206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Broken Arrow Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 80 user reviews. Phone: (605) 517-1964
CGID7145

Broken Arrow Campground

Camp Information
Sites
47
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   10   10   10   9   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
A very quiet place. It's about 4 miles from Custer, but worth it for the quiet. Lots of grassy space between sites. I'm glad I took the time to find it. The owners are very friendly. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
One of the best kept secrets in the Black hills! We are full timers and this is in our top 10 parks. First, the horses are not a problem, they have stables here for guests with horses and horse people are about the most friendly you will ever meet. There are no more flies than downtown. Mountain views and quiet, quiet. The new owners state they have put over $500,000 in the property in the past 3 years; and it shows. Clean, green, and everything is well appointed and groomed. Gravel park roads and pads, but surprisingly very little dust and perfectly level. Electricity is 122 VAC strong, water pressure and quality excellent (fill your fresh tank). Sewer easy hook ups. Sights level with 75' pull thrus. Our rate was based on our 1 week stay. Our 45' bus and large 4X4 tow was very happy here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
Had to go to office to sit and use laptops; WiFi at our site was blocked by a big coach. Location perfect. Just outside of town. Short drive to everything. Horse campground, many flies to contend with. Clean showers and bathrooms. Small new laundry facility, higher-priced than most places. Beautiful scenery. Level lot. Lending DVD library. Weekly Chuck Wagon meal, unfortunately we left before they had another one. Owners were very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Our 2nd time here; though they're new owners, they still know how to treat customers. The WiFi could be a little stronger but the over all experience was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Wow!!! What a nice surprise. After reading the reviews on this site, we called and they had a site available. The owners are the sweetest, most helpful folks we have run into in quite a while. There were many horse trailers with loads of very friendly people. We did not have any animals but were not treated any differently because of it. There were horse rides available as well for anyone interested. Sites were level and laundry and bathrooms were immaculate. There were several RV people in the park and I think everyone enjoyed themselves. So much to see in the area and this made a wonderful place to setup and visit all the attractions. There was a cookout and pot luck on Monday evening with music. The only downside to the place were the flies, but virtually no horsey odors. Just had to keep a fly swatter handy. We plan on going back when we can. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
Excellent spot with beautiful views. Very quiet place. Owners go out of their way to make it a great visit. Sites nice size and level. They don't issue a lot of rules and regulations. They expect their guests to be courteous and respectful: nice change of pace. They are just good people!! They put a lot of work and thought into the park. We would definitely stay here again. It's a great place to kick back and close to lots of activities and attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
We absolutely love the Broken Arrow Horse park and we are not even horse people! This is a small campground about 4 miles south of Custer. It is a full service Horse camp that also caters to big rigs in season. We stayed here a week and will likely stay here a month next year. It's a great place to stay while checking out the Black Hills and Custer State park. The scenery is beautiful, the owners are great, and the sites are fine for big rigs. It fills up fast in season so reservations are a must. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
When looking for campgrounds in areas we've never been to, we rely on this site and what people write heavily. Broken Arrow, as far back as we looked, has all very positive reviews. We can only concur that this campground to us was a little piece of heaven! We had a fantastic view of the mountains right from the front window. The whole place is grand! As others have said, the owner is a real outgoing "people person" to the MAX! He makes you feel like you are people he will remember for life. He and his wife have a Monday night Chuck Wagon Dinner for a small fee. They also have a "Willie Nelson" look-alike singing up on the covered wagon complete with amplification. The horse side of the business is where he really shines. We met many of the guests at the dinner, and they come from hundreds of miles away each year with their horse trailers and gear. It is a delight to just be among them. They are a very friendly group. The campground has no fly problem or manure aroma as you might expect because of the separation and daily cleaning required of the owners. It's just a neat place to be. The connections/hookups were perfect, the gravel base was level and firm. The ranch hand was very attentive to our needs. We like the fact that we were parked in a way that we were facing north allowing us an unfettered view of the horse corrals and mountains beyond. It is out of town 4 short miles. Short drive to the attractions, many of them. The owners have a large rig themselves so they know what is appreciated. Super, Super place!! Wish it wasn't thousands of miles to get back here. We would return over and over!! Thank you Broken Arrow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
