but there was gravel there so not so bad. Our roof mounted satellite dish worked as promised so we were happy about that. All the utilities worked good so another plus. This is really a stopover kind of place but still a nice park for seeing all the stuff in the area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$29
Good overnight stop that is close to Fargo. The motel is now a Days Inn. The pull-through sites were level and plenty long enough for any rig. All the hook-ups worked appropriately. The motel staff was friendly and efficient in checking us in. Verizon phone and data signal was sufficiently good. We could pick up all networks on TV antenna from nearby Fargo. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
Basic gravel sites and hookups but everything works and plenty of room for big rigs. We are only here overnight but would return. Anything is better than the high priced poorly rated KOA down the road. People very friendly and we thought the facilities were fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
This park is part of a hotel that has a water park and restaurant associated with it. The RV park is gravel with no trees or barriers and has some grass between some of the sites. it is along Interstate 94 not far from Fargo ND. The staff at the hotel was friendly however not knowledgeable about the sites hookups 50amp and 30 amp. When she gave me my site assignment the map said it was a 50 amp site. i asked her it if also had 30 amp and she said it did not. She informed me I would need an adapter. She then reassigned me to a 30 amp site. When I parked I checked the original site and found that while it was a 50 amp it also had 30 amps as most RV sites will have if they have 50 amp. The Wi-Fi was excellent and videos on YouTube could be watched without problem even in the early evening when most people would be on their computers. If you are looking for a one night stay along the interstate this is not a bad spot for one night. Certainly not a destination. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
We had to set up our trailer in the mud. I know it rained but the sites are not maintained. There are no shower or bathroom facilities in the park. I call them like I see them, this is a pit. We had to stay here because it was the only place in the immediate area, would never return. Beware. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
Made a reservation 24 hours prior to arrival, and arrived at 1 PM. Checked in at motel office first. Proceeded to RV park. Assigned pull thru site was 50% water and mud. Alternative back-in sites had electrical boxes in large puddles of water. Yes, there had been a lot of rain. However this was a wide open, all gravel, "level" park that had not been maintained. Asked for and received a refund. Can't recommend this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
This is not a very nice place. You are basically in an open lot. Not a tree, shrub anywhere. There is however a huge growth of dandelions. Appears to be zero maintenance. You must check in at the motel - there you are given a 10% off coupon for breakfast the next morning. Don't use it! The restaurant is terribly. It is not very clean. Has window shades that are twisted. The breakfast was soaked in grease so bad I returned my meal and left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
Right off the interstate but it was so hot that with the A/C running, we didn't hear a thing. Lots of long pull-throughs. Very level. Very nice staff. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This is well worth the drive west of Fargo. When we were there, it was stormy, but the road and sites were in pretty good shape. Laundry is handy and very clean, but take your own reading material unless you are a farmer or a missionary. Having the hotel with restaurant and food court close was nice. It looks like they are adding a new strong fence around the campground. On Saturday night, we could hear the club music, but not enough to interfere with our sleep. We went to North Dakota to get out of the Texas heat and it was nice and cool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Has large pull throughs, but no shade. WiFi did not work at all. Great for an overnight. Restaurant was a 4. It's close to Bonanzaville: a great surprise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
As others have stated. There is not much in the Fargo Moorhead area. The one in Moorhead is down a muddy dirt road. So this was it. Operated by the adjacent hotel. The site was level, not dry though, there were hook up electric boxes every where as well as sewer hook ups, most confusing. The venue is stark. No help in finding or parking at your designated site. A few junky rigs sitting idle along the perimeter. One plus: the person at the Hotel desk was polite and friendly. Unfortunately not much else here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Fargo is a tough area to find a decent campground in. This one, about 20 minutes west of the city, at least had good utility hookups. The wifi worked ok as well, but ask for a site where it comes in. The camp itself is as unappealing as they come, crowded with rigs of all types, no trees, gravel roads. The hotel has a restaurant and an indoor pool/waterpark (extra fee) that kids may enjoy. There is also a bar on site. In all, it's not a campground I'd want to hang out in for more than one night if I didn't have to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
I spent a considerable amount of time trying to fairly and accurately describe this park. I have decided that the best way is to tell you a story: I grew up on a farm and we did not have an indoor toilet but, rather, an outhouse about 100 feet back of our home. Occasionally, I would look down into one of the holes in this outhouse (we were an upscale family--we had a two holer),and what I saw down there reminds me of this park. What a terrible, terrible place. I would not want my worst enemy to have to stay here. Put the petal to the metal and get away from this place as fast as you can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
We were planning to stay here but when we got there and found out that it is basically a parking lot outside a large casino, we passed it by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
What a dirty mud pit! We are parked in the "NEW" section right now and after a night of rain, we are wondering if we will be able to get out of here in a few hours without getting stuck. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We picked this park from the big book of parks because we changed routes mid-day & didn't have a chance to check this much more reliable site. Their ad says it is "New" - maybe not. There are more sites than shown on their map - maybe that is the new part? Pros: It is close to the freeway; there are no trees to block our satellite dishes; they've designed the sites for maximum privacy, considering the rigs are very close, there is some grass near the pull-thrus, there is a restaurant at the motel near the large swimming area. Cons: We were tired & cranky, the road from the motel to the RV area is nasty with 4" drops, the roads and sites are dirt and dust, the sites are narrow, the majority of sites were long-term visitors. We would probably find another place next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
This park makes no pretense... it is a (today, at least,) a muddy parking lot with reliable electricity, and full hookups. Just a teeny bit tight if you don't unhook your car. Good for an overnight, but not much more, unless you have kids who would like to use the pool and waterpark. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
Signage to hotel and RV park good. Access road into site needed more maintenance. Campground is a gravel car park next to hotel with no ambiance. All sites a full hook-up on gravel. Some of the sites are not level. Huge laundry next door. WiFi did not work and nobody could help. Lots of road noise. OK for overnight stop but would not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Upside: park on gravel, but grass with picnic table, pools with slide and toys for kids, good restaurant and bakery, big nice laundromat, friendly staff, open sites for satellite TV and/or internet. Downside: some frontage road and freeway noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Good for an overnighter. All gravel sites great laundry nice bathrooms and clean. Possible problem with freeway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com