223486 User submitted reviews online!!
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park at Madison was rated 7 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (850) 973-8269
CGID728

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park at Madison

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   8   5   2   6   7   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$25
Office staff friendly, but not knowledgeable of site amenities. Asked for roof-top satellite site and was given one with trees. Not a big deal...we read instead. Easy in and out. All utilities worked. Quiet at night. We were far enough from I-10 that we weren't bothered by road noise. Needs some clean up of bottle caps, cigarette butts, plastic trash. Would stop again for an overnight, but probably NOT during the summer when it would be full of kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$24
We arrived on a Halloween-themed evening, so there were lots of kids and campfires, dogs, ATV's, and noise. Kids were driving ATV's and golf carts through the park and between the sites. There were a couple of loose dogs, too. Kids were still roaming the park at 11 PM with no adult nearby. There is a wristband policy, but we weren't given one. It is a bit troubling not to have more security with so many young kids around. Based on our visit, I doubt if any of their stated rules are enforced. No cable here. Just a TV in a musty-smelling room that only had Spanish-language sports channels. Our water hookup had a clogged back flow preventer, so we had to remove it In order to get any water pressure. Bathrooms were okay considering the number of kids in and out. This would be a good place for a family, since there's lots for kids to do. We were allowed to pick our own site, and found one with a great WiFi signal. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was okay for us as an overnight stop at the Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$65
This was a fun park for my family. They had a nice lazy river, large water slide, and pool. There was a lake to fish/kayak/pedal boat in. We stayed on the lake (or water) side and it was a nice view. We stayed during Memorial Day weekend, so the park was completely full. None the less, we were still able to enjoy the activities that the park offered. If you have an ATV and like to ride it, this is a place for you. They have about 90 acres designated for ATV trails. The downsides to this park were the smaller lots (I know this was a busy season, so it might not matter much during other times). Our camping neighbor had several cars parked (almost on top of our camper) that they took up some of our campsite and even ran over our sewage line and cradle. The park should limit the amount of vehicles per site allowed. The ATVs are noisy during the day (and they are not supposed to ride them through the park but they do--so watch out!), but night time was quiet. Another downside was that it was expensive. For 3 nights, my family spend around $250. (this did include a holiday surcharge, but they make you pay extra for the amenities). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$24
The price is for Passport American including taxes. This is just a OK park for a 1 stop over. Some sites are tight and not that long for pull through. Place could be cleaned up some, to see the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2013
$38
Awful place. Would never stay here again. Staff was rude. Sites were muddy. It was their off season, according to staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$19
We arrived after dark shortly before 8 PM, and there were still office staff available. They were friendly. The big problem we had was that the roads through the camp sites were poorly defined, and we had a lot of difficulty finding and getting into our site. I did not see any slabs or gravel. The sites were packed dirt or sand. For awhile, it was a nightmare getting to our site. The next day, the place seemed better with the sun up. It looked to me like a place for kids in the summertime. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$19
This is a huge park and must be a recreational destination at some time during the year. The evening we were there, there were only five or six other campers, so we all pretty much had the park to ourselves, and had a wide choice of places to park our RV. The rate we paid reflects the Passport America rate. The sites were fine, and the hookups satisfactory. The only negative was that the roads are a bit narrow with lots of trees, making navigation a tad difficult. Still it is an attractive park, and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
This park is showing some age but they make up for it with plenty of activities for everyone. If you want a nice quiet place to stay this ain't it. If you want to have fun or bring your ATV's or golf carts you will love it. We stayed the week of the 4th of July and they had a very good fireworks show along with redneck games and of coarse the water slide and blue pond. The prices are getting high but they offer a lot for kids. We are going back for Halloween. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
There were a lot of activities for the kids; however, they all cost extra. The water-slide, boats, goofy golf, paint ball, etc could only be done with a pass. Even then you had to spend even more money to buy your own golf balls and ping pong balls. The bathrooms were not clean. The lots were great and the atmosphere was nice. Fun place, but just make sure you plan for the extra fees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
What a pleasant surprise this campground turned out to be! It seems to be under new management. We stayed in a 43' motorhome but rented 2 "rustic" cabins for our family members. Activities were planned for the grandkids all day, lake, waterslide and beach were clean and well maintained, lots of large grassy areas for kids (and dog walking), lots of shade trees yet we had good satellite reception. Very clean public bathrooms and showers and friendly staff. Our family look forward to our next great adventure at this campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