Wonderful fun place to stay. They have outdoor cookouts. People were nice and helpful. Liked this place and would recommend it. Close to things. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Don't be put off by the fact that this campground is a combination RV park and horse campground. This camp is used as a base by people who bring their horses here to ride in the Black Hills, and the horse facilities, located on the perimeter of the park, are immaculate. Rate reflects weekly rate plus tax. We came for a few days and ended up spending a week because this is such a nice, clean, quiet park and there is so much to do in the area. This park is a gem as the RV sites are all level, gravel pull throughs, and you have beautiful views of the mountains through your windshield. Power and water pressure are excellent and the owners (who live on site) plan to continue to upgrade the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
This is a great park. Clean and friendly and a great place to get away from it all. It's a horse park so there are flies but expected when you are at a horse park. Nothing we couldn't deal with. Close to Mt. Rushmore & Crazy Horse. The laundry was a little expensive. We will drive into Custer next time. There is no cable but they have a library of free movies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
I loved this campground. It is a unique combination of horses, horse trailers, and motorhomes. It is away from the main roads, and is very quiet at night. Deer and wild turkeys sometimes wonder through. The mountain view is beautiful. AT&T and Verizon both worked here. Most sites are level, although we had to use a couple of boards on our site, which is the reason for the "9" rather than a "10". Our site may actually have been the only unlevel site, so this isn't a huge problem. Nice people, nice location. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
I would give this campground a 15 if possible!! Highly recommend this one! Unbelievably welcoming. Our group of 45 people took up 4 camper sites and one tent. The rest of us he put into the bunkhouse. A really great campground with a playground for the kids, and very pet friendly as well. The owner asked us if we were interested in a chuck wagon dinner and got it together for us with only a days notice. We were told anything we needed, don't be afraid to ask. I really have nothing but good things to say and great memories of this campground. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
This park is fairly large and is located about 4 miles south of Custer, SD. The sites are all pull-throughs and fairly large with good utilities. No cable TV at this park, but the wi-fi was generally good. Roads and sites are gravel, but most of the road to the park from Custer is paved. We stayed here about a week and really enjoyed it. One interesting aspect of this park is that it caters to horse owners who bring their animals here for the extensive trail system adjacent to the park. The horses are kept in very well maintained stables and there was no odor to speak of. The staff was helpful and friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Great park. Great long, gravel, wide pull through sites a little out of town. The owner is very accommodating. We stayed here over a week. Would definitely stay here again. Did not use the laundry facilities because it was quite expensive. Otherwise great stay! Rate is based on weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We enjoyed our stay, there is a lot to like here, but it is not perfect. It is off the main road, so very quiet at night. The sites are long and level, with adequate grass space between sites. The owners and staff are hard working, friendly, and helpful. There was entertainment one night with root beer floats, free. There was a nice selection of dvd's in the office that can be borrowed. There is no cable TV, but clear sky for satellite dish. We had a strong Verizon signal. The Wi-Fi was free, but weak. What we didn't like; the dumpsters were filled the day we arrived, and no trash truck for 4 days. The trash was overflowing, smelled, and flies: making sitting outside our coach unpleasant. One night the water from the cg into the RV was dirty brown. It cleared up a few hours later. The negatives were only temporary issues, we enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
Our nightly rate was based on a 1 month rate. We love it here. I want to comment on the "trash" problem listed by a previous camper. The trash dumpsters had been placed around the camp for convenience to the campers, however, some threw large items such as, large "old" b-b-q grills and broken down lounge chairs, etc. in the bins filling them to capacity "too" soon! The trash bins are now located on the back of the property and the park provides pick up at your site by 10 A.M. every day, in order to monitor such problems. (Due to a suggestion by my husband to the owners}. If you like the "western, rugged, cowboy approach to camping this is the place to come. We have a 44 ft, 2011 Allegro Bus. The owners are "very" open to any comments that will improve their campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
As others have mentioned this is a horse park. Although we did not have horses we throughly enjoyed our stay here. The owners and ranch hands are extremely friendly and helpful. Most sites are pull-throughs and good for big rigs. Beautiful setting about 4 miles south of Custer. Very busy on weekends. Reservations definitely recommended. Will stay here again in our motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
We loved Broken Arrow!! As others have said, it is a horse rider's destination, but not being horse riders did not make it a problem for us at all. The campground itself is lovely and very well maintained. The price was definitely right and the bathrooms are some of the best I have seen and I have been camping for 20 years. The managers are very friendly as are their other staff. Broken Arrow is very convenient to Custer, SD and we were able to ride our bikes into town. We also really appreciated honest advice when we asked about local attractions. We would definitely stay again and if you are in the area you should, too!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
This is the friendliest and most welcoming campground we have ever stayed in. The owners recommended places to see, gave us directions, and invited us to go to dinner with them and their friends. Campground is very clean, and the views are wonderful. There was plenty of space to walk our dogs, and the setting is peaceful and quiet. Easy to get in and out of the campground, the pull-throughs are long, and each site has a table and fire ring. We would definitely stay here again. Be sure to call for directions as the GPS (unnecessarily) takes you down some narrow roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$21
