221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Uniontown KOA (formerly Rivers Edge Campground) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (724) 628-4880
CGID7232

Uniontown KOA (formerly Rivers Edge Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
168
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   6   5   10   8   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
This was a halfway point going to and coming from Gettysburg. Making reservations, I had to stay 2 nights each way for some reason, but that was OK. I've camped for 50 years all over and this is a decent KOA. Close to a river camping, out of the way area, no highways, clean, friendly people, rental for kayaks, tubes for river, nice store and deli for pizza and hand dipped icecream. Small access roads to it, barely room for two rigs to get by each other, very active railroad tracks just across the river, but no whistles. Both my sites were more hard earth than gravel, my slide out stuck the first time after a rain. Sites are fair, somewhat close to neighbor, little shade at sites, truck rim fire pits. My first site had a 60 degree elbow for the sewer hook up, so I had to modify a spare hose and get a second person to help dump. Not so bad but leaves an impression. A lot of permanent sites. I guess it is very popular locally. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$41
We stayed here back in 2012 and rated the park a '6'. It was under new ownership at the time. What a difference 2 years made for this campground! Although sites are still tight, many new amenities were added and the place is very nice. New bath houses, new patio sites, lots of activities and the staff is super friendly. Looks like another expansion going on across the bike path. The new owners obviously know what the campers are looking for and seem to be providing it. Our site had cable, decent Wi-Fi, and the hookups were where they needed to be. Could use a few shade trees for the playground and sandbox. The equipment gets so hot in the full sun. We look forward to returning now. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$15
We paid by the month $450 plus electric. Loved this campground! Wi-Fi was strong, our spot was level and spacious. Nice playground, basketball court, horse shoes, game room and huge sandbox. Canoes and kayaks for rent. Activities on the weekends for the kids. Small cafe and store. Propane refill on site, leave bottle in front of your camper and they will fill it up and bring it back. Garbage pickup, just leave it at front of your camper. We became friends with 2 of the park attendants, who are awesome people and spoiled our son. I would have gave this campground a 10 but there were holes in the roads but not bad ones. We would definitely stay here again!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Did a one night stay during the week to see what the campground was like after a friend told us about it. They are usually very busy during the weekends. Grounds were clean and sites were fairly level but very cramped. We stayed in a riverfront site which had a nice view of the water but it is a drop-off to the water's edge. You need to keep an eye on any little ones. There seems to be a lot of permanent sites, including an area where the workers doing some drilling in the are are staying. They rent canoes and inner tubes for floating down the river but not after 3pm. Since check-in is after 2pm, you really cannot take advantage unless you are staying several nights. Bike trail runs right next to campground and is very nice. Bathrooms were fairly clean and showers are separate. There is only 1 bath house and it is a fairly long walk from the 'premium' river sites to get to. They need another bath house for sure. Staff was very friendly. No cable, no Wi-Fi, poor reception on TV antenna (you are in a valley). Pool was clean and well maintained. There are train tracks across the river that are very active. I think we heard a train run up or down the hill at least every other hour, including all night. Not the fault of the campground but I don't know how anyone in a tent could sleep. Noticed some open alcohol consumption near our site and one group across the field that was a little loud after hours. Our sewer connection was 20' forward of where it normally would be in a back-in site. Had to hook-up and pull forward to get within 15' to dump. The road in and out is narrow and winding. Had to pull into the grass on the way in so other campers could pass on their way out. If the sites were larger, they added a few more amenities like cable and another bath house, this could be a great campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Decent size store and snack bar area. Also has a nice pool area that is very clean. Small fee to use Wi-Fi. Sites are small and close together. Would not go back due to too many blasting stereos, barking dogs, and visibly intoxicated individuals. Very active set of rail road tracks a stone's throw from this campground. Also, no restrictions on breed of dogs permitted. A pit bull attacked another dog while we were here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$46
This campground is a great place to do a short weekend trip. The sites along the river are great. They have a lot of activities for the kids. All the bathrooms and showers have been updated. The Yough Bike trail run throw the campgrounds. The scavenger hunt was a big hit with my kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$64
