224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Hard Rain Cafe and RV was rated 6 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (360) 374-9288
CGID7190

Hard Rain Cafe and RV

Camp Information
Sites
13
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   8   6   9   5   1   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
This park is all about location. It's close to the Hoh entrance to Olympic NP, but you have to drive a fairly narrow steep road to get there. Roads and sites were muddy even though it was dry season. Sewer connections had clearly overflowed and were no longer available. Restrooms seemed clean but were soaking wet and unappealing. There's no place to buy even simple groceries. We stayed till there were sites available in the national park and were very happy to move on to no services but a much nicer ambiance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
So, here’s the skinny. We stayed here for four days in Aug. We had made reservations for a full hookup site, but upon arrival was told there were none available due to septic tank issues. We were informed that we could however use their shower and toilet facility. We had dumped that day so not have a sewer hookup was not an issue. We were told to take any available site and settled on site 13. One of only two in a small back area. It was peaceful, quiet and very close to the Hoh Rain Forest which was why we were there. Most of the sites were right behind the store and closer to the road, which is dead when the park is closed. Later during our stay the owner told us they had just made a considerable investment in the shower and toilet facility, however that had over stressed the septic system and that they would no longer be offering full hookups. We spoke for quite a while and it is clear they are trying to make a go of a difficult situation. I told them they should update their website to reflect the lack of full hookups as well as correct the price, which was $25.00/night water and electric. Bottom line. We liked the place for its location and secluded location. They also had a large field behind the shower were the dogs could play Frisbee. We will be back, I just will know what to expect. As a side note. My Verizon smart phone worked great. The AT&T iPad was pretty useless. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Rather rustic campground with the basic hookups. (Sewer is only available if you stay two or more nights.) But it's a good jumping off point for a visit to the Hoh visitor's center if you need water/electric which isn't offered in the NP campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Here is the short list that kept this RV park rating at 9 instead of 10. 1. I had to wait about 5 minutes to "check-in" since there was only one worker. 2. The first morning I had to wait 5 minutes for the single bathroom because I did not know there is a toilet in the shower room and did not have the access code either. That’s it. In other words this is a great place although as far removed from every other RV park I have ever visited as you can imagine. This place is low-key. I mean really low-key. The employees do not stay on-site at all times, so they told us to just check in with them in the morning. One piece of advice, if you are going to do the same, ask for the shower access code. Then if you need to use the bathroom and it is occupied, you can use the one in the shower room. By the way, both the bathroom and shower are brand new. Actually almost brand new as they are still in work. Nice, tile floors and walls, and totally clean. The big item missing is anywhere to hang something in the shower area. I had to use door knobs, hinges, and the sink plumbing. Back to the low-key check in. All they asked is how many nights I was staying and if I wanted to use the sewer hookup ($30 with, $25 without). No license plate, no phone number, no address needed. They did not even ask for an email address! The setting is beautiful, just over 5 miles up Hoh River Road from highway 101. Even though you are right near the road, it is quiet all night. We were in spot 11 that was very easy to back into, and I am no expert. The other spots looked equally easy to get into. The park was only half full on a sunny July weekend so this place can still be considered as undiscovered. We saw a solo Roosevelt Elk doe one evening and thought ourselves lucky. But then at 8:30 on Monday morning I spotted an Elk in the field just across the road from the RV park, and then I noticed there were some more and more and more, about 40 in all, with several males and several young calves galloping around having a good time. They noticed me watching but stayed put until a Harley came chugging up the road. Then they all took off running that was fun to watch as well but I wished the Harley had waited a while longer before riding by. This place is definitely on our list for a return stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$19
The park has a new septic system, so previous reviews about the sewer are now old news. This campground is all about location, and their spot on the entrance to the Hoh rain forest is primo. We booked via phone after seeing their $19/nt rate on their website. When we arrived, we saw that the rates were $20/tent $25/WE $30/full hookup. I mentioned this to the girl behind the counter, and she apologized but said that they raised their rates after spending $20k on a new septic system. After I told her that she needed to update their website, she gave us the $19/nt rate from the website. Spots are back in, but easy enough to get into. Spot #10 was very level, the others look level also. Easy to pull in from road, but very poorly marked as to which driveway to pull in. Little café and store is nice. Water pressure is good. Each site has a picnic table and a small fire pit. While we were checking in, the gentleman working there started yelling at the girl behind the counter (assuming husband/wife) that they don't do full hookups for single night stays, only water/electric. He then went into a long diatribe about how overnighters save their waste and just use them as a dumping ground and put baby diapers all kinds of other nonsense into their septic. I'm assuming he's just smarting from the cost of the new septic system, but a very poor customer experience regardless. We didn't need to dump so we could care less, but be warned if you're an overnighter that you may not be able to get full hookups. The guy was pretty rude, and obviously not aware that customer service is key in this industry. We would not stay here again simply because of the gruff owner, however your mileage may vary if you are lucky enough to only deal with the girl behind the counter. We stayed here at peak time (July 13), and there were only 2 other RVs here. Not good if you're a campground owner, I think that the poor reviews here are not helping them out any. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Made reservations 8 months in advance and was told that camp sites had full hook-ups including sewer. After arrival we assessed the sites and noticed that there were no sewer hook-ups at any of the sites. When speaking to the owner we were informed that he shut down the sewer hook-ups because "campers" were making a mess, and he had no intention of re-opening the hook-ups. We then asked if there were shower facilities available and again the answer was no. Since we had five people in our RV, with no sewer and no shower facilities, we chose not to stay. The location was perfect for us, but unfortunately we did not find the owner friendly or accommodating, so we had to find another campground in the area. We would not recommend this campground to those who really need full hook-ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$19
We were disappointed in this RV camp based on previous reviews. Staff were friendly but the sites are not well maintained. Long grass and weeds lead to bees and bugs. We could not get the cap of the sewer connection and had to dump at our next stop. Aircard did work for computer. Close to rain forest a definite plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
This is a great little place, right next to the Hoh Rain Forest -- wonderful location. Very quiet. Lots of wildlife -- deer and elk. The bathrooms are kind of funky (otherwise this would be a 9 or a 10). There is absolutely nothing to do out here at night (which is why we like it). The people who run the cafe and RV park are very helpful, and the food at the restaurant is excellent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com