206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Rockwood Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (506) 652-4050
CGID7199

Rockwood Park

Camp Information
Sites
180
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   6   8   6   7   7   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
The area for big rigs was just a gravel parking lot-like area, but that was OK with us. It was very easy to pull into the site and our assigned space was long and wide. We just over nighted there. During our time, we walked through the marvelous park areas that are adjacent to the RV area. Saw beautiful lakes, a terrific children's playground, red barn with horses, lakeside restaurant, and more. Very user-friendly walking paths! (Whole area owned by the St John Horticultural Association.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This is a great campsite, in fact for a City park its excellent. Located in a beautiful setting in Rockwood Park its the perfect place to explore St John (5 minutes away by car) and the surrounding area of Fundy National Park and St Martin's. The back-in RV sites are very wide but a little tight front to back. The 30 amp power was consistent, water pressure great, restrooms and showers (free) clean, and the Wi-Fi was strong at #71 where we were parked. The gentleman who checked us in was a pleasure to deal with, was very knowledgeable about the whole area, and offered some great suggestions. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
For a city park campground it was nice. We got there right after a heavy rain and there was pooling as other reviews stated, but the staff seemed to only put campers in the higher/dry spots (it was not that busy since after Labor Day). Wi-Fi was horribly slow, water pressure at our site was good. Location is just great though - we took morning walks by a very nice lake about 50 meters from the campground office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
Rockwood has a great location for access to St. John and the surrounding area. The campground is located in Rockwood City Park. The main campground location where we stayed was very level and nicely graveled. Only drawback was water tended to pool after heavy rain but not muddy. No problem for DirecTV reception. Only found one TV station over the air. Cost wise this is one of the best deals in New Brunswick. Attendant at check in booth was very friendly and helpful. We used this as our hub for Sussex, St Martins and the Kingston Peninsula. We stayed here for two weeks and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This is the closest site to St John. There are no other options close by. The campground is run by the city. In the middle of a 2200 acre park. We were on site 73, which is one of a few full hook up sites. Lower numbers are closer to the showers, which is also the source of the Internet, which was very slow as other reviewers have said. This is a gravel parking lot with limited grass growing through. When we arrived it had rained for 5 days. Many sites were flooded as the gravel has poor drainage. We struggled to position our 43' RV so that we didn't step out into large puddles. Sites are only 40', but are 30' wide. Sites share a utility pole at the back of the site, so you will need at least a 25' sewer hose and possibly a 30-35 power cable. No problem for big rigs in or out. No cable, no 50 amp. Water pressure is low. Over the air antenna has two channels. This city site has quite a lot of permanent campers with commercial pick ups, and there are a couple of families with commercial asphalt trucks. These two sites look horrible. You can hear the railroad, but it is in the distance. While we were here the weather was constant rain and fog, but when the weather is better there are a lot of hiking and cycling trails within the park. The Reversing Falls are fantastic, the city of St John is not very interesting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Very nice campground and very nice staff. The only caution is that if you have a tow-vehicle, be cautious, there are significant hills, especially the main entrance (about a 10% grade). Lovely staff and the little park at the entrance is very nice. WI-FI worked great and had plenty of room to pull in 37' with a big tow vehicle. We will stay there again and would recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
Sites are in a large open gravel field that grass is slowly covering. Older sites have some shade. There is none in the lower area. Beautiful park, pond, walking trails. 5 minutes from downtown. Only downside is no 50 amp. Good Wi-Fi signal. We stayed a week and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
This is a nice campground in a Saint John Municipal park located 5 minutes from the center of town. Sites are gravel/grass, fairly level, and reasonably roomy. Although there is no pool, there is a swimming beach on the nearby lake. WiFi was weak from our site (#38). The roadways coming into to the park from the Trans Canada Highway and the city are through a residential neighborhood and quite hilly. The signs showing the route are small and may be hard to spot. There is a restaurant in Rockwood Park, a short hike from the campground. There is an attendant or security guard at the campground gate 24/7. This is a good location for exploring Saint John and the Bay of Fundy area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Good campground with plenty of space for big rigs. Good paved roads and Rockwell Park is a lovely place. Good walks and bike tracks and also there is lake swimming. However, St. John itself is not a very pretty place. There was so much construction going on it made any trip into the town very unpleasant. I was happy to stay in Rockwell park and just chill out. There are plenty of "overnighters" using this park on route to Nova Scotia I think, so plenty of coming and going. Overall a very good place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