This park is very, very unusual. We arrived with the office already closed at 1:30 pm. Our site was marked on a piece of paper along with the code to get through the gate. There was only one other camper here when we arrived in this massive campground with sites as well as many, many cabins to rent. There was coming and goings with trucks and folks all afternoon that either live here on the property, or the caretakers. I have no idea. We left this next morning without ever speaking to any one. I really was a little apprehensive about staying here as there is several lights out and there are no lights leading up to the bath houses. The lights are not locked on, but a rocker switch at the door. The bathhouse was old, dirty and very cold. Many bugs and spiders had made there home here. It was a great camp ground in the 80's I'm sure. It has lost it's family and is a very sad place now. We won't be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
Rates reflect peak season and none of the activities at the campground were available. It should have been off peak rates. Office closed around 4 PM of which we were not aware of and as a result could not participate in any activities. No cable, and office stated upon check in that we had internet: we did not! Sites were not level and were not well maintained. Trash in BBQ pits. No one in office at 10 AM either. Sign stated OPEN, yet no one around and the office was locked. Stayed with a 5th wheel and we did not want to disconnect, but had to because the sites was very unlevel. Would not stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
We love Jellystone! We have a travel trailer, and we camp with our 2 1/2 & 3 1/2 year olds. There is a putt putt course, a giant slide, a swimming pond & a playground right on the beach of the swimming area. There are many other activities, but these are the ones that we're able to enjoy with toddlers. You have to be very comfortable with a more backwoods crowd, but the kids enjoy this campground more than Disney. I was a little disappointed during our last stay because there were a lot of cigarette butts on our site. It didn't feel as if the site was cleaned up after the last guests. But with that said, we will be back to this very family friendly campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
One of the best family campgrounds in Florida. We have stayed here many times and plan to go back many more. Staff are friendly and know how to make families feel welcome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$22
Another "okay for one night while traveling through". We called but got a answering machine. It told us to "come on in". We got there about 3:30 and the office was closed. There was a gentleman there who told us where to park and gave us an envelope to fill out and just leave our credit card info on it and that would be fine. "I don't think so". We paid him cash and who knows were that went. The facilities are passable. We would not want to be here on a busy week end. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$21
We stayed here overnight. We used none of the facilities, but it is a decent overnight stay if you just want to hook up and go. We have a site where we can get our satellite tv. I'm not sure they have cable. We got stations fine on our antenna, as well. They have good Internet hook up where we are. The people are friendly, and we're fine here. There may be one other RV in the park tonight. I can't say anything about the park's facilities, but it's better than some of the places we've stayed overnight on the road. They are now Passport America, even though they're not listed in the PA book, but they were only $21 for the night. Not bad for a park in Florida. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
We arrived on Sunday, Sept 19th and it was dead. There were just a few families utilizing the water features. The grounds were clean. The waterfront lots do not have septic hookups, but most other sites do. We enjoyed the short stay at the location. Bathrooms were clean. The people running the place were not very happy to be working on that particular day. It is very kid friendly with mini golf, playground, horseshoes, big water slide, paddle boats and canoes. We would come here again, but we would make sure to have additional friends come along with us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Negatives of this park are dirt roads, no paved pads, lots of large stones on sites. Water in lake must have rust because all of our bathing suits are permanently stained and the pool had black algae. With that being said, we did enjoy the park. The slide was fun but not open during the week. The pool was adequate and the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The small kids enjoyed the train ride and hay ride. Meeting Yogi was also a big hit. The park offers something for kids of all ages which is not easy to find. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Nice place, but dirt and dust with few paved roads. They show the waterslide in the website video, but if its slow in mid-week, it does not open. The train ride was neat, and the staff was very friendly. No cable TV, but they had a neat movie room with a big screen so we could watch the Gators on Saturday. The big draw back is if you want shade, then the sites had no grass, all dirt and dust, and no cable TV. I probably will not come back. The swimming areas are nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$38
We wanted to break our trip down to South FL up and decided to stay at the Yogi Bear park in Madison, on the way down from Atlanta. We recently stayed at the Yogi park near Atlanta and were pleased. We were able to get a lot near the lake like we requested. It seemed the closer to the water you got, the tighter the lots were. We were in 35 ft. coach with two slideouts and it wasn't too bad, but a little tight. We arrived on a Sunday and the personnel who checked us in seemed like they were ready to go home and close everything down. Being that it is November, the water slide was closed and swimming area was drained, so it didn't look as pretty as it was on the brochure or website. The pool was still open, but it was way too cold for swimming. The game room was not really that exciting. It was in a trailer and there were probably about 5 somewhat outdated video games and a bunch of tables for board games. My kids did not seem interested. Most of the grounds were pretty clean. The kids were able to ride around in the paddle boats, in the lake and that was fun for them. The fishing was catch & release, but even though management said there were plenty of fish, we didn't see too many people catching anything. There wasn't that much going on for the kids to want to stay another night, so we checked out the next day. On the way out, we did see Yogi for a few minutes. Overall, the park was OK. We probably won't be rushing back immediately. It might be better during the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
