214792 User submitted reviews online!!
Old West RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 52 user reviews. Phone: (406) 326-2394
CGID7299

Old West RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   8   8   8   8   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
Rate reflects Passport America rate. This park was a nice surprise. The park is located close to I-90 but the noise is no concern. Our site is long, level and ample space between sites for our 40 ft with 4 slides. Grass is nicely mowed and watered. You can easily walk back in time to an Old Western town right behind the park. Some of the buildings are still in use. The Yellowstone River is very close if you want to spent some time there. We even crossed the river and toured on some back gravel roads to see some of the "real Montana". Very pretty land. We stayed here to tour the Beartooth Highway that is a long day for the whole loop, but what views!! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$21
This was the closest we ever camped near an Interstate, but what a nice place to be for one night. You can hear the Interstate, but at night just a little. Very friendly owners, big pull thrus, free Wi-Fi, free good cable. Gravel, level sites with nice grass in between. The little town is a real wild, western sleepy town. You must see it, great to walk through after a long day on the road. They have PPA and when passing by we will sure come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Rate is PA rate plus tax. Sites are long and fairly level. Nice grass between gravel sites, but the automatic sprinklers in the middle of the night watered our coach and car about as much as they did the grass. Pleasant place to spend the night, but you will hear occasional I-90 and train noises. Good utilities. Wifi worked. We have stayed here before and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Near freeway, but did not notice any excess noise. Nice, level pull-thru, good water pressure and voltages. Wi-Fi and cable very good, although limited number of cable channels available. Laundry clean and reasonably priced. Owners are planning expansion and store for future. Will make it a nice one location for travelers, since Reed Point doesn't have any services. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Price quoted includes taxes. We've stayed here before; the new owners have cleaned it up, making it easier to access the pull-throughs. Very nice couple, who were quite understanding when we had to drive over part of their grass because of cars parked in front of our unit. There's not much to Reed Point, but it does have the Yellowstone River on the north side of town for the husband to throw a fly or two in, and dogs to get wet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
We have stayed here several times when passing thru Montana, first time was back in 07. Each time the place gets better. Like the last reviewer noted, the park is under new management and reflects it. There used to be old trailers with regulars here and lots of junk. No more. New grass and good Wi-Fi. AT&T works great. The town is quite interesting. There is a beautiful home that was once a bank complete with vault. It was renovated sometime back and actually appeared on HGTV"s Extreme Homes. Several other older homes have also been renovated. The new management is extremely friendly, the rate is PPA rate. Look for Jackson the Jack Russell wandering the grounds, neat dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
The town of Reed Point looks like it's falling apart, but this RV park is a nice stopover on your way across Montana. The owners have tried to make it look nice. There is lots of grass between the sites. There are some trees for shade. There is some spacing between sites. Site 1 is the best. It's got the most "acreage" as it's on a corner. Site 1 is a pull through, but the down side is that you have to go out of the park, swing wide, and then hopefully make the turn to "pull through." Restrooms, laundry, and showers were clean. Laundry is cheap! $1.25 to wash, and 25 cents for ten minutes to dry. At these prices, if you have only a few items to wash, throw some clean clothes on the ground just to get enough to justify a load! This park is popular with Passport America members. This park also takes Good Sam, and guess what, they give you a THIRTY PERCENT discount on Good Sam. Makes me think that the "base" price of $37 is a bit high and I doubt anyone pays "base" price.... Verizon Cell Phone and Home Phone Connect did not work at all here. (Didn't even bother trying the Verizon JetPack.) But, the park has cable and Wi-Fi. Wi-Fi worked very well. Cable had a good selection of 25 channels, no JUNK channels. However, cable reception was kind of static-y, but look where you are, out in the middle of nowhere. It was tolerable. There is a beautiful post office across the street. It looks unusual in this "falling apart" town. Once again, a good stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$19
This park has new owners and are really trying hard to make this a user friendly campground. We were escorted to our site by the owner and she made sure if we needed anything to let them know. Easy off and on to I-94. Note our rate was passport and no add on for 50 amp or pull thrus. If they had a swimming pool they would rate a ten. The showers and the bathrooms were very clean and worked great. If you are traveling thru this area and need a great place to camp, this is your place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$19
Wonderful management who helped us with a problem with our toad. Clean laundry room with machines that worked well and huge commercial dryers. Can't say enough good things about the people who run this park. Nice pull through site with grass and a fairly new picnic table, though the back of the site was a little downhill. Electricity was good as was water. The free Wi-Fi was fast and good. The cable has only 24 channels but after two nights with no over the air TV, it was welcomed. There was a Verizon 3G signal but not very strong. The campground is right near the Interstate and there is a rail line with freight trains. I see this as the only negative. This place is definitely worth an overnight for travelers on I-90. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
