223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Bonanza Gold Motel & RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (867) 993-6789
CGID7166

Bonanza Gold Motel & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
145
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   4   7   1   4   3   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
We think this is the park to stay when in Dawson City. Sites are level and there is room for everyone to be comfortable, even if side-by-side. The managers/hosts are all very friendly and helpful; full of information about the area. There is a small book exchange in the laundry room; books can be purchased for a donation to KIVA. We left our motorhome here for the 4 days it took to drive to Inuvik, NWT and back. Management worked with us to allow a move into a electric only site to keep our refrigerator and freezer working, and to return to a full-hookup site upon our return. We highly recommend this park to anyone visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
Friendly. Clean site. Gold panning equipment and advice free (loaners). Nice walk to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
Big gravel park, but spaces aren't huge. Poor Wi-Fi, good cable TV. On the main road but relatively quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
As others have said, this is basically a gravel/dirt parking lot. We had no problems with the water/sewer/electricity, but the Wi-Fi might as well been non-existent. One of the workers at the campground came around one morning and told us to make sure we told the managers about the Wi-Fi, and when I went to the office, the manager jumped all over me as if it were my fault. I would stay somewhere else if I ever visit Dawson City again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
This is a big gravel and dirt "park". Our site was adequate and level. Hookups were good. I got Wi-Fi on my better computer; my wife got intermittent WiFi; it was slow because there are no high speed lines in Dawson City (was told they stopped about 100 miles short of the area). It could get dusty - at one very windy point, I tried to point out the office to someone who had come in the back way, but I could not see it. Staff here was very friendly and helpful. There was no cell phone reception and I had to make a work-related conference call, so they set me up with a land line in an empty motel room (charged to a phone card) and it worked very well. Then we parked for two additional nights (for $10) while we took our toad up the Dempster highway. The physical experience was only adequate, but they were so nice, we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
Campground was not well kept. Weeds growing everywhere. Trash scattered around the campground. Television reception poor. Internet very poor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$37
This park is not much more than a gravel pit full of potholes and weeds. The sites are very narrow, when slides are out, almost touching the next van. Wi-Fi is extremely limited and slow and they do not tell you upon check in that it is capped and once you use your quota for the day it is not reset until 2 pm the following day. Very inconvenient. Overpriced for what you get. Nobody seems to care about the appearance of the place. There is a good vehicle wash $ which is handy after traversing the dirt roads to here. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$85
We did not use our motorhome in Dawson City instead we used the motel service at the Bonanza Gold Motel and RV park. This may be a family friendly park but there were no playgrounds and I did not read anything about activities. There was Wi-Fi internet service but it was very slow. Management turns the service off at night around 9:00pm and if they think about it, they will turn it back on around 7:00am, and this was only after receiving calls from a number of visitors. They also regulate how much you can use the internet. If you are a family with more then one computer, do not expect much usage time and they will not reset you usage until 11:00am the next day. They do have laundry service but I felt that the wash room was dirty, a lot of broken machines, washers and dryers. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Large park is right on highway. It felt like camping in a vacant lot. Wi-Fi was a poor signal when we received one at all. Vehicle wash is a nice convenience. Potable water fill was just a few feet from dump station and its hose probably gets used to rinse sewer connections. Okay stop if you like waking early to truckers from the motel side warming their engines up. Wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
It's parking lot camping, but they do a pretty good job of it. Sites are adequately sized, all the amenities work well. Multiple Wi-Fi systems, so available at our site, even though we're in the "back forty". Good two-station RV/Truck wash. I didn't time it, but 5 Loonies buys a lot of high pressure hose time. Friendly, helpful management. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Good basic gravel campground with easy access to the various points of interest around Dawson City. The site we were in was ample width and length for our 38 foot motorhome and Jeep. They had just installed a brand new Wi-Fi system and warned us that there may still be bugs in it and to let them know if we had any problems. It worked great and was very reliable. We were there for five nights and never had any problems with it. The cable TV worked good too. It was quiet at night; some traffic noise during the day, but not bad. The office staff were very friendly and helpful in suggesting places to see and directions to get there. They have gold pans and shovels you can borrow if you want to pan for gold. There is a car/RV wash available with high pressure hoses to wash off the Yukon mud after a day of exploring -- worked great. There is also an auto repair shop right across the street that we found necessary to use. It was very handy. Be sure to take in a show at the Diamond Tooth Gerties Saloon. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
Your basic "parking lot" one finds in the north with back-ins, some tight. Another place that lies about their Wi-Fi services - limited to certain hours. Of course, every one tries to get on at those times, so no one gets on. Good Sam REALLY has to consider adding another rating category for Wi-Fi as does RV Park Reviews. We've stayed at a lot of places this trip that have falsely advertised, charged extra, or the system just did not work. And caution when you read "Wi-Fi Accessible" - translation is you pay. Questionable we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