I gave this park an 8 for a few reasons: (1) the signage was lacking miserably. The map provided looked like an 8th generation copy and was just as bad. After check-in we drove around and ended up at the edge of the property. We had to back up our 30 footer (total length) and luckily some grounds men in a cart escorted us to our site; (2) They advertise Wi-Fi and it did work, but was spotty and dropped out several times (luckily our cell phone doubles as a decent modem). If a campground advertises Wi-Fi, I believe it should work all the time and at every site, not just the main building, unless they specify that in their ads or Web site; (3) Upon check-in I requested we receive our 10 percent Good Sam's or AAA discount. I was told by the attendant (I will not use her name, but it was not the owner), that "since there is no balance on your account, we can't give you the 10 percent refund." I asked the same girl again on check-out and was denied. I subsequently called the owner later in the week and she refunded the 10 percent, but I should not have had to take the extra step. Though it was a minimal effort, it is the principal. (4) The store counter girl (same girl as check-in) was not very friendly. She was cordial, but very cold and stoic. I don't expect a welcoming parade, but a "glad you're here, have a great visit" would have been nice; (5) We were assigned a site at check-in. I saw another camper was offered to choose his own site at check-in (by another attendant) and this really bothered me, because (5) we were assigned a site next to a group of guys who brought their very loud karaoke system with them. Very nice guys, but I really didn't care to hear them sing all the time. They could be heard throughout the whole park - no exaggeration - and the owners did not say a thing. I’m sure if we had complained, the owners would have said something to them. We arrived on Friday and they did not begin their songs until Saturday. Since we were leaving Sunday, there was no sense in moving sites, but there were 10 (I counted) empty sites next to us, and more in other areas, and the girl put us right on top of each other. This park also offers ATV trails. I suggested to the owner that they think about separating the ATV sites with the non-ATV sites, since I would rather wake up to birds chirping than the rumbling of the engines. Finally, for $45/night, I expect cable. Having provided the negatives here are the positives. The owner was very friendly and as I said, promptly refunded the 10 percent discount. I addressed my concerns to her in a call and followed up by e-mail and she seemed genuinely concerned. The festivities they had planned for celebrating Halloween were very kid oriented and we have a three-year-old son, so it was great. They had candy bar bingo, putt-putt golf, an inflatable bouncy house, a pancake breakfast, and more. Simple stuff, but good for kids. Other features include a very nice playground - either very new or very well maintained - two nice lakes (large ponds) for fishing, a huge water slide and a swimming area, though it was closed this weekend, which we knew. Our site was very flat and required very little leveling. Water, electricity and sewer hook ups worked fine. This CG could easily be a 10 if the fixed just a few things. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Received a brochure in the mail and thought it looked like a fun place. Was an OK resort, but not my cup of tea. We were challenged by low branches and narrow dirt roads in a 43 ft motorhome. Very unlevel site. No concrete pads; all sites are dirt/sand and very rural feel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Store and pool were busy. Majority of campers were 5th wheelers with young children. It was the day after 4th of July so it was quite warm outside thus the lake was bathwater warm. Our teenagers were bored with the single water slide, but thrilled with the bats flying around while they roasted marshmallows. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
We visited this campground in the winter so it was not very crowded. The staff was super nice and very efficient at checking us in. We camped with a large group and several kids. The kids all had a great time and want to go back in the summer. The park has some great trails for biking, walking and riding ATV's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Very narrow entrance, NOT Big Rig friendly. Sites are not level, and hard to get into and out of. 800-347-0174 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
This is one of the worst campgrounds we ever stayed at. We arrived late and did a night time check in. Took the site and checked the rules as usual. IE: quiet hours, check out, etc.. Check out in particular was noon. Got to our site and found it to be horribly un-level. Had a very hard time leveling. Very bad location of the sewer connections. Sewage will not run up hill. We could not empty our tanks. Premium price with no cable and VERY poor wifi. It was so bad we just gave up. ATV's running around the campground at 2am. Some people pulled in at 1am and then decided that was a good time to unload ALL their gear, including ATVs. Kids running around after midnight. Running through campsites, swimming/ screaming in the pond, setting off fireworks and just causing havoc. At 8am Mr. 1am starts blowing his air horns and his music horns on his ATV. We suspect to wake us as he has reserved our spot for that day. Check in wasn't till 3pm , but he decided to arrive early. 8:05am the Campground Manager is knocking on our door asking us if we're leaving. I again confirmed that check out was noon. She stated that Mr. 1am had reserved the spot and wanted to move into it. We wouldn't stay here again even if it were free. The place is a nightmare. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Confusing layout to site, good wide sites with room between neighbors. Nice and peaceful. Lots of shade trees, good family atmosphere. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