Rate cited is Passport America rate. I wonder if this is a different park than the previous rater?? Utilities are toward rear of site, but far enough in to get the toad off the street. Good utilities, free CATV, free Wi-Fi works well, Verizon mobile hot spot worked fine with 3G rather than 4G service. Pull-through sites are gravel and very slightly low to the rear. Relatively new owner (1 year), very friendly and helpful, and laying new sod and making other improvements during our stay. We walked two blocks "downtown" for lunch at the "world famous" Waterhole Saloon, the only other business in town other than the Post Office. We enjoyed two nights here, and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
Our 5 day stay here was a perfect place to relax and make plans for the next phase of our journey. The management was above and beyond helpful while we were here. The laundry facility is clean and all the machines worked perfectly. The sites are long enough to accommodate our 40' coach, tow dolly and car without having to disconnect. The hookups are in great condition and in the correct place for easy connection. We had lunch at The Watering Hole, a real home town bar, no frills just real people. We will definitely stop in if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
This park is OK for one night. Most of the sites are pull-throughs and are long enough so you will not have to unhitch. All of the utilities (water, sewer and electricity) are in the middle of the site. Most of the pedestals have 20/30/50 amp service. The electrical voltage was good. The sites are fairly level, but we had to unhitch in order to get the rig leveled front to back. The bathrooms are clean and there are 4 washers ($1.25) and 4 dryers ($0.25 per 10 minutes). Verizon air card did not work at this campground. However the camps Wi-Fi was free and the reception was good. Verizon cell phone did work. The price reflects the Passport America rate. I would question whether this campground is worth the full rate of $38 plus 7% tax. Having said that, this seems to be the going rate in this part of area. If we had to pay full price we would probably look for alternatives. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2012
$19
We researched this park through Passport America, and called to be sure it was open. Phone message said they were open and would call us back if we left a phone number. Never got a call back, so drove miles to get there only to find it closed. One of the full-time residents said owner/manager had gone out of town at the last minute. We asked if we could park, but water faucets had been locked down and she said power was off to empty sites. Southern Montana is not a good place to try to find campsites in late fall/winter. We tried another park, only to find it closed as well, and had to drive an extra 100 miles this day to find an open park. I just wish park owners/managers would keep their phone answering machines and websites UP TO DATE! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$17
Stayed here in June and returned in August. Great little park, very convenient to I-90. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Reed Point is a unique little town with great atmosphere. Will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
Nice place to spend a night or 3. Good power, Wi-Fi, water pressure. AT&T no existent, friendly staff. We stayed here 9 years ago. Park is in better shape now. rate reflects Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
General Description: This is a very small RV Park: it only has 18 active sites, and three are marginal. In some ways it is run down, but the new owners seem committed to improving it over time. I tagged it as “not kid friendly” because there are no activities for them. Pros: Very clean, recently remodeled rest rooms. Showers very nice. Extremely helpful and considerate staff (owners). Part of Passport America. Cons: Needs more sites. Wireless internet weak. No TV. Final word: we look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
What a lovely place to stay!! The owners are extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful! Couldn't ask for anymore! Pet friendly which is a huge plus! Showers and laundry also a plus! If you have a bad experience here then you just won't be happy anywhere! It's just as simple as that! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
The park was small, but very good access from I-90. New owners bend over backward to insure a good stay and that every thing worked. Minor problem with sewer (old pipes), site 10 and 11 drains slow, but owners plan on putting in a new one this fall. At this time they have no restriction on Passport America discounts. We paid half price for a week at $17 a night. I will always use this park when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
Stayed for two nights and it is a very nice quiet old west town and RV park. Price was $17.12 per night Passport rate. It has new owners and they are friendly. I would recommend this for a stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$17
Very friendly folks at the park office. Our first experience at a Passport America. They have set a high standard! They put us in a site with 50 amp and we have 30 amp. When we told them, they quickly provided an adapter for our use, telling us to leave it at the box when we leave and they'll get it. It is close to the interstate, but in the camper that wasn't an issue for us. We would definitely recommend this park for a stopover. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$17
Most of what has been said about this park is true, but this is a nice park. The staff is real nice and helpful. Gravel sites with not much shade. Close to highway and railroad but the noise isn't much. Think this park is a good one to stay at for a night or a week. It is clean and has some grass around your site. Pull throughs are large and can accept any size rig.There is Wi-fi at all sites and it is free. Would stay again next time through. Stayed under Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$17