This is a campground for the horsey set--BUT--wonderful place to stay if you DON"T have horses, or don't ride. No smell, no flies when we visited. VERY clean campground, beautiful setting, big rig friendly, gravel sites, level, easy to get in and out of. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Very clean, friendly atmosphere. Close to tourist sites, but out of town. Quiet and peaceful. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$23
What can we say that hasn't already been written? This is one of the best parks we have ever stayed in. We do not have horses, but loved it anyway. The western decor in the office and restrooms is very well done. The sites are long and spacious. We are looking forward to returning next year. The rate we paid is Passport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
The remoteness of this park combined with the views of the Black Hills make this one of our favorite campgrounds. Combine that with it also being a horse camp so you can see horses and riders add to the charm. Rate is Passport America. Had a level 50a FHU pull through that we could easily use our satellite dish on the roof. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
We stayed here for 2 nights in a small MH. Fantastic and friendly hosts. Super clean restrooms, laundry and office. Sites were level. We don't have horses but it was fun to visit them and talk to their owners. We are thinking of heading back there next summer for a week in one of their cabins and seeing more of the sights in the area because it was such a pleasure to stay there this year. Would highly recommend it anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This is the BEST horse camp we've ever been to, and we've been horse camping for more than 10 years! The trails are awesome! We saw a herd of elk, dozens of deer, and many wild turkeys while riding. Beautiful covered corrals for the horses, with easy access to water and manure piles. (Manure piles are hauled away each day, so NO FLIES). Everything is so handy here! Upkeep of the park was excellent, and the owners make you "feel at home"! Easy going and they love what they're doing. They have the most awesome cabins as well, and not everybody is "horse people". They welcome ATVs and golfers and just anybody that wants to camp with great accommodations. We only stayed for 3 days, because we were checking out other horse camps as well. Next year we will be spending our entire 10 days at Broken Arrow! We were so disappointed by the 3rd camp we went to, we almost turned around and came back to Broken Arrow. Now we know better. We LOVED it at Broken Arrow! See you next year! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
We stayed here for a week. The 7th night is free. Great campground with very friendly owners. Close to Custer State Park, and 4 miles from Custer. Sites are gravel and fairly level. Plenty of room between sites. All pull-through sites. Our Verizon air card worked well here. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Very enjoyable stay at this campground and definitely would come back. The friendly and service minded owners are hard to match. The comfort stations were the best we have enjoyed after RVíng for the past 9 months. We came to the Black Hills just when the Surgis Bike Rally was kicking into full gear. Bike rallies are not our cup of tea. Luckily this campground is 4 miles off the highway and doesn't attract the biker crowd or do you have to hear bikers rattling down the highway next to your campsite. They have great Wi-Fi and also free DVD movies to enjoy. It is central to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Needles scenic drive. The sites are open and have no shade and are not secluded. However at $30 per night we felt we received excellent value. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
A little off the beaten path, this campground is a hidden gem. While we did not camp here with horses, they were all around us and it was fun to be in the middle of folks and their horses. The campground is all pull through sites, good power and water. PBS reception was excellent, and the free dvd collection was even better than having cable TV. Nice fire rings at each site to have evening fires as the temps do dip down in the 60s in the Black Hills. Custer State Park and Mt Rushmore are less than 30 minutes away. Excellent staff here made this an awesome place to stay in the Black Hills. Don't miss this one! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
We stayed here while visiting Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse. We were immediately greeted by the owner, who was very friendly and told us about a chuck wagon dinner they were having when we arrived. The bathrooms were clean, and the kids enjoyed seeing all the horses. Firewood was available for delivery directly to your site, and the location was a good distance from all nearby attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This is a terrific RV park. We don't have horses but you hardly know they are on the property. Bathrooms and showers are exceptionally clean. The laundry area is acceptable but a little expensive compared to others. The owners of this park are wonderful folks and extremely accommodating. We also enjoyed a fun chuck wagon dinner while staying there as well. The town of Custer is quaint and friendly. We used this park as our base in order to see Crazy Horse, Mt. Rushmore, the Wind Caves and Wooly Mammoth. We would not hesitate to stay at this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
