219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Challis Valley RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (208) 879-2393
CGID7169

Challis Valley RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   9   7   8   9   8   9   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$10
My first reaction was this cannot be the same park that previous reviews stayed at. After staying here it is possible that the previous reviews reflect some of the things that this park had to offer. The first thing that met us when we arrived was a note on the door of the office saying no water $10 a night. Since we were only going to stay one night I had filled up with water so I would not have to hook up anyway, boy did that work out good. Evidently the owner has some water issues not only in the park but also with the city so this is what he told us and that was the reason we had no water. Kind of wondered how the long-term tenants got by they seem to be on some sort of water. I also was taken aback that nothing was green everything was dead including most of the trees they must have shut the water off after the previous post left. For us this park worked out fine we had our own water the dead look did not bother us for one night but let's just say you were looking forward to a resort and you had kids believe me you would have been very disappointed in this park and you would have rated it with a one. The owner was very nice he met me the next morning wanted to help me unhook and pack up and even offered me another day without paying any more money, so without any more being said I hope that this park can be turned around, can remain a Passport America, and get back to the previous reviews remarks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
Large pull-through sites. Electric, sewer, water, Wi-Fi all worked well. Grounds well maintained. Rest rooms and showers very clean. Owner very nice and helpful. The park was very quiet. Don't let the broken sign at the entrance fool you, this is a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$15
While on Hwy #93 we found the park via Passport America booklet. Has very clean sites, the, largest we've found in our travels; very close to gas station and Napa auto parts, grocery stores, laundry are all within walking distance. Daily watering is allowing the grassy areas to green up. There are more planter pots with various colors Petunias scattered about the park than at any Lowe's farm and garden stores. The park owners are very friendly and helpful. We will travel Hwy #93 again and will seek out this RV park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$17
Passport America rate for two night stay. Calling this place a resort is a stretch (the only amenity is laundry), but the sites are enormous and the hosts are friendly. When we stayed here there were only a handful of RV's in this 36 acre park. Very peaceful. Did not use the parks WiFi, but had good internet speed on our own Verizon system. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
Highway 93 passes through this small town. The RV park is easy off / easy on. Owners/operators are helpful and friendly. Our cost reflects Passport America membership (50% of regular). Nicely graveled sites: wide, level and very long... the pull through assigned to us easily accommodated our motor home and toad. Wide interior roads made site access/egress very easy. Quiet and dark at night; good sleeping. No security. EXCELLENT utilities (our power post contained four receptacles: one 20 amp, two 30 amp, one 50 amp. Good water pressure. Ground level sewer connector. Good AT&T signal. Acceptable WiFi. A great place to over night while en route; would be OK for a few days stay if one had reason to be in the Challis area. We would definitely stay here again if traveling north or south on Idaho 93. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
The rate reflects Passport America discount. The new owners are the most friendly and accommodating people we have met in our 7 years of traveling in our 40 foot coach. Our super site was great. We plan on coming back next summer for a much longer stay. The owners are working hard to bring this park back to life and we can't wait to see the improvements they've made by our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$15
Found this park initially through Passport America. The Passport America rate is $14.50 per night plus tax. The owner is a very friendly guy who will do whatever it takes to make your stay pleasant! We are 36' long with a 26' trailer and did not have to unhook: our site was over 100' long! Close to two grocery stores, and walking distance to the Main Street area. The park is a work in progress, but is steadily improving since the current owners took over two seasons ago. Very quiet with views of the valley and mountains. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
Price reflects the internet special. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this park. Huge, level gravel pull-through sites, good hookups, and even a table and yard swing at some sites. While a work in progress, our stay was memorable due to the friendliness of the owners. They checked each day to ensure our stay was meeting our needs, and after recommending a restaurant in Stanley, called to make sure they'd be open. Convenient to shopping and the Yankee Fork visitor center, and quiet and dark at night. Verizon cell service was good, but no Aircard service. Some shade, but plenty of clear shots to the DirecTV satellite. The great price and friendly owners make this a worthwhile stop. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
The above rate is the weekly rate divided out. It has huge sites, about 100' wide and 85' long. There are about 25 pull thru sites, the rest are back in. There are new Owners as of fall of 2010. The owners are very accommodating.The WiFi works well only if you are near the office. Picnic tables are available. Some sites have shade. The campground packs up during the Braun Family Reunion in August every year so make your reservations early if you are going to be here then Otherwise there are plenty of sites. Great 50 amp service, really strong.It is possible to walk to two different grocery stores. There is a nice 9 hole golf course about a mile away, and it has very reasonable greens fees. It is not very busy. No tee times are needed. Salmon River is very close and fishing/rafting trips are available in town of Challis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
The owners are very nice, friendly people who are trying to rejuvenate this park, and it should improve in a couple of years. (This used to be a site owned by a mining company for their workers and has some potential.) Right now, however, the grass is very dry, it is run down, and there are weeds and stickers all over the ground, so be careful with your dogs! The 62 sites is a bit misleading, as only about 25 or so are currently operational. Bathrooms are nice and well kept. We would probably not stay here except Challis was halfway on our way to Montana. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Average campground but very spacious pull-throughs. Limited cable TV and Wi-Fi good. Pleasant open aspect with mountain views. Close to Town Center, Fuel and 2 Supermarkets within walking distance. An ideal location for visiting Sawtooth NRA. Poor check in procedure as Management was rarely seen. No Verizon cell phone service at all. Excellent laundry with brand new equipment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
The management was very nice. The stay was pleasant. Very nice, spacious sites with grass and picnic tables. WiFi access and connection was good. My Verizon Wireless cellphone did not get service near Challis, but my husband's Alltel phone did. I would definitely recommend this Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
This is a Plain Jane park; the managers were very nice as we checked in. The sites are graveled - long and level, some small shade trees, 50 amp power, a N/S orientation on sites, so the satellites work great. The cellphones don't if you are Cingular, but 2 yrs ago when we were here my Verizon worked on roaming - we were parked south of town then. There is a grocery store across the street & one within walking distance to the south. There are not a lot of choices on restaurants in town. Challis (pop. 900) is on the beautiful Salmon River in central Idaho; be sure the visit the Land of the Yankee Fork Interpretive Center just south of town - a joint federal/state venture. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Very large sites. Cable TV works but you have to string about 50-100 feet of provided cable from a box to your rig. I have stayed here three times over the last four years. They need WI-FI. My cell phone wouldn't work in the entire town (Cellular One). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com