215236 User submitted reviews online!!
Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park and Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (386) 364-1683
CGID725

Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
938
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   9   7   2   9   2   3   8   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2014
$26
They had tent campers mixed in with fifth wheel campers which is not all that bad. The problem was that the rules were not enforced. There were Drunks riding all around the park on golf carts, with the radios turned up loud. This was past quite time in the park. Check-in was slow as they didn't appear to know what was going on. This could be a real nice park if it was run right and the rules enforced. Will not stay again due to happenings at the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$26
I've been to this park three times in the last year and had a great time each time I went. Plenty to do, trail riding on golf carts, fishing in the Suwannee River, canoeing on the Suwannee River, live music, beautiful hiking trails. Love the pickin' shed for the Bluegrass music. The people are very friendly and have about anything you need there. It's a good mix of activities and peaceful tranquility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
This park has both good and bad points. It's not very well kept, and it's also hard to get in and out. Each time we've visited, we've seen someone stuck (including ourselves), and another family had to be towed out, as the sites can be 'soft'. Also, the staff aren't good at giving directions, and one bad turn, you're stuck in pure sand! The good is that it's a fun park. The music camp for kids is the best I've ever seen, and one I'd recommend to every parent. You'll be amazed at what your child learns in just three days. People are nice here, but warning, people often come here to party, so it can get loud/rowdy. The experience was overall great, and we'll likely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
I stayed for a month, but wish I hadn't. The first two sites they assigned me couldn't be identified as actual sites by two park personnel. I finally pick one and told them, but they never officially showed me in that site. Many sites will take extra hoses to accomplish hookup. The bathrooms are old and nasty and which I did not use them. Then there is the office staff. They are friendly, but totally inept. It is like one hand doesn't know what the other is doing. Every time you call, you get a different answer and a different price. There might have been 40 campers there when I stayed and with their supposedly 900 sites they could not find a site for me that was even possible that a normal person would stay in. To say the sites are close together is an understatement. Certainly some people will not be able to extend awnings. The sites are not regularly cleaned such as when a camper leaves. Mine had debris and trash scattered about and was still there when I left. I suppose they expect the next camper to clean up. The main roads are paved and good, but sites are sand, dirt and leaves (and trash). Some of the lesser access roads are dirt as well. The water seems good and the pressure is excellent. No problem with the power either. The provided cable TV is OK. 22 channels, which is sufficient, but some stations are snowy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
We camped at Spirit Of The Suwannee for Memorial Day and spent a total of 4 nights. This campground is now one of our favorites! The sites are nicely spaced with lots of shade. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. There is something for everyone. It's a music park and they have events about every 2 months, a craft village, nicely stocked store, lots of trails to explore, putt putt course, horse camping with stalls, a really cool bat house, a nice beach on the Suwannee River and more! The rates are very reasonable, we loved our stay and can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2012
$100
First all, this park is not your typical park. We stayed at site Loop PM27 for four nights of the Suwannee River Jam. The Jam itself was outstanding. Partying with tens of thousands of our closest friends! But now to the camping. The camp site did not come close to being as advertised. Site was too narrow. Could not open the awning, too close to trees. NASCAR parking is more room. Advertised cable TV at all sites. Nope, not there. Constant power brown outs. Sure glad we have a Progressive Industries power monitor! 3 hour power outage on Thursday. 3 hour water outage on Friday. Nasty bathrooms at anytime of day. And the worst: No dump station available on Sunday morning when everybody was leaving. The front office stated, "The dump stations don't open till 1:00 PM." The maintenance man stated, "Oh, the dump stations pump has been broken." Would go again for the music only, camp area not worth the money! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$44
