223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Goldpanner / Chicken Creek RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (907) 505-0231
CGID7165

Goldpanner / Chicken Creek RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   3   6   6   4   6   7   1   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
Friendly staff, large camp store, fuel at campground. I'd definitely stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
Big gravel spaces. No water, no sewer, no wi-fi, no cable. Expensive for what you get, but the other park in Chicken is the same. If you're going over the Top of the World Highway, leave early in the morning because the border doesn't open until 8:00 and there will be no oncoming traffic on the American side. The Canadian side is paved and easier to drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
The nightly rate is Good Sam discount applied to an electric site. Worth the price? No. We were in town a night before the "Chickenstock" bluegrass festival. They sell gasoline and have a dump station. They gave a 10% discount on a campsite with fuel or Good Sam. Their price was $4.99, competition in town was at $4.49. Do the math, don't buy fuel from them. No potable water was on site during our stay. Would we stay again? NO. Won't drive the Top of the World Highway again either. I can't think of a better way to destroy your RV at 10-15 MPH. The speed limit is 50 MPH. The highway is nothing more than a bunch of hype to line the pockets of the businesses at end of the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Great overnight stop. Get there early because you want to have time to see the sights. This is a large property with fuel, gift shop, general store and café. Sites are all dirt with both pull-through and back-in sites. No water, no sewer and no dump. It is electric only so come prepared. Wi-Fi works only around the office. What makes this place fun is the town of Chicken right up the hill within walking distance. Downtown Chicken is made up of 3 buildings. A store, saloon, and café. Great gift store and good food at the café. You can tour a gold dredge and pan for gold at the creek right next to the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$10
We filled up our truck, about 7 gallons which was about 60 cents more expensive than Tok where we had filled up previously so the park cost about $5.00. For that we had a pull-through and free Wi-Fi. The park is located on the highway that becomes the top of the world highway so it was an easy on easy off. We found the staff to be very pleasant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$10
Rate is for no-hookup boondock site in the upper area of the park. We don't generally comment on the check-in at campgrounds, but when we arrived here, there was a heated argument going on between the staff and several campers. That should have been our first clue that this wasn't the place to stay in Chicken. We were eventually assigned a boondocking site as they had no idea what was available in the hookup section. Parking was where ever you wanted, even though there were some markers in the boondock area. We parked facing the dredge, then watched as kids raced ATV's up and down the area in front of us. When we mentioned this to the office, they shrugged and said something about a big gold panning club being here for the weekend. We won't be back and would suggest you check with the nearby Goldpanner RV Park first when stopping in Chicken. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$12
This is basically a big gravel pit with a limited number of back-in and pull-through electric-only sites. Water and dump are available for a steep fee . Don't be fooled by the 2-for-1 coupon in the TourSaver, as that's only available for 20 amp electric sites. 30 amp electric is available for a larger fee. Office staff is friendly and helpful; we needed a tow bar pin and they dug one up for us gratis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Good RV Park. Some sites far from level. Rough terrain. Close to the "Top of the World Highway". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
This park only has 15 amp electric and shuts it down by 9 p.m. and restarts at 7 a.m. but charges you $18 anyway. Will not honor Passport for the site. Sites are narrow and need trees pruned back. We scratched our paint on both the coach and the toad getting out. Clerk who checked us in was rude when we complained and wanted to dry camp. I would not recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
The pull-through sites did not have electricity so had to unhook to use a back-in electric site. The water and dump were extra charges (more than the camping). The campground was rough gravel and trashy. There is WiFi, but only on the porch of the office. Didn't find any gold, but that was free so can't complain. Intended to stay 2 nights, but left after one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$
Free dry camping with fill up. Fuel is $2 cheaper than Dawson, so we saved $$$ on fuel and had a free site with free WiFi. Free gold panning and great people, too. If you don't dry camp, a fill up will save you $5 off the hookup sites. This is the campground at the bottom of the hill just before the one-lane bridge. Very good food at the Chicken Cafe just up the hill. This is a no brainer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$10
Associated with the Gold Panner Gift Shop and Fuel Station, they offer free dry camping with an RV fuel fill up. Wifi is free. There is an old gold dredge within walking distance and free gold panning in Chicken Creek which runs alongside the campground. Lot is gravel with plenty of room for big rigs to maneuver. A very friendly group of people running the business. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com