Overall a nice park with lots of activities in area. Park is clean, bathrooms and showers are nice. The waterfront sites are nice but very tight. The sites are small and pricey. Nightly charge was $50 plus $14 for my two twenty year old sons, very expensive for a small site with campers packed in on top of one another. Could use second bathhouse at other end of campground far walk if your down that end. Staff was friendly and helpful. It's right on Great Passage bike trail which was great. My only complaint was the high cost and size of sites. As others have said, road in is steep and winding, check your brakes before you embark. I plan on returning but during week, less expensive and hopefully not as packed in. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$42
Park has been updated in the last few years (for locals this is not the same old Rivers Edge of years gone by). Big improvement. Had a new back in site along the Yough. River. If you have an RV with a rear view window like ours it was beautiful. I thought it was a little pricy for Fayette County, however the trash was picked up promptly and the staff was helpful. I wanted to ride the bike trail that runs along this campground and needed some air for my bike tires. The staff took me right to the air line to properly inflate my tires. For about $35 you can contract with a local company and canoe down the river for about two hours leaving from the campground. They will then bring you back to the campground. Simply a nice ride for those wanting to just paddle down a quiet river in a canoe. Playground was newer and in nice shape. Pool looked like it had a new liner and the concrete around the pool was all straight and level. The store was nice having most items usually needed for a camping along with live bait for fishing and a nice hand dipped ice-cream shop too. Fishing was very convenient from our sites, simply walk out the door and cast your line. Beware the state fish commission checked everyone the day we were there for proper fishing licenses. The state stocks this river and they check to see if folks are legally fishing. This campground sits in a valley by a river. There is a steep hill coming down into the valley that has some turns. It is a paved two lane and could be considered a pull coming out. Very nice campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
We really liked Rivers Edge! Our site was next to the river with an active railroad track on the other shore. The weather was warm enough to sit outside next to the campfire with our favorite beverages and watch the river and the trains. The campsite was reasonably level and the hookups were easily accessible. The sewer hookup at our site was raised making dumping kind of interesting. Fortunately, the folks behind us left so I used the sewer for that site and it was much easier. The campground has a snack bar with ice cream. Be sure to ask Susie to make you a milkshake. She's an expert! Rivers Edge is convenient to a couple of Frank Lloyd Wright houses. As I said at the beginning, this place is wonderful. Rivers Edge is right on a terrific rail trail bike path that runs for miles along the river. We liked it enough to stay an extra day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$49
This park is average in most respects although the river and the bike trail make it a better than average park. Our site was one of the new river front sites. Very nice view from camper of the river. We live locally and this is a nice park if you want to spend time in the river. A good weekend destination for canoe trips and spending a lazy day in the water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
This campground is one of my favorites for a quick weekend get a way. Many people complain about the regular trains that travel along the other side of the river, but other than that, it is a nice family friendly campground at a reasonable rate. This is not really a 'turn the kids loose run wild' resort type campground. It is a place to enjoy the river (which in itself inherently requires diligent parenting) and the bike trail, then hang out by the fire. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
The campground had just opened for the season and things were in a state of change -- to put it mildly. The new owners are making significant changes and upgrades -- and from the looks of things the campground really needed it. There are cut-down trees and tree branches all over the place, however our site was clear. The campsite is directly on the Youghiogheny River and has great views. There's swimming in the river, but there are boat and canoe/kayak launch ramps available. There are tent sites available directly on the river's edge. All day long there are CSX freight trains passing by on the other side of the river. This made for a very noisy evening when trying to either listen to music or watch TV. The temperature went down to 25 degrees late the night we stayed there and as a result, our local water hose and the water line were total frozen in the morning when we woke up. It made for an awful process of unhooking everything and getting things put away prior to leaving. Despite the trains going by and the unfortunate freezing weather, we think this campground will only improve and we would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$99