Use the "simple" directions from the website. Super easy with only one turn. GPS (and Google maps) will take you through town and on a narrow oil-road. What a beautiful view, and such a quiet campground. Mosquito's weren't a problem on the warm, clear evening, and we stayed outside until we ran out of firewood. Hot-air balloons were in the morning sky, not far away. All sites are sideways down a hill, but the gravel pads are level enough to need only a couple layers of legos. Our dump was on the uphill side, which was the only difficult thing at all. The pull throughs alternate direction, so only every other site has this potential problem, and probably not for a high-clearance class-A. The camp owner is an incredible guy who shook my hand when we arrived, and again when we left. His helper brought us an ATV-load of firewood for a very reasonable price. No TV, but lots and lots of DVDs for loan if you need them. Free Wi-Fi worked great. If you are horse-people, they have a great stable to get your animals out of the trailer. There is also a small playground, but that's about it for small kids. This campground has the cleanest bathrooms and showers we have ever seen. If we were not just passing through, we would base ourselves here for a week to check out the Black Hills attractions, and just relax in the evenings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Excellent park. Do not have horses but loved looking at them. Friendly staff. Washer/dryer cost $2.50 ea. was too high. Convenient to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse etc. Town is delightful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
A great park. Very convenient to Custer SP Rushmore & Crazy Horse. If you have horses, you must stop here. Many trails to ride from the campground. Horses are not allowed in the campground area, so there are no issues with odor! The new owners are making this a destination campground. They have nightly ice cream socials ($1.50 per person) and several weekends where chuck wagon meals are available. The sites are level, gravel spaces with full hookups. Many have great mountain views. No camper, no problem, they have a motel and cabins! The owners and their hosts are all delightful to deal with! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This is an outstanding park. The bathrooms are all new and very clean. The sites are all big pull throughs. The horses add ambiance to the experience but don't interfere with the campers. The views are wonderful and the sunsets spectacular. A little tricky to find. Don't follow your GPS. Call the office first for directions. Once you get his directions, it's easy. There could be a couple more signs at the main highway for guidance. The new owners are just great hosts. I would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
Traveling from Alabama northwest through Canada and to Anchorage, Alaska, this campground was spectacular! Best one we’ve stayed in! Spaces are level, easily accessed and the view from the campground is awesome. Located near numerous attractions but in a quiet area. Many facilities and amenities have been added. From restaurant to recreation recommendations, and always with a smile, the owner exemplifies what quality service is all about. We highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
This park is an great spot to hang your hat and visit all that the Black Hills of South Dakota has to offer. The spaces are spacious (trees have been planted and will provide shade on most sites when grown), the location is just about perfect and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The new owners are adding fencing, have remodeled the bathrooms, added a laundry room and play equipment. If I had to find a negative it would only be that the laundry is very expensive (2.50 to wash/2.50 to dry) but the machines are nice, brand new HE machines. There is a reason that this camp consistently gets high reviews. You won't be disappointed if you choose to stay here among the plethora of other options in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This is an exceptional campground with no traffic or train noise. We slept like babies here. The campground had exceptional hook-ups. We thoroughly enjoyed staying here. The horses are a nice addition! There's excellent walking right out the campground as it's directly adjacent to the national forest. The operators are wonderful people! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
This is a super nice park. Owners very nice. We stayed there several days while biking the Mickelson Trail. It was great to have Wi-Fi inside our camper. Sites are level. Restrooms excellent. It is only like 4 miles into Custer. I recommend this park. We were there on Passport America rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
We LOVE this place! This is the second time in two years we've visited this park and it just gets better every time. Extremely nice and friendly owners/operators. Coco, the chocolate lab, greets you when you arrive. Has beautiful surroundings, long, level pull-through or back in sites with enough nice grassy space between sites that you don't feel like you're sitting on top of your neighbors. Each site has a nice picnic table and fire ring/grill. Quiet, beautiful views, no highway noise. Ice cream social every night. One RV'er in the park makes homemade hot fudge sauce for the ice cream! This park is a combination horse camp and RV park and they co-exist beautifully. Most of the time you don't even know there are horses around unless you walk to the ends of the park looking for the corrals. Very well kept campground. We will definitely stay here whenever we're in SD. Rate reflects Passport America discount and 50 amp electric service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
We loved this campground. It is about five miles out of Custer, SD. Do NOT follow your GPS instructions. The owners were very nice. The laundry was exceptionally clean and reasonably priced. We had a pull through with 30 amp and full hook-ups. The sites were comfortably priced and not crowded. The location was lovely, peaceful and beautiful. In spite of the hundreds of motorcycles in the area (the rally in Sturgis was on at the same time) we had a wonderful time exploring the area and plan on returning to this campground in the near future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