We stayed here for two nights. If you follow the directions in Woodall's Guide, you will have no trouble finding it, but you have to trust where the signs are telling you to go. The campground is in a beautiful park. There are two kinds of sites to choose from. We were in the flats to be near the bathrooms and the Wi-Fi which is fast at non-peak hours. There are other wooded sites available for travel trailers, pop-up campers, tents, and Class C campers. All sites are very roomy and flat. Bathrooms/showers are clean and maintained. Staff at the front gate are friendly and helpful. It is very convenient to shopping, groceries, Reversing Falls, and downtown. The park itself has nice biking and hiking trails, along with swimming in two locations and a restaurant at the pavilion. The price is very good. We would definitely come here again and may, on our way back from Nova Scotia. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
This is basically a big parking lot with utilities. It is, however, close to the attractions in Saint John and access is easy. We found the water pressure quite low and the Wi-Fi was quite weak. We would stay again however just for the convenience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Weekly rate is very good, 7 nights for $140 dollars. The campground offers not much but is a good, quiet place to camp, sleep and make trips around. Sure a recommendation but don't think it is fancy. Very good restaurant on walking distance, and a very nice park to walk or bike. We biked into Saint John and to the reversing falls (little hills!). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Yes- it is essentially a gravel parking lot but where else can you find a campground almost in the middle of a city surrounded by a beautiful park? Rockwood Park has numerous hiking trails, an excellent restaurant in the park, and you are close enough to downtown to enjoy all there is in Saint John. The campground hosts were great and we would stay here again if we are ever fortunate enough to come back to New Brunswick. I gave it an 8 only because the utilities are in difficult places. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
Essentially they spread gravel over the area. No attempt to level. I suppose when it was developed, it was OK for travel trailers. Sites are not very deep. Was originally given a pull through for our 40' with tow. Then asked about Wi-Fi. Had to take a 2 way site near the laundry in order to get it in the rig. Even 20' away it is only "good". It is fast, however. Looks like they have planted a few trees a few years ago. In 20 years they might provide some shade. If it were not the only place nearby we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Basically a gravel pit, quiet even with a lot of worker rigs and gravel trucks. OK for 2 days of sight seeing but not too many redeeming features. General area has interesting things to see. Easy to access of Highway #1 either west or east. Wi-FI absolutely is the poorest we have had on this trip yet. They wanted to put us in an electric and water site only. I asked if we got a reduced rate for no sewer as they charge same rate for all, conveniently they found a 3 service site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Directions on website and in campground books are fine but not as easy as it sounds. As we drove around St. John, we noticed that heading east would be more difficult as you go on 100 which isn’t well marked. We stayed in the gravel area but had a site along the edge between two seasonals; very close to bathhouse and laundry. The larger sites have a post that serves 4 sites, each with its own power plug and water faucet on the post, and no sewer. If you get on the wrong side of the post you’ll need an extension for both power and water. Sewer sites are the next row and only back to back. The Wi-Fi worked fine for us as we were near the laundry room where the antenna is located. Bath house is clean but very old. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
This is not a destination RV park, but it is very good for one or two night's stay. The roads are easy navigated, and the campsites are large enough for big rigs. This RV park is your basic parking lot with hook-ups. However, the surrounding city park is lovely with lots of activities. There are several confusing turns getting to the park, so one must pay close attention to the signs and directions. Wi-Fi was excellent, broadcast TV was very poor, but our DirecTV disk worked very well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
This place probably deserves a better rating than I have given it. What brings it down is the difficulty in following either GPS, map or signs in getting to the place. The streets in this city are like no other in the world. You have to go miles and through several overpasses just to go around the block. Be rested and ready to get lost a few times. The campground is course gravel in a bare field. The surrounding park is charming. If you have to be or stopover in St. John, this is the park to visit. Otherwise keep moving. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