Either you love it or you hate it. When I called to make reservations there was a special event and all the computers were at the gate. I couldn’t even verify if there were openings so I had to call back. Over the phone, she was helpful. At check in, we stopped at a little guard shack for pre-check in. We had to go in the office anyway and there is no suitable check in parking for a big rig. She told us we couldn’t park where we did but there was no where else to go. Would have been bad if we were towing a car. At check in office staff was not helpful nor friendly. We had never been here before. No direction to our site. Map was horrible, couldn’t read the numbers and there was poor signage. Sites are nicely shaded. Dirt and leaves for the pad. We had trouble getting our rig into the site due to the trees and poor signage. We wouldn’t have been able to maneuver if it had been a full campground. Our friends went to office to ask about a picnic table and were told to take what ever you see. They asked if there someone to help move the tables. A resounding “NO” came from the back room. Our friends are handicap. It is a music lovers park. During our stay it was not a special event but the neighbors played loud music til 3 am. No security to maintain quiet hours in the quiet section. I imagine it could get rowdy on an event weekend. We didn’t check but restrooms were said to be deplorable and dirty all the time. The park is run down. But the power was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$173
We stayed here during the Wanee Festival. I hope that people don't panic because of the nightly rate. We stayed in Special Persons for $500 for 3 nights. The volunteers and people were so wonderful. I had a fantastic time. The music was great, the facilities were more than adequate, and the experience was phenomenal. I can't wait to go back to this park next year! What a great place to find peace, love, and happiness with 25K of my favorite people! Thanks Spirit of Suwannee!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Interesting park. I would not wish to stay here during a music weekend. Also, would not want to try to find a site after dark. Site locations are somewhat haphazard though they are level. Restrooms needed cleaning. Good enough for a night stopover. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$28
We visited this campground for one of their concerts, and had a great time. The events that are hosted there are superb and even some free concerts. We really enjoyed our stay there, however some of their sites were difficult to get into and not well marked. It would be great if they had a worker lead you to your site so that you can make sure you are in the right location and parked correctly. That said, they have a huge park with miles of trails and guest amenities. We will be back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
We camped here overnight on our way from the Tampa area to KY. We had looked forward to staying here as they have Music Festivals frequently here, and by all reports they are great. We were very disappointed in the condition of their restrooms and showers; they were filthy. We were also told there was cable, but it didn't work at our site. The Wi-Fi was very good, and the campgrounds were shaded and lovely. The beach along the Suwanee was nice, and the rest of the campground was in good condition. We will come back again for a 2nd try for a music festival. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
Very unique place: huge! Beautiful grounds: river with beach, lake, fields, shade trees, Spanish moss. Bring your bike, horse, canoe or just hike. A little buggy last week but enjoyed it. Some restrooms out of order as they were recovering from a big festival. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$13
We stayed here for seven nights using our ROD membership and had a wonderful time. The park is lovely and clean and the music venues make it special. There was also a Civil War reenactment during the weekend of our stay that involved more than a thousand participants. That was quite a treat. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
I had fun at this place, one of the better RV parks I have been to. Lots of stuff to do just in the park alone. The internet worked good too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$1
We stopped as an ROD member. The park is OK, not a 5 star resort, but not as bad as other viewers posted. There is a person that greets you (just after the guard shed) so you do not have to go into the office. They have your reservation and tell you what site you are assigned. The park has lots of trees so bring your Satellite Dish and you will get a signal. Close to many of those blue trash cans, but we were here during the week and not on weekends or events when I am sure you wish there were more trash cans. We use this park as a stop over for couple days on our way back north, but may plan a longer stay when they have an event we may enjoy. As a member, it sure beats the $30. + overnight stops. We will come back ! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
ROD member: this park had no record of my reservation, my name or my confirmation number. I paid $32 to stay because I was tired from driving all day. The sites in the 'loop' section were a mess. Looks like they never rake the place. Open blue and white plastic barrels all over for trash. Residents sites look like a carnival with all the crap on the ground and hanging from the trees. Wi-Fi was slow and weak. The bathhouse near us was filthy. Do they mop it ever? Shower curtains for toilet stall doors. Dogs on a leash but cats are running all over. 10 MPH speed limit but the cars drive 30MPH. Not impressed and won't stop here again. Good luck if you stop here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Wow this park has a little of everything. An on site restaurant, a few little shops, canoe rentals, beach area. The restaurant has live music on the weekends. The campsite we had had plenty of shade, which was needed because it was hot and humid. The campground personnel could be a little more friendly, but we didn't have to deal with them too much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
