206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Artesia RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (575) 746-6184
CGID7295

Artesia RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
139
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   7   6   8   8   8   10   2   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$32
Friendly management, good gravel, some grass, some trees. Long-term folks keep their sites nice. Full hook-ups worked well. Missed having a picnic table, but managed without. After talking to a couple of folks, found out that anywhere in this region where there is pipeline or oil patch work, you should always make a reservation for a spot. We wanted something halfway between Roswell and Carlsbad, as we were seeing caverns, but didn't want to take 2-lane roads west. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
We loved this place! Other campers loved us, too. Several people brought my dogs bones and hamburgers! Good washers but very small. Great, large tile showers! If you are in the area, and they have a vacancy, good place to stay. Friendly staff! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Lots of gravel here, but plenty of grass and shade trees as well: a real bonus in the desert. Our site was quiet and had the feeling of privacy even though the park was quite busy. An hour from Roswell, and an hour to Carlsbad Caverns as well, made this a very convenient place for three nights. Office staff was friendly and helpful. There seemed to be a fair number of residents at this park, but there were no issues whatsoever and their sites were well kept. We'd stay here again if the aliens come back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Campground is mostly for permanent renters. The WiFi was not good; very spotty. This park was all gravel with no dust. It is a good overnight stay. The office staff were very friendly. We stayed here two nights, The Carlsbad caverns were 62 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
This is a nice park. Very quiet, and centrally located between Carlsbad Caverns and Roswell. The sites are gravel, but mostly level. No shade, although trees have been planted for future shady spots. There are no picnic tables, which we missed. The sites are very wide and long. This is a refinery town, so expect many oil patch residents, although they are very quiet, and keep their sites very clean: no trash anywhere. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$29
Initial contact was with very friendly staff personnel via telephone. Easy to find, very easy access for any size rig. Wide open park covered in thick grey (slate?) gravel. Site easy to locate, well marked. Our pull-through was long enough for 37 foot motorhome with toad and wide enough to park toad when unhooked. Our site was one of a few that had enough grass to make the dog happy. Plenty of trash dumpsters throughout the park and easy to access. Majority of sites are full timers probably working in the oil/gas industry, but all units were well kept. No strays except occasional feral cat. Quiet stopover resulting in a couple of good nights sleep. Only problem were excessive high winds, but that's NM. And the Wi-Fi signal was weak at our site, number 122, however the Verizon access card worked well. Rate reflects one night of Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30?
Seemingly Under New Management. Park was clean, quiet,and friendly. Monthly rate was $300 and electric was $.10 kwh - No trash anywhere, cable TV and Wi-Fi was good and furnished free. This place is better than other parks I've visited and I felt good about the park, and the respectable pricing. Carlsbad parks are higher and dirtier except for the one that's $300 and always full! I will stay here again when I'm in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
I would like to say right up front that this is a wonderful RV park. The new owners and staff are very friendly and well informed and helpful. The park is always well maintained and quiet. The restrooms are well maintained and spotless. The Wi-Fi is 10x faster than at other parks we have stayed at. The town is a quiet urban town,s o not a lot of stuff going on at night. It gives you that peaceful feeling, like old time small towns. We would stay here whenever we are in the area and be glad we did. Please check it out for yourself, you will be glad you did. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
We stayed here for 6 months while working in Artesia. When we first arrived in late 2010, this RV park was the best, albeit priciest option in Artesia, mainly because of the amenities, cleanliness and friendly, professional staff. After a change in ownership near the end of 2010, there was a notable decline in nearly everything. The grounds, which had been meticulously maintained, now had litter accumulating and constantly blowing around, dog waste left on every grassy spot, and the gravel, once groomed on a weekly basis, was left to rut and pile unevenly, causing difficulties driving and walking in spots. The bathrooms, which had been spotless, were suddenly left grimy for days, even weeks at a time and mildew was allowed to grow. The Wi-Fi coverage and speed decreased and we were no longer allowed to connect all of our devices (3). Wonderfully courteous and professional staff who had been here for years were replaced with others who vacillated between borderline rudeness and inappropriate "friendliness." Artesia itself is no picnic, for the reasons other reviewers have mentioned, as well as a smelly, noisy refinery, and with the decline in this park's quality. You are better off heading to another location (Roswell and Carlsbad are less than an hour's drive away in opposite directions) if at all possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
