214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Tomoka State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (386) 676-4050
CGID7272

Tomoka State Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   7   9   9   9   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$27
Very nice park. Nice bathrooms and laundry at bathroom bldg. Good biking around park and into Ormond Beach on sidewalks. Nice camp store called "The Outpost". Great couple who run that with little concerts that they perform in on Friday & Sat nights. Very enjoyable stay and we would definitely return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$27
A sign at the entrance says "Welcome to the real Florida." This accurately describes this park. Most campsites seemed to be jungle clearings with lush vegetation all around. You will have a hard time even seeing your neighbors. The restrooms were modern and kept clean by a large group of friendly volunteers. There are numerous walking trails and a really 'get back to nature' feel from a park that is only 3 miles from all the tourist sites in Daytona Beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
Florida State Parks promote “the Real Florida.” Tomoka SP campground located between the Tomoka and Halifax Rivers offer wooded, shaded sandy sites, some with river or fishing access. Popular with kayakers, the park offers protected waters. Nature programs are offered on the weekends. There is a popular boat launch with outpost store between the campground and the Indian village historical marker and monument at the northern tip of the park. Modern bathhouses and clean showers also provide laundry facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$24
Dirt roads leading to camp sites. Very difficult for big rigs to park here. Our campsite had a tree about 8 foot inside the site. Finally, we were about to park our recreational vehicle, but it took several attempts to allow room for our slide out. The park was very quiet during the week, with the weekend being a mess. I felt sorry for the camp hosts, as they were constantly cleaning up the mess in the restrooms. Be sure to take a bicycle or car to use to get around. There is live music at the restaurant on Saturday nights. For such a large park, we were surprised that there was only one hiking trail. There are number of places around the park for fishing and a wonderful boat launch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$27
This is a great park, very close to Orlando and lots of outdoor activities. Would be nice if they had full hookup for longer stays but we managed. We stayed over the Vets Day Holiday so it was not too crowded. Just a word to wise, never stay here during any Bike/Motorcycle even. The bikers do not care about the quiet hours and you will never get sleep. Other than that, I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$13
We camped here with friends over a long weekend and absolutely loved it. The campground is beautiful, with lots of tree cover and some level of privacy between campsites. There was enough to do in the park and in the area. It was windy when we were there, so we didn't get to go kayaking, but we still enjoyed ourselves. The restrooms near us were older, but clean and convenient. There were a couple sites with concrete pads, but mostly it was sandy and shelly. The nice thing about being closer to the beach is that you don't get a lot of the fine black dust around the campsite. There was no sewer hookup, but there is a dump station. Only complaint is the water wash-down hose at the dump station had a strange end on it and wouldn't hook up easily to our RV to flush the tanks. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$27
I just loved Tomoka State Park. Workers are friendly. Bathrooms are the cleanest I have ever seen in a state park. Have a nice walking path across the street from the entrance. Spots are not on top of each other. It books fast...Just keep checking internet for cancellations. That is how I got in for 5 nights. But we had to change sites 3 times. But I did not care. It was great. It was a great place to stay while at Daytona Beach bike week. A lot of motorcycle, but bring earplugs, and it no biggie!! My dog loved it here, too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$24
Stayed three nights. Overall this park was a secluded paradise in the middle of the urban areas of Ormond Beach and North Daytona Beach, Florida. All sites are secluded from other sites by heavy vegetation and +/- 90% of them are covered with a dense canopy. The park has well maintained sand roads and sites. The handicap sites are the best I have seen in a state park, first class. This beach park rates high on my list. My 30 amp site was long and narrow (fit a 28-foot rig with one slide) with two trees, you have back you rig through. Must be good at backing or want a challenge. The site is secluded with a level site. Bath house is nearby. Very secluded. Overall, the restroom was better than average. Very clean, with hand soap and towels provided. The handicap facilities were 1st class. Bath was clean, no heat (Nov). Verizon cell service worked: 3+ bars, 3G at least Internet access. No satellite TV. I have DTV. Heavy overhead canopy, at our sites. I was able to get reception by putting the receiver on the site next to ours. The park store has the basics for shopping and groceries. Firewood at the park store is $6 for an average size bundle. The nearest large grocery is 3 miles. Beach 7 to 8 miles. Many great restaurants within 10 miles. Tomoka River Grill has great food and a great view of the Tomoka River. Would I return? Yes, any site would be great, I have not seen a bad one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