Going westbound the directions for getting here in the Trailer Life Directory were perfect so we had no trouble finding it. Also, along the right side of the road soon after exiting the highway there are several small blue/white signs with a trailer, a directional arrow, and the word "Rockwood" that lead to the park. Our GPS system did put the campground on a road paralell and just before the road for the campground. But with the name of the road in hand I realized that we had to go one road more before we turned right on Lake Drive South. We stayed in the gravel area sites, which are not so attractive, but are generous in width. Because one utility post serves 4 sites, each with its own plug and water faucet on the post, you may need an extension cord and extra hose depending on where you locate your rig within the individual site. The laundry room has large capacity washers and dryers, and the dryer ran long enough to completely dry a load of jeans without having to put it through another drying cycle. The Wi-Fi worked fine for us as we were near the laundry room where the antenna is located. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
Rockwood Park is a huge city park on the west side of Saint John. The campground contains a large, ugly gravel area with full hookups where most RV’er stay, many of whom are local workers. There is a wifi tower on the laundry/washroom facility, but it did not work when we were there, so we sought a more scenic site, and found a section on the edge of a cliff overlooking Saint John that had only three precious 30-amp sites (the rest were 15 amp). We had a great panorama of all of Saint John and out to the ocean beyond. We enjoyed this site a lot. Had we been stuck in the large gravel lot area it would not have been very pleasant, wifi or no. At the time it was filled with workers doing business in town. The hookup worked fine and our Dish Satellite came in where we were. There was some city noise and train noise, but that was part of the excitement. Rockwood Park has miles of trails, a golf course, zoo, information centre, etc. It’s only a 5-minute drive to Uptown Saint John (which confusingly is the downtown), one of the only nice areas in this heavily industrialized city. Take the historic walking tours, visit the market and the museums. The famous reversing falls takes place in another section of town, along the Saint John River, about 10 minutes drive from the park. Because of the Bay of Fundy’s extreme tides, rapids are created in the Saint John River to compensate for the water level change, and the direction of the rapids is determined by whether the tide is going in or out. It is a gradual change, with slack water in between the changes. A visitor’s center and observation deck next to the free bridge (not the Hwy 1 toll bridge) has a movie, restaurants overlooking the river, and helpful documents. It is good to watch from this side, since there is a large ugly factory along the river that you see if you look from the other side. Another park across the river gets you down close to the rapids, and daredevils can take jet boats from there that go directly into the raging rapids and around whirlpools. Expect to get jolted around intensely and very wet! There are also tamer tours. We also enjoyed walking around Irving Park along the Bay in the south end of town. We would stay here again because of the location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
We stayed 3 days in our 5th wheel. This has the potential for being a great camp ground as it is centrally located and easy access off the freeway. Problems: You can not make reservations and all the sewer sites are filled with permanent trades people. This leaves power/water and a pump out service that charges $15/ pump out!!! If you have a smaller rig and don't care about sewer there are a few sites on the hill overlooking St.John and harbor Spectacular View!!! Voiced my concerns to the campground manager and even sent a E-mail to the mayor ( No Answer). They should have 10 sites with sewer for transient- tourists. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
This is a very convenient park for exploring Saint John, plus a sightseeing bus stops in the park. The overnighter area is basically a big flat gravelled area but we were able to get WIFI from our site. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$29
This campground is basically a flat parking area heavily covered with crushed stone and with "sites" marked out by spray painted lines. It's a stopping point on the way to other places. The park itself may have other features to recommend it, but the campground is not one that I would use for a long stay. OK for overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
A clean, tidy acceptable RV Park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
The location of this park is suitable for anyone wishing to spend a few days in the area to see the sights. But be prepared for some challenges. Whoever designed this park didn't have a clue. The sites are jammed together, most of which are not close to being level. The hook-ups, water, power and sewer connections are placed such that those for 4 sites are grouped together. Extensions for power cord, and or water hose and or sewer hose will be required in order to complete all connections. Campers are allowed to select their own sites, thankfully. Staff somewhat indifferent. The young lady at check in stated "Drive in and look around and if you don't like it, leave and go somewhere else." Not recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
We were not overly excited about this place other than it was close to the area attractions. RV area is nothing but a gravel parking lot for the most part. WIFI was available from RV if parked close to the laundry area. The majority of sites are electricity and water only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
This park is run by the local agriculture district. Generally clean and cared for. Has a wide variety of sites. Pull throughs were on gravel with very little grass, some side by side. Back-ins were nicer with some grass. Close to City area, and easy to find with Map Quest. Nothing fancy but clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com