219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Pioneer Village Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (308) 832-2750
CGID7157

Pioneer Village Campground

Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   3   8   7   5   7   5   5   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
This park needs some TLC for $38 (including tax). The discount they give is one free admission to the Pioneer Village which amounts to $14 ($12.50 for senior) so that is nice. Our power and water pressure are fine, but sites are close, very dry grass and lots of dirt. There are some big trees so our satellite won't work but there may be some sites where it would. We don't need the showers or restrooms but our neighbors tell us that they are not clean at all. This is very convenient if visiting the Pioneer Village and there is a nice little Mexican restaurant in town as well. Probably not a place we'd stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
Some highlights: Admission to the neighboring museum, grassy areas, level spot, nice travelers. But the downfalls: no kid-friendly spots like playgrounds, etc., sites so close together and some switched. So that our neighbor put their slide and awning out and it prevented us from putting our own out: they were that close, slanted opposite and door-to-door. I like a little more privacy than what that offered, and it was tricky to get our rig out without crashing into the neighbor. Bathrooms were sketchy: lots of grime, signs indicating malfunction, rubber mats that did not appear to have been tended to (we passed on showering there). The neighboring museum seems like a treasure from 1960. It does not appear to have been updated much since then (similar to the RV park), yet is an eclectic collection of Americana that is worth an overnight stay. We'd come again, but we'd fight for a roomier site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Large shade trees in nice setting are the only plus to this park in a run down complex. The bathrooms are disgusting (I refused to use these facilities) and the was reception not much better. We did not try the restaurant as it looked shabby as well, as did the entire complex. Would be okay for a night if fully self contained, but we would not stay here again. Avoid if you need bathroom facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
The campground is fairly good overall. It is safe, quiet (except for the railroad a time or two), and quite adequate. The railroad was not a problem for us. The campground is behind the museum which is simply a diamond in distress. The museum is in major need of maintenance as well as several other buildings on the property. However, my friend stayed in the newer hotel and it was pretty good. We didn't use the bathrooms. The utilities were fine but locked in a tiny shed at each site. Yes I said locked in a tiny shed that you access with a key from the office. The restaurant was horrid and was a mistake. There was a really nice grill across from the courthouse which was about 5 blocks away. We walked to the grill and an IGA grocery store. Our site had sand burrs so watch out for these for our furry friends. The site cost was for 50 amp service and included a ticket to the museum and an acceptable continental breakfast. I would definitely stay here again. Be sure and see the museum as I was astounded by how such treasures are housed in such a run down building. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$16
The sites are mostly shaded, very nice. However the restrooms are old, not very clean. I did not use the shower. $16 per night, group rate for water and electric, a great deal. The Wi-Fi was adequate. The Pioneer Village museum is huge, lots to see; however, it could use some updating. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
Previous reviewers for 2011 are accurate. We spent two nights here while visiting the museum, which is first rate, albeit in need of maintenance and cleaning. The $28 dollar per night rate does include an adult museum admission, which saves $11 dollars, so really a pretty good deal. There are only a dozen sites with sewer hook up. The remainder are electric and water only. While I don't use the restrooms/showers I did go in them and they are in dire need of repairs. Tile is falling off shower walls, the paint is flaking and there is a lot of rusty water stains from faucets dripping. Our campsite faucet handle was broken, someone had driven over the fixture, bending the pipe. It appears to have been that way for some time. The grounds themselves just need a good clean up. The adjacent motel condition makes the RV campground look even worse as the bushes are overgrown and weeds are coming up through the parking lot cracks. The roads in and out of this RV park have large pot holes, and signage for the park and registration is poor. That being said, as it is the only place to camp, they must feel no improvements are needed yet. Voltage was good, water pressure was good. Dump station is hidden behind four dumpsters so you can't get real close to the sewer lid. AT&T cell service and Verizon air card worked. Sites on the South Row of the RV Park will allow for satellite TV. Other sites are iffy due to large trees. The trains tear through Minden on a regular basis, laying on their horn as they cross the main intersection: which is only two blocks from the rv park. But thankfully, I didn't hear any come through after 10 pm while we were here. There is a bit of highway noise from trucks using their engine brakes as they come into Minden, but that is not something the RV Park management can do anything about. I got used to it after the first night. Overall, an acceptable and safe place to stay for a night or two and I would come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
A pleasant campground although very rundown. If it had been full it would have been slide to slide the sites are so narrow. They only have a few 50 amp sites and they were all full so we ended up in a 30 amp with no sewer but for 2 days it was OK. The Pioneer Village is walking distance and it is a wonderful place for adults and children and a bargain $11.75 and you get one free entrance with your camping fees. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
We stayed here on your recent travels around Nebraska and found this park to be very outdated and to actually be below average especially for what they charge. The sites all seemed to dirt with very little gravel base making for a mess in the Nebraska rain. The showers and restrooms were in need of a lot of attention and updating. The only thing going for this park is that it is located next to Pioneer Village and the fact that you do get one free adult admission for staying in the park. I would have a difficult time staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
We stayed here as part of a rally. The park was adequate for our needs. The electric worked as did the water. We did not have sewer hookups. The bathrooms were not clean (lots of spiderwebs and dead bugs). With some TLC, this could be a nice park again. Sad to see it being let go. The museum is a must-see and the town of Minden was amazingly welcoming to all of us. I would stay here again . . . just keep your expectations low. The number of sites is misleading -- they have a huge open field for tents that must account for most of those sites. There were around 30 or so RV sites. Not actually sure of price as we were with a group but it's a required field. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
The Pioneer Village is the best museum in the U.S. It's a must see. Unfortunately the old RV Park has not been upgraded in many years. There are no amenities. We stayed in one of the few full-hookup spots. The park is very heavily wooded so forget about getting satellite TV. Why they don't cut down a few trees and open it up a bit is beyond me. And while they're at it they should replace the bathroom/showers. The place is way overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
A free pass to the Pioneer Museum comes with your site, for a savings of $10. The sites were large with a table provided. The dump station was convenient and the water and electricity were good. The fireflies were an added bonus! Quite and cool after a long day. We enjoyed this park. Only the trains across the street keep it from a higher rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Clean place to stay long enough to have a nice visit at Pioneer Village. They do have wifi available in the motel office, if you need it. We were offered a full hook-up site with 30 amp service. I don't know if they have 50 amp sites available. Some train noise, but it didn't wake us, as we had the ac on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
We stayed here due to a camping rally. The sites were shady and grassy with electric, and the townspeople were very nice and welcoming. Otherwise, the park itself was a dump. Restrooms were old, very cramped and borderline clean; the roads and motel were rundown and dumpy, and front desk staff surprisingly rude/cold. Would not be my first choice for camping in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Park is about 12 miles South of I-80. They advertize 135 sites, their map shows 65 plus an open field they say will hold more. This is a Mom and Pop operation that has a restaurant that closes at 8:00p.m. a one star motel and a tired Museum/Pioneer Village. We entered our site by driving over the curb of a city street. The place is flat and the grass is cut. It's OK for an overnight stay but not for a vacation. I would avoid staying here again. But then we are self contained and do not have to interface with the park. And I think we had the last full hookup, so they do have business. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com