We stayed here for only one night. Beautiful sights, semi-private. Nice location, helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$27
Very nice state park. Some sites are very shallow and would not fit big rigs, but would be fine for tents. The campground hosts cleaned the restrooms on a daily basis, even Christmas day. The bike riding is fine on the hard packed sand roads. We took our bikes on a couple of the hiking trails too. It was fun. There are beautiful, big oak trees throughout the park. We enjoyed our stay and will return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
This was a very educational park with numerous fishing spots. A small road to maneuver your rig, but the camp spots were comfortable. I enjoyed deer along with the beautiful nature surrounding this campground. I enjoyed my visit and will surely camp here again in the future. Also, I had a great time at the beach which is just minutes away. I took my bikes but the roads were too narrow to accommodate a bike and the current traffic flow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$13
Florida senior resident rate shown. Our fourth time here. Obviously we think it's great for sitting around, hiking, kayaking, fishing and just relaxing. Everything is clean, well-managed and personnel are friendly and helpful. Be sure to check out the North end of the park for the "Indian " sculpture and the best fishing and walking the shore. Bring a cast net to catch bait or buy it at the concessions stand which is now open 12 hours a day, 7 days a week with live music on Saturday night. We had our favorite site #30 again and had a short 100 foot or so walk to the water behind the sites. We found a very good restaurant called "Rivergrille" right on the Tomoka River. Take the shortcut to US 1 (Comes in just east of I-95 passing over US 1), turn South on US 1 and the restaurant is on the right just across the Tomoka River bridge. Huge outside deck areas, indoor driftwood and antique decorations, great food, medium prices and friendly staff make this a must for casual meals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$28
The park is typical "old Florida style", narrow inner roads (not big rig friendly), lots of thick underbrush but well maintained. The drive getting to the park cautions vehicles over 12'-6" high because of the tree canopy on Beach St. I drove down the middle of Beach St. for a portion of the journey to avoid the lowest hanging branches. Great location for visiting Daytona or other beach areas. No ocean beach access, river access only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$12
It is a great park with a neat layout. The roads are hard packed as are the sites. The sites are shaded and good size. All seem to have picnic table and fire ring. They are easy to back in. There are shrubs & trees between sites. While touring the grounds we didn't see a bad site. Handicap sites have concrete pads and paths. The restrooms/showers are well kept and clean. The rangers and hosts real nice folks. There is a small store with a few basics for sale and light breakfast and lunch. Friday and Saturday nights the owners put on a great 2-hour sunset songfest. What a treat that was. It is a family oriented park. The Kayak, canoe and fishing gear rentals were reasonably priced. We wish it were closer to home, as we would use it for 3-day weekenders. We will return. If you need TV, we pulled in about a dozen or so clear channels on our antenna with no problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
We stayed in #4 which we thought was going to be right on the water. Turns out the water is there but not accessible. We were fine with that. We did like the spot even though it was very close to the entrance. The maximum length allowed is 34 ft. There are only a couple of pull though sites. The rest are back ups. We enjoyed our site and even though we had neighbors on both sides, there was plenty of space and privacy between. The park has a place down by the river to rent canoes/kayaks and they have a campground store. On Fridays and Saturday nights they have entertainment from 6-8 at night. Beautiful sunsets. Nowhere to swim but we knew this ahead of time and headed over to Ormond to go to the beach. Overall, great stay. Rangers and campground store staff very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$12