Call this place Golf Cart City. Everyone here has one or rents one for $53 per day. Teenagers drive them non-stop for entertainment. This place is maybe a step up from a state campground. There is plenty of dirt to track in, falling tree limbs, and your site will flood when it rains. Although there is a gated entrance, I never saw persons in the booth when I came in and out of the park. I arrived on a Friday for 3 nights. By day two, I had ants in the RV. Forget the mosquitoes, be wary of the houseflies. They are thick and relentless when it comes to entering your car and RV. The open trash barrels at each site help contribute to the massive fly population as most campers do not bother bagging their trash. It rained the entire visit, so I did not use the amenities of the park. I took a look see at the restroom facilities nearest my spot and was not impressed. It had no A/C and the door stood wide open. The floors were filthy. The washers and dryers outside of this building were not too enticing either. The largest complaint that I have, however, is that by Saturday when the park filled up, the power dropped and was barely able to maintain the A/C on the RV. My voltage meter would not register even 100 volts. This also caused electrical feedback and a flickering screen on my laptop. By Sunday, the power increased. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$1
We stayed there under our ROD membership. So our nightly rate was $0. A beautiful park with every amenity you need. The sites are in woods so satellite TV is not good. They did have cable. One negative comment. The roads are not well marked. We pulled in during a very severe rain storm and as a result of the roads not being clearly marked, it was very difficult to find our campsite. They have a full service restaurant and a music hall with entertainment most nights. The office staff is very courteous and friendly. We are already planning our next stay there. You should definitely enjoy your stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Huge, well maintained RV park! Has a cafe and a large restaurant with live music. Very good food and staff makes you feel welcome. Nice outdoor setting with river flowing thru park. Can rent or launch canoes. Clean restrooms, laundry! Nice wll stocked store and arts and craft sales. Some weekends have big name bands so check well in advance for reservations. Mossy huge Oak trees abound. We enjoyed this Park very much. Very safe as everyone has to go through a staffed gate for entrance into the park. For a small daily fee one can use as a day park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
This is a campground, not an RV Park. The heavily wooded sites were not level and most were 30 amps. The mosquitoes were so thick that I had to quit setting up and go 4 miles south to the Wal-Mart for repellent. They were completely sold out because of a music concert at the campground the previous weekend. I drove across town and bought the repellent at a CVS. The lady there told me that no locals ever go to that campground because of the mosquitoes. I never spend the night at Wal-Mart parking lots but in this case I should have made an exception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$1
Rustic park in convenient location leaving Florida. We stayed two nights and enjoyed the back trails exploring as we rented a golf cart to run the trails. The park was not crowded so RV's were spaced well. Our site was a back-in in the circle, level with full hook-ups. We have stayed at this site several times, never being disappointed with the friendly service of the staff. This park is one of our ROD parks: rates are really zero except for membership fees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$1
We found this quiet, rustic campground to be a relaxing place to stay for a week. The staff was friendly and efficient, the campsites were level and hook ups were easily accessible. We did have some difficulty getting into our spot, but an employee came over and helped us which added to our positive experience. e enjoyed the jam sessions, the cafe, the river and the horses. The wi-fi was a great bonus. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$5
Some sites are difficult to navigate due to all the trees. The sites are dusty and sandy. Some parts of the park are getting run down. Vehicles, including gas powered golf carts, have no regard for the speed limit. This also includes park employees. Since we used ROD, we will probably stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2008
$1
This could be a nice park but the sites are not well maintained and it gets very crowded on weekends. The gas powered golf carts are out of control here. They might as well allow ATV's and off road bikes to drive in the park, it sounds about the same. It seems management does very little to enforce the rules. Lots of great facilities here but many seem to be getting run down. I don't think I would try someplace else next time through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$1