We found this park to be very family friendly. Children were everywhere and they have many things for the kids to do. Lots of ATV users but most were very respectful to non ATV fans. Most obeyed the speed rules and quiet times. Staff was very helpful at check in. Found a few fish in the catch and release ponds to add to the enjoyment. The park was populated by both overnighters and those who were staying a few days. This park makes a great half way point if heading into or out of Florida. We will be returning for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$40
This is such a beautiful campground. So very well maintained. We loved it here. Just off the interstate and so very convenient. We will be back when we have more time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$32
The park was spacious and had a lot of things for kids to do. We were there in March so much of the outdoor activities were not yet available. I imagine it would be a lot of fun in the summer. There were several ponds to fish from. The water slide went into a separate one but was not yet operational. They had recently installed wi-fi but their router was not working. The person at the office said that access was really only good for 150' or so from the office which means if you need to take care of business, you need to bring your laptop down closer to the office. There is no cable, we managed to get 3-4 channels with our antennae. If we were camping during warm weather, we would not use the tv. There is little else in the vicinity of this park so if you don't have extra transportation and want to do other things, this isn't the best spot to pick. It was a bit over-priced, in my opinion, for this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$26
What a beautiful place, and great sites. I would have rated this higher, but the details were missing (no direction to the site-"follow the signs", nothing explaining garbage-when I walked back and asked, I was told "just leave it outside the rv, they'll pick it up. I'm not sure what time, just leave it out".) Wonderful swimming pond, great fields for playing/ running the dog, etc. Lots of ATVs around, but the property is conducive to it. Very convenient to I-10, with good signage. We will stay here regularly, on the way in and out of Florida. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$28
We have stayed at this campground several times. A really nice place. Everything is clean and the staff is very friendly. Just make sure when you turn in from Hwy 53, the main road of the interstate, don't make the mistake of stopping at that campground-go on around the road about a mile and Jelleystone will be down on the left. The first campground is not a place I would recommend. Lots of permanent house trailers and older run down campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$24
Very clean grounds, very friendly staff. When we arrived on Saturday we were given several choices on where we could stay. By mid-week we were one of only 8 campers here. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$27
Just changed hands and seems as if the new owner/managers are going to make a more efficient job of it. Still a nice clean site, we can honestly recommend it both for the kids and a few days stay or if just passing through. They try to put overnighters away from the families staying longer which again is thoughtful. Just don't go to the motel/rv site next door, it is horrible. We booked in and booked straight out when the place was swarming with latino workers staying long term. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$35
We 2 Sr Citizens enjoyed our overnight here and will return. We found it a very beautiful park with nice site on the lake. It was off season so maybe we experienced more silence than usual. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$32
The park is really for kids. The Tornado Waterslide has kids zooming down the slide for the fastest ride ever!!! They end up in a swimming lake, they also have boats, mini-golf (in bad shape) and train rides. There are alot of kid activities. The place is just off the the freeway I-10 and about 6 miles from Madison, Florida, a nice little town. The draw back is that the park charges for everthing. A $10.00 a weekend wristband lets you do it all, this 1st visit for a weekend ran me $132 for 5 grandkids and the wife and me. It is nice enough and several of the campers have been back to this park many times. I might stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2005
$24
Roads are dirt and sites are mostly dirt, with little rock base. Directions to site and signs identifying sites are very, very poor. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2005
$24
This is an okay park for an overnight stay but it has absolutely the worst signage I have every seen. You can quickly get lost trying to find your site. And, if you will look at the site "map" on their website, it is a reproduction of the one they give you when you check in. It is unreadable and they admit it but are unwilling to spend a few bucks to get a readable map. If you have a choice, stay elsewhere. If not, stay here only one night and insist that the management escort you to the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2004
$25
Park was clean, and had easy access to I-10. Host was friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was that the waterslide listed in their advertising, was closed mid-week. The kids and grandkids had looked forward to riding it after a long day on the road. They did enjoy a very nice pool and recreation area instead. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2004
$37
Great campground for the whole family. Alot of things to do for the kids. Big waterslide, basketball, mini golf, ride bikes, fishing, paddle boats. Campground is easy to get to right off I-10. This is not a place to go and do bird watching refering to all the kids around. Mostly all sites are dirt but level for the most part. We have stayed here twice and enjoyed both. We will definitely be back. Oh and I would recommend you get the park wrist band for an extra ten bucks pays for itself in the first hour of being there. Also camp host works her backside off to make your stay the best. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$23
Sites are over-sized. (never thought I'd say that)- Host / Manager was one of the nicest people I met. All kinds of activities for kids and adults. Easy to get in and out of. Right off the interstate. Accept's Good Sam's discounts. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com