214832 User submitted reviews online!!
Pioneer River Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (830) 796-3751
CGID7234

Pioneer River Resort

Camp Information
Sites
147
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   9   2   9   4   9   9   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$29
Stayed 2 nights. RV site, utilities, and overall park well maintained. Too cool to use pool or spa but clean and ready to go when warmer. Enjoyed annual Pioneer appreciation day hosted by Chiken Coop in town...food, drink, and dancing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
The managers are two of the rudest people we have ever met. The sites are so close together that you can't put out your awning. The only thing good about this park is you can walk to town - but I would NEVER stay here again. In the 7 years we have been RV'ing, this is the worst park ever! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
Stayed 5 nights and loved this place. Stayed here years ago and the park is in much better shape than I remembered. Very clean park with excellent facilities, even had place to wash cars. Everyone, including office people were very friendly to us. Great location at edge of town, walk to places even 11th Street Cowboy Bar. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
The owners must have looked long and hard to find such rude, obnoxious managers. The sites are very close together and only a few have shade. Our site was pretty level though. During our stay, they had a power problem (overload?) and it blew the electrical systems in three RVs. Their attitude was "stuff happens." The swimming pool looked nice and clean, although we didn't use it. The best thing here is the location in the middle of Bandera. We will never stay here again, since there's a lovely park at the other end of town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$23
This is our 2nd stay here. Last May there were very few folks there. February was a bit crowded, but we were very happy to get a nice, close space to the bathrooms. 3 nice clean separated showers. Strong hot showers. Manager not the friendliest, but nice enough. I appreciate the morning Zumba and exercise classes and the Tuesday night cowboy jam session. Location is the best to walk to town. That's why we will stay here again. Good rate also. Good strong wi-fi and good cable TV! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
You might want to visit this one before booking. Cancelling will cost you plenty. I cancelled, and it cost $100 out of a monthly rent of $220. Very surprised that this was a Good Sam park; assume they qualified on bathhouse, pool, etc. as it was more parking lot than campground; not even close to 'resort'. Sites in the lower area are so close together you cannot put out your awning; slides almost touch. If you want to sit out, you'll be sitting at your neighbor's wall. If you want to cookout, you'll probably have to go across the road to an open area. The upper area is not as bad, but still very close. Managers not overly friendly, but we didn't experience the out and out rudeness previously described. The park looked clean when we visited. As stated, we did cancel our reservation, and probably would not stay here again due to the closeness of the spaces. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This park is quiet and the location can't be beat. Great place to fish. Across the street is the park where you can canoe, swim fish or picnic. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
We stay here every time there is a motorcycle rally and we go to Bandera. This time, we went just to go, no rally going on. When there is a rally, it is packed. This time it was very empty. Even when it is full, we have not experienced any problems with noise or people being rowdy. There is one entrance and it accommodates our 44' rig and a trailer behind us. They have a field that we have stayed in when arriving late at night so as to not disturb those who are already asleep. This is the first time we have used the pool and hot tub. They were clean, as were the restrooms that are connected to the pool. I did not use the laundry facilities, but our friend did and said they were fine. There are trees so some spots are shaded. The sites are gravel/dirt, and the road is paved. I do not think they have any cabins for rent, but they have a red Caboose that is an efficiency that you can rent, current rate is $85/night. You can access the river in a few different places and play in the water. The elderly man in the office was friendly and polite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
The park was nicely located. The sites were very close to each other. The sites were fairly level. The sites were dirt with some grass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$8
Not a bad park. Sites are close but adequate. Took some doing for other campers and some staff to warm up to us. Rate was based on monthly stay. Park is well maintained and sites are mostly level. Area is rich with history and there are some organized activities. We would stay again but not long term. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$8
We were here to take care of business. We did not experience the same treatment as some others, and we expected it. The folks running the place are not from Texas and run a (very) tight ship. Everyone we dealt with was nice enough and all the facilities were spotless and the pool was very nice. The spots are very tight but we had good shade. The monthly rate is quite reasonable and we will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2011
$8
The managers of this park are the rudest people we have ever met. The park is very poorly run. You can't use the family center and kitchen unless it's a whole park event. The managers keep it under lock and key. The sites are very small and very close together. If you want to put out your awning, it'll touch your neighbor's rig the sites are so small. Very few trees and very little shade. The managers ride around on golf carts looking for something to gripe about, and if they want your space for an event or someone else, they will cut your stay short without giving you a refund. We were shorted by 3 days. The park is popular because it's within walking distance to town. However, this does not override the rude management. Don't stop here! Nightly rate reflects monthly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
