223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Tulelake - Butte Valley Fairgrounds was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (530) 667-5312
CGID7201

Tulelake - Butte Valley Fairgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   6   8   7   8   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
This is a pretty campground that meets our needs for an overnight stay. Two issues drop the rating from an 8 to 7. Also, as I write more reviews, I find that I'm more discriminating between overnight campgrounds vs destination campgrounds. I tend to be more forgiving of 1-night stands. The grass sites are reasonably level and easy to access. There are about 24 full hookup sites and dozens more can be accommodated in various electric/water/dry combinations during major events. We were the only ones there during our one-night stay. The electric/water/sewer connections are new and in good condition. I liked that they are all set into concrete foundations and not just sprouting out of the grass like some weeds. The bathrooms were very clean but had no hot water. The regular rate is listed on Passport America as $30-$36 but the price posted on the "Iron Ranger" was $18 for both PA and the regular rate. We didn't bother to ask about it since we were only staying 1 night. Customer service is lacking and indifferent. They weren't rude, just didn't care. When asked about the hot water, the man replied he had used it last week and it was fine. I'm a stickler for customer service so that dropped their rating by a full point. The ranger and the intern at the Tule Lake WWII Japanese Internment Camp Memorial were both very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
We had the campground entirely to ourselves and it was so-o-o quiet. We are behind the fairground buildings in a very grassy site and the utilities work very well. It's only problem is the bath/shower rooms which haven't recovered from the recent county fair and are not very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
The sites aren't really pull through, unless you drive on the grass behind them. This park is behind a fair grounds. It had good power, water and sewer and was a quiet place to spend a night. It is not far from Lava Beds National Monument. There was a good Verizon 4G signal. The sites are on grass and are not very level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
This is strictly a no frills park pretty much in the middle of nowhere. It appears about 90% of stores downtown are boarded up and out of business. The park itself is on the fairgrounds. Sites are grass, mostly level. Some can be used as pull through, the rest back ins. Sites relatively close together. Full hookups (30 amp) for $18, with no cable (picked up a number of channels through antenna), no Wi-Fi (my sprint hotspot had zero bars). Bathrooms were fairly new but poorly maintained. No staff was seen during the one night stay. Self service check in at kiosk. Calls to published number went unanswered before arrival. Very quiet and peaceful for a good nights rest. If you are going this way and need an inexpensive, quiet place to spend a night and do not need any amenities this isn't a bad spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
This was a really nice park. I gave it an 8 because there really isn't much around there. It is very well kept & the grass was so thick & green. There are only 1 or 2 big trees, so it is sunny there. You do park on the grass so if you have jacks make sure you have something to go under them. They have full hookups including some with 50 AMPs. I only saw about 20 ish sites, but maybe they have more somewhere else. We were one of 3 RVs there. It was extremely quiet at night when we were there. You're very close to the National Lava Beds, which is why we stopped there. We got great phone & wi-fi from Verizon. We would definitely stay there again if we were in the area. You sure don't get full hookups for $18 in many places, especially one as nice as this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
Very well maintained camping area, nicely landscaped, and friendly staff. There is also a NPS Ranger office here for information on the Lava Beds National Monument and the former WWII segregated internment camp. Ranger gives fee tour of the internment camp. Eleven miles from Lava Beds N.M. Small town with gas, supermarket, hardware store. Get diesel in Merrill, 7 miles away in Oregon. Our antenna got 11 great stations and our Verizon air card got good reception. We would stay here anytime we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
Nice campground. Grassy and relatively level. We stayed for one night on our way to Oregon. I am a light sleeper and the nearby irrigation pump was going all night. I didn't rest well. But overal for the price it is worth a night's stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
I was very pleasantly surprised upon arrival. Having stayed at a few fairgrounds in the past, I know that not all of them are nicely kept, but most of them are well priced. The photo on the Fairgrounds website does not do the RV sites justice. I stayed in mid June after a wet spring and was amazed at how green and well kept the entire property is. The grass is nearly pristine and well groomed. No fly or mosquito problems, though there were a lot of gnats. There are new restrooms with showers open on the property. I was the only person at the RV sites for my entire 3 night stay. The sites are close together and there are really only about 24 30-amp full hookup sites, but there is plenty of room for people who want to dry camp since the whole property is grass covered. If there are not many people on property, you will be able to have space between you and your neighbor. I found the park easy to find with several signs posted to guide you to the RV sites. The sites are mostly level and easy to back into. I'm not sure why the prior reviewer didn't do so since there is plenty of room for rigs of all sizes. If there had been a lot of rain, there may be an issue with standing water. The utility connections are like new. It is a great spot to stay when visiting Lava Beds National Monument. Tulelake has only a tiny market and a single expensive gas pump. If you arrive well stocked and with plenty of fuel, you should be happy at this fairgrounds. There is a self pay station at the entry. You can also call ahead to the fairgrounds office to ask how busy the RV sites may be during your planned stay, though I do not believe that they accept reservations. There is no camp host. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
This is a nice quiet campground and a great value for the price. (Their website said $16, but the sign at the self-pay station said $18, for a full hookup with 30 amp.) I counted 17 sites with hookups,and I would consider them all to be back-ins. The sites are all grass and are less than 20' wide from one utility hookup to the next, could be a little tight for slideouts. There were only 3 rigs here when we camped, and we all parked parallel to the drive (90degrees to the sites), and were able to reach all the hookups. There's an interesting Museum of Local History located at the fairgrounds, it includes artifacts and buildings from the WWII Japanese-American Internment Camp. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$13
I agree with the prior reviewer, this campground was a pleasant surprise. There were about 24 FHU (30 amp electricity) and 6 Water only (20 amp electricity) sites. The interior road was gravel that ended at the dump station. All sites were on grass, some more level then others. All of the utilities were on a cement pad that was positioned closer to the front of the site. Each site had a little space between the next one. None of the sites had a picnic table or a BBQ stand. There are two bathrooms with showers, but only one was open this time of year. The bathroom was clean but utilitarian and contained 3 showers. Verizon cell phone and air card worked well here. This fairground had basic amenities and was priced right. The normal price for a FHU is $26 but the city reduced it to $16 and if you have a Passport America card the price is $13. It was very quiet at night. We would definitely come back here if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
This place was a pleasant surprise, given the low ratings it got in Trailer Life directory. No amenities, but we got full hookup for their "Recession Rate" of $16 per night. And though parked on grass, it was level with a spectacular view across the fields to the distant hills in the west. Lots of nearby birding (Klamath NWR) and Lava Beds also close by. Very peaceful and terrific for the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$8
We stopped here because it is Passport America. There are about 30 sites and there were only two of us there. Nice, level, grass sites with full hookups, but no amenities. They don't have WiFi, which we need, but we only had to go about a block to the office parking lot to get it. We spent July 4th here and enjoyed it very much. We went to the "Demolition Derby" and watched the fireworks right outside our rig. We even had an air show each morning with an old double winged crop duster flying low right near our rig. Not much to do in Tulelake, but Klamath Falls, OR is just 20 miles away with WalMart and other stores and restaurants. We liked the peace and quiet so much we stayed a few extra days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com