This was our fourth stop at the park coming into and leaving Florida, location is right on 1-75. The park was quiet this time, no major entertainment going on, people very friendly. We were happy to see they have wi-fi throughout the park from the sites and cable television as it is impossible with all the trees to get satellte reception otherwise. We have enjoyed our stays at SOSMP and will return with our ROD membership. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$30
Fun park on a neat river. Lots of activities. There were an abundance of Atv's that might be disturbing to some, but overall nice campground. We especially enjoyed the Saturday night karaoke. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$1
A very basic park. No pads, not level,No heated or air in rest rooms. Sit on front porch of office if you want wifi in your lap, no table just a rocking chair. Their main thing is country music shows. Good for a couple of nights. Friendly and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$1
We stayed at this park through Resorts of Distinction for free. Our site was a pull through and level, most sites are in the shade under huge moss covered trees. We enjoyed nightly music, and the on site restaurant had great food. I used the wireless internet that was available on the porch of the office, and the deck of the restaurant, it worked just fine and was free. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Golf carts, canoes, and bicycles are available for rent. We enjoyed the very clean swimming pool and fishing off the dock by their lake. While this campground is older and has dirt sites, and no cable television, it is still a great campground with a lot of amenities. We truly enjoyed it and have another stay already planned! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2006
$1
Heavily wooded. Almost impossible to get a satellite signal. We were lucky. Site 55 allowed us internet/tv from our satellite on top of our motor home. We were here in December and the Suwannee Lights are great. This is a Music Park with a campground with emphasis on the music. Friendly and helpful staff. Small store and a restaurant on site. Probably many activities during peak season. Relaxing time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2006
$1
The park is old and run down. The bathhouse looked like it had not been cleaned in months. Paper products were full but cob webs, dirt and mold was every where. It's an R.O.D. park so we stayed for free but I doubt that we will return even at no charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
I disagree with some of the other reviews. We "happened" onto this park and found it to be more than acceptable and experienced no difficulty with electricity during the same time frame. We will definitely return in the future and take advantage of their music camp entertainment/activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
We stayed at this park over the 2006 Memorial Day weekend and found the park to be a very disappointing experience. We have camped in this park an average of two times a year for the past five years and found it to be going down hill each time we visit. The biggest problem we had this time with our visit was the electric. We had to shut all items off that we could do without to keep AC operational, even then it would still cut out and have to be shut off. The out side temp was 90 plus and really needed it to sleep. All of the cable TV is now not working and the park is so wooded you cannot use a portable dish,this is bad when you really want to watch the races!! Also, during this busy weekend, they did not pickup the trash and really looked bad and smelled. The point that needs to be made here is this could be a really nice park, but until they get the proper management or owners, this place is really going down hill. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park located outside of Live Oak, FL. What a disappointment it was to camp there over the Memorial Day weekend. We had really bad power problems. Most of the time our voltage meter in our camper was reading way below 100 volts. A/C units were contently tripping breakers. We cut all of our breakers off and only left the A/C & refrigerator breaker on to allow the A/C to run long enough to cool the camper down. Also had to run the refrigerator on gas the whole time. We would wake up 3 & 4 times a night and have to get up to reset breakers. We asked other campers in the park and everybody was having the same problem. Other campers at the park including others and us in our group would go to the office and complain and the office personal acted like they were not aware of any problems. We even called the office one time and spoke to office personal and she said that she would send the maintenance man over to check. But the maintenance man never showed up. We called another time and spoke to another office personal. This time they did send the Maintenance man to our site. He said that there are to many campers on one box and that the park needs to be re-wired. He also said during the Country Jam in April they burned up several breaker boxes do the over load. Also during our weekend stay the park lost water pressure. They said that they were having problems with their well and was hoping to have it repaired as soon as possible. There was no trash pickup in the park the whole weekend. Trash piled up around the garbage cans and really started to