We stayed here for 2 nights. The welcome was quite cold and not really friendly, not the Texas one! All is nice and clean. Kids pay same price than adults ($3 each) for 1 night. Very close to town, big pool, clean restrooms, good WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We just stayed here overnight. The sites are very close and feel like the neighbors should be sitting right next to me. It's very quiet and close to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
This is our third time staying at this park since 2007. It is close to town and within walking distance. Has great cable, nice pool and clean facilities. We have our own Wi-Fi and did not use theirs. The park is in dire need of site repairs. Sites are dirt and used to be grass. Rain causes real problems with the mud in the area. Park seems to be going down somewhat since our first time here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
The spaces here are very tight. Our slide-out nearly touched the slide-out of our neighbor. The park was full when we were here, and the manager was not friendly. She refused to give us a Good Sam discount because I did not have my card. I did have my membership number, but that was not enough for her. The park is located on the Medina River, and a walk along the bank is easily accessible. Also very good proximity to town, within walking distance to restaurants and other entertainment. Bathhouse is very clean, attached to community room. We noticed that there are planned activities. We stayed two nights, but because of the close together sites and the unfriendly reception, we will look elsewhere when visiting Bandera in future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
We stayed in this park because it's within walking distance to downtown Bandera. I also chose the park because they advertise free Wi-Fi and I work from my RV. After we checked in we were told, "We have been having trouble with the Wi-Fi and we have parts on order". Well we stayed here for 7 nights and those parts never arrived. My advise would be to move on down the road to one of the other parks in the area. The rest of the park is starting to show signs of neglect, the sites are somewhat muddy and in need of some new gravel and re-leveling. I wouldn't stay here again without trying some of the other parks around Bandera. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$36
Nice facility, poor Wi-Fi, lose the spyware. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
This park is probably very pretty when the trees are green and the grass is growing, so it can be a bit stark in the winter. However, it is clean, the staff and campers are cordial and it's well located for seeing things in the area. One can walk to downtown Bandera for the shops and restaurants. Sites could be a bit more level. As far as permanents, there is a sign in the office that states that this is not a residential park. It may be a tad short of a resort, but it's not so far away that I would avoid the park. In fact, I believe I would use this park anytime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
There are few shaded sites available and those have only minimal shade provided by small, younger trees. Their website describes the sites as "spacious" but this couldn't be any further from the truth. They are tiny and they pack people in like sardines, leaving lots of empty spaces between rigs. There is one very nice staff member but the manager is down-right rude and in need of customer service training. Overall, the park is clean; however, the pool is not so we loved that we had access to the river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
This was our first RV park to stay at after purchasing our fifth-wheel, and we did not know how lucky we were at the time. We have since stayed at many different RV parks, and none have been as accommodating, friendly, or well-managed, since. The folks at Pioneer care about their customers. They take pride in each and every site, and they make sure your stay is as pleasant as it can be. The river is in full view from most of the sites. The swimming pool is always a joy. The Hot Tub is well-maintained. You can walk to town in five minutes and enjoy a hot meal. Well, I could go on and on. it is just the best RV park we stayed at to date. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
This is a very clean park, with management that is very friendly and caters to the needs of the visitors. We came for a week and ended up staying over a month greatly due to the campground and the other guests there, as well as the location near downtown Bandera. The sites are large enough to spread out and the restrooms, pool and grounds are well taken care of. We stayed here in a 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$26
In spite of the other 2006 rating, I took a chance on this park because it had wireless. Had no problems, easy to get in and out. Paid $132 for the week + $16 electricity. Very clean restrooms. Has a pool, but didn't check it out. Very close to downtown Bandera, but off the highway (no noise). Has several spaces with view of the Medina River. Office is sparse for supplies and food, but town is easy walk. I believe this used to be a Jellystone park some years back. I would go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Pioneer in Bandera, associated with Pioneer in Aransas Pass, is totally the opposite and is inhabited by permanents in some old rigs. People left for work at 5am. The only “Resort” is in their name. Parking is crowded and on grass/dirt. “Shaded RV spaces” are few. We didn’t even unhitch. But free WiFi and cable were outstanding. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com