223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Long Key State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (305) 664-4815
CGID727

Long Key State Park

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   9   4   9   7   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$39
One of the nicest parks that we have visited on this recent journey. The restrooms and shower facilities were spotless, well maintained and plentiful. They were ADA compliant and placed very conveniently along the linear campground. The ocean front sites are wide and well screened from each other by sea grape plants almost completely shielding you from neighbors. I heartily recommend this facility to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$43
Peerless. Admittedly, this park defines roughing it. 30 amp power, fresh water, clean newer restrooms, great ranger and staff but no Wi-Fi , no TV, no cable, barely a cell phone signal. Think of it as staying on your own slice of desert isle. Back your RV within 10 feet of the beach with just a picnic table separating you from the water. Site comes with fire pit. Ranger sells wood at entry. Sunrise every morning. Walk through secure gate to watch sunset on the other side of the island. If you are looking to bond with the family this beats Disney. Most sites have sea grape bushes that separate them by about 15 feet. Tip: If you have big rig go to Google maps and make sure there is enough space on the far side so you have enough angle to turn. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$21
This is, perhaps, our favorite Florida State Park. We stayed here in 1988 and remember our site on the ocean, as seen from our motor home windshield. Still is that way except the Australian pines are gone but most sites are well shaded with shorter trees and undergrowth. Ocean view is the same, and only about 50 feet from the RV! All sites have 30 amp service and water hookups. They are wide enough for slide-outs on both sides and our patio awning. Surprisingly, in spite of a lot of rain we had very few bugs during our stay in September. Our rate is based upon a senior Florida resident. We would have rated the campground higher if it had 50 amp service; however, the ocean view does offset that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$43
Four of us stayed in long Key State park RV campground for one night total. RV sites are all ocean view and have beach access. Reservations can only be made 1 day in advance on Reserveamerica.com, which was a bit of inconvenience, since we had no definitive plans during our trip and did not want to make plans ahead. When you travel in RV you most probably would like to be more flexible with the schedule. Same day reservations would be a huge plus. One night was $36 plus tax, so it totaled in $43. There is a gate with the security code to enter both the park and the campground. Bathrooms were convenient, spacey, clean. There were 2-3 showers with hot water and good water pressure, which was a big plus. RV sites are a little bit too close to each other.Water and electric hook ups on each site. Overall it was a nice campground. Beach had lots of seaweed on the shore and was quite shallow, but the view was amazing!We were there in the middle of May and there were some mosquitoes, but not that many. Fire pit had a grill, but the grid itself was set up very high, so we had some troubles with the dinner. Overall would recommend staying there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$36
This is one of the older parks that is due to be shut down for repair later this year. It is still a nice park. The complaints about sand and sea weed are true. But when your rig is parked ten feet from the beach and 25 feet from the ocean kind of hard not to have sand and sea weed. As said all sights were sandy but did not see and that I would worry about getting stuck in. This is truly water front camp sights. As close as you can camp with out being in the ocean we loved it here. There is a paved bike trail off the Hwy that is really fun and a lot of scenery as you can ride south to the next key across what was old Hwy #1.Quite fun if you have never ridden across a few miles of open ocean on a bicycle. The staff is really good and do well keeping up one of the older parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
Sandy, messy campsite: no grass, thus sand all over everything. Beautiful view of sunrise/sunset and water. Unfriendly campsite people-wise. Won't return. No value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$43
Nice park with fantastic views of the ocean just steps from your RV site. The only negatives are it is a long reach to the electric and water connection so you may need a longer cord. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
Long Key SP is for die hard campers who want the full on out door experience. It's a State Park after all, so to stay here and complain about the bugs and seaweed smell is a little untoward in our opinion. The sites are typical state parish, with no paving and usually sand or crushed coral stone backing literally right up to the water. Most sites have sea grape trees or palm trees on them or between sites. Some sites are close together and some allowing some privacy. Its a place you have to stay to find your preferred sites first. Yes the seaweed does smell, especially at low tide but welcome to camping on the ocean! Complainers are more then welcome to find a nice manicured, environmentally controlled campsite elsewhere. The water is very shallow going out and if you bring a boat, plan on a hike out rafting your gear. The nearest boat ramp is a mile or so up the road and its private and they charge. There are fire pits and YOU WILL LIKELY NEED EXTRA WATER HOSE AND ELECTRICAL