River's Edge is great canoe or float trip service. When river is not too high or low, ideal length and skill for young and first-time floating families. River scenery from tent sites is amazing however only 2 or 3 RV sites offer a good view as well. And you get a great look at each passing train, the kids loved racing to the river to count the cars. Someone counted ninety. We are a tenting family with young children and mostly visit Maryland State Parks. Our reason for being here was to introduce another family to the sport of camping with the hopes they would love it too. We rented one cabin and a couple tent sites, in total we were 3 families. They loved the tent sites so much they no longer wanted the cabin so we took it, glad they were so enthusiastic. But the nighttime trains and trembling ground caused no sleep. We adults laughed it off, comparing bags under the eyes, but the children were not happy campers after this. Next time we will go to the Maryland State Parks. Although I rated this campground better than average on many points, the overall score is low because the consecutive nighttime noise and sleeplessness ruined the beauty. There is no mention of trains on the website. Also, there are many rules here regarding noise level, quiet hours, barking dogs which can be a good thing. But the nighttime raccoon hunting dogs across the river, volunteer fire department siren and the railroad didn't read the rules. If you want a peaceful sleep, bring earplugs. The cabins are new and clean, but think small, crammed, backyard playhouse for idea of size. We chose not to use shower for fear of flooding floor and loosing deposit. But the kitchen is easier to use. Bring your own utensils to be safe. We stayed in cabin 2 which has beautiful view down to river. But if a huge group is also there, that will be your view. The largest of the 3 cabins is in the RV section. Only use caution with using these because they are not family friendly in construction quality. The tent sites have beautiful trees. Ideal setting. But next door neighbors are too close and showers, flushable toilets, clean water are too far away. Also, the river ledge is at your feet. Be prepared to watch children continuously. These are not family-friendly. The RV sites are very close together with few trees closer to the river. Mostly this is like a parking lot. The swimming pool was clean & well kept. The showers are private stalls, with a mat at shower section, separate from toilets. The somewhat clean but outdated condition makes it appear very dirty. State park campgrounds offer more updated facilities. The camp shop has reasonable prices, limited necessities. Full groceries 3 miles to Connellsville. For answers to any questions over the phone, speak directly with the owner or manager. And I suggest a quick visit in advance if details are important. There were some issues here regarding our reservations, but management had a somewhat customer friendly attitude. So if you come, bring earplugs. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
This campground is a diamond in the rough, because of its absolutely wonderful location on the river with the bike trail passing right by. That made our stay very enjoyable, although its management is just not good. The pool was closed for repairs and actually the whole place needed lots of maintenance, which is too bad. It appears they are backyard mechanics and are struggling to do everything themselves. We were there on Memorial Day weekend and surprisingly, it wasn't overly noisy. There were many permanent campers so after the weekend crowd pulled out, we were basically there by ourselves. Six days in and the garbage was still overflowing and smelling, grass was mowed just on the level spots and not trimmed, and restrooms and showers were as bad as any we've seen so we didn't use them. We probably would look for another campground that accesses the bike trail next time around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
We liked and enjoyed our stay at the park, however, I had a few complaints. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and set up our site and started preparing dinner. Shortly after, the pavilion next to us hosted a really loud (not very good) local band playing Skynard covers (other country songs, too). Each time they took a break and came back, they sounded worse! This went on until 10:00 p.m. I thought that was a little long as I was tired and wanted to go to sleep. Our neighbors (a little too close for comfort), seemed to be there only to party and had no concern for the environment or for attracting wildlife with all of their food strewn all over the place. They were noisy late into the night. That being said, on Sunday, everyone seemed to clear out and we were able to enjoy the rest of our stay in relative peace and quiet. The tent sites are located right on the edge of the river and we could easily walk down to get into the water for rafting or swimming. River's Edge has a good sized swimming pool that never seemed crowded. A bonus on hot July days. Their bathrooms, while I don't expect campsite bathrooms to be works of art, were rustic at best, and actually very dirty. However, I liked the fact that the showers were situated in several of their own rooms, instead of inside the actual bathrooms. We never had a problem with lines for the bathrooms, but the only restroom facilities they have for tenters are near the office and the pool. You have to walk a short distance to get to them. An equal distance away for our use were a few port-a-potties. I chose to walk to the restrooms. The camp store featured all the amenities we could possibly need, and at pretty decent prices, I think. Only problem there is that the store didn't open until 9:00 on the weekends and not until 11:00 on the weekdays. This is where you needed to go to rent rafts, etc. also. I thought they should be open a little earlier. Similarly, the game room for the kids was running all day with no one in it (the kids are all at the pool or the river during the day!), but come nightfall, when my kids were ready to visit it, they shut it down! All in all, I would visit the site again, it was easy to find, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was prime. We ended up having a great time! We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com