Tiny RV park in a tiny, really neat 1/2 of a Ghost Town. Level sites, tight, but OK. Pull in the RV park, go to the office, there is a sign to go across the street to the gas station to check in. He has a school notebook with the names written in. Old school. Post office across the street, but traffic isn't a problem. Just off the highway, railroad other end of town, it's only missing the airport for noise, but it is a nice overnight. People at office are super nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$17
We stayed for one night. Great water pressure, electric and good laundry. Internet wasn't great. Campground is between the railroad and highway-a bit noisy. The town doesn't appear to have a leash law for dogs. Be careful where you walk! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$16
Nice small RV park. Good for 1 - 2 night stop in small town. Passport America campground that was good alternative to larger commercial campgrounds! Great place to stop on way to / from Yellowstone. Owners were nice. Very clean laundry & restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$16
We stayed here for 1 night while passing through the area. We found it to be an OK park with few amenities but was fine for an overnight stop. Wi-Fi was good but no TV. Utilities were in working order including 50 amp electrical. Its a small park that fills up quickly so reservations might be a good idea. There is a convenience store across the street that serves as the office for the park. There is a bar/restaurant within walking distance that serves good food until 10PM. Its a decent park for an overnight stay. They accept Passport America @ $16/night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$16
Good level lots in a very secluded small town. Rain causes some puddling. Good laundry, clean bathrooms. The rates reflects Passport America rate -cash or check accepted for Passport rate. The Campground adjacent to the interstate - easy on/easy off. Check in is at the gas station across the street. Good electrical. Wi-Fi available. All sites could use some gravel! We camped here in a Motorhome. We would stay here again for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
Rates reflects Passport America rate. Cash only with PA rate. A no frills campground close to the interstate. Check in at the gas station across the street. Good showers and restrooms. Good electrical. Wi-Fi available. We did not hook up to campground water for our overnight stay. This campground is an alternative to the high priced campgrounds in Billings, which is about an hour east on I-90. But if it rains, it will be really muddy! All the sites are in desperate need of some gravel! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$17
Great family campground. Passport America rate. Very neat small town. Great restaurant. No WiFi, owners very friendly. They were having water problems as rest of state. Level sites, full hookups. Between train and HWY 90, but not a problem. Very interesting countryside as big sheep raining area. Owners have gas station and convenience store across street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Not a bad campground for a one night stay. Right off interstate but not a lot of noise. RR tracks nearby but we didn't hear any trains after dark. Sewer hose connection on a riser about 8 inches off ground. WiFi was tolerable. Router is in the window of gas station across the street. The office is in the gas station across the street. Rate is PA with tax added. Site was level and the place is clean and well kept. No trees so had good satellite signal. No AT&T cell signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Chose this CG because it was a Passport America Park, and has easy access off I-90. Small park, only 16 sites. Sites are level and grassy. Good Sprint Air card and satellite reception, poor Verizon reception. The manager is across the street in the gas station - she forgot to tell us we needed a key for the bathroom, and the password for the Wi-Fi. We were able to get a key, and found the bathroom very soiled to say the least. By the time we were ready to use Wi-Fi, the office was closed. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
Very basic, good for an overnight, especially w/Passport America. Owners are nice and very helpful. The restrooms require a key, they are clean, but only have a curtain for privacy. Good satellite dish reception, Verizon signal was weak but usable, we did not try the CG WiFi. If you are traveling I-90 and need a spot to overnight, this campground will do. Our site was a pull through, long enough to stay connected (toad) and very level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$19
On I-90, exit 392. Easy off/on. Check in and register across the street at the gas station/convenience store. Extremely nice owners. Small, rustic park with showers and laundry in the middle. Showers require a key for entry. Great for an overnight stay. Free Wi-Fi available. I could not connect but the folks on the other side of the park could connect. No connection to AT&T. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
This is a small comfortable RV Park, good for an overnight stop, adjacent to the small town of Reed Point just off I-90. We must of had the site of the previous reviewer. I trimmed the offended tree, what was left of it, even more. The office is now across the street at the gas station. The town's Post Office is directly across from the pull-through sites. It has numerous offending bright lights on at night to protect the mail. A walk through the town is worth while. Within a mile there is rafting, fishing and swimming at an access point for the Yellowstone River. Our site was not so level and the hook-ups are excellent. WiFi is available and it worked great. We camped here for one night at the Passport America Rate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
Passport rate $16 plus tax = $17.12. Nice level pull through, a bit tight on the side because of a tree: we trimmed it so we could close our door. Good value with PA, a nice easy off / on park. Small friendly town. Verizon cell was so so, no broadband or TV via batwing. We would stop again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
Rate is Passport America. This is just an overnight stop, nothing special, but a place to park. There is some noise from the interstate highway on one side and the railroad on the other side: each just a couple of blocks away. The WiFi was very weak and I was unable to connect. Sites are gravel and close to level. Water pressure and electric are good. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