CABLE to hookup, also some boards for your jacks because of powdery sand. The bugs can be an issue as well so be prepared. However kayak rentals are available and wading through the shallow waters is enjoyable as well as the fishing by kayak. Otherwise one can wander the beaches, however swimming is not generally enjoyable unless one walks out a ways and finds a sandy area. This is a SP suited to fishermen, kayakers and those who have boats to get out on the reefs a few miles out. If you are looking for a swimming destination for the kids then focus on Curry Hammock or Bahia Honda SP, both of which have lovely beaches, particularly Bahia Honda. Certainly be prepared to camp on the slightly rough side at Long Key. This is not a place for the faint of heart looking for a sterile, concrete campsite, however it is the Florida Keys unabashed and ruggedly unmodified only to allow campers to literally back right up to the water and get the full force of the sights and smells of the beautiful Florida Keys. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
There is nothing to do in this park. The fact that you have to pay to enter every park in the state even though you are paying at another park is a turnoff. You do not know what the park offers until you have paid and entered. Sites are right on the ocean, but the water is very very shallow way out. At a lot of the sites you need an extra cord for your electric and water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$38
Spent two weeks here on a tent site with a Class B camper van. The only issue for the van was that the site was not level, but it was certainly liveable. This is an excellent campground with each site being on the water. When the tide is in, you can simply step off the campsite to the water. The tide does go out a long way and it is very shallow, so tough for swimming. Lots of boaters had their boats just moored offshore: just be careful to get it out far enough or it will be sitting on dry land! The washrooms were excellent, clean and had great privacy for showers. There was plenty of firewood available for a donation with nice fire rings on each site. This was an absolute favorite campground, as I spent over 2 months in the Keys. I would definitely return here! It is extremely difficult to get a site, even if booking 11 months in advance. There was a lot of turnover as people were in and out for a night here and there, taking up cancellations. I don't think there's a bad site in the whole park. Great beachcombing and trails. A jewel of the Keys for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$43
A decent park but could use some updating. Many sites are very soft sand, so bring your boards for your jacks. It was rainy when we stayed so the bugs were intense when the wind stopped blowing. Also the smell of decomposing vegetation is overwhelming right after a rain. Smells like rotten eggs. The water is within 8-10' of the campsites during high tide. Several campers anchored boats in front of their sites out in the ocean. Boats were 40-50 yards from shore, but you could still walk out to your boat in knee deep water. I might stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$43
60 sites 3 bathhouses, canoe and kayak rentals, 2 trails observation tower and beachfront camping. Sites were long enough for most RV's. All are cordoned off with pickets and a good amount of vegetation between them. Water and electric boxes are shared between campsites so be sure to bring extra lines and cords. Some campsites are shadier than others, mostly those in the 22-35 range. Friendly rangers, very clean bathhouses but no AC in them, firewood for $3.00 donation. Some sites stayed wet with puddles at entrance after rain showers. No TV available from park, bring your SAT dish. Bugs were bad-lots of no-see-ums and sand fleas. Beach was the most littered we have ever come across, we picked up 2 kitchen sized bags a night on our walks. Most litter comes from the ocean and boats because of the Gulf stream. It really put me off from beach walking in this park. Park road at entrance is smooth and repaved but when entering the locked campground area the road turns bad which made bike riding on it uncomfortable. No waves on beach pretty much just good for floating or bring your boat or jet ski. Boogie boards or surfboards would be useless here. Beach is not big enough to set anything up on it basically is wide enough to walk between campsites and water. All paraphernalia must be kept on your own site. No playground in park or any large areas to play. Park borders US 1 where people can run, bike, and walk to the next bridge south. Lots of road noise as it is only 50 yards away from campsites. The 2 newer bathhouses were large and showers had a separate dressing area. Older one was very small and outdated. No laundry even though there is space for it at the newer bathhouses. We walked the Golden Orb trail which was partly underwater in several places. Come prepared to wade through it if it has rained recently. Lots of birds in park, we also saw crabs and many interesting insects. Park has a nice boardwalk that leads up to an observation tower, hard to see anything from it though as it is too low. If you like quiet book only during week as lots of people come to party all weekend and sometimes ignore the quiet hours posted. Pets are allowed in park but not on beaches, but most people ignored that rule as well. I think that we would stay at Curry Hammock SP next time which is about 12 miles south. It has a nicer beach and quieter neighbors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
