223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Carol's Campsite and RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (705) 522-5570
CGID7247

Carol's Campsite and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
145
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   4   6   8   4   7   7   1   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$39
We were looking for a campsite tat could take our 40ft 5th wheel and had sewer on site. This one showed it could take big rigs. The check-in was very friendly and we had a choice between a back in or a pull-through. We checked out the back-in and even though the reception said we should be able to fit, we did not feel we would as there was a huge tree at the back and we did not want the back end in the tree. Interior roads are narrow and it takes a bit of maneuvering to get around (parked cars at corners don't make it easier) and the only way we could get around and not hit a big tree on the corner was to go over someone's grass. We decided to go to the pull-through. Sites are narrow and fairly level. Internet was slow, but OK. It is not really big rig friendly because of roads and 30 amp service. If we had not needed sewer we would not have stayed there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
We parked here for two nights solely for the purpose of visiting Sudbury, so it was adequate for our needs. Right beside the highway, no fire pit or picnic table at our site. Mostly permanent sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This park hasn't changed much since the last time we camped here back in 2005. Many of the sites are for seasonals. Our site was a gravel fairly level back-in. Table and fire ring included. Grass between sites, but still felt close to our neighbours. All hookups worked fine. No cable TV, but found 3 channels off the antenna. Wi-Fi was slow and got bumped a few times. Recent rains caused the lake to submerge some of the campsites. The water has subsided, but still some water on road nearest the lake. Due to lack of suitable campgrounds in the area, we probably would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Friendly checkin. The site we had was as close to the highway as you could be. We put on the AC fan to cover the noise. The Wi-Fi would drop me off during the evening. It worked good at midnight. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
I have never given this low a rating to a campground before. The people checking us in were teen age girls who didn't have a clue. They gave us a site to go to and when we got there it was occupied. When I called them they really didn't know what to do and were confused. I suggested the site next to us and they checked and said that would be ok. I pulled in and it looked like the hookups were on the wrong side go I got the 5th wheel turned around and hooked up and discovered that the hookups for the site I was on was on the other side originally. It got worked out ok. The Wi-Fi is non existent. If I could have found another place to stay I would. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Friendly management. An old facility with the majority of the sites being permanent or seasonal. Most of the trees seemed to be where the permanet or seasonal rigs parked. The laundry was clean and functional. Wi-Fi worked great. The back-in sites can be a bit tight lengthwise, but it is a great location for a couple of nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
This campground was very convenient for our overnight stop. The owner was super friendly, and she gave us an easy drive-through site. We had no problem with utilities or WI-FI. We enjoyed the beautiful lake and fall colors. The campground is gated so that added a feeling of security. Some needed updates were in progress. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Mostly permanent units badly in need of replacement. Lots of "junk" everywhere. Water and electric hookups are tenuous at best. Wi-Fi is slower than a phone modem, when you can connect. Evidently the owners sold the better half of the park to new operators across the entrance road. It is much nicer. Unfortunately I didn't see it before paying. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
This campground was OK for our one night stay. We didn't have reservations. When we arrived we were greeted by a nice preteen young lady who had to make a few phone calls to find out if they could squeeze us in. Her and the manager were willing to do what it took to get us in and settled. The site was OK but the hook ups were a little shaky. The 30 amp plug was hanging by wire inside broken conduit. I shared water with a neighbor via a Y piece. The lake water was clean but the dock area had plenty of trash near the dock. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This campground looks a bit old and tired when you arrive and the office area needs a spruce up, all dark and dingy. First impressions are important! We were in the main campground, described in a previous review as “all seasonal.” That is not the case now. It is about half and half, and the transit sites all have full hook ups. The bathroom facilities were very good and the laundry looked OK too. There is a lovely sandy beach with an area of the lake marked off for children to swim in from the beach, also a good playground and recreation area. The open area next door described in previous reviews now appears to be a separate campground. There is a good tourist information office next door to the west. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
We liked this campground and found it very clean. There are several sites for transients with full hookups. The bathroom was clean and very nice. We stayed 3 nights and would do it again. We were on the lake front. There's a big play area for the kids and swimming area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
This is one of the worst campgrounds I have been to in thirty years of RVing. The roads are potholed, the bathrooms padlocked and the dump station full and out of service. The section for the permanent campers seems to be better, but the transient section is very neglected. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
