206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Steel Wheel Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (605) 578-9767
CGID7141

Steel Wheel Campground

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   9   10   7   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
We camped here in a 40' class A in Oct 2013. On the 2nd day we were hit with an unpredicted blizzard that left 48' of snow and 6-7' drifts. The campground owners were wonderful. We could not have found a better place to be "snowed-in." (South Dakota closed all the roads for 2 days while they cleared downed trees and plowed the roads). We were warm and safe and with very helpful owners. The shower/bath room combo is wonderful, and the cleanest we've ever seen. Laundry is great. If I could, I would give this park a 15, instead of a 10! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This was a really nice park. There was some road noise as the park overlooks US 385, but the spot was nice. Bathrooms, laundry, and showers were all SUPER clean and nice. There is even a really good restaurant on site (The Pub n Grub) where we had a nice breakfast with good coffee. There is quite a climb to get in or out of the park, but all in all a great place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$16
Passport America rate made it pleasing. It is about 8 miles from Deadwood. There is absolutely no AT&T cell service, so iPad was also useless. AND the Wi-Fi did not work at the campsite. They made no attempt to fix it. Hardly worked at the office. Otherwise it is a nice campground in a very pleasant setting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$31
Showers and laundry nicest we've ever encountered. Campsites very clean, well maintained and nicely spaced. Lots of vehicle noise during the day from nearby highway, but quiets down at night. Convenience store with gas next campground. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
We stayed here for a week. What a beautiful place nestled in a valley about 7 miles south of Deadwood South Dakota. Very well taken care of. They have free private showers that are spotless. A very clean laundry room with 3 washers and 3 dryers. We used our Passport America discount and stayed 7 nights for 18.50 per night. We hope to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
This is an extremely clean little park: nothing fancy, but well kept and staffed with very friendly hosts. There's a well stocked store nearby in addition to a new pub/restaurant. The sites are level (gravel surface), and maintenance is top-notch. On the downside, there's very poor cell service at this is a remote location, and WiFi is an extra $5 per day (which didn't work at all for us even after we paid). For the price, I think I'd go back again but only if the WiFi was free and improved. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Not a destination park, but a nice clean little park. Good level gravel spaces with grass, table, and concrete pad. Cleanest bathroom/showers I've seen in a long time. Road noise is minimal but there is some. Would have rated it higher but feel for price paid, wi-fi should have been free, not $4.95 a day. Also you need a dish if you want television; no antenna TV or cable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
This park is deceptive. At first glance it looks sparse and unlevel. However, the sites are fairly level and the "feel" is nice. We got the weekly rate. It's a small park, but extremely well kept. The showers, restrooms, and laundromat were immaculate. There is a large store on site. It's convenient to many local attractions. The hookups are convenient and the water pressure is adequate. The only downsides are 1) there is a lot of motorcycle and ATV traffic because there is a gas station on site so the days can be somewhat noisy, and 2) a personal pet peeve... fire pits. We don't like sites with fire pits because the smoke gets into the RV and makes everything stink. The price is reasonable and we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Nice park on 335 5.5 miles south of Deadwood. Very quiet, new, has gas station on site. Really nothing to do here, but the facilities are individual and CLEAN. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com