One of our favorite parks, and we got our favorite site-#30. There is a very large open area on the awning side that guarantees privacy plus there is a trail in the middle of it to the lagoon with access to the Halifax River. It is wide enough for wheelchairs (bumpy), kayaks canoes, etc. There are several trails to the water from the riverside sites. However, none of the sites have a view of the river. You can cast net for finger mullet or catch fiddler crabs for bait and fish right there or at other places in the park . A short drive or medium walk in the park gets you to a concession building with canoe and kayak rentals, good hamburgers, pizza, and other treats. Very friendly proprietors. Going on past this, there are several picnic areas and tables along the water as the north peninsula end of the park narrows to a point. More fishing and kayaking. We have kayaked with manatees here on previous visits. Don't miss a ride on Old Kings Road Scenic Highway and cut across to Route A1A and The Atlantic Ocean-The park has maps. It is about a 15 to 20 minute drive. All in all, a can't miss location convenient to Ormond Beach, Flagler Beach and Daytona Beach. I'm told it is very popular during Daytona speed weeks and the July races. Covered up with motorcycles during their race weeks. They even have a permanent ramp for backing a trailer up to for loading cycles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
We arrived pre- bike week; pre- spring break. Love the layout of this park. A jungle within civilization. The roads are narrow, sand packed and picturesque- lovely for bike riding. The campsites are private. They do require considerable skill backing a rig in though- but worth it!! The restrooms were clean as were the showers. Unfortunately we had a party group next to us that was quite loud, had music blaring and an out of control campfire. Our fear was the dense vegetation and windy conditions. They were ushered out of the park before we woke the next morning. Staff was cleaning the site and drowning the remains of the fire when we emerge from our camper. The staff was excellent. There is a nice area and vendor for canoe / kayak rentals. We enjoyed Tomoka very, very much despite our neighbors and appreciate the action of the staff. Ormond and Daytona beaches are close by. Ormond beach also has special wheelchairs for taking your handicapped loved one down to the water's edge. There are some great restaurants nearby too. Our reservations are made for next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$22
One of our favorite campgrounds in the country - it's so chill and relaxing here to be in the trees and hammocks. Some of the sites back up to the water way, and even have accessible kayak launching. The sites are large and feel relatively secluded with all the trees around. Not much to do here, which is exactly why we love it. You can get away, but yet be close to civilization. Great 3G cell signal (AT&T and Sprint), making it a perfect place to put down the landing gear for a few days and catch up on work. Probably not ideal for larger rigs unless you're very skilled at maneuvering, as there are lots of trees making tight turns and backing. Not a concern for us in our little 17' trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
We camped there for 4 days at the end of July 2009 into August. There may be 50 amp available but I do not recall seeing a 50 amp outlet at our site (#9). A few sites have access to the Halifax river via a short 10 foot path thru the trees. Site 9 did and you could bring a canoe an use it on the river from there. As mentioned the sites are tight and the road fairly narrow so it takes some maneuvering to back into the site. They are nicely isolated with a strip of trees in between sites. I believe the park has a 30 or 35 foot limit on rv length and that is probably the reason why. The bathrooms were spotless, the park employees helpful and friendly. Ormond Beach beaches were about a 10 or 15 minute drive from the park. You can drive on the beaches with a $5/day fee but not around high tide. Daytona is close and they have fireworks every night at 9:45PM at the pier/boardwalk. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$22
Camped in a tent in site #10. Most sites are shady and all but 2 handicapped sites are packed sand. All sites on the left as you enter slope toward the Halifax River so leveling would be needed. All sites have fire ring/grill, water, and 20/30/50 amp power. Campground has two newer bathhouses and an older one in the back of the loop. All were very clean but we did go during the week and not on a weekend and not during bike/race weeks. Don't know what they would look like after approximately 800 people went through them. There are no washers or dyers though there are hookups for them at the bathhouse. There is a small parking area in campground for extra cars/trailers and a nice playground for kids. They have an inside meeting area for ranger talks or can be rented for events. Campsites were all private with nice growth between sites. Most are very narrow so there are only a few a big rig would fit in. This was a reconnaissance mission to see if our 35 ft would fit here and it would but on less than 10 sites offered. The park offers a short hiking trail but it is also about 1.5 mi if you walk to the end of the park from the camping loop. Fishing is the main thing here as we saw several local fishermen there. The park's museum has closed and there is a store with essential items (ice cream) and there are canoe and kayak rentals, though they are expensive $20 hr. You can bring your own boat to launch. We traveled nearby to Bulow Plantation and North Peninsula Beach where swimming is available since there is none in Tomoka. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$20