We had a hard time finding Carol's campgrounds. There was no sign on Hwy 17, and we actually had to back track. There was a very friendly office staff. The site itself had no trees, and the grass needed attending. There was garbage in what was suppose to be our fire pit (which had no actual pit). As we had dogs with us I cleaned up all the garbage before we took them out on leash. The dump site is hard to get into; my husband had to drive around through the roads to get in at the right angle to dump. I did use the laundry room, and it was immaculate, and the machines did a great job so I guess there was a bit of good and a bit of not so good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
As previously mentioned, there are two sections and we were put into the open field section as it seems the main section is all seasonal. The building with the washrooms and showers is padlocked. There is a beach but it looks very uninviting because of overgrowth. There is a fair amount of noise from the highway which is right beside this campground. The WiFi is free for 30 minutes and then there is a $10. charge for 48 hours or $5. for 3 hours. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
This is a huge campground, however most of the sites are not really available and are overgrown with weeds and grass. I believe the campground is under new ownership and they are trying to make improvements, but you can tell that things are really seedy. Our site was very level. WiFi is available for $10 for 48 hours of connect time. The facility is just off the Trans Canada Highway (Route 69). This is very convenient, however you do get a significant amount of highway noise in the evening. There's a designated swimming area on the lake near the seasonal sites, but it didn't appear to be too inviting, so we didn't take advantage of it. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Park is made up of two sections one being mostly seasonal with some overnight sites, while older part is with nominal shade trees and without sewer hook ups. There is a dump station but is not well arranged for access on the exit route. Power and water service are good in older part where we stayed. Wi-Fi is free for 30 minutes and then there is a charge. We used data stick after free time expired and had good reception. Some road noise but did not interrupt sleep. Park is well maintained and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$56
We stayed in the older, full service section of the park and although the park is close to the highway it was quiet and had mature trees. We found the location very good for getting to the attractions and had a good golf course a very short distance on the same highway. Restaurants and grocery stores etc. are also close. The beach area is very picturesque. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
This park is the only one within a reasonable distance of Sudbury, so it has a captive market. Still though, the park is a pretty reasonable place. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
It's an OK campground if you couldn’t find a Wal-Mart parking lot to sleep in. There is nothing special about this place. Nothing for the kids to do, the playground consisted of an old swing set. Sites were very small and the sewers were far from the trailer. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
The children thoroughly enjoyed camping here. The campsite wasn't far from the lake and they enjoyed swimming every day. The people here, both staff and seasonal, were very friendly. The campground is close to many things that were very fun. We were here for over a week. We will stay here again. We joined Science North and had fun going there and to Dynamic Earth. We also did many geocaches around the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
I particularly agree to the review from June 2008. I only want to add that the outlets don’t have a fuse. The campground is near a highway, so it is load. The rate was 28 Can. Dollars (about 25 USD). The only positive thing we can say about this campground is that most sites are level and the surrounding is nice with the lake and the hills nearby. But this is not worth more than two points. We would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This park had two sections, one permanent side and one short term side. The site we were given had reasonably long, level pull thrus. We had good water pressure but the 30 amp power was extremely low and no sewer was available. A sewer dump on the side we were using was to short a turn for big rigs. The manager advised us she would open the gate and we could use the dump the next morning on the permanent side. At 8:30 am the next day no one could be found to open the gate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
The washrooms were very clean, wireless internet, situated on a peaceful little lake near the city. We spoke to the new owners, who were a young couple. They told us that there were 2 sections to the campground. They own one section and the other section is leased on a year to year basis.We travel through the city of Sudbury yearly and enjoy staying at this campground. We have noticed several improvements already. My family and I would recommend Carol Campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
What a dump. Ratty looking with very little maintenance. All sewer sites are taken up by permanent residents - only water/electric available for transients. Pull through sites are well spaced out, but the gravel pads and roads are extremely narrow and the surrounding soil is wet and heavy with clay - a big problem if you come after a rain like we did. A young kid working the office directed us to our pull through site in the wrong direction, and around a corner too sharp for anything but a pickup camper. We hunted out the best way in, then made ruts both entering and leaving. The park is simply not designed for big rigs to make the turns. Wi-Fi is available, at least close to the office where we were. It is free for 15 minutes, then there is a charge. No trees to block satellite reception. It is obvious they have no real competition for a great distance or they would be out of business. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
The campground is in good condition with quite a few seasonals on one side. There are lots of big pull-throughs on the other side for transients. Considering that this is effectively the only place near Sudbury, it is a worthwhile stop. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com