stink and draw flies. There was very little to no supervision by park personal. Golf carts being operated by minors and driven the wrong way on the roads causing traffic problems. Most of the personal at the park were not friendly and had no concern about problems that we were having. Got up the morning to leave and decide get things packed up and go to the SOS Café there at the park to have breakfast before we left. We walked in the front door of the SOS Café around 9:00 am and the lady at the register looked up at us and said “We’ve stopped serving breakfast for today” before we even said a word. This Park has really gone down hill in the last year since the new managers took over. Staff at the park and the SOS Café act like they really don’t care about anything. We have really enjoy this park over the past years. We've notice the pass few times that it seem the park was going down hill, but after this weekend we will not recommend this park to anyone again and our group won’t be going back. It's shame that a nice park that it was is now not worth going to. As the old saying goes. "All good things must come to an end". It's time to find something better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$25
We have a 35 ft. motorhome and had a reservation for this campground. We had a tow and asked for a pull-through site. We arrived late and the guard checked us in. We tried to get to the site and had limbs and trees rubbing the top and side of our RV. It was very dark and the road was bad and we had no help at all trying to find and evaluate the site in the dark with a flashlight. The site was not a pull through and was just horrible in our opinion and we left and drove to another park. Maybe for tent campers it would be OK. It was definitely not the type of park we usually choose for our Class A rig. We like state parks and some remote type camping, but this place was a little much for our RV and tow car. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2003
$25
Very big park. Friendly staff. Nice, quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Real woodsy feel. Not many in CG in January. No problems with trees. In response to others comments: I agree the place is dead unless there are concerts except for horseback riders. Live Oak is a small town and does not have much. But that is what I prefer, when camping: quiet, relaxation, getting away from it all. This is the place for that unless concerts in play. As far as fumbling with flashlights and rubbing trees, I always arrive in the daylight eliminating those problems. I prefer to use the stove in my 5'er for breakfast. Coleman stoves and campfires work too and are more rewarding than restaurants. The pads were level with a mix of grass and sand (a fact of life in FLA), no rocks, no limbs. Plenty of room to manuver. Will use again in in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$25
We stayed at this campground this weekend 11/15-17/02, it rained so my report is a little wet, but this is not a place that you want to stay at if you want something to do. Yes, when they are having a concert I guess the place is different, but without a concert the place is dead. I asked at the office of things to do in and around Live Oak, NOTHING. It was suggested that I try Gainesville for a small mall. We went to Golden Corral for breakfast Saturday morning, they were not open, and they do not serve breakfast. The only real sit down restaurant that was open is the Dixie Cafe in Live Oak, buffet (limited choices) is $5.95 and includes coffee, not too bad. I asked them what there was to do in Live Oak they also referred me to Gainesville. In the LOOP area of the campground (the most popular) you might as well be boondocking as you are on ruff, hard, dirty, ground no pads, no grass, just leaves and branches and little tiny rocks. There was about 8 other RV's in the campground for the weekend, in the LOOP area that is, in the membership area about mile away was a lot of folks and what ever activities that they had we know nothing about. Cable TV is a joke, about 4 stations and only 2 of them came in clear. The laundry is outside (in the weather) beside the bathhouses, the bathhouses were kind of clean, but only 1 stall had a rubber mat on the floor the other 3 were concrete. The water was hot on the men's side but only warm on the ladies side. The wife and the 2 grand girls see no reason to return and I must agree. It might have been more fun if there was a concert but then according to the office there would be hundreds of people running around, so what fun is that. On a scale of 1-10 I would rate Suwannee Music Park & Campground a 4. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$25
This campground is a blast. It is huge at 600+ acres. They have music events all year long. There is miles of trails that run along the Suwannee river. We stayed during an event last weekend, and once a couple of months ago. What a difference. There were like 8,000 people there, with concerts everywhere. In July, we felt like we had the place all to ourselves. Be sure to check ahead on the website to see what is going on. We highly recommend the horseback riding and canoe riding in the park. They have a small store, and a new restaurant is supposed to open soon. Lots of families and music jam sessions. If you must have quiet, tell them so when you check in. Otherwise explore, explore! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com