This park is only 4 miles outside of Custer, SD. The temperature here is usually 10 degrees cooler than Rapid City, SD, a welcome relief for this summer. The camp has easy entry even for the largest of motorhomes. The sites are large, and can accommodate your rig and towed vehicle. The services are excellent. The owners are knowledgable about the area and want to help. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Very nice campground. Beautiful sunsets. Sites are close together, but they work. For how full the campground was when we were here, it is very quiet. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Nice showers and laundry facility. If we visit the Black Hills again we will be staying at the Broken Arrow! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Park was very nice. Exactly 4 miles outside of Custer. The bathrooms were very clean and nice. The laundry was also very nice. The only problem I had was WiFi rarely worked. Not sure if it was because others were also on it, but most of the time it did not work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
We camped in our LQ horse trailer as did most other campers, though there were lots of non-horse people too. The stalls were great and there were carts for toting tack back and forth. It is close to Custer which is a beautiful little town, with lots to do in the area, including Mount Rushmore. The sites were fairly level, all utilities were fine, including Wi-Fi coverage. The owners could not be any nicer and they really go the extra mile for their guests. Highly recommend. Also, for trail riders, there is more than enough riding to keep you busy a week or more, especially since the owners allow use of their smaller stock trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
The owners are very welcoming and helpful in almost any situation. The evening ice cream social is a very welcome and fun gathering of people from every where. It is a horse riding area and with that in mind we saw many good looking animals. Pets are welcome and a very strict rule about the pets and horses in the grounds, no horses in the camping area, and pets MUST be cleaned up after. Good directions for all areas are available from the owner/managers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
As has been said in other reviews, the owners of this park is what sets it apart from others we have stayed at. These two people obviously love what they do and we left feeling that we had two new friends. As great as this campground is, If you are looking for untouched wilderness then you may be a bit more interested in one of the National Park campgrounds, as some of the properties near the campground could use some cleaning up. But once you are in the campground you forget any negative impressions that you got on the drive up. It poured down rain the whole time we were camping but our site stayed high and dry. Bathrooms were cleaned every day and were spotless. The laundry facility is top notch as well. Please keep in mind that there are quite a few horses that camp here as well so don't complain if you smell them from time to time. Noise was never a problem and if anyone was to get loud I seriously doubt that the owners would have any problem asking them to keep it down. We will stay here again on future trips through the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
The strength of this campsite is its owners who greet you and call you and your family by your first names. They live next door and obviously take pride in their campsite. It is a popular location for those traveling with horses, and the horse corrals were shaded, roomy, and nice. It borders a national park, so it is convenient for those who like to ride or hike trails. The evening ice cream social (all-you-can-eat for $1.50) was a hit for our daughter, and the resident dog (Coco) loves children. We love the slogan, "Come as a Guest; Leave as a Friend," because it truly felt that way. I admire small business owners who really know how to find a niche, and these two have succeeded with their horse campground and friendly atmosphere. Although there are many campground options in this area, the quiet and family-friendly atmosphere of this park, as well as the horse camping, is what makes it unique and enjoyable. The best laundry facility of any campground I have ever seen. Pay $3 at the office to wash and dry each load in a HE front-loader, and they provide the detergent. Although we didn't go inside it, the bunkhouse looks like a great option for anyone who is pulling their horse trailer and needs a place to stay for the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$19
An excellent new campground and the owners are working on it everyday. Large pull-through sites with lots of shorter back-ins also. There are fire pits and a table at each site on a rock base with grass surrounding it. There is a bunkhouse or cabins also. There is also a large area for campers who bring their horses and dirt road trails for riding. This is an excellent site for visiting Mount Rushmore, Jewel and Wind Caves, the Mammoth Site, Custer SP, Crazy Horse, and all the hiking in the area. They have great free Wi-Fi and an ice cream social in the evenings. We loved the proximity to the huge as Texas caramel rolls at the small restaurant in town. We think this campsite is an excellent one and will only get better. The owners both work very hard and love next door. We would definitely stay here again. The nightly rate reflects the Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$19
My wife and I made reservations for a 7-day stay and loved this campground so much that we extended our stay for almost two weeks. The campground is well designed to accommodate both horses and campers. Our motorhome is 40-foot and could easily fit in almost all the camping sites. The host and hostess (owners) are the best we have met in our travels. They are quick to see to your needs. They are hard working folks with that downhome hospitality. This campground gets my highest recommendation, especially if you are traveling in the South Dakota Black HIlls and surrounding states. If you are going to be staying at Broken Arrow in the month of May as we did, be prepared for all four weather seasons. In our two week stay, we had great sun shiny spring/summer days on arrival, followed by hail storms and 8 inches of snow for some fall/winter weather conditions. Then back to sun shiny days that ended our perfect stay. The campground's well designed terrain easily handled all the 'wet' changes in weather allowing us full use of the campground and outside travels to Mt Rushmore and Deadwood and other tourist sites. I'm a passport member and I didn't keep a receipt for cost of our stay. I'm guessing it averaged $19 a night. Also, the owners have already added more sites pushing well beyond the 36 sites listed for this review. And they are adding more in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
