220822 User submitted reviews online!!
Yellowstone Park / Mountainside KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (406) 646-7662
CGID7173

Yellowstone Park / Mountainside KOA

Camp Information
Sites
164
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   8   10   3   8   6   2   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$65
Friendly staff. New playground. Clean dump station. Outstanding pizza. Will Stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$58
Boulders were a concern as we were turning into our aisle. It was very tight. Campground situated on a sloping area with grassy, bumpy sites, and gravel roads. Our site was near level. No pool; but playground and games for kids. A creek along the rear of the park. Pizza restaurant on site with good quality and quantity of food. Cable (27 channels) only available at deluxe sites. No antenna TV. We could have used the weather channel in Wyoming. The bathrooms near us were old. Wi-Fi unavailable in site we were assigned. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$64
Okay park with nice snack bar/pizza cafe. Campground was about 7 miles outside of West Yellowstone, which is a typical overcrowded tourist town full of tee shirts and souvineers. Nice to be away from all the traffic and activity. Wi-Fi was poor, as was cell service. Rate was a weekly full service rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
Brand new store, Pizzeria, bath house, and laundry. Great staff and management. Very helpful with park information. Tours pick up at campground rodeo, and horseback riding is less than 1/2 a mile away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
We paid $65 a night for a grassy, unlevel spot with no cable TV and unreliable wireless internet access. There is no way this qualifies as a "resort" and just barely qualifies as an RV park. It would be overpriced at half the cost. If you decide to go anyway, bring some 4x4's to level your camper. If you get the same site I was in you'll need them! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$51
Great park with nice views. Only 7 miles away from West Yellowstone entrance. Super fast, newly installed internet. Friendly and helpful staff. Office was undergoing a remodel. The only complaint I have about this park is the mosquitos could have picked me up and carried me away. We had a difficult time being outside at all. Rate reflects Good Sam with two adults and 1 child. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
Campground is way over priced but it is cheaper than most others in the area. Mostly level sites but some have dips and holes which make leveling hard. This is in no way a resort. The only amenity is free Wi-Fi, which worked well only sometimes. There is no pool, cable TV. There are some ponds but that hardly qualifies for a resort! Staff is friendly and mostly helpful. Close to West Yellowstone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$52
We got a site which way out of level, and not a pull through. The restroom where very humid with insufficient ventilation, my glasses where foggy when I went to the bathroom. Our site was very basic electric and water only, we paid three times what this site was worth. We will never stay there again. The only positive is that it is well located with a nice view. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$62
This is a good example of a business taking advantage of people because they can. We came to Yellowstone Park on a whim so didn't have camping reservations ahead. Lions Head was the only park that had an opening when we called. The camp sites are not level, parking is on grass, electric service is 30 amp, wifi is unusable when the park is active, and $62.50 a day is grossly absurd for the services available. I would stay in a parking lot before coming here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
Simple park, and staff are really nice. We had major issues with electric service; only 30 amp available and one pedestal for two spots seemed to heat up the meter and kept blowing the circuit, even when not using much electricity. I think it was just the spot we were in, but the other major issue is Wi-Fi. It works great as long as only part of the park is on, but if a lot of users are on, forget about even trying. Why these parks don't spend a few more dollars and get enough connections for at least 100% of the spots is beyond me. We will try a different park next time due to the Wi-Fi issue. If the Wi-Fi issue were addressed and the electric issue fixed, I would double my rating just because the staff are so friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$58
Campsites have grass and seem very well maintained. When we arrived, our site was being watered, which resulted in a mud puddle for our SUV and camper. The campground provided us a portable wood platform to step on so we would not get muddy when we exited and entered our camper. The mosquitoes were not bad, but there are huge horseflies. The buildings are old and the merchandise is overpriced; they would not sell us one of the cases of water on the shelf as a case, which meant twelve cost $22 and had to be bought singly. We also bought a gas lighter. It is in the shape of a fishing pole, but the cost of $15 seemed pricey. They had no other options. It was convenient, though, so we chose to pay the amount. The bathrooms and showers have a unique layout. They are shared not only between the men and the women, but also have the laundry facilities in the same area. The building we used had three rooms that were single showers and three rooms that were bathrooms. The best time to use the facilities is in the afternoon because that's when they are cleaned. If you wait until evening, you will be sharing the building with anyone doing laundry or using the restrooms/showers. This is quite uncomfortable. Otherwise, the bathrooms were dirty. Again, with the amount of money we paid, we would expect facilities to be cleaned routinely. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$57
