218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Montpelier Creek KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (208) 847-0863
CGID7187

Montpelier Creek KOA

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$56



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   10   9   10   10   10   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$56
I love this RV park! It is a real gem for the "Gem State", especially in this part of Idaho. It has to be the best KOA in SE Idaho hands down. My biggest and only complaint is the price, but when you compare it to others, I feel it is fair. We try to get to this campground at least twice a year, and we enjoy our trip every time. This year, we stayed here and drove over to Bear Lake to watch a play at the Pickleville Playhouse. With Bear Lake so close, this is a great place to stay and play! The campground is clean and well kept. The pool is small but nice, certainly unexpected way out in the mountains. They are limited on big rig spots, but for a quiet place to stay while traveling through, this is the perfect option. Oh, and the Oregon Trail Center is a great visit in Montpelier. Upon getting ready to leave, I noticed I had a low tire on my motorhome. I ran in to ask where I could get air on a Sunday, and the staff quickly brought out an air compressor and I was on the road within minutes, free of charge and worry. Montpelier is a small town, and this KOA is not a mega-KOA. It is a journey KOA and it is very well kept and maintained. I totally recommend it and hope you give it a try! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$55
We stayed here one weeknight in early August and had a fairly level, gravel, FHU, pull-through site. The cable TV was only 24 channels (another cable system that does not have Comedy Central). Our site was roof satellite friendly, but many are not. Of the listed 50 sites, only 34 are for RVs (21 FHU and 13 W&E). The rest of the sites are for tents, cabins, and tee-pees. The Wi-Fi network was OK at our site. The pool was refreshing and there is playground equipment for the kids. The nature walk is nothing more than a 100' path through the trees and bushes along the creek. I have no idea why other reviewers rave about this "nature trail". The laundry is OK but the bathrooms are barely adequate for a park with tent sites and pop up customers. The staff were pleasant and friendly. While the is a nice park, it does have its' negatives: the price, limited FHU and/or big rig friendly sites, limited cable and satellite access, and no recycling that I could find. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
The best KOA we have ever camped in. We generally don't use KOA, but would definitely return here. It is darling and well kept. The owners are very nice and helpful. There is a stream with a walking path that is delightful.The spots are level with plenty of room for big rigs. This place is a winner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
Rate reflects a military discount which was appreciated. Very clean park. Restrooms/showers were as clean as any I've seen. Large, easily accessed, level spot on gravel with a lawn area/picnic table and fire ring. No longer have a dog but the off leash pet area looked very nice. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Led to spot and owner cleaned picnic table while we set up. Not much going on in town, but a trip to Bear Lake was worth it for the views. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Beautiful location and well cared for park. Level sites, very friendly staff, large sites, big rig friendly, pet play area. Traveled extra distance just to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
Very nice campsite with “all” facilities, including swimming pool and playground. Very clean and well maintained. Good WiFi. Recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$57
Very nice park and owners. Cleanest bathrooms anywhere. Pride of ownership everywhere. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Great spot, super quiet. Not your typical by the highway, next to the train tracks KOA. Easy to find and close to the Oregon Trail museum. Site was very nice and the owners were super! Pet friendly place, has a nice nature walk to take the dog into. Wish we could have stayed longer, would send friends or go back myself again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Great little park. No real sign off the highway, but once we realized where it was, it was great. Nice couple owns and operates it. Nicely remodeled, hasn't lost the charm, but up to date. Gravel sites were level, everything was good! Nice pool! Pretty little stream and path through it. We would go back in heart beat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
The name has changed to KOA Journey or something like that. We stayed two nights because it's such a lovely place. Very neat and well kept. We were In space 32 by the creek in our 24 foot motorhome. We only wanted electric and water. Our Dish satellite worked well. We could wash our motorhome here, and would have if we had the tools needed, but we did rinse it off since we'd been on some very dusty roads while driving through Bear Lake WLR. The play area for the kids is great, and so is the dog run area. We would stay here again. The staff was wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
Fortunately there is a big sign at the entrance, since the 2-lane road (US89) by the campground is a fast one, and no place to turn around for quite a while! Entrance is a bit narrow. Very clean, very friendly owners - both of which made our stay quite pleasant. Some sites can be fairly close together; nearly all have some small or medium-sized tree for shade, trimmed up so they don't interfere with your rig, even in some of the tight turns in the campground roads. A few sites sit alongside the creek. There's a nice little trail in the woods along the creek, and a fenced-in pet area. Some of the best tent sites I've seen in a KOA, very shady & along the back of the campground, with a view of farm fields & hills. My only complaint is that it's a bit pricey, especially for an area that's not a prime tourist destination. Would definitely stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$99
We stayed in a camping cabin for six people. It was right on the stream and had trees shading the cabin. We were steps away from the pool and the bathrooms. The water in the pool was clean and clear: my kids spent hours swimming! My husband caught three fish in the stream by the cabin, and my kids caught and released a couple of crawdads. The campground is small and outside of town, which makes for a quiet, relaxing stay. I highly recommend this campground! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