When we first arrived there was nobody in the office but they did have prices posted. It was small but very well maintained. It is right off the freeway which makes it easy to find but sometimes a little noisy. The owners were very friendly when we met them the next morning and apologetic that they couldn't be there. They had something important to attend to. There was laundry facilities and bathrooms. I would stay again if I was going through the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
It is a nice park just off the interstate. It is good for an overnight on way to Yellowstone or Glacier National Parks. There are friendly people in town, too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
Our reservation for two pull-thrus, because we did not want to unhook, wasn't honored. We had to accept one back-in and use an orange cone in front of our truck. The water ran brown when we first turned it on. One of three dryers in the laundry had dry clothes in it so I moved them to the folding table and put my wet clothes in. I discovered it didn't work after 30 minutes of waiting. When I told the manager he said they keep clothes in the dryer so people "will know it is out of order." What? I suggested a sign. Apparently they keep clothes on top of the first washer for the same reason. The interstate noise isn't terrible. Haven't heard the train yet. I was unable to get their wifi to even register on my computer. I'd prefer to stop someplace else but if there wasn't anything nearby, I'd bite the bullet and stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
Friendly people running the campground. Wi-Fi is good. Interesting place to visit for the night. Would stay there again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
This is a no frills type campground. Staff is very nice. The laundromat is clean. Gravel roads are ok. The interstate is very close along with it's noise. No cell service through our AT&T phone. Their Wi-Fi signal is very weak but sometimes works. There is no pay phone in town so one has to go up onto the interstate and head towards Billings to get a signal. The campground is about 50 miles outside of Billings and any other attractions so plan on long drives to get anywhere like shopping and sightseeing but the price is right. Shade in only one spot but each site has it's own little grass area with a picnic table and the weather was pretty mild when we were there in July. There is an active train track behind the park and the train toots it's horn as it comes through, loud and clear. We would stay again for a short visit. We would rather be closer to the area attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
Very friendly staff. Gravel sites and pull-through sites are very level. This is a Passport America campground. This campground is close to the Interstate but we ran the air conditioners so the noise level was minimal. We stayed here two nights and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
Our $17 rate shown is Passport America, pull through, FHU 30 amp. Friendly host, good wifi, Verizon cell and air card reception here as well. If you walk or drive to the end of town and about 1/4 mile down the gravel road at the end you can view the Yellowstone River from the bridge. You can hear the highway and the trains from this park. We would stay here again for one night passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
This is a good CG when traveling, we have stayed overnight here twice. Located right off the expressway but noise isn't too bad. Pull through was level gravel and site was grass. Power, water & sewer all worked as expected. WiFi was good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
Gravel drive and sites. Gets muddy when it rains/snows. No trees/shade. Inexpensive laundry. Slow Wifi, but it works. Right off interstate, but didn't notice any noise. Nice place for an overnight. We used Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$24
RV park very quiet as we were one of two RV's this night. Park okay. Lots of train traffic. Park currently for sale. Could be very nice attraction. Decorated in old-west theme. Would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
We used our Passport America discount. The management was nice and friendly. Campground is very convenient from I-90. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
Have stayed twice now...one in my motorhome and once in a friend's fifth wheel. For a tiny park, this one is perfect. Although close to the highway, the noise seemed muffled. Cute little town for drinks & a meal. Owners goes way out of their way to accommodate the travelers. Plan to visit again soon! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$17
Nice grassy areas, with sites on gravel. Wi-Fi was free and very good. However, TV was very bad, and our phone service (AT&T) would not work here either. A small park, but very friendly folks. There is no store, pool or play area. There is a laundry and the PSA rate was $17.00. Nice overnight stay, but not much to do for 2 days, especially in the rain. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
Just plain nice, with nice people. Not too, big but room between each rig. Nice! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
Passport America Park. Good overnight stop. No facilities. Don't count on the wireless to work. It didn't the night we were there. Just a few pull thrus. It was full, reservations a must. Mostly Passport America rvers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
Very clean small park with an Old West decor throughout. Nice grassy lawns, picnic tables and flower plantings. Excellent WiFi. A little train and traffic noise. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Passport American rate: $14 + $1 for Wifi + tax. Easy in and out for one-night, stay-hooked-up stop on I-90. Told it fills every night so reservations might be a good idea. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
Stayed here with Passport America. Excellent, clean campground with large grass and gravel pull through sites. Real nice and helpful owner. If you stay here make sure you take a side trip to Bear Tooth pass, (owner has map) Best in America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com