206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Lions Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (403) 342-8183
CGID7264

Lions Campground

Camp Information
Sites
126
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   8   9   10   7   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
All previous positive comments are still valid. However, RV'ers should be aware that Red Deer City Council has changed the fee structure so that there is no monthly or weekly rate this year. This means that there is only a daily rate of $33 which equates to $231/Wk and $990/mo (i.e. 30 days). While this is a well appointed RV park and the staff seem very nice, this rate seems way over the line given that there is no Wi-Fi Internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
This is a great campsite down in the river valley on the Red Deer river in the city. The site had lots of big trees, was paved and level. Power was on the wrong side which was a bit odd so make sure you have a long enough cable. Well maintained and clean, but only one shower stall so it could be a bit busy. Only negative is they do not take reservations which is important to us but as it was near end of September and they close at the end we took a chance & got in. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Stayed Aug. 28th - Sep. 15th/2011. Red Deer is a nice small city with nice folks. The Red Deer City Campground is also called the Lions Campground because the Lions contributed to or paid for the renovation of one or both restrooms. The site availability was good because of end of season. The staff are polite and helpful but serious regarding campground rules, and that's a good thing. It features nicely treed RV sites on wide road. Tent sites are cozily nestled in heavily treed area on narrow road. The RV sites are paved and mostly level. There is a large overflow area ok to store trailer temporarily. There are no pull-through RV sites. There s no wi-fi but it is available a 1/2 mile north on 49 Avenue at the Parkland Mall in front of Safeway or at Tim Horton's coffee shop a bit further north. All services worked well (power/water/sewer). There are lots of stores/shops/banks/auto mechanics/fuel in the area. We picked up after our pet; please pick up after yours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Lions park was well laid out, well kept grounds,and clean amenities. They do not take bookings so you need to get there early to get a site!! First come first served!!. We arrived at 4PM by which time park was full and were selling the overflow area which was fine for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
Great campground with lots of varied sites from full size RV's to tiny forest hugging Sites. Perfect location and good security for being right in town, has a campground feel and Red Deer river is right next to it. Sites for Big RV's were asphalt and level, services were perfect. Only concern was pet policy which stated that you couldn't leave pet in RV while you were away. No problem from this though and no complaints. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Campground is somewhat narrow, moderately long, level sites with some trees. Electrical hookups are shared with your neighbor, so bring an extension cord. No pull-throughs, reservations or Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
This is a campground - not an RV Park. There are lots of trees. There are also fire rings - smoky at night. Lots of tripod mounted satellite dishes. I stayed here because a friend said it would be better than the Westerner Campground. I should have ignored his advice. My 40' motor coach just barely fit on the site. There were lots of families with small kids. Most of the rigs were trailers or 5th wheels. If you have a big rig then avoid this park. If you are taking the family on a vacation in your camper then stay here. Good paved streets and pads. Good but only 30 amp service. No reservations taken. You have to show up at noon and hope to get a space - but there seemed to be spaces available every day while I was here - mid July for one week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$12
We showed up here without reservations. There were NO sites available. After explaining our situation (car malfunctioning, no campsites around, from Ontario) the nice man put us in their over-flow area with no hookups and across from washroom, no picnic table. We were glad to take this site, it was offered at a reduced price of just 12 dollars. This sure beats the other CG in Red Deer which was very rude and wouldn't allow a "tent" to park there. Let me tell you, that this site and this bathroom were better then any other that we have ever stayed at! The sites (or non-sites if we should call it that) were HUGE, manicured, spotless, level ground. Green grass, partly shaded. The bathrooms were spotless, large with great clean family sized showers. I'd stay there again, in over-flow, in a second! About 4 other massive rigs pulled up beside us during the evening and we still had lots of room. Us in the tent, next to a massive BUS. It was bizarre, but really cool at the same time! The small talk we made with the travellers beside us was priceless! There was also a nice little trail located behind the park, that runs along the river there. Good work lions club! We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com