This park was just a stopover on the way through, but ended up being one of the nicest parks we stayed at in several years. Some of the sites look like they are State Park type sites next to the beautiful creek. A very nice maintained Nature trail is in the park, and we loved the nice clean pool area too. The landscaping was over the top with nice bark chips spread around the trees/garden areas. The sites are nice and level, and the hookups were clean and central to the pull through sites We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
We come through Montpelier every year and every year we are delighted with upgrades and work done at this KOA. The owners definitely know how to continuously "wow" us. The new patio site on the creek is spectacular and can't wait to stay on it next year. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. This Montpelier KOA is the highlight of our trip each summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$55
This is a lovely little park three miles out of town, so it is the only place around. Nights are quiet and the small size of the park makes it friendly. Our site was level and all hookups worked fine. Kind of expensive, however. The hosts are very nice and helpful. Park is constantly being maintained to keep it in the best condition. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
Lovely park but somewhat pricey. Truly an oasis! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$53
Nice park a few miles out of town, roads and sites are gravel, and close together. Power, water was good, cell (AT@T) was weak but usable. Not a $53 a night park. We would probably look else where. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$59
The pull through sites are level. The campground is small, and the owners have painstakingly remodeled much of the grounds including the bathrooms. It is extremely clean. There is a playground for children and the pool is heated to about 80 degrees, but feels warmer with the hot sun. The owner takes the time to try and meet every camper and his staff are very friendly. It is by far one of the nicest campgrounds we've visited. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Very surprised at how well the park looks. Very clean and lots of room. An enclosed pet area as well as a field to throw a ball for the dog. People are very friendly and accommodating. Quiet and relaxing. Would recommend this place to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
This little jewel of a campground is located halfway between Yellowstone and Salt Lake City, perfect for those who want to make this a two-day trip. It is small, private and well maintained. The owner was there to greet us. Not only was he careful to give us a site that suited our preferences, he walked us there, helped us park, offered to carry our firewood, and wiped off our picnic table. Tell me the last time you got that kind of personal attention! The facilities are clearly a labor of love; the bathrooms were the cleanest and best appointed we've seen. The playground (a work in progress) had lots of features that will delight the kids. As we settled in by the stream, a trout surfaced from under the willows, grabbed an insect, and darted back. Recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
We've stayed in lots of RV parks over the years but this is by far one of the neatest and cleanest we’ve found. The people who own / run this park really care and it shows throughout the campground. The grounds are immaculate as are the laundry room and rest rooms. Each site has a grassy area and trees. The setting is beautiful with a pretty stream running by the park. We extended our stay from one night to two because it was so pleasant. There is a large fenced dog area plus a nature trail to walk dogs. I would have rated this park a 10 + but the Wi-Fi never worked well the two days we stayed there. We could connect and then we’d lose the connection. This was constant even though we tried connecting at different times, rebooted, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$46
Rate reflects KOA discount. Small campground, very clean. Sites level but a little tight for a 40' coach with 4 slides. Had a pull thru but had to detach toad & park sideways behind coach (not a problem). Water pressure adequate, electric & sewerage fine. Owner lives on premises: takes pride in campground, trimming, raking, talking to campers to make sure everything is okay. Would stay here again, very relaxing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
This was the nicest park we stayed in on our two week vacation. The sites were gravel but level. Most of the sites had large trees. The laundry facilities, restrooms, and showers were exceptionally clean and looked fairly new. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were only here one night but wished we could have stayed a week. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
There is so much to say about this campground. As far as KOA's go, this particular KOA has come a long ways. First off, I have never been welcomed to any RV park like I was here. I was called Sir, they were top notch polite and they escorted me to my site. From there, it only got better. The staff were constantly on the move. Trimming trees, dumping trash etc. The store is well stocked, the Wi-Fi worked well. The bathrooms are outstanding. We caught a fish on the first cast! This KOA is under a "work in progress" mentality. Once they complete something, they want to raise the bar to the next level. It is by far the nicest KOA in SE Idaho. If I had any downside to this campground: it would be that I would love to see them pave the roads and add concrete pads to the sites. Our site had more weedy grass then grass, but that really is not a complaint. (I wouldn't be surprised if they pave sometime over the next couple of years). In addition, the road noise can be noticeably loud. This is not the KOA's fault and there is nothing they can do about it. When turning into the campground, vehicles must pass around you and it is only a two lane road. Can be slightly dangerous. Beyond that, this KOA is a nice place to stay. Some of the sites might be tight for a 40+ foot RV, however I wouldn't let that deter me. We love this campground and would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This was a wonderful KOA! We had a stream-side site, very peaceful. Bathrooms clean, pool clean, everything clean. Well spaced sites. Friendly staff. Fenced dog run. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
This is one of the neatest, cleanest RV parks you will ever find. The grounds are immaculate as are the laundry room and rest rooms. Each site has a large grassy area and trees. The owners and workers are very friendly, stopping to chat with us at our site. The setting is beautiful with a pretty stream running by the park. We extended our stay from one night to two because it was so pleasant. There is a large fenced dog area plus a nature trail to walk dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