We found this campground in the Passport America directory. We paid 50% of the nightly rate. The hosts were the nicest people who did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. (I was temporarily on crutches due to an ankle injury). The amenities were spotless and they had me use a beautiful 'bathroom' (which I think was for disabled guests). The park was ideally situated to visit the Black Hills attractions. The horse corrals were up the rear of the park and did not impact on other campers. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
This was the 3rd year we have stayed at Broken Arrow. The owners do excellent job keeping park shipshape. They added large wooden playground equipment and swing this year and the kids really liked it. We stayed a week in July with our 3 grandkids and then a month in September. Great night sky views here; very quiet. There are no "seasonals" here although some folks come for a few days and stay a lot longer! Rate shown reflects monthly rate of $500. Regular nightly rate about $35 - but if you stay 6 nights you get 7th free. Passport America is valid before April 15 and after August 15. Park usually closes about Oct 15 for season (closed Oct 5 this year). Motorcycle rally usually not an issue here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$17
We are Passport members and camped here for a week. It is centrally located in the Black Hills and convenient to all the sites. For the price this campground is more than adequate. The pull throughs are spacious. Although we are not horse owners, we found that many of the people with horses were satisfied repeat customers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$16
We used Passport America for three of the five days we stayed here. Very unique campground with areas for horses. A little ways outside of Custer but easy access to all the tourist sites. Beautiful view from our pull-through site. Sites easily accommodate large rigs. Family owners were extremely friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
Rate reflects Passport America. Nice well kept, quiet park but the hilly terrain made for a very off-level site! Very large/long sites with plenty of grassy room between sites. It was wide open for satellite reception but also had a nice ambiance. Good location for exploring all the venues of the Black Hills; also close to Custer State Park. Easy trip into town for shopping. Pleasant owners. Half the campground is a horse camp, so be prepared for the accompanying smells and sounds, although it didn't bother us much. One night we were kept awake by constantly barking dogs, which the owners admit they heard too, but did nothing about. If not for the off-level site and barking dogs, this would have been a 9 rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
The rate shown is for Passport America. For the price, it's a great campground. The owners work hard to provide a good experience and mostly, succeed. Sharing a campground with horses and horse trailers is interesting and works well. We only smelled manure a couple of times and we've stayed in campgrounds that didn't have horses that smelled worse for longer. The sites are long, with good space between them, with picnic tables and a fire ring at each site. Maneuvering around the campground is easy. The location is great. The laundry is spotless, with new machines, although a bit small for the number of sites here. It would be a 10 except for a couple of things: the sites are not level. They are terraced and tend to be uneven. We had a problem with a barking dog one night and when we mentioned it to the manager the next morning she said she had heard it and was going to talk to the people but when she went out in the morning she couldn't figure out which rig it was. She should have figured it out during the night, especially since they make a big deal out of telling people with dogs how they need to take care of them and that people with barking dogs will be told to leave. Finally, they never gave us any information about the ice cream social, so we didn't know about it until we read the prior review that mentioned it. Maybe everyone's tired: it is close to the end of the season. For an otherwise well-managed and nice campground, those couple managerial lapses stand out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
First time at a horse campground and it was great! We didn't have/bring any animals, but enjoyed the horses and pets on the place. It was real easy to let the kids run without concern. The campground has a great view of the surrounding valley and mountains. The hosts were outstanding. The only reason for a 9 rating and not a 10 is that the Wi-Fi always seemed to be maxed out, I could connect, but completed very few web pages before giving up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
Great place off of the main road. Quiet, with a mix of regular campers and horse campers. Deer all over the place. Saw 20 in 4 mile stretch of road. Beautiful views of mountains in front and forest in back. Owners bend over backwards to accommodate you. Ice cream social every night. Restrooms were clean as was the campground. Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Very few rigs in park so parking the 5th wheel was easy. Park and restrooms are modern and clean, gravel roads and pads. Park is located about 6 mi. from town (2E & 4S) so it is far from the crowds but it could be inconvenient for someone wanting a location close to restaurants, etc. Location is next to all the local favorites such as Custer SP, Crazy Horse, Mt Rushmore, biking trail, etc. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$17