I lived at the Artesia RV Park since 2007. I have never found dirty bathrooms, laundry rooms or showers. This is a very quiet, clean park and animal friendly. I moved here when the first owner was here. He was very nice and worked hard to keep the park going. The new owners are even nicer. They are helpful and keep the park immaculate. When I had water line problems the new owner pitched right in and thawed the line and added heat tape. When my car wouldn't start the new owner jumped the battery and when I purchased a new battery he put it in for me! I highly recommend this park. I will surely miss living here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$24
Just your average urban RV park with quite a few permanent residents, but well-maintained and fairly quiet although we weren't far from the highway or the railroad. No pecan harvesting at this time of the year! The Wi-Fi required a login and the manager would only provide one code for free (we carry two laptops) but that was not a big problem. For anyone headed west toward Cloudcroft and down to Alamogordo, the signs state "Trucks over 11 tons without engine retarders are prohibited." There is 14 miles of 6% downhill grade there...we weigh about 11 tons and have a gas engine...we made it down safely but was locked in second gear pretty much the whole way. Would not recommend trying to go UPHILL without lots of stops. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2010
$22
I don't understand any of the other reviews! This place is NOT a place you want to stay more than you have to! The people working here were nice and the facilities were clean and kept up, but that is about it! I feel so sorry for the people that reviewed this place and said that it was the nicest place that they have stayed in! The town is extremely small and everything closes up quite early and since it is a dry county, most restaurants close also on Sun. if they serve alcohol. The park is 90% full time residents, but is very quiet. It is quite windy here most of the time. There is a pecan orchard next to the park which is nice, but they were harvesting the nuts and it was quite noisy 2 of the days that we were here. We were here over Thanksgiving because our son was here in training, otherwise we would NOT recommend this place. But it is an OK place to stop for the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Friendly grounds manager. Gave Good Sam discount. The park is clean and well-maintained, but it is all gravel, with just a small strip of green space beside each site and in the center. We had a bit of difficulty leveling the trailer. The gravel kept slipping under the jacks, even with the blocks we use. There is absolutely no shade and with temps in the high 90s, it took a while for the a/c to take hold. A good park for passing through, although there seemed to be a lot of long-termers. In a few years when the saplings they've planted have time to grow, this park will be much more inviting. Good WiFi and cell reception. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
This is one of the nicest camps we have stayed in during our 3 years of full-timing. The grounds are immaculate, and there is not a scrap of paper to be found anywhere. The owners and all who work here are very helpful and friendly. All amenities work great, and the wifi is the fastest I have ever used. We stayed here for the month of May and will certainly be back. We are getting a much cheaper rate staying for the whole month. We paid $300.00 plus our own electric. We would highly recommend this camp to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
Large level gravel pull-through sites. Nicest grass in New Mexico. Nice friendly staff. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$26
We turned into a wrong Rv park right before the turn to this one from the south 285 and you do not want to do that. We saw we were not the only one to do this. You have to turn at the gas station. Great easy wide gravel roads thru the park. The spots were just about all double lots that made it very nice pull thu's. Not a spot for more than a couple nights not much to do in the area. We did walk to the small town. The laundry room seemed to be very clean. We would stay here again. They do not have many open spots for over nighters so you might want to call ahead. All the workers that lived there had all nice clean spots. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
This is a great very basic park. The facilities are clean and well maintained. The staff and owners are helpful and curious. They are currently updating the Wi-Fi for the entire park but currently it's very slow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
All sites are full hookups, with cable. Modem in office or free Wifi on unsecured network. Owner lives on premises, and is always available. Big shower facilities, with separate restrooms. All gravel-no mud or dust, and level. Quiet, peaceful. Most guests are permanent residents, but all is well kept and neat. We stayed here 2 weeks in a fifth wheel. New super Wal-Mart for shopping, and many large statues and shops on Main St. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com