220017 User submitted reviews online!!
Lewis & Clark State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (712) 423-2829
CGID7205

Lewis & Clark State Park

Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   9   8   6   5   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$16
On a lake, very quiet and pleasant campground. We stayed in an electric only site. The bathhouse is older but up to usual state park standards. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
Beautiful park with trees. Good spacing between sites. Nice lake views. Close to interstate but no road noise. Looks like it could be rowdy for the weekends. People check out whenever they want, ignoring checkout time. Fire rings full of garbage and left over food. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$11
An excellent state park. Lots of waterfront sites (but not the Missouri River). Paved, fairly level sites. Hardly anybody there in mid-week. Quiet but easy access to/from I-29. A few antenna TV stations, and we picked a spot on the south end so our sat TV would work. It did. Verizon cell worked fine. Rate is for electric only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
A nice park just a few miles off I-29 with waterfront sites you can reserve ahead, modern and clean restrooms with showers, and a replica of the Lewis & Clark keelboat in the water within walking distance. No Wi-Fi. Got over-antenna TV channels well. There seemed to be a lot of units near us facing the lake with no occupants, so we guessed that they come out on weekends. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Late night check in with directions were very clear and easy to follow. Restroom and laundry facilities were very clean. Lake was beautiful. The pool looked clean and very inviting, although we didn't have time to swim. Large trees provided shade, but weren't located such that it was difficult to park. Very small 'store' that sold some necessities including ice. We would return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
This was our 3rd stay here and there have been many physical changes for the better. However, there used to be a park attendant to take the money and oversee the grounds. Now, there is an envelope payment system which is very confusing. There is a "host camper" during the evening to sell wood. People are allowed to come and pay for a site but don't have to occupy it. This is a nice park with lots of shade trees and grass. It is easy to find and close to the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$19
After reading the reviews we expected a very nice state campground and were a bit disappointed. We had to move to 3 different sites trying level and never really were able to get leveled. The showers were filthy and we were told the water only ran hot so we didn't use them. The campground has a lot of trees which provided shade but they were so thick there was not the slightest breeze which made it muggy. We used this as an overnight stay but would find someplace else next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$16
We pulled in early on a Friday afternoon and there were plenty of sites available (all types) although it became very full for the weekend later in the day. There are several very large pull-through sites and also sites directly lake front and backing up to the woods. Only problem were mosquitoes! Was self-pay; did not see hosts. Electricity was good; water throughout the park. The Lewis & Clark Visitor Center to be opened here in the future. Could be rather noisy with lots of kids, boats, bikes, etc. Close enough to I-29 for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$21
This park appears to be a little-known gem, based on the few people using it when we visited mid-summer. Over 100 large, well-spaced sites are available, with about 40% under reservation and the remainder first-come-first-served. All sites have 20/30/50 amp electric service and water is available from spigots placed throughout the park and at the two-lane dump station. Most are level, well-packed gravel back-ins. One row is all 80'+ paved FHU pull-throughs. Many of the back-in sites are right on Blue Lake, a remnant oxbow from the nearby Missouri River. The park includes information on the Lewis and Clark Expedition, and a new Visitor's Center and display area should be open in 2011. There isn't a specific dog run, but we had no issues with our pets. The cost noted includes the non-refundable online reservation fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$19
Beautiful site on Blue Lake. Rate was FHU. Great place for dog to swim. Showers ran by pushbutton with a choice of hot, hotter, and scalding. Interesting historical displays. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$21
What a beautiful park! Plenty of room, nice level spots, fire pits with grills, lake, playground... All utilities were OK. Onawa is a pretty town with all necessary provisions, for laundry drive about 7 miles up 10th street. Eat at Charlie's Good time Cafe & Malt Shop - friendly and delicious. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
Nice state park. Easy sites to get in/out. Very quiet in April. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$14
If we could always stay at places like this and a price like this, we'd be in Camper Heaven! Our price was reduced because of 'off season' but our scenery was as good as it gets; the geese were as noisy as they can be; the peace and quiet were unbeatable. There is a boat launch and a swimming beach but since it was October (and we don't have a boat), we didn't use either. Onawa is a nice little sprawled-out midwestern town; nearest laundry is in Whiting, about 10 minutes away. Indian casino about 5 minutes away. Propane and diesel available at Dave's World, a small truck stop/restaurant next to the exit. We would have stayed much longer but winter's moving in! Would definitely stay here again...and again...and again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Beautiful, shaded, spacious park with a great lake for water activities. There is a full-sized keelboat replica anchored at the dock for "hands-on" exploration. Very convenient to I-29. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
We loved this park. We were here in the fall and there were at least 800 Canada geese on the lake. The sites are on grass and you park right up against the lake. We liked it so well that we ended up extending our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$19
Very nice overnight spot. Easy access from I-29. They have about 12 paved full hook up sites with 50 amp.(newer section only 3 years old) Volunteer here said power in other sections of park was iffy but there were lots of people plugged in. Very nice Lewis and Clark display and security was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$19
Lewis and Clark campground is a great place to spend a leisurely vacation in the outdoors. The 112 campsites, 100 with electrical hookups and 12 with full hook-up, lie along the lakeshore. Modern rest rooms and showers are available, as is a trailer dump station. Advance campsite reservations can be booked through the park reservation system or by calling toll free 1-877-IAPARKS. Half of the campsites are available on a first-come, first-serve basis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com