Wonderful owners, clean and well kept campground. Owners doing constant improvements. Good Wi-Fi. Call for directions in advance - do not trust GPS. My rate was Passport America - which has date restrictions so check dates. I recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
This is a great campground. Quiet, very clean and the owners are very friendly and willing to help the campers with their needs. The location is great for sightseeing and as we drove around the area we looked at a lot of the other campgrounds but none were as nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
Great park. Everything and everybody were a 10. A few miles out of town, but property joins National Forest and was worth the extra couple of miles. Passport America rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
Rate reflects Passport America rate. Quiet, lots of stars, large sites, out in the country. Owners are very accommodating and helpful. So much to do in the area. Lots of hiking trails right out the back of the park. Great place to stay for a few days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$16
This was a great find for us. The horse corals and parking is in the East end of the campground. Far enough from us that we didn't hear anything, yet could enjoy watching the riders come and go on the road. Horse people are good people we have found. The campground is situated on a slope so there are views of the valley. Deer frequent the CG. The only drawback we found was the price of the laundry (which isn't a big deal to many that don't full time). We found the $2.00 per wash and $2.00 per dry excessive. The owners are super nice, the CG is very clean, the sites are spacious. We'd definitely stay here again. Thanks! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
This is an excellent campground and we are looking forward to making a return visit. We were able to use our Passport America rate for the 17 nights that we were there. The owners were very friendly and did whatever was needed to make our stay enjoyable. FYI: the campground is separate from the horse camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$17
We found this park in 2007 and returned for a month in 2008. Rate reflects Passport America rate. There is also a monthly rate available year-round ($480 for 30 days)) which about equals the P.A. rate. Note the P.A. rate is not valid May 31-Aug 15. In addition to RV sites, there is a four-unit motel-style bunkhouse which is great for extra visitors. Yes, they do host horse groups, but they are separate and do not affect other campers. The owners are great hosts and make you feel most welcome. CG is also a bit higher altitude than town of Custer so summer temperatures are even lower. Great views and gentle breezes make this a very inviting location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$13
An excellent place to stay. We used Passport America and got a fantastic rate. Somewhat remote and very quiet at night. A beautiful place with lots of thick, green grass, nice view and more stars than you knew existed. Nice wide sites, level and spacious. Very good WiFi. Close to Custer State Park and Crazy Horse Memorial; 20 miles from Mt Rushmore. We'll return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
Nice, big, widely spaced Pull-Throughs. Very friendly owners. Will be coming back in September. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$17
We love this place! We used Passport America so price is low. The Gustafson's live on site and are warm and friendly people. They've done a great job in 2 years turning this land into a wonderful campground. We planned to stay a week but just went up today and extended it another week. It will be hard to leave such a great place. Sites are large. Utilities are good. Nice fire ring & grill at each site. Ice cream every night! Local musicians drop in now and again to sit on the porch and pick and sing. We're having a great time and would love to spend a whole summer here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Wifi is great. Location is just outside of Custer so no road noise at all. Cool nights. You can see stars you've never seen before. Owners live onsite and are making constant improvements. Nightly ice cream social. This a GREAT campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
This is a great park and I'm disappointed we just had two nights to stay here. It's quiet with fairly level sites, good Wi-Fi and the location is outstanding. A bit rustic, but nothing shabby. The owners make you feel right at home the minute you arrive. I rarely give 10/10 but these folks deserve it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We picked this park based on reviews from this site and another forum. We paid for 2 weeks, and ended up extending that twice, staying nearly a month. It was hard to leave, as we love it there! The owners are former semi-truck drivers who understand how important it is to be able to maneuver big rigs. They've done all the work in this campground themselves. We had no trouble getting our 40' motor home and tow car in and out. The sites are level, plenty long enough for big rigs. The space between sites is grass. Access roads are gravel. The horse camp portion is well-separated from the RV section. The Wi-Fi is very strong and fast. Water and electric service is very good. There are no tall trees right in the campground, but they have a lot of trees planted, so in a few years, there will be shade. We had no trouble getting satellite to lock on from our site in the north row, facing north. They have an ice cream social every evening. The owners are great people, very friendly and helpful. The view of the spires and needles in the Black Hills is great. It's close enough to all the attractions in the area to be a great base camp. We definitely will go back to this great little campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