All of West Yellowstone was booked and this was our last available option. Very large grassy pull through site (very large price also but typical for this area) with full hookups. WiFi was fast. Has a large laundry and shower facility. Filled up on propane. Lots of room everywhere and away from town (7 miles). Nice views all around and friendly people. Would stay here again to avoid town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
Average campground. Rather expensive, but typical of area. Plenty of space and easy to maneuver. Ground was very soft and rutty. Has good WiFi and Verizon 3G. Major TV networks. Nice people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$53
We stayed here because we couldn't get into the Grizzly or KOA sites. There are grass sites, ours was long but not too wide and our awning was almost bumping our neighbor's slide. It is pretty basic, there is nothing to do at the campsite and it is 7 miles from West Yellowstone. There are no fire rings at the rv sites and although they advertise fishing on their website the ponds are completely empty. There is no cable, we couldn't get wifi at our site but you can get it if you are prepared to go into or near the office. The staff very friendly and helpful. It would not be my first choice on next visit to Yellowstone but would stay here if nowhere else available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$53
All sites are grass and large and you don't have to unhook to get into your site. There is plenty of room between each site. It was a little pricey but in checking around all of them in this area were pricey. This one is out west of town 7 miles or so. When I tried other parks, they were full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
We had attempted to book three nights at the West Yellowstone KOA but were advised they were full. The person I spoke with told me the same person owns the KOA and the Lionshead RV Resort so she could booked us there. Upon our arrival the gal at the counter was very friendly and helpful. The site she assigned us to was a end-of-the-isle site and was barely large enough to accommodate our fifth-wheel coach. We had to park our truck on the grass between us and the coach next to us so it wouldn't stick out onto the road. We were only able to get three TV stations, I like to keep up on the news, so it would be nice if the campground would install cable for its campers. I know, fat chance... Anyway, its a nice campground that seemed well taken care of. This place wouldn't be our first choice if we went back to that area but we would stay there if nothing else was available... We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
We really like this Park. Alice's Restaurant is no longer there, but the pizza from the place across the street is excellent. A lot of places close the first of September. There are very nice paths up into the woods. You're only 7 miles from Yellowstone's West entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
This is a great park off the beaten path. It's nice and quite with a real kicked back feeling. About 8 miles to West Yellowstone. The sites are large with great views of the surrounding hills and mountains. It is right next to the National Forest, so you can take some real long and enjoyable nature walks. A lot to see and do in the near by area. The staff is real helpful and keeps the grounds clean & looking real good. No cable but you get to put your antenna up for the 4 local stations. The WiFi is real fast. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
Stayed a week. Would stay again. Guessing at the weekly rate, don't have my receipt handy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$49
Pricy, but the view is beautiful. It is quiet, and peaceful, but it is only about 1/3 filled. Nice grassy sites, but no pool or other family-friendly facilities. Wi-fi is excellent, cable TV is advertised, but not available yet. If you don't have a satellite dish, you only get 1 or 2 channels, and they sometimes are not clear and/or have occasional static. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$46
Very nice. A little pricey! Great location We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
I agree with the previous rating, we stayed in one of the upgraded sites (not paved), some of the older sites were close together, only a couple of feet between slides. If they are going to upgrade the whole park, it will be even better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Unable to get a site anywhere within the town of West Yellowstone, we decided to stay here, about 7 miles west of town. The park is located about a mile farther down from the KOA. I must say, it is a pleasant surprise. It's an older campground, quiet and peaceful. Most of the sites are side by side, but it doesn't feel excessively crowded. The playground set is small and needs a coat of paint. There is no pool, but who needs a pool when they've got the sprinklers running! The restrooms are clean and there are two laundries on site. Only $0.75 to dry a whole load. One of the workers shared with me that KOA has bought this campground and there is evidence that they are working on sections of the park, updating the electric boxes and widening the sites. Right now the sites are all grassy with gravel roads, but there are plans to pave the sites. I hope the new construction doesn't interfere with the deer, elk and bison who travel the fields nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com