Great state park with the usual professional rangers but there are some important things to note about Long Key SP that one should definitely consider during the summer. Like most state parks during the summer bugs (no seeums, mosquitoes, and horse flies) can be a major problem for some. We found the bugs to be really excessive, but that's what one would expect in a state park in the summer, but just be aware. You need a very long water hose and power cord hookups. Some sites share power and water off the same box, and our site required a 50 foot capability to hookup. If we only had 25 feet, we couldn't have stayed. Dogs are not allowed in the water or on the beach. This is a standard thing I think at most state park's with beaches, but it was a bummer for our Lab to have to look at the water and not go in. The seaweed on the beaches at Florida Keys State Parks in the summer can pile up and smell something awful. When the south breezes blow, the seaweed can literally make beaches unusable sometimes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Fine little park, right on the ocean. Great fishing and kayaking. Sites are narrow and our rig had to be positioned right up to the fence on the beach as the hookups are a distance away. Our 50' electric cord just made it. Camping on the sand can be messy,we forgot our outdoor rug, so lots of sweeping was in order. We would return for another visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
The sites are all ocean view. They are narrow, sandy and very clean. Watch out for the ants! For the money this is by far one of the best places to stay in the Keys. We camped here on our way down to Key West and enjoyed it. We'll be back next year! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$31
I would give it a perfect 10 were it not for the fact that it is very close to US 1, so the road noise can be really loud. All the sites are oceanfront. The restrooms have showers and hot water. Our site had a buffer of vegetation between it and the sites nearby. There's a short nature trail and the Overseas bike trail runs along the road side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$28
This is a wonderful park with amazing sites. They have about 60 sites that are literally right on the ocean - beautiful. The only downside is how tight the sites are, especially since we had the loud family next to us. Some sites seem to have a thicker tree/bush buffer between them, although the woman that checked us in said that there were NO trees shading or separating the sites. I know for a fact that the sites in the late 20's and 30's had more of a buffer between them (we were in 43). I would definitely recommend this park and go again (but not on a holiday weekend). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
View was everything I expected. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Restrooms were very clean. Our only complaint were the other campers. Drinking out on the sandbars and leaving their beer bottles, and allowing their dogs on the shoreline and in the water which was a definitely no-no. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
$26 plus taxes. Long Key State Park is located on Long Key in Florida. Every site faces the ocean. There are 60 sites but some are for tents only. Big rigs can fit but the road in is narrow. It seems that there used to be more palm trees and underbrush between all the sites; but in the last year much of it has been cut down and cleared for many reasons. For some sites, even though they state partial shade, they are not really shaded. The ocean shore line is rocky but you can find sections to walk out and snorkel and there is a lot of boating in the area. It is a nice park; the bathrooms are clean, and the rangers helpful. In the park there are a few hikes, like the Golden Orb Trail/ Layton Trail/ a nature trail and they even have a canoe trail where you can rent a canoe and they give you a detailed map and pamphlet. We stayed two nights here. We rode our bikes all over the campground as well as the bike trail just outside of the park that goes all the way into Marathon. There are snakes in the park so one needs to watch their step when hiking on some of the trails. Fishing everywhere which is one of the biggest recreational draws of the Keys. It is part of the Great Florida Birding Trail so you do find some interesting and endangered birds in the park. Sea Turtles do nest on the beaches so they ask they you have lights out at night – but it is not patrolled like the South Carolina beaches. Interesting park and we will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$29
This is an excellent campground in the Keys. All sites are beachfront. Beautiful views. The first 6-7 sites they do keep for tent campers, even though they are rv sites. Some sites have lots of shade and some sites have no shade what so ever. Bathrooms are kept very clean. Beaches were very dirty as most beaches in the Keys are. Sandspurs are really bad so if you take your dog be prepared to be picking sandspurs out of their fur. Camphosts here seem to assume they have more authority than the rangers. Take extra books as book exchanges are very popular here. Fishing is very good if you go out of the campground and fish off the bridge. We plan on going back to Long Key if we can ever get reservations again. Very hard to get into any of the state campgrounds in the Keys as they are so inexpensive. Even though this campground advertises as having a few drive in sites for one night only stays, they don't. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2004
$20
Stayed in 2003 but this site limits years to select only back to 04. Favorite of all state parks in the country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$19
Very nice park all sites are waterfront. Only drawback was the highway runs next to campground so tent camping is a little noisy. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com