This is a nice quiet park, 4 miles north of town, with a great view of the mountains. Sites are plenty wide enough for any rig. The park is on the edge of the US Forest Service and many trails are available for hiking, dog walking and horseback riding. Owners are very nice and run a good clean operation. Rate is based on their buy 5 nights get one day free deal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We were there 2 weeks and hated to leave. The owners live on site and are very accommodating. Fairly level gravel sites. Good water and electric. WI-FI worked great. They have a monthly rate which most of the other parks do not have. It is 5 miles from the middle of downtown Custer. It is very quiet and a good place to see all the sights from or just to chill out. We will be there for at least a month next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
3 year old campground. The owners are very helpful, they live on-site. Close to Custer, Crazy horse, Mt.Rushmore, Deadwood and Custer State park. We stayed a week and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
This park is located approximately 6 miles from downtown Custer. It offers something for every type of “camper” - It is a horse camp and RV park but there are separate areas for each. There are also a few sites under the pine trees for tents and a few rooms for horse campers who don’t have sleeping accommodations. The owners have owned the land for several years but the park has been in place for only two years. Owners live on site. It is the hospitality of the owners that make this park special. There were many repeat visitors while we were here. Restrooms and showers were immaculate. There is only one washer and dryer so you might have to go to town to do laundry for multiple loads. Sites can accommodate any size rig length including slides. However, the sites are all open and have no shade. We were in Site 1 which wasn’t very level and had to do a bit of leveling. The park is convenient to many activities in the Black Hills. We got National access on our Verizon air card. The park’s Wi-Fi worked well. With our Over the Air GT, we could only get 3 TV channels. Our Verizon cell phone worked fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
This is a new park, in a very scenic location. Very convenient for visiting Custer, Crazy Horse Memorial, Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park and the Needles Highway. The owners live on site and give the park their personal attention. The WiFi seemed to work well throughout the park. All the facilities are in excellent condition. The laundry room had only one washer and dryer which could be a problem if the park was full. Over the air TV reception was poor and cable is not available at this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
A new campground since 2006, and constructed with care and attention by the on-site owners. Nightly rate is $25 for FHU and an additional $3.00 for 50 Amp electric. If you stay five nights you get the sixth one free. The owners come out and personally greet you when you arrive, chat with you and show you to your site. They have a genuine concern for people. We camped here during the annual Sturgis motorcycle rally (we are not bikers), but were away from all the noise and commotion. Campground is in a quiet setting very close to famous Custer State Park as well as near Crazy Horse Mountain and Mount Rushmore. As mentioned in an earlier review, there is a "bunk house" with 4 motel-style units for non-RVers or as overflow. There is also a shaded tent area. Horse lovers can stable their horses in a covered facility at one end of the park and have their RV's close by. This is an undiscovered gem of a park. Call ahead just in case - they are becoming known. If you like ice cream, the owners serve it for $1.00 a bowl each evening as folks sit on the wrap-around porch and talk about their day. A most pleasant experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
While being a very convenient location for visiting the many tourist attractions this area has to offer, this campground is outstanding more for the sincere warmth and hospitality of the park’s owners. From the large level sites with full-hookups, the free WiFi, the clean laundry, restroom and shower facilities to the nightly ice cream socials, you truly can’t ask for much more from an RV park…..not to mention the gorgeous sunsets. Don’t let the “Horse” part of this campground put you off either…..the horses are located in a completely separate location and you barely even notice they are there. Plan on spending plenty of time in this area because there are many things to see and the RV park is a great place to take a break, sit back and just relax a bit. We will definitely visit this park again if we find ourselves back in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Broken Arrow is a new 2007 RV and Horse campground. The horse’s are in an area by themselves. Owners are very friendly, will help you any way they can. They live at the park so help is 24/7. Well located park for visiting the Black Hills, it sits just north of Custer State Park. Sites are 30 ft wide and 70 ft long, all are level gravel with grass and run North and South. For sure Big Rig friendly. Every site has a new picnic table and fire pit. Hookups are conveniently located on each site. No problem with side outs or satellite signal on any site. Nice views of Black Hills and forest. Very quiet, cooler then most Black Hills parks as it’s near 6000 ft high. The sun sets awesome. They have clean rest room, showers and laundry. Also bunk house’s for those folks who travel with their horse’s but no place to sleep. WiFi works well if you have an outside antenna. If you like to hike in the Black Hills Forests there are miles of horse trails you can walk or ride on. Coming from a city life it was something else to see the stars at night. If you are looking for tent camping they have good sites set under the pine trees. We came in June of 07 and liked it so much will be staying till September. There is lots to do, swimming or boating in 4 lakes with in 10 miles, visiting attractions, train rides,shopping, you name it the Black Hills has it. This is our first visit to the Black Hills and as you can tell we love it. We are new to full time RV-ing and will visit this park again. We have a 39 foot Fifth Wheel and 23 foot truck. We are paying a monthly fee of $450.00 plus tax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com