223371 User submitted reviews online!!
Pismo State Beach - North Beach Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (805) 489-1869
CGID7276

Pismo State Beach - North Beach Campground

Camp Information
Sites
103
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   8   9   8   9   8   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
About as good as you will find in a CA state campground. Perimeter sites adjacent to the butterfly preserve and near the ocean are the best. Close to town. The bathrooms and showers were clean. The rate reflects $5 extra door a non-towed vehicle. The generator rules were confusing. The startup time on the back of the windshield stickers says 10:00 a.m. but the campground info map they give you at check in says 8:00 a.m. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
North beach is still good for a CA state campground. Many of the sites are half circle pull through. Pismo old town is within walking distance and San Luis Obispo is only 10 miles away. It is fairly quiet since the wild campers tend to go to Oceano Dunes. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
We keep going back here, because it's such a great place to camp. Dog friendly and just over the dunes from the beach. Rate reflects an off-season senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
Site was a fairly level paved pull-through. A picnic table and fire grill were included. Most sites had shrubs and trees for privacy. Ground squirrels seem to be a problem as they burrow just about anywhere they feel like. After feeling a bit claustrophobic at another nearby campground we stayed at earlier, it felt good to have some space. Good trails to the butterfly grove, beach, and dunes. Good dump station on the way out. Other than flush toilets and pay showers there are no other amenities available. Still it was worth a couple days stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
We stayed here during Christmas. Have stayed here before and will continue to do so in the future. Park is near the beach. There is a fabulous Monarch Butterfly attraction within the park. Numerous great restaurants within short drive of the park. If you like Mexican food, you have to try Old Juan's Cantina about 5-7 minutes south of the park. There are no hookups but there is a dump station near the entrance to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Nice park, large sites, easy walk over the dunes to the beach. Easy walk into the town too. The beach is very large and flat with good swimming. There was a huge group in a regular campsite with 10 tents. As usual with the CA parks lately enforcement of the rules is hit or miss. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
Our 3rd time at this park because we love it! Had site number 40 again and it was fairly level. Lots of room between you and your camping neighbors. I've reviewed this one before, and probably enough to say that I won't repeat. Just see my earlier reviews. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Rate was 'winter' price. Beautiful location but be warned - there are No hook-ups. Each site has a picnic table and big fire rings; CG hosts sell the firewood. Sites are generally pull-through, paved, level, and there is lots of grass and scenery between you and your neighbor. We enjoyed listening to the frogs at night and walking over the sand dunes to the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$23
Stayed 5 nights and would have loved to have stayed more if we had time. The campground is not on the reservation system until mid-May, so was first come, first served. Turns out, the campground was only about a third full each night. Had space #39, in the middle of the campground. There is lots of space between sites, and there is lots of open space for kids to play. It's a great park for families and I understand why it's always near capacity during the season. Good dog campground too, as you can take your dogs on the beach as well as around the grounds. There are doggie pickup bags at the hosts site (#15), so there is NO EXCUSE for not picking up after your dog! I would go back in a heartbeat. Nightly rate reflects senior discount and off season rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
For a state beach it gets two thumbs up. The sites were well maintained and all pull throughs, so it was great. A little busy but worth the time to stay and enjoy this area. The dogs had a great time and everyone was just wonderful. The night time was a little noisy but everyone quieted down around 12 midnight. Will return, great place for the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Camped here Memorial day weekend. Most of the sites are pull through, the others are double wide back in. The pull-throughs are long, saw several with 2 motorhomes. There is lots of space between sites. The rangers and camp hosts patrol all the time (unlike most other CA state parks) and we had no problems or complaints. There is a single dump station and there was a long backup on going-home day. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We found this park to be very nice and comfortable. Spots are level, roomy, and have good separation. Park was about 30% full so it was nice and quiet, the summer months might be a different story. Short trail leads out to a wonderful beach. Very dog friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
Great family campground. Dry camping, but had a dump station. Enjoyed it and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
We have stayed here many times and even though it is dry camping their showers and restrooms are used by quite a few people. Access to one of the most beautiful walking beaches in California is only a hundred feet away. The town of Pismo Beach is very interesting and fun to visit. Access for biking and trail walking is good also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
Stayed two nights and would have stayed more if we had time. We arrived on a Monday afternoon without a reservation, and the campground was almost full. They would only let you book for two nights without having had reservations. Had space #40, in the middle of the campground. There is lots of space between sites, and there is lots of open space for kids to play. It's a great park for families and I understand why it's always near capacity. I would go back in a heartbeat. Nightly rate reflects senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
Dump station here, also used by those camping at Oceano campground. Rates vary depending on season. No reservations during winter season. Sites are far apart, much quieter than Oceano campground. Be aware of generator hours. Short walk to Monarch butterfly exhibit Nov-Mar. Not all sites accommodate large RVs. We stay here with 33' RV and car. 38'+ might find it a little tight and few spots to choose from. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This is a great family campground; however its been a while since I have stayed at a California State Beach Campground on a summer weekend. The bathrooms are really quite disgusting and my neighbors started drinking at 9:30am and they were loud and vulgar by 5:00pm. I love the large campsites; the closeness of the dunes and beach; within walking distance of the pier; and the generally quiet and family oriented atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
I see reviews on Pismo State Beach Oceano but not North Beach. If you are not an ATV fan or Party Animal but love the Central Coast; this is the park for you. My family and I have camped here more than 25 times over the last 15 years and we always have a great time. Sitting on the Dunes watching the sunset is always special; every winter we come to camp and watch the wintering monarch butterflies. My husband enjoys golf at the small 9 hole course nearby. No hook-ups and the restrooms are maintained by the park service; but the sites are very large, campers are quiet and family oriented. I have camped at Pismo SB Oceano but much prefer North Beach We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com