This park is a real gem! It's a must stop and spend at least one night. We will spend two; one night each way to Yellowstone and back. Everything in the park is immaculate: the cleanest restrooms ever, easy in and out, beautifully mowed grass sites, everything is so green. And the sheep and llama in the field are an added bonus. The owners are very friendly as well as their workers. They run a good park. New cable TV in the park and the Wi-Fi worked well. The list just goes on and on. The value here for the price is definitely worth it when you see how beautiful this park is. If you are looking for a great place to kick-back and relax: this is the place for you! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$47
Well kept park with narrow gravel roads and sites. Only spent one night. Met our needs well. Pool very small. Quiet, minimal road noise. All utilities worked well and they have two sewer locations on many sites. Verizon cell good, could not get Verizon air card to connect so used park Wi-Fi which was good. Pleasant and helpful staff. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
Good park for an overnight. Has clean restrooms, no TV, and the WiFi worked part of the time. As with most KOA's, it's a little overpriced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
Rate was for a 50 amp full hookup, pull-thruough site with a KOA discount. This is a small, very clean and friendly campground located about 2.5 miles from town and the Oregon Trail Center. The entry into the campground is over a very short narrow bridge and the turns in the campground are tight, but we had no trouble with our 38 foot MH towing. Some of the sites are very close together and it will depend on the size RV next to you, how crowded you feel. We stayed 3 nights and the first night the campground was almost empty so we had no one next to us. The next 2 nights the campground was full: the first night a small camper and boat was hardly noticeable next to us, but the last night there was a large 5th wheel and we could feel the closeness. There is no TV or cable TV, but the Wi-Fi worked where our Verizon air card would not. If in this area again we would return, but also would make sure to make a reservation. We did not see any RV sites on the stream. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
Quiet little park in a peaceful setting. Very friendly staff. Spotless bathrooms. Great enclosed dog run. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
This was one of the nicest KOA's I have ever stayed at. Everything was clean! The park was family friendly. The staff were welcoming and helpful. They did a nice remodel job of the restrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
Beautiful setting - friendly, helpful owners. Clean everything, nice store, off-leash dog run, all amenities in a small park. Easy 5-6 hours out of Yellowstone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
An excellent location coming or going to Yellowstone.the new owners have upgraded everything. this is an excellent place for a day or longer. The town is very nice, only 1 1/2 miles from park. good golf course. $10.00 for 9 holes. Everyone is very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$46
Everyone here was extremely nice. The park was somewhat secluded and quiet. It was situated on a rushing stream that added to the atmosphere. It appeared the owners were re-investing in the property and making some nice additions and improvement. I would like to camp here again and just relax! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
This was a very nice campground. We stayed here on our way to the Grand Tetons. The sites were long and level. They even had a patch of grass at each site. The pool was clean. The owners and employees were extremely friendly and helpful. We would stay here again and recommend it to our friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
We stayed one night in this park. It is one of the cleanest KOA's we have been in. Management has upgraded an old park and added new sites. The restroom and shower areas are all new and kept very clean. Gravel sites are level and large enough for bigger rigs. The only downside are smoke rings which are located too close to rig sites which is a nuisance to fellow visitors who have to smell the odor of smoke in their rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
What a beautiful park! The sites have gravel pads with lush, green, sculpted grass to landscape each one. Each site has trees, a grill, and a new table. The owners, Stuart and Kathy, and the entire staff (wearing bright yellow shirts) are friendly, welcoming, and fun! The office, restrooms, showers and laundry are sparkling clean! At dusk, we enjoyed an air show put on by hummingbirds doing amazing aerial stunts that would please the Blue Angels and the Thunderbirds! We will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Very nice owners working hard to improve this already nice CG. New-ish pool, new pavilions, lots of new concrete walks. Ice cream and pancakes were good. Baths were spotless!! This CG is on a creek and has many shade trees. The only negative was a short pull through site, but at least no one on either side of us. We'll go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
Montpelier Creek KOA is the best KOA we stayed in on our trip this summer. The owners are working extra hard to update the 40-year old camp. New restrooms and showers make for a comfortable experience. There is new concrete everywhere - around the pool, in front of the new A-frame "office and store." Complimentary coffee and internet access are a bonus. The owners are friendly and accessible. An A+ experience! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Our second time at this park. New owners for this park have been doing lots of remodeling, new restrooms, new laundry. Management very friendly and helpful. Well stocked store. No problem parking at our site, but waited until we were in town before hooking up our tow car. One of the nicest KOA's we've stayed at, and will stay at it again when in we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$31
This park's good points are the beautiful, quiet setting, the friendly, helpful management and staff and the clean and attractive restrooms. Our site was in the back row, away from the highway and next to a pretty meadow. The park is 40 years old, however, and needs some serious updating. This would include, most importantly, adding 50 amp hookups. We blew the breaker several times trying to use our air-conditioning on 30 amp. The sites have side-by-side hookups, which few of us like. The sites are somewhat short for big rigs and the trees, although nice for shade, made getting into and out of sites very difficult. It required a lot of work to level our 5th wheel on our site. Additional washers and dryers are needed. The pool is very small and there were so many loud children in it at all times that we had no desire to use it. We would return only for a one-night stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com