Bonanza Gold provides full hookups, including Wi-Fi. Site size and maneuverability were very adequate. Wi-Fi disappeared repeatedly and access codes changed at least daily with no warning. The open gravel layout amplified the background noise from the road and near constant activity within the park. The rate was for 30 amps, full hookups and includes a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Typical northern park. It is a carpark. Sites are tight. Rate is high for what is offered but this is as good as it gets in the area. WiFi was weak and only available near the motel building. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
The park was completely gravel and caliche and full of potholes upon arrival. This material gets very messy when it rains. However, repairs of the potholes were undertaken during our stay. Services were adequate at our full-hookup site. This is by no means a pretty park, but it appears to have much more space than the other Dawson City CG. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
Rate is for FHU 50 amp back-in site, discounted to the 30 amp rate. They were expecting a large caravan and so gave us a 50 amp site for the price of a 30 amp to keep some 30 amp sites available to those who needed them. Interior is dusty, but after checking out the other parks in town, they are all like this. By the way, even the streets in town are dusty as they are all a very fine gravel except for the Klondike Highway. Great attitude by the front desk person even though she was obviously extremely busy. Wi-Fi worked well even though the park was mostly full, and that was despite warnings that it might be a little iffy. Great park and we gladly stay here again. Note to reviewer: The Guggieville RV Park is now part of Bonanza Creek. The Guggieville website doesn't work anymore, while The Bonanza Creek website shows, "incorporating Guggieville". Bonanza bought Guggieville and currently uses the old area which next door to Bonanza for overflow only according to the Bonaza manager. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
Large full-service park just outside Dawson City, with all-gravel interior roads and sites. Most sites are back-ins that are large enough for big rigs of all types. 50 amp power is available, and there is free Wi-Fi and a coin-operated car/rig wash station. Friendly and helpful office staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
This is a convenient campground to the town. It is on top of tailings-I expected gravel but the surface is more of a powdery white dust. We had a back-in site and a big rig but there is plenty of room to manuveur. There is adequate space between sites but nothing really between the sites but dust. There are a few trees scattered around the area. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were clean but we didn't use the showers which cost extra and were a little expensive. There is a convenient restaurant next door-an easy walk. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
The good news was the staff was friendly and helpful. Although our back-in site provided little space between campers, we had plenty of length to maneuver. The laundry area was clean. Their Wi-Fi was just ok. Unfortunately this park's interior roads where filled with large pot holes. We would look for a different campground if in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
We had made a reservation for a pull-through site and confirmation said they would try. Caravan was coming in the 2nd day of our stay and had all the pull-through sites taken. The back in site we were given worked for our 33 foot 5th wheel but the sites are right on top of each other with the neighbor's sewer connection right outside our trailer door. The sites are not angled so they are not very easy to get into. There was a good main entrance road but the other road to the park was full of large potholes. When it rains the sandy dirt becomes very muddy. There was good cable but the Wi-Fi leaves a great deal to be desired. We were told at check in it is good for only checking e-mails. I was able to get on to the Wi-Fi for the adjacent Dawson RV Park when the one for this park was not available to access the internet. We have stayed at 2 other parks in Dawson City and this one is no better nor no worse. If we were to return we would not stay here. We would once again stay at Gold Rush which is downtown and walking distance to most everything. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
A very nice park that also has an RV/car wash located on its property, which after coming across the Top of the World Highway was very helpful. The lady at the desk was most helpful in recommending something to do in Dawson City and we listened to what she suggested and enjoyed our short visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$1
Not sure of rate, we were part of a caravan. We were in the area off to the side and not near the motel. Wi-fi did not reach the sites here. Site ok but nothing special. Dawson City was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$37
Easy wide open park. It now has a few 50 amp sites and from them the Wi-Fi is solid and free. Showers and RV wash all are a dollar for 4 minutes. That's why the lower rating as that seems a little high for not much time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Staff was friendly and helpful. Sites were ample. Close to attractions in Dawson. WiFi was intermittent, but when working was fairly fast. Excellent cable TV. The campground needed more trash bins. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
We stayed here four nights. The staff was friendly and gave helpful information on the attractions in the area. The sites are of ample length and width to be comfortable, with some small trees between the sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
This campground has a large vehicle wash, coin-op showers and clean bathrooms. Wi-Fi works well and cable TV has 31 channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
Basic Yukon park. Neat gravel sites, and relatively close to town. Also right at the turn for dredge #4. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
"Sister" park with Guggeville RV. Strong, free WiFi and much more "elbow room" than the RV park in town. Only 1.5 miles to town so it's walkable if you want. Be sure to take the 15 minute drive to the top of Midnight Dome for a GREAT view of the valley and town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Rate for 15 amp power. Sani dump available. Good WIFI signal. Campground situated in an old gold dredging tailings field about 2 KM (1.5 Miles) southeast of town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com