Campsites are beautiful, private, and shaded. Ours was relatively level. The only paved ones are one or two handicapped spots, located right next to restrooms; they looked very nice. Our site, 007, had a short path behind leading to the river. While there was plenty of room for out 30' RV, backing in required a sharp lookout for overhanging trees. Showers and restrooms are clean, modern, heated (we were there in cool weather; showers have lockable doors. There are limited hiking trails, nice walk through forest. Except for the immediate area of the ranger station, the roads are not paved, but consist of hard packed material; this was relatively smooth, but did not make for fun on the bicycles. The camp store has a few souvenirs and some supplies and snacks -- and coffee. We did not take advantage of kayaks or canoes, but those are available. Otherwise, there's not a whole lot to do within the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
Beautiful, tropical Paradise. Nothing bad to say except all the mosquitos in the world were there that weekend!Oh, and no Laundry facilites. We rented a canoe for a very resonable rate and saw a dolphin swimming around nearby. Very nice people in the office too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
Another beautiful Florida State Park just north of Daytona near the beach but on the Intracoastal Waterway. The north end of the park has over 12 miles of shoreline for boating and over 2000 acres with hammock and salt marshes. The river banks have remains of oyster and snail shell mounds left by the Indians. The live oak hammocks are covered in Spanish moss, ferns and green-fly orchids. There is no swimming in the park because of the alligators. The roads around the campground are all hard dirt with a lot of sand and some of the roads are hard for a large camper to move around. We have only a 24 foot RV and we can see why the park has a limit of 34 feet and 11 in height to stay here. We found it very hard to ride our road bikes on the hard dirt here because of all the sand. Very easy to spin out on your bikes. Even wild coffee and sage can be found on the shell mounds. There are nature trails to walk, visitor center and picnic areas. The salt marshes one can find oysters, snails, crabs, fish with over 160 species of birds looking for their next meal. During the summer manatees stay in the the Tomoka river and one can see dolphins as well as alligators, raccoons, bobcats, deer and otters. The campground is under a shady hammock and there is a restriction of camper length and height 43 by 11 feet. Just a warning the first weekend in March is biker week and there is a week in October that is Octoberfest for bikers so the park is crowded and one needs reservations. There were some sites available the first weekend in June but I would still make reservations if you are traveling on the road. After having spent a day at Wekiwa Springs State Park on a Saturday this park was a nice peaceful retreat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$21
This was the first full camping we have done since we bought our RV. It was a great park. Clean bathrooms and showers, very private and shady sites. Rangers were very friendly. Site are sandy so you may be sweeping out your living area a lot. Was not much to do here when we stayed but we visited ST. Augustine and had a great time. Fellow campers were friendly and helpful. We plan on returning here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$23
Nice sites, mostly all in the shades. It's a little tight to negotiate and a large RV would have a real hard time. Even if park was quite busy, it was very quiet. Restrooms and showers were clean and we made use of them. They are about 6 miles from the beach and 15 miles from Daytona Beach. Stayed 4 nights and will come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
We live in Orlando and this is a perfect quick getaway. Wooded sites, firepits, picnic tables all contribute to making this a nice camping experience for our family. I would not want to try and stay here in the summer ( shade means mosquitos) and we don't take our ffith wheel there because the trees make the sites tight. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Mosquitoes, mosquitoes, mosquitoes! We arrived about 4 pm and we were swarmed with hungry mosquitoes. The Park ranger said the thunderstorm we just had brought them out. They never went back in the entire weekend. The dirt road had huge mud holes and they were full of water. Most of the campsites were average size and all sand. We did see a few concrete pad sites. There is a boat ramp and a store nearby. The store wasn't well stocked, but seemed reasonably priced. Canoes and kayaks are available for rent. We won't return because there are so many more campgrounds in Florida we want to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
Great old Florida park. All sites are wooded. Bugs can be bad. We will be back. We camped here in a pop up. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com