217661 User submitted reviews online!!
Whispering Spruce Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (250) 344-6680
CGID7175

Whispering Spruce Campground

Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   4   6   6   5   7   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
It was quiet. It was pretty. One of the two bath houses is shut down (forever). WiFi did not extend to site F10 on a Mac but did work with a PC. The maintenance man has changed F10 to 20 amp, but did not tell the front desk staff. Office staff is cheerful. The main breaker for the F "lane" is only 100 amps. That is a bit light for 11 spots. The main breaker for the "lane" did trip. Beautiful trees, but that may limit folks who have slides. Washrooms are old but were clean. The are closed from 11 a.m. to 12 noon. Check out time is 11 a.m. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$43
Site was level but sites were a bit close together. It was not an issue for us, however, if the campground was full, it would be a bit tight. Although it is fairly close to the #1 Hwy, the sound is not bad at all. Good overnight spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
I gave this campground a slightly higher rating than it might deserve because of the view. The sites are not as out of level as previous readers may have submitted. The town of Golden is fine but use this campground as an overnight unless you really enjoy hiking the nearby mountains. That is about all there is to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
This park appears to be a former KOA complete with an A frame office. I’ve found that these types of parks are mediocre at best. It is one of many such parks where the owners stopped maintenance and repair a long time ago. The laundry, showers and rest rooms were not clean. The rock on pad sites has pretty much gone away which leaves you with dirt. The WIFI is good sporadically but as the park fills up, the WIFI can’t handle the load. Also the park is about 50 meters off Trans Canada 1 so you get a lot of road noise. The south east sites in the park offer some great views of the valley below and periodically some big horn sheep make their way into the park. OK for over night but not much more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
This is the oldest RV campground in Golden, BC, but the only one that has full hookups and sites to accommodate long rigs. (We stayed in a 34 foot Airstream). There is very little maintenance done at the park. The main thing this RV park has going for it is location. It is near six national parks. The price we paid was based on a monthly rate. The normal daily rate is $38. This RV park is way over priced for what you are getting here. Without satellite we only got one TV channel. Wi-Fi was not as strong or reliable as some reviewers have stated. We would probably make it a much shorter stay next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
A pleasant, modest park with a woodsy feel, close to a busy highway. Conveniently located to area sights. Wi-Fi adequate: faster than most. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Pricey for this place that is in dire need of TLC. The entrance looks fine, but looking around at the trailer where the manager lives, and the sites, you can see it needs work campers or something. Our site was tight, but manageable. Unable to put out our awning. Our firepit had not been cleaned and had the previous camper's fiberglass airfilter in it along with some other garbage. Our picnic table was broken and had a large nail protruding. The bathrooms appeared rustic. If you do not get septic, there is a charge to dump. There is traffic noise of large semis. So not a great deal. Not a destination park. On the plus side, there is good Wi-Fi. There is shade. The place is packed as it is located on the road to Lake Louise. Would consider a different place next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$43
Older park. Main roads were ok, but the side ones with some of the smaller sites were very tight and bumpy. Our site was not level, and it looked like a lot of the other sites were the same. Seemed very expensive for what you get. But the WiFi was the best we've had on our four-month trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
This is an older campground and the owners are working to maintain it. Interior roads are gravel but decent with no potholes. Our pull-through site was level, another nice surprise. Contrary to what they advertise, they do have 50 amp service. The site we were given was fairly narrow, so I requested and got another one that was wider and much easier to navigate. At this time of year there are lots of empty sites so changing is no problem. The campground was dusty but that is not their fault. Washrooms and showers were clean. They have very strong Wi-Fi which worked very well. There was some noise from the trucks on the highway and from the trains but not enough to spoil our sleep. This is a good place to stop over. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$42
$42 was a bit pricey for what we had but the staff was very accommodating. We showed up with 5 large rigs at about 10 am. We all ended up in full hookup pull through sites. The problem was that the power at 2 of the sites didn't work. The staff worked on the pedestals and managed to get things up and working. This park's amenities are a bit on the rustic side but, they do have big horn sheep who appear to like tent sites! We used this campground as a jumping off point for a day trip into Glacier and Revelstoke National Parks, and headed into the Lake Louise section of Banff the next day. If you are passing through, I would recommend this park, but I don't think we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
Had a nice reception. The sites were spacious. Wireless internet worked. Clean washrooms and showers. Needs a little landscaping around office and new sinks in washroom. Looks like an old KOA building that should be revamped. Good place for overnight stay. Good restaurant next door. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Banff NP. A long drive with lots of construction along the way. Nice RV park, no frills. Nice laundry facilities, playground for the kids and a fire pit. They have big horned sheep that came into the camp ground each morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Park located right along highway which is being upgraded lots of construction. Park is good for overnight stay. Sites are dirt/gravel not that level. Located amongst trees which is nice unless you are trying to get Sat. reception. Wireless signal strong. Would probably stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This is a fairly nice campground with large trees and a beautiful view of the hills and valley. Fair gravel interior roads and fairly level sites with adequate space between. Our site was a pull-through with water and 15amp electricity. It wasn't long enough to park our truck at our site, but the owner was nice about our parking it at a nearby site. We had no trouble maneuvering our big rig, even with all the trees. Wi-Fi was free but basically useless at our site. The bathrooms were not cleaned while we were there. The campground is located along the main highway that is on a long, steep grade and there was quite a bit of road noise from semi-trucks. I would probably look for somewhere else to stay next time, mainly because of the road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
Former KOA site. Lack of a pool and games room knocked the rating down a bit, otherwise this was a great campsite at which to stay. Beautiful views. Had no trouble maneuvering our 30' 5th wheel around the campsite. A little bit more "sprucing" up, and the rating would be higher. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Very good site! New owner and manager have made plentiful improvements to put this campground as a 10! Everything was very clean, great views, and very family orientated. As well as being fun, it was very educational for my son who spent most of his times collecting species as well as taking notes of all the different tress. Overall it was a great experience and I plan to come here again for the 2010 season. The only problem I did have was that I didn't stay here long enough to full enjoy the scenery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This was an adequate campground for a night or two stay. We used it for two nights as a base to go to Lake Louise and Banff. The washrooms were not very clean. WiFi available for $1.00 and was as secure site. The park was quite nice. We had male Mountain Goat groups come right into the park. Had some great photo opportunities of ram with great horn sets. Scenery was quite spectacular also with the mountains all over. Town of Golden quaint and worth a walk around. I would stay here again passing through We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$31
Sites are tight together and appear to all be "pull through". Wifi is *very* flaky and requires a "wep" key which is "sold" for $1.00. I don't understand why it had so many drop outs as it was a steady 2 bars out of 5. Water pressure was fine at night and low in the morning. Office is open from 10:30 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. There is an "internet cafe" in the office which offers access at $2.00 for fifteen minutes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Park is family type with lots of children and campfires. Interior roads dusty. Sites are between trees and makes hard to maneuver into site. Electrical very weak with near brown outs during peak times. Good location to Banff and very nice town. Staff friendly. Good laundry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com